Healthy Paws Pet Insurance offers one simple plan that covers accidents and illnesses and includes unlimited annual and lifetime payouts. They support hundreds of pet rescues and animal shelters through their Every Quote Gives Hope™ medical grant program. Learn more about Healthy Paws' plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

9.7 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 8.8 9.2 9.7
Count 52 607 6800
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Healthy Paws is the best -- so grateful

Posted: 11/29/2021
By:
CJ
Hauser

Healthy Paws has been so supportive of my dog and I through multiple difficult medical experiences! Both times it made the biggest difference between the care I was able to give my dog and the ease with which I was able to make good decisions for him. I'm so grateful to HP and the fact that pet insurance made these stressful times immeasurably less difficult knowing we were financially covered.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bernese Mountain Dog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Highly Recommend Healthy Paws!

Posted: 11/28/2021
By:
Kristen
Settlemire

Healthy Paws is an incredible insurance company, and I enthusiastically recommend them to any pet parent looking for high quality pet insurance. Healthy Paws was originally recommended to me by a close friend who has several pets covered with the company. My sweet dog Chloe was recently hospitalized for two weeks with immune mediated thrombocytopenia. During the course of her hospitalization, she developed severe complications, necessitating three blood transfusions and a platelet transfusion. Thanks to Chloe's pet insurance policy with Healthy Paws, Chloe is alive today. Healthy Paws paid over $9,000.00 on Chloe's claim, allowing her to get the medical treatment necessary to save her life. Healthy Paws evaluated the claim the next business day of me submitting it for reimbursement and direct deposited the reimbursement the following business day. And, one of the claims adjusters emailed several days after Chloe returned home to see how she was doing. Chloe and I cannot thank Healthy Paws enough - we are so grateful to have her pet insurance coverage with the company! If you are looking for a fair, efficient, and compassionate pet insurance company, look no further for coverage.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Healthy Paws saved my dog

Posted: 11/28/2021
By:
Nancy
Immekeppel

They have taken such amazing care of my dogs.
My 4 year old Cavalier was run over by a truck and the doctors assumed I would have him euthanized because of the cost estimate.
I love my boy and thanks to Healthy Paws, he got the best care and is doing great 4 years later.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Get it - it is worth it!

Posted: 11/26/2021
By:
Lynelia
Raposo

I am so happy we have Healthy Paws.
We have learned as new pet parents that vet visits and emergency situations are extremely costly. Luna is our first dog, she is 1yr &10 months old. She is like our little girl. A few weeks ago she was not feeling well. She had ingested an object and an emergency surgery was imminent. She ended up getting an endoscopy and has recovered amazingly well! I was impressed by the support, follow up, and reimbursement from Healthy Paws. We got Healthy Paws as soon as we got Luna and it was a great decision.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best Pet Insurance

Posted: 11/24/2021
By:
debra
savicki

We have had several expensive claims and Healthy Paws has been great. Claims are reviewed quickly, the representatives are helpful and courtesy. The reimbursement checks are sent out within one week. I have had other pet insurance, none of them compare to Healthy Paws, I will stay with them forever.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Healthy Paws is terrific!

Posted: 11/24/2021
By:
Lynn
Pearl

My little 9 yr old chihuahua, Millie, has had two very expensive health incidents in the last couple of years and HealthyPaws not only processed my claims within a day or two of submission, but also checked up on her well-being afterwards, They are very reliable and responsive while also providing excellent support and service. I'm happy to recommend them to you without reservation.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Chihuahua Mix

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thank You, Healthy Paws, for Making Sure My Girl Got the Best Care

Posted: 11/24/2021
By:
Leslie
Wainger

I've had Healthy Paws insurance from back when hardly any pet insurance existed and they've never failed me. My old-lady dog recently spent 4 days in the veterinary ER hospital. I was worried for her, but I never once had to worry about affording the best possible care for her, and that meant so much for both of us. Now she's home and recovering, and I couldn't be more thankful that I had Healthy Paws in our corner.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shiba Inu

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

If you love your furbabies, you need to get them insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

Posted: 11/23/2021
By:
Daniel
Baker

Healthy Paws Pet Insurance was the best decision and best investment I've made to provide care for my fur-babies.
I am extremely pleased with Healthy Paws Pet Insurance:
-excellent coverage
-excellent customer service,
-easy to file claims
-quick claim processing
-fast reimbursement via direct deposit.

Please, if you have an animal companion, I implore you to investigate pet health insurance - and I think you'll agree that Healthy Paws Pet Insurance is the best choice.

I strongly encourage you to get pet health insurance while your animal companion is young and healthy and has no pre-existing conditions. The older they get, the more difficult to get good coverage.

