Trupanion insured pets lead longer, happier lives*. The Trupanion policy provides best-in-class medical insurance coverage for your pet that can be used at any veterinary hospital in the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico – ensuring your pet is protected wherever you may be. Trupanion is the only provider than can pay your veterinarian directly at the time of checkout. This benefit helps you from having to fill out extensive claims paperwork or wait to be reimbursed. A Trupanion Pet insurance policy has unlimited payouts on claims. They do not increase rates for filing claims. While some providers may drop coverage when a certain number of claims are filed, Trupanion never will. The Trupanion policy does not increase rates just because your pet ages and their policy allows you to enroll your pet from birth for true lifelong coverage for your pet.   *‘Based on a December, 2020 Trupanion study analyzing third party hospital claims data comparing pets insured with a Trupanion policy to pets without a Trupanion policy. Trupanion is a registered trademark owned by Trupanion, Inc.  Underwritten in the United States by American Pet Insurance Company and in Canada by Omega General Insurance Company.  

Average customer rating

9.4 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 9.6 9.6 9.4
Count 419 4938 20915
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thanks Trupanion for being there for Bella.

Posted: 01/21/2022
By:
Cameron
Meade

A++ for Trupanion I don't know what I would have done without the insurance they helped with.
Thanks so very much.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Always there for us

Posted: 01/20/2022
By:
Alan
Hosey

Dependable, reliable and an excellent company to deal with. My premium this actually went down! No Trupanion, don’t double check to see if that was a mistake…lol

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thank you for the fast easy stress free claim experience and Stunner thanks you for the love and caring

Posted: 01/12/2022
By:
Daniel
Oberding

Thanks for taking care of my claim I trust you

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bulldog (English)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent

Posted: 01/08/2022
By:
Joan
Muller

We are very pleased with our insurance and the ease of submitting claims. Our vet just submits the claims online and decision is made by next day and funds are deposed in my account. They are easy to get ahold of to discuss coverage or any questions we have.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Rough Collie

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thank you Trupanion, you save my Dogs life and possibly my marriage.

Posted: 01/05/2022
By:
David
Delooze

Woke up to find blood filled vomit on our rugs and a very sick boy. We did go to the local vet and paid $100 for a check up, antibiotics, and something to coat the stomach - and advice to wait and see. Listless for days our normally bouncy boy just lay there. Decided to take him to a Vet hospital - blood work, an ultrasound later - we were at $1200 - with a $1000 deductible - insurance seemed irrelevant at that point, but then we learned something was blocking Peeve's intestine and surgery would be required. A child's plastic food toy later removed and a new total bill on about $5000 ... at pick up I mentioned we had the insurance and within minutes and direct billed our new total was $1750 (Deductible + 10% + taxes). Honestly - if we didn't have the insurance - I likely would have paid the $5000 - but had it been more - my wife's heart may have broken as we faced a financial reality despite our love of Peeve. I will so happily continue with Trupanion - I really hope we just pay them with no further need such that Trupanion returns to profit on Peeve and so the company continues to assist without hesitation others.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Goldendoodle

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Because the person I talked to was awesome and responded immediately.

Posted: 01/02/2022
By:

Because the person I talked to was awesome and responded immediately.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

everyone says its the best

Posted: 01/02/2022
By:

everyone says its the best

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Thank you.

Posted: 01/02/2022
By:

Thank you. So easy to deal with!! My fur baby has a chronic condition & you have covered all healthcare in regards to that! So glad I got insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Finn

Posted: 01/02/2022
By:

Very happy

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Cockapoo

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Always a good experience.

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

Always a good experience. Covered what we expected and great communication around approval.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

I couldnt believe how fast i received my money

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

I couldn,t believe how fast i received my money

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

We had to take our girl into the vet unexpectedly on Christmas Eve.

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

We had to take our girl into the vet unexpectedly on Christmas Eve. Unfortunately, what we hoped was just a minor matter turned out to be a chest full of cancer and we were faced with having to make the most heartbreaking decision and let her cross the rainbow bridge.
Despite our pain, knowing we had Trupanion helped ease some of the unexpected financial stress we faced.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

it was our first time but the whole claim experience through our vet was quite simple.

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

it was our first time, but the whole claim experience through our vet was quite simple....we were able to relax and focus on what was needed for for our pet without worry about the cost.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Not all my family and friends have animals.

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

Not all my family and friends have animals.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Customer service amazing

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

Amazing reviews ! Just signed up and had to use the online chat and received great help right away .

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Simple online no old school phone required

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

Simple online no old school phone required

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Miniature Long Haired Dachshund

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Everytime I have needed help with a question I have received the response required immediately from a very knowledge person.

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

Everytime I have needed help with a question I have received the response required immediately from a very knowledge person.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Airedale Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Great coverage for the money.

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

heard from a family member who has the Trupanion insurance and the coverage they received for their dogs surgery and recovery.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

West Highland White Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Quick and thorough service

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

Quick and thorough service

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Satisfied

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:

Very friendly and knowledgeable when I called to sign up.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Domestic Mediumhair

Age of Pet
1 - 8