Pets Plus Us is a leading Canadian pet insurer whose goal is to help pet owners deal with all the joys and challenges of pet ownership. As well as making vet bills more manageable, Pet Plus Us provides its Blue Ribbon Benefits free with any coverage plan. Learn more about Pets Plus Us plan options, read customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

7.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 5.4 6.3 7.8
Count 10 65 444
1
Out of 10

Don't trust them and don't buy insurance from them!

Posted: 11/18/2021
By:
Xiaofei
Wang

The only thing they can do is let you submit documents which you don't have and let you wait and wait. If you don't ask them, no response from them, I submitted claim on Oct 1 and get final decision today with they can not pay for this claim. The reason is my cat have a pre-
existing condition. Please don't choose their product

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Very upset and $4,000 in debt

Posted: 11/17/2021
By:
Sydney
Dingwell

I've been a client for 6 years with my dog and never had a problem until I got coverage for my cat.

They are declining coverage for any diarrhea related illness even though he was never diagnosed by a veterinary professional. I was paying my premiums for over a year for my cat and was surprised to find out I was not covered. I am currently in debt $4,000 because they will not cover.

I've tried speaking with two supervisors and both have not been responsive. It's really impossible to talk to anyone and have them follow through. The first supervisor needed to speak to my vet, my vet reached out and she never called her back and or replied to my vets email. The second supervisor I have been in contact with since October 5, and I have sent 4 check-in emails. Only one was answered and stated claims is very overwhelmed and she will follow up. That last communication was October 29.

I'm so disappointed because their whole mission statement is "were here when you need us and when your pet needs us" I can not afford surprise thousand dollar vet visits so I thought I was being smart but I have paid my premiums and now being declined.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Sphynx

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Your pet comes first

Posted: 11/17/2021
By:
Leanne
Gignac

Always a friendly voice at the other end, never pushy or invasive, always compassionate and they are CLEARLY animal lovers and that’s really important to me! Your pet comes first! Highly recommend, you won’t be disappointed…. Leanne G

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Tabby

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Terrible

Posted: 11/05/2021
By:
Carol
Smith

They were fine when they were under President's Choice but they are terrible now. They overbill you, lie to you, refuse to reimburse you, have terrible customer service. Read the reviews all over the internet, this company is interested in one thing only: taking every cent they can get from you.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever Mix

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Worth Every Penny

Posted: 11/02/2021
By:
Alice
Briggs

My now 16-year-old dog has had thyroid cancer surgery, knee ligament (ACL) surgery, 9 months of chemotherapy, decubitus ulcer treatment for open wounds, a lot of lab work and many vet visits and several specialist consultations over the past 21/2 years. More than $15,000 has been paid by insurance in that time. Any gaffs in submitting claims were on me. I have had courteous and prompt help with any of my enquiries. I recommend Pets Plus Us to all my neighbours.
.
And Tucker is doing fine. Gentle walks, good food, a soft bed, and companionship when awake, seems to make him happy.

He is not a dying dog. He is an old dog with issues.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

I have never had such a hard time getting reimbursed for a claim on my pet. It's taken over 2 months and I am told I am missing

Posted: 10/24/2021
By:
Steven
Cowell

I have never had such a problem trying to get reimbursed for a spay. It is almost like I am being frustrated into giving up and not got through with the claim. I knew I shouldn't have got pet insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Ease of claims process.

Posted: 10/14/2021
By:
Chris
Haney

I have had many claims over the last six years. The amounts have been from $100 to $3300. The process and timing of payment did not differ at all. As long as the proper documents are provided with the claim, no problem. I have not had one question from the company pertaining to any claim. When I called to review my coverage, they were very helpful and good knowledge of what is available and what is not. Very different than dealing with other insurance companies. I refer this company to other people all the time.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Good Plan

Posted: 10/09/2021
By:
Renate
Pfeifer

We have had this insurance on our pet for 5 years, since we got her as a puppy. The first year, she required surgery for orthopaedic disease of her shoulder at a specialist. Since then she has developed allergies which requires on going medications, treatment of ear infections, allergy testing, special diets. This insurance has allowed me to provide best care for my pet. My monthly premiums have been reasonable and not increased with claims. It is true that reimbursement can take a few weeks, but my auto insurance claims have taken much longer! It is also on the purchaser to ensure the coverage is what they are wanting. Read the policy! Pre-existing conditions will not be covered. This just makes since or everyone’s premiums would be huge. There are also things that won’t be covered-read the dental exclusions. It is on the consumer to do the research. There are many pet insurance providers, make sure you are comparing the different products available. I have my pet insured with Pets Plus Us, but insured my Mom’s dog with a different company based on Mom’s needs. Last piece of advice is most important, get insurance when your dog is a puppy with a clean bill of health. That way there will be no exclusions on your policy.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Doesn't cover anything

