Find and read reviews with confidence

Reviews Reviews

With a growing range of cat and dog insurance policies on the market, it can be hard to find the best pet insurance to suit your individual needs and budget.

We enable pet owners to share their experiences of some of the leading pet insurance providers, so as well as being able to compare the best pet insurance plans available based on cost, levels of coverage, exclusions and deductibles, you can read thousands of pet insurance reviews from other owners across the U.S. and Canada.

Our helpful pet insurance reviews can help ensure you find a policy that’s right for you.

5

out of 5

Extremely pleased with Health Paws

I bought Healthy Paws when my dog was between 1 and 2 years. He was just shy of 10 years when he was diagnosed with 2 types of cancer, needed surgery and chemo and was given 2 to 6 mo to live if untreated. Thanks to my policy, my dog is still with me and turns 12 next month. I don't know how I ever could have afforded all the treatment and ongoing followup visits and medications on my own. Healthy Paws has never given me problems and the turnaround on payout is super fast. I have the 90% reimbursement policy.
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • POSTED: 06/14/2024
  • BY: Kathy
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Large (Over 75lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Cancer and my Boxer

Embrace provided excellent coverage when my boxer was diagnosed with cancer of the jaw and had to have a jaw removal and then chemotherapy. This was the second boxer with cancer, and for the first one they paid out over $18K over two years which is a LOT to provide the excellent care required by lymphoma, giving her an extra 2 years. I would never NOT have pet insurance and I am happy with them, four boxers now, one at a time.
  • INSURER: Embrace
  • VETERINARIAN: Marina Village Veterinary Hospital
  • POSTED: 06/13/2024
  • BY: Linda
  • BREED: Boxer
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Insurance Covered Major Dental Work

My elderly dog needed major dental surgery which was carefully and respectfully provided by my local vets. She was tested to see if she could handle anesthesia (she could) and surgery went well. When I submitted my claim, the insurance covered easily half of the costs which was deeply appreciated. Being a resilient mixed breed (poodle, schnauzer), she recovered quickly and is back to demanding attention, walks, treats and meals.
  • INSURER: Nationwide
  • VETERINARIAN: North End Pet Hospital, Tacoma, WA
  • POSTED: 06/13/2024
  • BY: Patricia
  • BREED: Poodle - Toy
  • AGE OF PET: Over 11 years

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
3

out of 5

I don’t get it

I have four dogs insured with Trupanion. On one hand, they are great to work with and do cover a significant amount when something catastrophic happens to one of your pets. They do not cover what they describe as preventative or wellness check ups. However, when a dog or cat is in an emergency situation, and needs emergency care that includes diagnostic tests and surgery because of a clear problem, I don’t understand why the examinations for those incidents are not covered. These are not wellness or preventative exams. No pet hospital will diagnose a dog without examining them and I believe that those exams that are done in connection with Emergency admissions should be covered. I ended up paying many thousands of dollars for exams this past week when my dog stopped using her back legs and had to go to two different emergency hospitals and have exams at both of them to see what testing she needed and what surgery she needed in order to Improve.
  • INSURER: Trupanion
  • VETERINARIAN: VCA west Los Angeles
  • POSTED: 06/12/2024
  • BY: Ellen
  • BREED: Dachshund (Miniature Smooth Haired)
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

Awful.

Really bad experience with this pet insurance. Never covered anything for our dog! He has the infection- didn’t covered, medication- never covered, blood tests or ultrasound tests- never covered. Stoped to using them- no answers just letters “we do not cover it”. The awful client orientation, bad service, just taking money but nothing is covering. Do not recommend! Just really bad….
  • INSURER: Pets Plus Us
  • VETERINARIAN: Calgary West Animal Hospital
  • POSTED: 06/12/2024
  • BY: Mariia
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Medium (20lb - 70lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
2

out of 5

POOR customer service

My dogs have food allergies. Rather than medicating them, I chose to simply change food to a prescription derm food( which is supposed to be covered). They refuse to reimburse the expense saying it is OTC. It cannot be purchased without a prescription so it is not OTC! Metlife is not what they advertise. They are rude to customers. They refuse to allow speaking directly to a claims agent to understand their decision. It is definitely an insurance game. I cannot even pay for both dogs together- required separate receipts or won’t reimburse the expense- I guess no common sense or calculator to add the two together to get the lump sum. They are not customer or pet oriented. EXTREMELY disappointed in multiple difficulties with this company.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 06/12/2024
  • BY: Theresa
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Medium (20lb - 70lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Healthy Paws gives me peace of mind. That's priceless!

My 6 year old labradoodle Bodhi unfortunately was diagnosed with T cell lymphoma. We started chemo treatment immediately. Healthy paws has paid everything that is covered as per our agreement no questions asked. My experience with Healthy Paws has been outstanding. They reimburse QUICKLY. I have recommended and will continue to recommend Healthy Paws to anyone that is considering pet insurance. Honestly, I don't know what we would have done without them. I have peace of mind with Healthy Paws. That's priceless.
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • POSTED: 06/11/2024
  • BY: Tamara
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Medium (20lb - 70lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

5 Star all round

My dog loves visiting the vet and bounced in and out even though he had to have a fox tail removed from deep in his ear. The vet also diagnosed and removed fly worms from his eye, eew! Lemonade were as always very efficient and fast to process my claim all from the app and email, couldn’t be easier. Thank you all.
  • INSURER: Lemonade
  • VETERINARIAN: Coast veterinary
  • POSTED: 06/11/2024
  • BY: Meme
  • BREED: Golden Retriever
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Healthy paws 👍🏻

Had healthy paws since 2019 and my dog has gone to the vet more times than the number of my fingers. Healthy paws has taken care of me every time and are quick with each claim. I have a peace of a mind knowing whenever I have to take my dog to the vet, healthy paws is there for me!
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • POSTED: 06/10/2024
  • BY: Phi
  • BREED: Alaskan Klee Kai
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

Do not go with Pets Best Raised Policy over 40% in one year

I would never recommend Pets Best to anybody who cares about their fur baby. They are slow with claims and on top of that, raised my policy by 42.15% and would not explain to me why or provide me with a breakdown. Make sure you do your homework on these companies because they trap you after the first one.
  • INSURER: Pets Best
  • POSTED: 06/10/2024
  • BY: Michael
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Large (Over 75lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No

Get a quote today

Leave a review