Embrace Pet Insurance offers nose-to-tail accident and illness protection and an additional Wellness Rewards program. Its diminishing deductible feature, Healthy Pet Deductible™, is included with every policy as standard. Learn more about Embrace's plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

9.3 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 5.4 7.9 9.3
Count 5 86 10219
5
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Temporary exclusions become permanent

Posted: 04/21/2022
By:
Casey
Walsh

We use Embrace for our cats. It has covered our older cat that had hyperthyroidism well, but beware of previous conditions. They have “temporary exclusions” which they say will go away after a year, but they have refused coverage on these conditions even after the temporary exclusion has expired. This has been the case with elevated liver enzymes, conjunctivitis, and upper respiratory infections for both my older cat and my two one year old cats. This might be the norm in the industry, but I find their advertising of “temporary exclusions” underhanded and dishonest.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Incorrect interpretation of results, leading to multiple denied claims for the same problem

Posted: 04/20/2022
By:
Andrea
Ayala

First, let me start by stating that I have had a TERRIBLE time with Embrace. My dog Otter was diagnosed with neck pain, and the two claims were denied because he was in his orthopedic waiting period. When my vet appealed, they were still denied, because it might be orthopedic. When he was taken to a neurologist (claim #3 - for the same issue, now to a specialist), and they found meningeal enhancement (and even performed a spinal tap to determine the cause), they denied the claim - why? Pre-existing condition - of a neurological issue that might be orthopedic (but is clearly not). How do I know? Because I have a PhD from the UGA College of Veterinary Medicine, and I reviewed meningeal enhancement (the diagnosis), which is undoubtedly a neurological issue. The neurologist even wrote that there was no orthopedic involvement in the notes! How does a neurological issue of meningeal enhancement that starts four months after the policy started become "Anxiety and Abnormal Behavior" to the claims adjuster, which are conveniently not covered? Otter is doing better now after a course of prednisone, many thanks to the neurologist that treated him and absolutely no thanks to Embrace.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Embrace Insurance forever.

Posted: 04/16/2022
By:
Adrienne
Leeburg

My lab will be 13 yrs old this month….
She has survived 2 major surgeries and a number of different illnesses through the years!
Embrace Insurance has been there for everything.,… and their customer service is always reachable and very helpful… I will never be without Embrace for my animals!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Yellow)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Scam company

Posted: 04/08/2022
By:
Julie
Carr

I’ve had a policy with embrace for over 8 years and now it’s almost $4000 a year. They up it 30% every year as soon as your pet has the slightest issue. They play on the “pre-existing conditions” to trap people as dogs get older. Please go elsewhere, the customer service are lovely but very unaware of the company they work for.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Simple, Fair, Quick Claims Process & Valuable Peace of Mind

Posted: 03/23/2022
By:
Michelle
Chapman

I am very pleased with how quick and easy the claims process has been. Our 7 year old Aussie pup is overall a very healthy, playful, active girl, so it's obvious when she isn't feeling well and, as her only people in the world, we feel compelled to do everything that we can to ensure that she gets the care she needs. It has been so wonderful knowing that we have Embrace on our side. The claims process is so simple - upload a copy of the vet bills online - and the responses come within a day or so. Claims reps have been friendly and diligent and really take the dread out of having to deal with insurance so that we can focus on taking care of our furbaby.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Australian Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

They take your money and come up with every excuse not to reimburse you!

Posted: 03/14/2022
By:
DENISE
IANNOTTA

My puppy had an ear infection at 8 weeks old. Now that is a pre-existing condition for everything under the sun.
They pay for nothing!!!!!!!! I took my pup to a dermatologist to make sure she does not have allergies so now my status starts again for having an issue with ear infections
I explained to the customer service rep. I took my pup to see if she has any allergies or yeast. Everything was clear. NO allergies or yeast. Now I was told that breaks the 1-year cycle and I have to start all over again to be clear for a year of any ear, skin, or itching issues.
It's an umbrella for all issues to be not be covered. So basically, I should not take my dog for checkups..yes because Embrace is all about the love for animals..so I should not get checkups because that is saying she is sick and has allergies. They are ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!! waste of time and money!!!!!!!!!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih Tzu

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

13 years we had Embrace. Totally recommend. You never know when you need it. It has paid off.