When each of my dogs were young, I locked in 90% reimbursement with an annual deductible of $100 with no lifetime limits with healthy paws pet insurance, Each month, I paid the premium. I didn't have may claims for injuries or illness back them. But trust me, as your dog gets older, you will be thankful you have pet health insurance from them.

Recently, one of my dogs had to go to the emergency clinic. It turned out he had a large tumor that needed to be removed and his intestines resected. A two week hospital stay, including surgery, diagnostics, cancer screenings and oncology treatments racked up $40,000 real quick. Want to know what was also real quick? Healthy Paws Pet Insurance. Want to know who is home with me bright-eyed and alert and playful? My dog.

Thank you Healthy Paws Pet Insurance.

Between our three dogs, Healthy Paws Pet Insurance has reimbursed probably $65,000. A price tag we couldn't afford without health insurance to insure that our furbabies received the healthcare they needed. Multiple times for each of these dogs, Healthy Paws Pet Insurance was the difference between euthanasia and having our furbabies continue you with us with a high quality of life.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Choose HealthyPaws , it’s a kind, thoughtful, efficient and very easy insurance company to work with.

Posted: 11/23/2021
By:
Lori
Neft

I wish all insurance companies were this easy to work with! HealhyPaws was there when we needed them, with efficiency, speed, and surprisingly, such kindness! They genuinely care about our pets and their health, with supportive words and well wishes, I am pleased, and believe it is worth it.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Giant (90 Lbs +)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Surprise Kidney Stone Surgery

Posted: 11/23/2021
By:
Sarah
Winters

I got my puppy rescue terrier/chihuahua in 2016 and started paying for pet insurance because there was a lot of scary foot traffic in my busy neighborhood. I paid a reasonable cost, starting at something like $19/month and going up to $35/month as my dog got older.

Fast forward to 2021, and my dog uncharacteristically started peeing in the house. (We guessed maybe it was a UTI.) I took her to the vet and found out it was a kidney stone, and that it was too big for her to pass. She needed surgery. The total surgery cost something like $2500, but Healthy Paws reimbursed me. This was a huuuuge help -- it would have been a huge blow to my finances to have to pay for it all out of pocket.

Healthy Paws is communicative and their interface is incredibly easy. So thankful that I decided to get Healthy Paws so many years ago! If you don't have it, I recommend getting it right away -- before it's too late!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Fast and caring service

Posted: 11/22/2021
By:
Debra
Amore

I love Healthy Paws! They processed my claim so quickly and followed up with emails inquiring how my dog was doing.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Good experience

Posted: 11/20/2021
By:
Junjie
Zhu

My cat had a surgery recently, and it costed me 8000 dollars, luckily I have the insurance from Healthy paw. The claim process was very quick, and I received 6000 dollars. Can't imagine what should I do if I don't have the insurance for my little baby.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thank heavens for Healthy Paw insurance

Posted: 11/19/2021
By:
Louise
Allan

Healthy paws insurance company is very easy to work with, very caring about my toy poodle and extremely quick with settling the claims. So happy I chose Healthy Paws for my little one. In the two years I have had AahChoo she has had three very expensive incidents and healthy paws was right there by my side.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best Insurance for Pet

Posted: 11/17/2021
By:
Wency
Wang

My dog is diagnosed with glaucoma and lens dislocation, and healthy paws has been really helpful in giving me quick reimbursement for the money I paid for surgeries, medicines, etc. I am really glad that I have this insurance to help me through this tough time. Highly recommended insurance company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

French Bulldog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

The Best Pet Insurance Company on the planet

Posted: 11/16/2021
By:
Alan
Pollack

This is the best company I have ever had for my pet insurance. Unlike other companies I have dealt with, this company pays out your claims promptly and without endless excuses to reduce the amount of the payments. When you sign up for a 10 percent deductible, you get back a full 90% of your vet fees. Other companies I have dealt with manage to come up with various exclusions bringing down their claim payments to only around 50% on a 90% plan. In fact, I recently had vet bills of over $30,000 dollars for my two sick dogs, one receiving cancer treatments and the other needing major knee surgery. Healthy Paws paid me the full 90% of some very expensive claims. They even sent an email asking how my dog was doing after the knee surgery. You can’t buy better pet insurance than this. I’ll stick with Healthy Paws for all my future pet insurance needs. You should give them a try.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Yellow)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Formerly Good, Now Useless

