Pumpkin is a pet care company on a mission to make the best pet care possible fur all. Pumpkin was started after its founders took a look at other pet insurance options on the market and found that some were missing one crucial component - preventative care. Pumpkin believes all parents should be able to give their pets medical care if they’re sick or hurt, and preventive care that keeps them healthy throughout their lives.

Average customer rating

9.2 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 4.0 4.5 9.2
Count 1 6 45
4
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Pumpkin Large premium increase

Posted: 04/09/2022
By:
Lesia
Trickett

Purchased 20K/90%/$250 for 1 year old Goldendoodle. Cost $55 (TX). Had 2 claims: one for diarrhea (went toward deductible) and 1 for paw treatment (poison ivy) for $300. New premium for 2 years old: $77. "Not due to claim history, but due to your pet's age and your location". I contacted Pumpkin, got reply: "Your pet growing older", "Due to advancements in veterinary treatments, vets can now do more for our fur babies", "Rates and age factors are filed and approved by your state's department of insurance.​" I researched and compared many pet insurances before buying Pumpkin. I know it is a relatively young company. But I did not see any reviews about 50% premium increase in 1 year.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Goldendoodle

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great to have

Posted: 01/15/2022
By:
Liz
Qersdyn

Have a purebred cat, needed to make sure she is covered. Pumpkin Pet Insurance has come thru several times when I’ve had to rush our baby to the vet.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bengal

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Please do not use pumpkin, they are scammers and just take your money, do not pay out claims start a saving pet account

Posted: 12/14/2021
By:
Julie
Meidinger

Please do not use this company, COMPLETELY CORRUPT, they are scammers. We paid $157 a month for the last 8 months after our pup was spaded and 3 other claims of over 3000 they paid a lousy $202 I lost it with them, all they want is your money and have excuses why they wont cover your claims, that is how the employees are trained take the money in but they don't pay any claims out. Your better off starting a pet saving account on your own and putting money in it every month than being scammed and taken by this company. I am warning everyone do not use it, you will waist your time and money and be very angry! So tired of these kinds of business that don't care about your dog, we have hired an attorney through my husbands work to get all our money back we paid, they even want the $202 out of the $3000 in claims they paid on top of our 157 a month we already paid and refuse to give it back. Thief's THAT IS WHO THEY ARE! The reason i don't find reviews for pumpkin helpful is because there employees are leaving the positive ones check out bbb as they are all o the same day and one liners what a joke

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

SCAMMERS

Posted: 12/08/2021
By:
Shaena
Litwin

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT USE THEM!! THEY ARE SCAMMERS!! I filed my first claim because I had no doubt about the issue and that it would be covered based upon the plan I chose. They denied it, saying there were preexisting issues, so I call my vet and they have no recollection as to why they would think that and deny my claim. The people are rude and we’re no help. I just hope other people don’t make my mistake. I immediately cancelled and spoke with another insurance who was happy to help and agreed with my statements above and how they were false.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Ragdoll

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Absolute scam, they even admitted to being misleading.

Posted: 10/09/2021
By:
Deana
Bistodeau

SCAM!!!! THIS COMPANY WILL NOT COVER MANY CONDITIONS THAT ITS CONTRACT STATES IT WILL!!!! They call it “proprietary information.” Their private list they say allows them not not cover IVVD, wobblers and other conditions. No where in your contract does it say this. A represantive openly admitted to me over the phone they are misleading customers! I’m out over $1000 for bogus coverage and they refused to give me any money back at all for my premiums paid even though they NEVER spent a penny on my dog ever!!! Now they won’t do anything and just stole my money! I’ve reported to BBB and waiting on a response! DO NOT get this insurance. If your dog gets one of their many “unlisted exclusions” you will be out the money potentially thousands of you buy it on a younger dog!!! BEWARE!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

claim not accepted

Posted: 05/26/2021
By:
Elizabeth
Bohart

I inherited three dogs in December 2020 and February 2021: German Shepherds 7, 6 and 1 year old. I placed in insurance in the first 2 but I placed the wrong name in the 6 years old. I called Pumpkin to ask to change the name of the dog as she needed more the insurance than the one year old. However, they asked me to cancel the insurance in the 1 year old and place a new one in the 6 years old. She got an infection on her gums later and I took her to the vet and they did extractions in May. Now they will not honor the claim because they said that it was a pre -existing condition. I do not understand why the insurance did not allow me to rectify the name of the dog, and I realize this in a couple of weeks.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

