Healthy Paws Pet Insurance offers one simple plan that covers accidents and illnesses and includes unlimited annual and lifetime payouts. They support hundreds of pet rescues and animal shelters through their Every Quote Gives Hope™ medical grant program. Learn more about Healthy Paws' plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

9.7 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 9.1 9.1 9.7
Count 74 571 6861
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best Pet Insurance Ever

Posted: 01/14/2022
By:
Mary
S

I have had Healthy Paws Insurance for years for both my dogs. The plans are flexible depending on the reimbursement you opt for. Submitting a claim, checking on the status of your claim, and getting reimbursed for covered services is such an efficient and easy process. As my dogs have gotten older and I have found myself submitting more claims, Healthy Paws has not cancelled the policies for my dogs or refused to pay for covered services. I am very happy with Healthy Paws and the services they provide and the customer service.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

They suck run

Posted: 01/13/2022
By:
David
Fox

After 10 years paying for a policy they refused to pay a simple claim saying they needed med records for the entire life of my dog. I say after 10 years of paying monthly payments and not filing a claim she had no issues.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Giant (90 Lbs +)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great Pet Insurance

Posted: 01/13/2022
By:
PHYLLIS
BOWER

When I got my puppy, it was my first experience enrolling in pet insurance. My intent was to have it "just in case" something unexpected happened. At 6 months of age he began a recurring cycle of GI symptoms. Over the next 18 months he had three major surgeries to correct an underlying, unusual birth defect. He is doing well now and I have Healthy Paws to thank for a wonderful, affordable insurance product. Without it, my options to address his issues would not have been optimal. His condition otherwise would have shortened his life and significantly affected his quality of life. I can recommend Healthy Paws pet insurance without reservation for anyone looking for value, great customer service, and a simple claims process.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Clumber Spaniel

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

As a veterinarian, I would not recommend this company to anybody

Posted: 01/12/2022
By:
Alyssa
Zoto

I am a veterinarian at a large tertiary referral hospital. I have Healthy Paws insurance for my own pet and owed a pretty hefty bill after her amputation surgery following a cancer diagnosis. As an employee of the hospital, I receive a benefit from the university that I work for towards the bill. The benefit is 20% and Healthy Paws covers 80%. To be clear, I am not making money off of this, it basically just helps cover the cost of the bill. Healthy Paws has always acknowledged this in the past and has taken into account the benefit.

After my dogs' most recent surgery, Healthy Paws was only covering 80% of the bill AFTER my benefit, leaving me with approximately $4,000 to cover on my own. After discussion with them, they agreed that they had taken this into account in the past and would go back and review charges. Following this, they sent me a BILL for $625.25 saying that the past claims were all reviewed in error and now I OWE them money. So in addition to them stealing my benefit, they also are now charging me for THEIR error.

I am absolutely disgusted with Healthy Paws. When this company started, they were much more responsive, claims were faster, and they were compassionate. If you are considering this company LOOK ELSEWHERE. I am a veterinarian and can't even afford my dogs bill because of Healthy Paws. I'd recommend TruPanion or NationWide in the future, as many of my pet parents have had good success with them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Greyhound

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Wrongful denial of coverage due to false claim of preexisting condition

Posted: 01/12/2022
By:
Scott
Schroeder

Submitted claim 1st week of December 2021. After numerous emails and phone calls I received a claim denial on Jan 10th due to " pre-existing condition". My vet says otherwise. I suspect the denial was due to claim size ($5000.00+)

Buyer beware!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Exceeds expectations

Posted: 01/12/2022
By:
Seth
Yeazel

I have been with Healthy Paws for about 3.5 years now and could not be happier with them. They have been exactly what I hoped and expected. Great coverage, very responsive, and so easy to process claims. I will always have my pets on this insurance. Thank you!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
5
Out of 10

Was great, now not so much!

Posted: 01/11/2022
By:
LOUISE
WASHBURN

We immediately got pet insurance in 2011 when we adopted our doggy. It was reasonably priced and we had the 90% reimbursement and $100 deductible. Everything had been great until about 2 years ago when we started getting quite large increases on our monthly payment. I just received an email with the annual policy amount and it is increasing from $179 to $668. This is apparently because of a change in the insuring company and an expiry of Californian increase protections. This is essentially a cancellation of our policy and we will have to change companies and lose any protections of her pre-existing conditions.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Pootie is alive!

Posted: 01/09/2022
By:
Louise
Gaucher

She would not be alive today if not for the financial help afforded this Sr Citizen to help give my 5 lb toy poodle the BEST of care these last 2 1/2 yrs of serious illnesses. Their care and concern along with the promptness of paying claims helped to alleviate the helplessness I often felt during these difficult times. Thank you!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Poodle (Toy)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

Terrible-do not use

Posted: 01/08/2022
By:
C
I

Terrible. Make it impossible to submit claims and reject claims they should cover. Leading to having to resubmit the same claim over and over. Also more than doubled my rates for no reason/With no warning. Stay away.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

No Worries!