Posted: 03/13/2022
By:
Kay
Simpson

13 years we had Embrace. Totally recommend. You never know when you need it. It has paid off. They sent cookies after she passed

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Poodle

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Appeal Review

Posted: 03/10/2022
By:
Linda
Shunaman

Our appeal was resolved quickly and professionally.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Avoid this company- they won’t cover anything on senior dogs!!

Posted: 02/28/2022
By:
Caroline
Ginnane

Here’s my experience- purchased a plan for $107 a month for my 9 year old cane corso. Had my vet send Kaya’s health records so I would know everything they consider preexisting conditions. I had a feeling there would be a few things bc she’s 9, but let me tell you- they got back to me 2 weeks later telling me that they won’t cover basically ANYTHING.

There were things under preexisting that the vet has never said are a problem! Embrace said she has plaque buildup yet the vet has always said she has perfect teeth and does not even need to get a cleaning. They also said that she has arthritis so any hip problems are preexisting but arthritis has never been diagnosed, in fact the vet has told us her mobility is great for her age. And they said any cancer &/or lumps will not be covered bc she has had a few (we had them all tested and none were cancer so idk how they can exclude cancer as preexisting). Also, bc I called the vet office to ask about swallowing something (she had not actually swallowed anything, it was a phone conversation) so they said that’s not covered either bc it’s on her record.

Now I’ve been waiting on the phone for 30 minutes to try to cancel my plan which is also an issue bc they pick up right away to sell you a plan.

Overall I do NOT recommend this company

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Cane Corso

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent insurance

Posted: 02/27/2022
By:
Kate
Hvizdak

We have insured both of our Labs over the past 12 years with Embrace. I researched a number of companies before choosing Embrace and it has been an excellent decision from the start. The claims are covered quickly and reimbursed quickly as well. There have been no issues with coverage which has made the process of treatments for our Labs less stressful. I highly recommend Embrace to anyone considering pet insurance. I tell people it only takes one crisis to make it worth having insurance for your pet. Gives you peace of mind that your pet is covered.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Black)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best pet insurance out there!

Posted: 02/27/2022
By:
Donah
Sewell

They cover pre-existing conditions after a year of no recurrence. They don’t monkey around with the premiums. They are super fast. Pay exactly what they agreed to Pay, and staff seems like family. So glad I chose Embrace over the others.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bulldog (English)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
6
Out of 10

Big fish tries to get over on little fish

Posted: 02/26/2022
By:
AISHA
EASON

***LONG POST ALERT BUT WORTH THE READ***

I had a policy with Embrace for several years. My policy included 80% reimbursement with $300 deductible and covered wellness care also. Last year my dog got sick, vomiting frank blood and I took him to the emergency vet where he was diagnosed with gastric ulcers. I proceeded to take him to his primary vet for follow up and they confirmed the findings of the emergency vet. I gathered all of my documents, bills, and claim form, submitting those to Embrace. Embrace denied my claim citing "pre-existing" due to his kidney disease. I reached out to both the emergency vet and his primary vet to inquire. Both veterinarians confirmed the ulcers were NOT related to the kidney disease. I submitted those letters to Embrace and they still denied my claim.

Eager to prove my case, I filed a 1st and 2nd appeal. Embrace submitted for a independent exam in which the examiner stated "the ulcers COULD be related to the kidney disease but could also be related to another disease with similar symptoms."

Again they denied me as I argued their position is speculative. Wanna know what I did? I sued them in small claims court and I WON!!! The judge agreed that Embrace's position was speculative and not rooted in facts when two licensed veterinarians confirmed the illness to be unrelated to kidney disease. When I pointed out to the judge that Embrace had also violated their policy provisions, the judge awarded me 3% interest for the past 5 months. So do yourself a favor, SUUUUUUUUE! Insurance companies get over all the time because they know people don't want to spend the money to fight against them. The beauty about this pandemic, your court case can be held from the comfort of your living room.