Posted: 11/13/2021
By:
Mary
Chunko

From 2016 to April 2020 I had a Healthy Paws policy for my late dog, Jiminy. The ease of filing claims via the Healthy Paws App and responsive customer service representatives and reasonable premiums led me to recommend Healthy Paws to several friends. I did so even after Jiminy’s premiums increased from $48 per month to $62 per month. He was an elderly dog with an increasing number of health problems so the increase seemed fair. After Jiminy passed away, I adopted another rescue dog, Daisy, and purchased a Healthy Paws policy for her. I provided Healthy Paws with all of Daisy’s veterinary records from the adoption agency and provided records of all her vaccinations and wellness checkups after I adopted her. Healthy Paws did not have to pay any claims for Daisy from October 2020 until October 2021 when she had surgery to repair a cherry eye she had developed in July 2021. When I filed the claim on October 8, Healthy Paws suddenly wanted all sorts of additional documentation. I sent the final documents, including the vet’s notes from the surgery, to Healthy Paws on October 29. On November 9, Healthy Paws sent me a form email denying the claim because 30 days had elapsed since October 8 when the claim was first filed. In the fine print on the web site it said I could refile the claim and provide all the documentation again. I wrote back to Ms Sara Bailey, the customer service rep, telling her to cancel my policy effective November 10 and requested an email confirmation that the policy had been cancelled. Three days later I still had not received a confirmation so I called Healthy Paws customer service. The rep found my cancellation email in the records.and cancelled the policy effective Nov 11. No explanation or apology for the lack of response was offered. It used to be good insurance. It isn’t any more

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Horrible Experience

Posted: 11/12/2021
By:
Colleen
Aldrich

Horrible experience with Healthy Paws. As a patron who was using healthy paws for my smaller dog and Embrace for my larger dogs, I can not even compare the difference. I had Healthy Paws insurance for over 2 years, never needed to actually use the insurance. When I finally needed to place a claim it was nothing but a nightmare. Healthy Paws took two weeks to review and then wrongfully deny the claim and then took 4 more weeks to "review" the claim to only uncover that they were mistaken. Then charged me extra because they said I took too long to get my dogs surgery done after they made me wait 6 weeks to get her claim approved. I cancelled my membership and will be switching this dog to embrace as well. Who approves valid claims, has respectful customer service and doesn't make comments such as "well, you have a lot of notes on your account to go through". Spend your money elsewhere.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Pomsky

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

They Raise Their Rates over 20% per Year

Posted: 11/12/2021
By:
AJ
Simon

• I purchased a policy the day that I brought home my puppy and had a monthly premium of $35/mo.
• Year 2, they send me an email that my rate for the next year will now be $57/mo
• Year 3, they raised my rate to $73/mo.

My dog has allergies now, so if I switch insurance, my dog will not be covered for any pre-existing conditions, even though I have had insurance since day 1.

They never mentioned that rates can go up over 20-60%% per year when I signed up - seems like something that would have been important to know, except when it is not good for their business.

Protect yourself and your pup from their predatory practice and choose another provider and make sure to ask rate increase questions

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

West Highland White Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Wish I could give them a 20!

Posted: 11/11/2021
By:
Bonnie
Urban

Healthy Paws is truly an unbeatable health insurance plan for your furry family members. Before Healthy Paws, my dogs had a plan from another company. After filling out explicit and time-consuming forms for each occurrence and waiting weeks, the reimbursement would finally come. But, it wasn't a reimbursement based on what my vet actually charged. It was a reimbursement based on what some unknown vets in another state would have, perhaps, charged. And, when one of my beloved girls got cancer? They stopped paying mid treatment because the policy renewed and that pushed her diagnosis into the pre-existing condition phase. They never paid another penny on her treatments or anything related to them. We finished the treatments out of pocket and had her for another thankful year. When I called Healthy Paws, I had a few more questions than I asked the first company. The representative was wonderful, knowledgeable and helpful. We chose them for our new dogs and I have never entertained the thought of changing companies. They base their reimbursement on exactly what my vet charges. And submitting a claim couldn't possibly be easier. With their app, you simply take a photo of the bill and press send. That's it. Not one form to fill out, and reimbursement is incredibly fast. Some health insurance companies will pay a certain amount for office calls and/or routine care. Healthy Paws does not (at least not in our plan). But, in the end, when we have had an unexpected expense (surgeries, diagnostics, expensive medications, emergency care ... ), the bottom financial line has been so much better. The peace of mind, alone, is worth more than I can say. The dogs we have today, and the ones to come, will always have Healthy Paws. I simply couldn't be happier with this company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Anatolian Shepherd Dog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

5 Stars for Healthy Paws

Posted: 11/10/2021
By:
Ray
Kilroy

Our 4 year old Golden Retriever had to have both rear acl's repaired. We were very concerned for her as she means so much to us. Luckily, we had Healthy Paws Insurance which helped us cover 80% of her surgery costs. They handled her claim within a few days of submission and sent us a check within a week. They covered all of her expenses which included her harness, collar, pills, bandages, etc. They were fantastic and without them we don't know what we would have done. Thank you Healthy Paws.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8