Prices are increasing yearly

6
Out of 10

We signed up 2 years ago for Healthy Paws because we understood it was the best. We've already had a premium increase, and are scheduled for another. Apparently the premium increases every year, but they don't tell you that going in. We have never filed a claim, so all the below information doesn't apply, however, this is something people need to know in advance.

Did you find this review helpful?
Injury/illness
have never made a claim
Claim Amount
Under $100
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8

Leave a comment

Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Posted: 02/07/2014
By:  

Check out the BBB reviews too... and how many complaints against eah company Healthy Paws doesnt have many Trupainion has 50 the last time i looked.

Posted: 09/30/2013
By:  

Still shopping myself, and it had come down between Trupanion and HP. Then I read that the deductible for Trupanion was per incident, not annual as it is with HP, and that's pretty significant, too. Back to the drawing board in making this decision. It's tough to compare these, as no two companies have the same packages.

Posted: 08/31/2012
By:  

Hi Terri,
Thank you for posting your review. We take all of our customer concerns with the outmost concern and care. Over the life of your pet, all pet insurance companies, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising costs of veterinary care. Some pet insurance companies are currently subjecting their policyholders to very significant rate increases making it very difficult to budget. Healthy Paws factors the expected increase in the cost of veterinary care into your rates so that annual premium increases are manageable and can be budgeted.

With the advancement of medicine and technology new services and medications are now available to give Maxwell the best possible care. For example more pet patients with cancer now have access to improved radiation and chemotherapy treatment. With these advanced treatments in veterinary medicine comes increased costs that your Healthy Paws plan covers without caps or lifetime limits.

We hope you would never have to file a claim like those listed above, but if you ever needed to, you could rest assured knowing that Maxwell is protected by a comprehensive plan that covers surgeries, diagnostic testing, medications, hospitalization (even at an emergency hospital or specialist). Our policyholders value comprehensive coverage and unlimited benefits, which is why, unlike other companies, Healthy Paws does not reduce coverage benefits to keep premium low.

We regret that the annual premium increase came as a surprise to you. We try to be completely transparent with how our policy works which is why this information is posted online in our FAQ and also included in your policy documents. We understand in these tough times that any premium increase may cause a hardship, which is why we're working hard to keep our premium increases manageable.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. As a company that strives for excellence, we truly value your feedback. I will follow up with directly to see if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Warmest regards,

Jen
Customer Care & Claims Manager

Posted: 09/16/2012
By:  

Healthy paws, to answer to your excuse of rate increase, trupanion DOES NOT increase their rate over the years. You might want to consider that when you say "EVERY" insurance company increase their rate. I suggest you change your competitive policy because this is a complete deal breaker to me. I'm looking for a pet insurance for my pets right now and am going with trupanion even if costs more. This is more worth it in the long run.

Posted: 04/26/2017
By:  

I agree. I have 6 pets insured. Just received notification that each policy was increased by 10%! That is a ridiculous increase.
Time to start shopping for insurance again:( I had been referring many of my adoptees (I foster) to this insurance and will no longer be doing this.

Very disappointed.

Posted: 12/06/2019
By: Ketzya

Same. I initially paid around $37 a month for my pet. Then it went up to $47 after the first year. I just got an email saying it's going up to $67.... I have never filed a claim and I can't comprehend hoe in a matter of 2 years it goes up $30 a month. You guys are taking advantage of people who are trying to do the right thing and insure their pet. Just another way companies get rich while taking advantage of their customers.

Posted: 03/08/2020
By: LIndaJean

Extremely upset at the rate hike from Healthy Paws! I've had my pup insured since she was 6 years old and the rate has gone up roughly $10 a year. This year they increased my rate by 35% or $30. Absolutely outrageous when they don't even cover preventative healthcare or required rabies for your city!