Find and read reviews with confidence

Reviews Reviews

With a growing range of cat and dog insurance policies on the market, it can be hard to find the best pet insurance to suit your individual needs and budget.

We enable pet owners to share their experiences of some of the leading pet insurance providers, so as well as being able to compare the best pet insurance plans available based on cost, levels of coverage, exclusions and deductibles, you can read thousands of pet insurance reviews from other owners across the U.S. and Canada.

Our helpful pet insurance reviews can help ensure you find a policy that’s right for you.

1

out of 5

Be Careful With Metlife

MetLife is no different from any other insurance scam. I was referred to a specialist’s to finally figure out why my cat keeps vomiting and and $3300 later we received our diagnosis along with a denied claim because it’s a “pre existing condition”. They covered the POC visit for this issue but as soon as a specialist is needed it’s pre-existing? I am cancelling my policy and not getting pet insurance again, total scam.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 05/21/2024
  • BY: David
  • BREED: Savannah
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Best decision ever

We have a standard poodle, Barney who is 8 now, but he was quite sick twice. We did not have insurance on him and we called him the $6000 dog. A few months ago we decided to get another, Betty, and I debated on getting insurance,,I decided to get a cheaper plan and called Met life. The man I spoke with told me the better , more expensive plan is good for a puppy and I could always lower it as she got older so I followed his advice. I’m so glad I did. Betty also has been quite sick twice this year and has had 13 claims. All have been handled quickly and every person I have spoke with is so kind. I’m so GLAD I have this policy and I will never drop or downsize it !
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 05/21/2024
  • BY: Susan
  • BREED: Poodle - Standard
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
4

out of 5

Timely refund

From submitting receipts to getting my refund I really appreciate the efficiency and quick response. Thank you
  • INSURER: Pets Plus Us
  • VETERINARIAN: Boundary bay
  • POSTED: 05/20/2024
  • BY: sean
  • BREED: Labradoodle
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Easy, Affordable, and Clear

I've used multiple insurance services for my pets over the years and have never had an easier time filing claims and getting help when needed. Everything is clear and when I've had to clarify they were fast to respond and resolve the issue.
  • INSURER: Lemonade
  • POSTED: 05/19/2024
  • BY: Rio
  • BREED: Corgi
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Healthy Paws - SImply fantastic

We've had Healthy Paws since we got TJ as a rescue and they've been simply fantastic. Unfortunately we've had to use their services far too often for TJ but each time their online claim service was super easy and efficient. I've set my payment option for direct deposit to my checking account and usually within three days of claim submission the payment is in my account. As with any pet insurance policy the rates do go up every year but I feel their annual monthly premium increase is quite reasonable and they never raise your rate other than the normal annual policy rate increase no matter how many claims you submit in my experience. The few times that I've needed to contact them by phone they've always been very efficient and helpful in resolving my issue. When originally shopping for pet insurance they had the best rates and coverage. They get ten stars in my opinion.
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • VETERINARIAN: Animal Hospital of Huntington Beach
  • POSTED: 05/19/2024
  • BY: Gary
  • BREED: Weimaraner
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

Never again

March 2023. Spent 3 hours on phone with customer service to determine if this company was good for my pet. Went with them only to discover they promised the world and delivered an island when it came to paying on policies. May 2023 pet died due to cancer. Reason for non-payment was pet had "pre-existing condition" but never said what it was. Can't by law deny claim without listing condition. Refused to pay claim of over $900. That was for my pet who passed. Enrolled new pet in June 2023 - cat, 2 years, while waiting for payment from deceased kitty's visit to emergency hospital to find out what was wrong. On new pet they have decided not to cover his special food because of another "pre-existing" condition. How could I know of a pre-existing if I just got the kitty and issue didn't develop immediately? Last straw was they refused his dental cleaning expenses because according to them, "He had SOME tartar." If he is free from tartar for a year, they claim they will pay. When is a human or pet ever FREE from SOME tartar. Stay away. Just a scam! It was a vet who discovered their sneaky way of getting around paying claims.
  • INSURER: Embrace
  • POSTED: 05/19/2024
  • BY: Sharon
  • BREED: Tabby
  • AGE OF PET: Over 11 years

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Archie was well taken care of!

Very pleased with Pets Best, they were very responsive, fast and extremely helpful!
  • INSURER: Pets Best
  • VETERINARIAN: Brickell Bay Animal Hospital
  • POSTED: 05/17/2024
  • BY: Daniel
  • BREED: Poodle
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Happy I have insurance with this girl!

We adopted our American Bulldog last year after fostering her and her 5 puppies, after she was surrendered, very pregnant. We fell in love with Lizzy Girl while she nurtured her pups in our home and once they were adopted out we adopted her. Lizzy had pre existing loose bowel issues that I knew insurance wouldn’t cover-and they didn’t-but I decided to give pet insurance a try anyway. This is the first time I’ve ever had pet insurance. Well, it paid off immediately. Just a few months after we got her, Lizzy was bit on the face by a rattlesnake on our property and it was horrifying. We rushed her to the Vet hospital for anti-venin treatment and pain control. As they were telling us she would need to spend at least one night in the vet hospital, my mind started spinning over what this was going to cost, when my husband said, “Well don’t we have pet insurance?” I cannot tell you what a relief it was to just authorize the best care for my girl without the stress of the financial burden it would cause. MetLife reimbursed us in a very timely manner and filing the claim was so simple. We’ve filed other claims, less dramatic in nature, and MetLife has been great about reimbursing for all costs that are covered in our policy. It is a big relief to me to know I can get the best Vet care for our big, silly girl and just let her explore her world and enjoy her life. She brings us so much happiness and joy and MetLife gives us peace of mind.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Blue Sky Animal Clinic
  • POSTED: 05/17/2024
  • BY: Colleen
  • BREED: American Bulldog
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Excellent

Each professional I spoke to was caring, empathetic, understanding, and patient. Phenomenal service
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 05/17/2024
  • BY: JACKIE
  • BREED: Mixed Breed
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Easy, fast and efficient!

Claim filing is easy and the reimbursements are quick as long as you upload the required documents including your vets SOAP notes.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Arizona Animal Wellness
  • POSTED: 05/16/2024
  • BY: Yolanda
  • BREED: Yorkshire Terrier
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No

Get a quote today

Leave a review