I give them a 3 star because I've had other claims that did not involve potential pre-existing injuries and those claims were paid without a problem. I'm honest & I'm fair.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Yorkshire Terrier

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Please protect your pet(s) with Embrace

Posted: 02/24/2022
By:
Laura
Roake

We started with four pets insured with Embrace and over the years it has gotten down to two. On the rare occasion that I have had to contact Embrace, they are very responsive and helpful. Having been heavily involved in the rescue arena for some time, I recommend Embrace to my friends all the time and cannot impress on people how important it is to protect your pets with health insurance. I could go on and on . . .

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Outstanding provider for my dog insurance need.

Posted: 02/22/2022
By:
Rosaire
Belizaire

Embrace is providing excellent coverage for my dog. Easy to file a claim, review process is prompt along with reimbursement. If you need to call the staff is knowledgeable, respectful and eager to help.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Embrace Pet Insurance was a good choice!

Posted: 02/10/2022
By:
Lynn
Shepard

I purchased the policy for my dog last year and she has always been healthy but I wanted to make sure she had insurance just in case something came. Chloe had trouble with her eye the end of last year and the Vet sent her to an ophthalmologist. They ran tests and she had an infection and she needed medication and drops. I actually thought she was going to go blind. But the medication worked very fast and she is almost completely healed. It was very easy to submit my claims and a good portion of her bills were paid by Embrace. I am very pleased with the ease of submitting the claims and how they show the progress as your claim is being worked on.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Overall a great experience with its flaws

Posted: 02/10/2022
By:
Hanna
Vaughan

Overall, Embrace has been amazing. It's on the higher end of premium costs compared to others, so with that, I expect higher service and they have definitely delivered on that. We have had a policy with them since 2019 and have only had 1 or 2 "issues" and it's really just been with the claims person who was handling our claim. I won't get into detail because I truly think it was her lack of effort, not the company as a whole.
Embrace makes it VERY easy to submit claims and they process them quickly. Like in less than 24 hours. This is new and improved but it matches the service I expect for my monthly premium cost. Their online portal is easy to use and overall we are happy with them! We get a discount for being USAA customers, so I would see if your current insurance plan has a deal with them as well!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Embrace exceeded my expectations

Posted: 01/31/2022
By:
Maureen
Lesniak

Thank you Embrace, you made my first time claim easy to file. Customer Service, prompt updates to keep me advised, explanation of what would be covered was easily understood. Payments sent with no issue at all. Thank you, I would recommend Embrace to all my friends with pets.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Scottish (Scottie)/Aberdeen Terrier

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great for Dog Owners!

Posted: 01/28/2022
By:
Sally
Fox

We got this insurance when our dog turned a year old and it ended up covering a large ER bill shortly after. The process for submitting a claim is super easy (you can do it from your phone!) and the turnaround time is less than a week. If you have a dog that frequently gets into trouble, this is a must have.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Australian Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Couldn't be happier

Posted: 01/27/2022
By:
Cammie
H

Embrace has been absolutely wonderful. We have 4 pets (2 cats/2 dogs). Embrace has covered everything from pets UTI's to surgeries. Claims submission is easy and processed quickly. We highly recommend them!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Denies All Claims For All the Excuses

Posted: 01/27/2022
By:
Joe
B

Everything looks good on paper and all the pretty ads and probably fake reviews and support that they get. I bought the most expensive insurance plan they had. Embrace Pet Insurance has denied 6 out of 7 of my claims to date. They claim "pre-existing" conditions for everything and find ways to link things together to make them all related. Obviously a pets body parts are all connected. Even after my Vet wrote to them a full statement saying that my pet did not have this pre-existing condition, they still denied my claims. This is the usual fraudulent insurance practice to deny as many claims as possible and keep collecting premiums. I recommend you take your business elsewhere unless you want to try to fight claims all the time. Their Director of Underwriting and Claims carries a bachelors in biology and was a claim adjuster for a year before taking on the role per her LinkedIn. Thats your professional claims leader. I can no longer claim my dogs issues now that he really has a pre-existing condition.

Good luck if you want to try them and take this risk.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Age of Pet
Over 8 years