ASPCA Pet Health Insurance® is committed to making veterinary care more affordable for pet parents. Its Complete Coverage plan covers accidents, injuries and illnesses, and features a simplified reimbursement based on percentage of invoice. Learn more about ASPCA's plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

9.1 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 7.3 5.8 9.1
Count 3 17 5557
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Pet Insurance you can count on

Posted: 12/21/2021
By:
Joel
Kopke

There when you need it most.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever Mix

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

They paid quickly, as my sweet lad has cancer

Posted: 12/16/2021
By:
Barbara
Burns

I would recommend having this insurance on your pet, no matter how old.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Chocolate)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
2
Out of 10

Continue to automatically increase cost every year by 26% for each pet

Posted: 12/14/2021
By:
Lauren
Lew

They continue to increase the price by 26% each year - from 3 to 4 years of age cat. I can't image how expensive it will keep getting in the future. When I make an estimate for a new pet same age and breed, it comes out much cheaper then on the phone, they say they have to charge me higher because their rates go up every year... Planning to switch plans.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Pets Insurance

Posted: 10/12/2021
By:
TESSIE
Huval

I always wanted Pets Insurance on my dog

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Chihuahua (Short Coat)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
6
Out of 10
Recommended

I love this company

Posted: 09/15/2021
By:
Tom
Thibs

Great insurance!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Akbash Dog

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

AVOID!!!

Posted: 09/03/2021
By:
Suz
Swanson

Avoid ASPCA at ALL costs! They are quick to deny anything they can as "pee-existing". They are underwritten by Crum &, Forster, which should say a lot right there. They claims that testing for an ear infection is related to anal saculitis! What??!!?? Don't believe all the 5 star reviews. They are written by their employees. Read the BBB reviews and Yelp reviews. One of the worst companies out there.

Actually, to be truthful, ALL pet insurance is a SCAM. They see pets as "property", NOT family. They're in the business of sucking us dry of our money and then denying claims. It is supposed to give us a peace of mind. It has been nothing but stress instead.

Please do your research and avoid ASPCA!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

Terrible

Posted: 08/27/2021
By:
Roni
Axelrad

Terrible.
Customer service - You wait for hours and hours on the phone, just to get a very bad cusomer support
They are doing their best not to pay for your pet treatment when you need them. after paying them over a 100$ a month, for two cats, they claimed that my pet has a pre-existing condition. No matter that I appealed, with a letter from my vet (!) saying my cat is 100% healthy, no issues, whatsoever! they still claimed they will not cover, just to make sure they don't have to pay in the future.

I suggest you never ever get close to ASPCA pet insurance, it's as bad as a scam!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10

Scam

Posted: 04/28/2021
By:
P
M

ASPCA pet insurance is a complete scam, and I hope I can forewarn fellow pet owners. I took my cat to the vet, he was diagnosed with a UTI, and the bill was quite expensive. He had never had a UTI before. This was the first time he had ever been sick, and certainly the first he had ever been diagnosed with anything at all. But because a note from the vet, 5 months ago, mentioned that he was drinking a lot of water, they decided that this was an early symptom of a UTI, and that it was therefore a preexisting condition. Long story short, if your pet has ever been to the vet before, for any reason at all, including for an annual physical, they will pretend that whatever illness they later develop is a preexisting condition and they will not cover one cent. I wish I’d known this before paying hundreds of dollars in monthly premiums.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Domestic Short Hair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
3
Out of 10

They "conveniently" fail to receive the larger vet bills!

Posted: 04/23/2021
By:
Eve
Epstein

Vet sent surgical bill three times. On the fourth try they had to sit on the phone and make sure ASPCA registered the bill! Still have not been reimbursed and I bought the most expensive policy from them. Sent very few claims in the last two years

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

French Bulldog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Would recommend to all of my friends

Posted: 03/30/2021
By:
Paul
K

I adopted a bulldog mix during the pandemic - luckily I had insurance because she had a tumor and spay issues. ASPCA covered it (minus the spay since I did not have wellness added on. I did not know this but they were able to explain over the phone that it was not covered without adding wellness.) The claim itself was 4K - and I was reimbursed close to that amount. I plan to keep this insurance forever because I was not expecting a rescue dog to rack up a 4k bill within adopting her! I also love the mobile app, I would check that daily to check on my claim status. Direct deposit was made within a few days after the claim cleared.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bulldog Mix

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

False advertising and dishonest.