Posted: 10/08/2021
By:
Adam
Cook

I've been paying for this pet insurance for 2 years. When we found out we needed to get a deep teeth cleaning last year that wasn't covered because it was deemed preventative care. Fine I don't like that you won't cover it because why the hell am I paying monthly but I guess if anything more serious comes up it'll be nice. So this year when we brought our pet in for her checkup we found out that one of her back teeth has degraded more and needs to be extracted. And guess what? also not covered. What the hell am I paying for? You don't cover preventative care, you don't cover required care? this is just a scam. Stay away.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Siberian

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent!!

Posted: 10/07/2021
By:
Marie
McCammont

First time buying pet insurance, having adopted a special needs, 4 year old cat, who had been found in terrible condition. After approximately 9 months of rehab, we saw him & adopted him. Tara, the agent who assisted me, was very knowledgeable, informative, & her overall customer service was excellent, helping me determine what coverage & budget was best for Francis. I enjoyed the entire process. Thank you. Marie

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Domestic Medium Hair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

Unresponsive

Posted: 10/02/2021
By:
Chuck
Rotenberg

I had to email a number of times and then call to get a quote for our second dog.

I spoke to someone about submitting back claims and she was sending me a paper form to complete so I could include multiple invoices from the vet - THAT WAS 3 WEEKS AGO

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Chocolate)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thanks. Trouble free, efficient and responsive.

Posted: 10/01/2021
By:
Menno
Mulholland

This insurance is amazing. Responsive and ready to deal with your issues. I can not say enough about our experience. My home warranty insurance in California has almost 2000 complaints in on year with BBB and Pets Plus three complaints in 3 years. I’d say they are doing something right.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

They don't actually pay anything out ever.

Posted: 09/29/2021
By:
Kim
Slater

We have been paying $80 a month for a year now. We have claimed 2 things and both have been rejected:
1) infection - apparently our policy doesn't cover this. We have a fairly good policy so I was surprised to see they wouldn't cover this. The cost was under $200 so I didn't have time to fight this. I assumed it was a one off situation.
2) Trip to emergency vet. Dog would not eat, was pooping blood and stomach was severely distended. This issue required multiple trips to the emergency vet. I was told this claim was rejected because it was related to a pre-existing condition. We got this coverage when our dog was months old. Her vet records showed vaccines to date only and she had NO pre-existing conditions. They just seem to make up a reason not to cover you.

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY WILL NOT ACTUALLY PROVIDE ANY INSURANCE COVERAGE.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
3
Out of 10

DONT GET THIS INSURANCE COMPANY

Posted: 09/25/2021
By:
wilhelm
Evers

Just garbage, been paying for 8 years, file a claim for a fractured tooth due to an accident. denied because removal is apparently "secondary" to the accident or some bs reason, what a crock.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Not getting answers

Posted: 09/21/2021
By:
Marion
Boulstridge

I signed up my newly adopted senior dog in June. In August he had an "event" while out walking and lost a lot of mobility in his back end. I submitted my first claim on Aug 25 and now at Sept 22 still have not heard a thing. I sent an email to ask when they might finish their review of my claim and all I got back was a survey to fill out. My dog needs further medical care. He is seeing a neurologist soon. I have no idea if I have coverage or not. When I got my coverage they made a big list of exclusions from his medical records which even includes ear hematomas because he had one. I am sorry I did not read all the google reviews before signing up because now I feel I made a BIG MISTAKE!!! My other dog is insured under Trupanion and their service and response times are excellent!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Nope nope nope

Posted: 09/20/2021
By:
Jerry
Schmous

Im canceling my insurance with these guys asap. Have a vet visit tomorrow $1300 to which they are covering 0. Ive been paying $85 month during a pandemic for nothing. With the $200 you have to pay in order to even make a claim thats $1220. I should have just flushed that money down the toilet. Do not recommend. Going with another company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great customer service

Posted: 09/13/2021
By:
Heather
Linge

We recently received a diagnosis for both of our cats that they had kidney disease before the age of 4. After a rollercoaster of a month, we are lucky to say this diagnosis was not correct. We had multiple claims for two pets through the course of 8 weeks, and all claims were processed in a reasonable amount of time with no issues. It’s great to be able to have an insurance company you can rely on, especially when you are going through turmoil with your fur babies.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Maine Coon

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

Very slow

Posted: 09/13/2021
By:
Megan
Jamieson

They are a good company at heart but they are incredibly slow on reimbursements. It used to take 1 or 2 days and now it takes 3-4 weeks. If I had known it would be this bad I would not have joined. The whole purpose of insurance is to assist with costly vet bills and it's almost pointless when you don't even get your money back for an entire month.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

English Bulldog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

Before You Sign Up...