I purchased Pumpkin Pet insurance for my Maltese in March, 2021

Posted: 05/21/2021
By:

with no idea she would die in April. I had only had the pet policy for one month when my sweet little Bailey started having complications breathing. She was rushed to the vet emergency clinic, put on Lasix and sent home to see her veterinarian the next day. After her visit the next day, Bailey was diagnosed with congestive heart failure, something I have never been told before. The next day Bailey died and we were devastated. Not knowing the insurance would pay, because I had only had it for one month, I filed the claim anyway. Low and behold the insurance paid 90% of Bailey's bill after my $250 co-pay. Amazing!!! I would recommend Pumpkin Pet insurance to anyone. If I ever get another pet I will definitely purchase the pet insurance from Pumpkin.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

After owning 8 dogs without having pet insurance

Posted: 05/19/2021
By:

we decided to get a wellness and critical care policy on our puppy Mahlee. We have not been insured long but submitted two claims for wellness puppy care, response from the Pumpkin Team was amazing! I had some issues submitting the claims, a Pumpkin Team member jumped in on chat and took care of everything. Payment arrived that day in the form of an email. I would recommend Pumpkin Pet Insurance to everyone!!!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Very impressed with our dog Boomer's Pumpkin plan.

Posted: 05/17/2021
By:

Everything has been so smooth and informative from the start. Just filed our first claim last week for his annual wellness check-up and Pumpkin reimbursed the entire cost within 2-days. I have already recommended Pumpkin to several friends.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Excellent coverage and claims are processed very quickly.

Posted: 05/15/2021
By:

Highly recommend pet insurance to all pet owners!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

My Preventive Essentials claim was processed and reimbursed within 2 weeks of filing my claim.

Posted: 05/13/2021
By:

I was emailed status updates during the review period. I am pleased with Pumpkin Pet Insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Quick, convenient and professional!

Posted: 05/08/2021
By:

All I did was submit the vet bill and Pumpkin figured out everything and sent the check in an e-Mail.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

I bought pet insurance for my new puppy and added the puppy wellness package to cover him from the start.

Posted: 05/03/2021
By:

He has visited the vet twice for his shots and wellness check. I’m glad I have Pumpkin because it coved both visits. The claim was easy to submit online. They were very responsive and approved my claim within 24 hours. I love that I can either direct deposit or retrieve the check online. It makes taking care of my pup very quick and very easy.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

I purchased Pumpkin pet insurance for my kitten just in the nick of time.

Posted: 05/02/2021
By:

My kitten was adopted from a high kill shelter and within a month of bringing her home, she fell very sick with a difficult to treat viral infection. Her treatment has required many vet visits, follow up bloodwork, SubQ fluid administration, and medications. At first I was worried that Pumpkin Pet Insurance would try to come up with reasons to not help with my vet bills. Thus far they have paid the full 90% on all vet bills associated with her viral infection without issue or delay (minus a few things they don't cover like medical waste fees). I am very impressed with this company. I honestly don't know how I would afford to pay my kittens vet bills without Pumpkin Pet Insurance. I truly recommend this company and guess what? They really do care about your pet and it shows. I wouldn't hesitate to go with Pumpkin Pet Insurance and I don't post reviews easily. So far, so good. Honest review.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Although I have only been using Pumpkin insurance for a month, so far they have been wonderful!

Posted: 04/29/2021
By:

I filed a claim for my dogs first check up after we adopted him, and even though this took place prior to his eligibility date, they did reimburse the allowable amount very quickly. The claim that was denied (which was no surprise, I just submitted it to have his records updated), a representative reached out to me to ensure I understood my EOB and offered to follow up with me if I had any questions. I am very pleased with my selection of pet insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

My 6 year old Dane ended up with a bowel obstruction and had to have emergency surgery…

Posted: 04/26/2021
By:

The process for filing a claim was very easy and the company came through wonderfully. I had switched to pumpkin from another insurance just this year for my 3 Great Danes. I found them to be affordable and have very good coverage compared to other insurances. You never want to have to use insurance, but when you do I am grateful I found Pumpkin!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Very professional, friendly and supper helpful.

Posted: 04/24/2021
By:

Claim was done fast once everything was taken care of on my end. Thank u

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Love Pumpkin!

Posted: 04/24/2021
By:

Overall, awesome experience. Submitting claims are simple and fast!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

It only took 2 days while the other took 6 weeks!

Posted: 04/22/2021
By:

Value based on pets age which is a plus. Easy to submit claim. Much quicker in receiving funds back than the other leading pet insurance company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

This has to be the best insurance for pets!

Posted: 04/19/2021
By:

They are fast in handling claims and professional at what they do for you and your fur baby 🙂
I looked at many other insurance companies for pets and Pumpkin offered the most coverage (90%) for a much more reasonable rate.
Don’t look any further, pick PUMPKIN! You will not regret your decision. I know I haven’t.
THANK YOU AGAIN PUMPKIN......YOU’RE THE BEST!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet
Under a year