Find and read reviews with confidence

Reviews Reviews

With a growing range of cat and dog insurance policies on the market, it can be hard to find the best pet insurance to suit your individual needs and budget.

We enable pet owners to share their experiences of some of the leading pet insurance providers, so as well as being able to compare the best pet insurance plans available based on cost, levels of coverage, exclusions and deductibles, you can read thousands of pet insurance reviews from other owners across the U.S. and Canada.

Our helpful pet insurance reviews can help ensure you find a policy that’s right for you.

1

out of 5

Think Twice before using Pets Plus Us

I discovered a charge come out of my bank account, then discovered the same charge had been withdrawn from my account for 3 years! How I missed this I have no idea, bad on me for not noticing sooner, however it was was CONFIRMED that my cancelation was documented that I did indeed canceled in their records- however they decided to continue pulling funds month after month, year after year. 2021,2022,2023, 2024 I will say that the lady I spoke with was lovely, concerned about my situation and did her best to help me at her level. This situation was requested to be expedited by me, and to date not one dollar has been returned in spite of an expedited concern and error on their part. I will reach out to Consumer protection as a next step.
  • INSURER: Pets Plus Us
  • POSTED: 07/12/2024
  • BY: victoria
  • BREED: German Shepherd
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Easy process

Insurance claiming was so easy and speedy, typically takes about 2-3 days to complete reimbursement. So important to have my dog covered for wellness as well. I had the policy with Metlife for a few months and it has been very good so far. Thank you, MetLife!
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 07/12/2024
  • BY: Lydia
  • BREED: Belgian Shepherd Malinois
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Metlife is the only worthwhile insurance.

I did extensive research before selecting pet insurance. My pup usually needs an annual teeth cleaning, which is rather expensive, so I was looking for something that provides worthwhile coverage and helps offset that expense. Metlife was the only one that did. When looking at pet insurance options, I generally found three options. - Option A: Basic pet insurance with no preventative care. This is the cheapest option, but the most limited coverage. It mainly only kicks in to cover emergency visits, treatments, and medications. - Option B: Most providers offer some kind of upgraded plan that includes "preventative care". This is what I was looking for. But everywhere else, these policies had so many exclusions that it felt like it was carving out half of what I'd want covered. Some specifically excluded dental care, others excluded routine veterinary care. The most consistent thing this covered was flea/tick/heartworm medication. - Option C: Metlife was the best of both worlds. On the upgraded "preventative care" plan, they say they cover anything recommended by your veterinarian to care for your pet. And they mean it! They've covered her regular preventative meds, her teeth cleaning, prescription diet, and more. The only thing they don't cover is pre-existing conditions. I see a few negative reviews about them not covering things that the client didn't provide documentation for...personally, I've never had that problem. I generally submit my documentation as soon as I get it from my vet. It takes a week or two to process, but they've never refused to pay a claim that I've documented. Hold up your end of the deal and Metlife will hold up theirs. I have friends with pet insurance or similar plans and I've never heard anyone describe their coverage as so great. It's a little bit expensive, sure, but after everything they cover, I pretty much break even every time. I might even save money. I'm so happy I found Metlife, and unless things change, I'll likely keep my policy with them for as long as I have a pet.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Greenfield Animal Hospital
  • POSTED: 07/12/2024
  • BY: Benjamin
  • BREED: Miniature Schnauzer
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Healthy Paws a Special Thank you!

Healthy Paws has once again came to my rescue. I have a little yorkie who turns one year on July 24th. She needed surgery and Healthy Paws provided the coverage. I cannot express my gratitude and the compassion that I received from the Healthy Paws staff. Thank you with all my heart. Judy
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • VETERINARIAN: Dr. Jared Corin
  • POSTED: 07/11/2024
  • BY: Sasha
  • BREED: Yorkshire Terrier
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

THE BEST INSURANCE

I’ve tried other insurance before I came across MetLife Pet Life. I couldn’t be more happier choosing them. Their claim process is very easy. They are available when you call. They explain everything so you can understand they also send updates frequently via email and best of all they direct deposit your refund fairly quickly. I will highly recommend them to anyone.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Dr Brooke mcafee
  • POSTED: 07/10/2024
  • BY: Donna
  • BREED: Great Dane
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

SCAM wellness plan - Dont' BUY!!!

I bought their Wellness plan hoping that they could reimrburse for the dental treatment and many things. After I actually got the dental receipts to them, they refused to reimburse it because it is not done by an official doctor? This was never explicitly stated in their claim. This is a plan with a lot of "hidden" rules and you won't get your money paid in!
  • INSURER: Fetch Canada
  • POSTED: 07/09/2024
  • BY: Knowknow
  • BREED: Ragdoll
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Best pet insurance company

I have insured my pets since they were puppies. I have always been satisfied with Healthy Paws insurance. They process all my claims in record time.
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • POSTED: 07/09/2024
  • BY: Irene
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Medium (20lb - 70lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Always peace of mind

My dog had a mass on his lip that was getting bigger and not going away. Regardless of the fact that I have pet insurance I only reserve it for those very necessary times. He went in for a procedure to have the mass removed and thankfully it was benign. But the peace of mind that brought me to know this was priceless and without Pets Best it would not have been possible. The procedure costed over $3000 and I was already anticipating both my deductible and 10% copay. I filed the claim and within a week it was reviewed and approved for the expected amount. I just got my check in the mail and it was such a quick process. I had switched from another pet insurance because they did not cover office visits nor did they use that cost towards my deductible. Pets Best includes the office visit fee as a covered expense and towards your deductible. During the pandemic there was a delay in one of the claims I filed but it was expected as change in the times and increase in pet ownership clogged the system. Since then however I have never had any problems filing claims or receiving my payment. I’ll never change again.
  • INSURER: Pets Best
  • VETERINARIAN: Waipahu Waikele Pet Hospital
  • POSTED: 07/09/2024
  • BY: Dee
  • BREED: Shiba Inu
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Excellent service

My dog has had several serious illnesses Ashe has aged forward and everonehasnrencostly it was so reassuring knowing that HP was there to guarantee his care
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • VETERINARIAN: Blue pearl
  • POSTED: 07/09/2024
  • BY: Mary
  • BREED: Dachshund (Wire Haired)
  • AGE OF PET: Over 11 years

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Pet Insurance Convert

We are so glad the local Humane Society sent our Charlie home with a 30-day trial of MetLife Pet Insurance. After reviewing and comparing many other pet insurance companies, we decided MetLife Pet Insurance was the best one to suit our needs. We have not been disappointed. All claims have been handled as we were told, no surprises or hidden clauses.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 07/08/2024
  • BY: Marjorie
  • BREED: Chihuahua (Short Coat)
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No

Get a quote today

Leave a review