Posted: 03/29/2021
By:
Steve
Morel

I purchased insurance for our dog & our daughters dog. When it came time to actually use the insurance in both cases after weeks of processing we were told that both dogs had pre existing conditions which was not true. In both cases they paid out very little if anything for our claims. I / we find them very dishonest to deal with. Will never buy insurance from them again. Buyer beware !

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Pitbull

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Simply amazing

Posted: 03/18/2021
By:
Charrise
Johnson

The young lady who helped me was truly amazing. She was so very patient and explained everything to me three times over. She was understanding to all of my needs and was able to assist me and get me exactly what my pet needs. I’m so very thankful and excited for my new pet

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
2
Out of 10

they deny claims based on speculative information

Posted: 03/10/2021
By:
Denise
Boehler

We don't know exactly when a serious illness began with our dog, but Crum & Forester denied a claim of over $4,000, just under our policy limit, based on speculative information from several different veterinarians as to when the illness began. They are comparing symptoms experienced later with earlier to claim this was a pre-existing condition and thus a basis for denying the claim. It took 3 months after submitting the claim and chasing them for reimbursement.

After contacting them again this morning, I was told we would not be receiving reimbursement and that they had determined based on what they felt were similar symptoms that they would be denying the claim.

This is bad faith, the Colorado insurance commission will know about it.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Don’t waste your money

Posted: 02/23/2021
By:
Emma
Mason

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY.
I got this insurance for my horse (yes, horse not a dog), and it's easily one of the biggest scams I've ever seen. My horse got a suspensory ligament strain as a result of an injury and they're refusing to cover a penny of my horse's diagnostic tests and any treatment. I've spoken with multiple reps who assured me that this injury and treatment would be covered; however, I was arbitrarily told it now won't be as they're considering this injury an "illness." I will promptly be telling every horse-owning soul I come into contact with to avoid this insurance like the plague.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

They did what they said.

Posted: 02/18/2021
By:
John
Miller

I don`t write reviews often, but this company stood behind their claims policy and covered my pooch when he injured a leg. Saying that, I will renew policy for next year. I purchased an accident only policy.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Standard Schnauzer

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

I do not recommend this pet insurance

Posted: 02/02/2021
By:
April
Starr

We waited for 2 months for them to process our claim of $299, called numerous time, and in the end the claim was denied because they couldn't reach the vet office which is absolute garbage. We go thru this every. single. time. we submit a claim and I finally had enough. It's easier and less stressful for me and my husband to just pay out of pocket so we have started a small savings account where we put money into it each month so that when/if we have an unexpected vet trip we have the money. We also got the CareCredit credit which most vets take. Going thru this claims process is so drawn out and ridiculous that I get the feeling they do it on purpose so you get frustrated and just quit trying to get the claim paid. In any case, we finally just canceled our policy. It really isn't worth it. I don't recommend this pet insurance at all.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Horrible, we just pay money to them

Posted: 01/29/2021
By:
Elizabeth
Che

We waited for three months for them to process our claim of $500, and at the end the claim was denied because they couldn't reach the vet office. This amount was not even applied to deductible. I feel like we paying them money for nothing

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Torey was exceptional !!

Posted: 01/20/2021
By:
Lisa Ann
Heaney

The representative Torey was exceptional. She answered all of my questions and I had a lot and helped me make an informed decision thank you very much..

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Yorkie Poo

Age of Pet
Under a year
8
Out of 10
Recommended

We are waiting of for our claims to be processed, but we received excellent customer service from one of your employees!!!!

Posted: 01/15/2021
By:
Sandra
Nitschke

So in the past month we have had to submit numerous claims for our dog. Our claims are still being processed and it had taken a bit longer than usual. I called today to inquire and get an update on my claims. I had the pleasure of speaking with Nancy from your customer service department. Nancy explained that due to Covid and also more pet adoptions, that claims are taking longer than usual. Nancy was very well spoken and answered all my questions. I was very impressed that she took the time to answer all my questions and even put me on hold to speak with her supervisor to get me accurate information. I am very appreciative of her patience, empathy for my pet, knowledge, and willingness to spend time finding the answers to my questions/concerns. I could only wish that all my experiences with customer service departments(in various companies) could be as good as my experience was today. Please cherish this employee and recognize her for going above and beyond to help your customers!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Boston Terrier

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thank for being there for my sweet Nicky.

Posted: 12/24/2020
By:
Amy
Metzker

All your phone people were always kind & knowledgeable. You helped with the care of our Nicky for many years. You also paid promptly & fairly. I would highly recommend you .

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years