Posted: 08/27/2021
By:
Christopher
Murphy

Before you signing up for pet insurance with PetsPlusUs (or any pet insurance) it is important to be aware of what exclusions may exist, and more importantly how those exclusions are applied, both in present and into the future.
In our particular case, we brought our dog to our vet because she was vomiting randomly and we could not figure out the cause. We took her in for a check up within a few days because it wasn't going away on its own.
Upon examination our vet found Nothing Wrong with her and suggested we try her on a "digestive" food.
In doing so, the vomiting stopped.
In the meantime we received our policy from PPU after its underwriter review process was completed. What we found within the policy is an "exclusion" for any vomiting conditions...ANY vomiting conditions. In other words, though no underlying illness was found PPU was excluding from coverage ANY current or future conditions associated with vomiting. If you've never looked up conditions that may have vomiting as a symptom, it is extensive. This is important because the exclusion does not only apply to the current circumstances, again, for which no underlying disease was found but any and all future conditions which may have vomiting as a symptom. Essentially our coverage was effectively reduced to conditions which do not have vomiting associated or anything like the dog being hit by a car.
After a few months our dog's vomiting returned to a lesser extent but it did return, so again we took her to the vet and requested virtually ever diagnostic test possible: blood tests, urine analysis, ultrasound, and more specific blood tests. PPU, to be clear, covered none of the testing though we continued to be enrolled with their insurance. The explanation given was that the testing was associated with the vomiting exclusion and therefore no coverage provided.
The diagnostics performed found No disease condition and the vet once again suggested a change in diet. With that change, the vomiting stopped.
With the issue seemingly resolved, and, more importantly, no underlying disease being identified, we Canceled our PPU policy due to the manner in which this was handled and the blanket exclusion being applied.
Since most conditions affecting a dog may have vomiting associated, our policy became largely ineffectual, but the premium remained the same.
PetsPlusUs is associated with Costco, and with their endorsement comes significant marketing exposure for PPU. We will be contacting Costco to review our personal experience and to gage Costco's understanding of the practices of PPU and their underwriter.
My hope is only to try and give consumers an example of the tactics that can be used to limit their pet's coverage. To be fair, it could happen with other insurers too...the point in this case is that there was Nothing found thru extensive diagnostics to warrant an exclusion, most especially on an on-going basis. If they wanted to exclude the current circumstance because the policy was still being reviewed by the underwriter before Final implementation, that might be viewed as fair; however, to exclude all such instances, regardless of circumstance, into the future, when Nothing was found in terms of an underlying condition, does this seem like an acceptable business practice? Does it seem reasonable? Fair? Does it reflect a concern for the well-being of the animal?
There are several pet insurers. Please take a good look at each and ask questions about when/how/if exclusions may apply and under what circumstances. Many times as consumers we are faced with choices and often we seek endorsements from family, friends, neighbors, co-workers, And by Reading reviews.
The best outcomes stem from being informed. Please choose wisely.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

West Highland White Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Emotional Torture

Posted: 08/23/2021
By:
Marina
Ortman

We lost our dog on June 8, 2021. Since, then, I have filed everything that was needed to process the claim (vet bills and reports). For the first month whoever was reviewing the claim was looking at the different claim from 2019. Once we cleared that off the table, I have been waiting for them to reimburse us for part of the claim and prorated premiums. Its has been over 2.5 months. And still they cant get back to me with any response. When call, they are still reading comments that were left by a previous employee. They seems to be unable to add any new comments and make take any steps in completing this claim. I tried to talk to supervisor, who assured me everything will be taken care, only to fail to add comments from that conversation, so that threw us back by few weeks. It seems that once your pet is gone na you are not paying any monthly premiums, you do not exist as far as they are concern. We are trying to put her death past us, but this ordeal with the insurance makes you relief her death over and over again. No help, just making you feel worthless. Horrible, upsetting and unforgettable.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Giant (90 Lbs +)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years