Posted: 01/07/2022
By:
Rachael
Duker

We knew from the beginning of getting Riley that she would love to eat everything and anything. She has gotten into some things that warranted visits to the vet. Healthy Paws was quick and easy to upload vet documents to get money back from the bills. We didn't have to worry about expensive vet bills because we knew we could get most of the money back with the insurance. We had to front the money for the visits, but within about a week our claims came back and money was direct deposited into my bank. We are glad we invested in this insurance for our dog and will add any future dogs to our plan!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Quick review and approval

Posted: 01/07/2022
By:
Mary
Ferguson

I did a lot of research and Healthy Paws was the best for us. When our cat had to be scoped at the ER vet, we filed a claim and got an approval notice in just a few days. The process was very easy and quick!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
5
Out of 10

Excessive emails yto start a claim

Posted: 01/06/2022
By:
Robert
Valentine

Every time we have a claim with Healthy Paws there is always excuses. They claim to never receive the email when I receive a email telling me the claim was received. Or the email claim was "smudged" or eligible. Problay have had 5 claims and have had problems on all of them. After hours spent on the phone I usually get them resolved but I have no more patience.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Staffordshire Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Healthy Paws is the BEST!!

Posted: 01/04/2022
By:
Deena
Falkow

When I researched pet insurance in 2013 and found Healthy Paws, I could only hope it would prove to be all it portended to be. After all these years, I find it an extreme comfort to know my furry companions have access to the finest medical care should the need arise. There is no greater peace of mind than to know you are able to take care of those you love without fear or worry of financial status. The website is easy to navigate and claims are extremely easy to submit. As soon as a new companion comes into your life, I recommend enrolling her or him immediately.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Domestic Short Hair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best Pet Insurance!

Posted: 01/04/2022
By:
Alex
Riley

If you have a dog, I couldn't stress the importance of getting solid pet insurance. I wish I learned that before my dog ate not one, not two, but three socks!

If you are going to get insurance, nothing comes close to Healthy Paws. Great rates, fast claim review, and amazing customer support make Healthy Paws the only pet insurance worth while! Not only did they review my claims for a large ER bill quickly, they issued a check and then sent a personalized email checking in on the status of my dog within the week.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Outstanding pet insurance company.

Posted: 01/04/2022
By:
Kim
Nesvick

Having used other animal insurance companies, I can say that Health Paws is the best by far. Their low deductible and 90% reimbursement, even on medications, is superior to other plans/companies. Both my claims for my dog's injury and subsequent TPLO surgery were settled within 3 days of submittal. Healthy Paws even followed up asking about my pet's recovery. It is obvious that that care. Love them and will use with any new pets.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Healthy Paws Providing Coverage Since Puppyhood into Digit Amputaiton

Posted: 01/04/2022
By:
Adam
DeJute

Healthy Paws has been the insurer for my standard poodle, Motley, since 2016.

With Healthy Paws, I have been able to get Motley medical treatments without worrying about the cost. To date, Healthy Paws has assisted with the cost of giardia and amputation necessitated by bone lysis. The amputation occurred during the holiday season, despite the timing. Healthy Paws processed, approved, and sent out reimbursement within days. The reimbursement was in my hand within a week of the surgery date, which was doubly reassuring/appreciated given the cost.

I would and do recommend Healthy Paws to anyone with a four-legged friend. For a reasonable set monthly cost, you get peace of mind, a talented team of Customer Service Representatives as questions arise, and a customizable policy based on your risk tolerance/budget.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Poodle - Standard

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Fair & Fast

Posted: 01/03/2022
By:
Samantha
Manfredini

Healthy Paws is one of the best choices I've made concerning my pet. As an insurance professional, I especially appreciate being able to reach an associate in the United States, the clear terms and limitations within the policy, and the fast and efficient reimbursements. The associates are kind, honest, and always incredibly helpful.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Healthy Paws makes everything easy for your pet to live their best life

Posted: 12/31/2021
By:
Jamie
Cunningham

My dog Felix was born with a complete cleft lip and palate. I would not have been able to have him due to his medical problems if it weren’t for Healthy Paws. They make everything easy for me. From claim submissions to reimbursements, everything happens very smoothly. My dog has had multiple surgeries, a couple of emergencies, and requires routine procedures. Everything is handled with ease. They even check on him after each procedure to make sure he is OK. I love this company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Black)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Super easy + honest company

Posted: 12/30/2021
By:
Nancy
Truman

Healthy Paws makes it so easy to file a claim and the turnaround time is so fast. I highly recommend them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Bully

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Highly Recommend!!!

Posted: 12/29/2021
By:
Kim
Herbert

Claims are very easy to file and reimbursement received within 3 days

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8