Only Trupanion can say that the pets we insure lead longer, happier lives.1 Pets can be full of surprises—so their insurance coverage shouldn’t be. That’s why Trupanion is dedicated to helping the pets we love get the care they need. The Trupanion policy was designed by veterinarians to protect cats and dogs like yours by taking cost out of the care equation. When your furry family member is sick or hurt, the last thing you want to worry about is affording the treatment they need. That’s why Trupanion is the only provider who can review, approve, and pay your claim direct to your veterinarian at the time of checkout.* No more juggling credit cards and no more waiting for reimbursement. Your pet gets treated, you pay your portion, and go. We take care of the rest. 98.7% of Trupanion members stay enrolled every month. 1 Based on a November 2020 internal study analyzing third party hospital claims data comparing pets insured with a Trupanion policy to pets without a Trupanion policy. * Terms and Conditions apply. Coverage may vary by state. Not all veterinarians accept direct payment. Ask your veterinarian about Trupanion Express. Trupanion is a registered trademark owned by Trupanion, Inc.  Underwritten in the United States by American Pet Insurance Company and in Canada by Omega General Insurance Company.

Average customer rating

9.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 9.6 9.8 9.8
Count 1072 11122 42976
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Best service ever!

Posted: 01/26/2022
By:
Ann Susan
McIntyre

Great service.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Poodle - Standard

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Simply The Best!

Posted: 01/26/2022
By:
Lisa
Oswald

If I could give you 100 stars, I'd give you 101! Your service is the fastest, easiest, and most feel-good -- in fact, it's simply perfect!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

I refer everyone to trupanion.

Posted: 01/26/2022
By:
Linda
NAPERKOWSKI

I love trupanion, they have saved us so many times. Oliver has had so many problems over the last few years and I don’t know what we would’ve done without insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Yorkshire Terrier

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Our year old puppy was sick with Gastritis.

Posted: 01/23/2022
By:
JOAN
COBB

It is such a pleasure to deal with a company that actually stands behind its' promises. Trupanion has exceeded my expectations by responding quickly to my claims without hesitation. Although this should be the norm with businesses, it very frequently is not. I appreciate dealing with an honest company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Goldendoodle

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

This is the BEST company to deal with.

Posted: 01/22/2022
By:
Kris
Leppard

This company is so wonderful. Pleasant to deal with ALL the time. Fair and fast with payments and reviews. Direct bills to the vet clinics.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

I love Trupanion

Posted: 01/21/2022
By:
Jeanne
Hynes

I've been using Trupanion for 8 years. I've never had any issues submitting a claim or otherwise. I've recommended them to anyone who asks about pet insurance!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
5
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

What am I paying for?

Posted: 01/20/2022
By:
Marsha
Black

They hardly cover anything. Not sure if it’s worth paying for every month.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Trupanion is the greatest help ever an everyone I spoke to has been so nice an very helpful I will tell anyone about trupanion

Posted: 01/20/2022
By:
Leanne
Alessandro

Trupanion is the greatest help ever an great to have I'd tell anyone about trupanion an everyone I spoke to was the greatest help an so nice. I'm very happy about trupanion.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih Tzu

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Dari

Posted: 01/19/2022
By:
Dari
Jongsma

ROMEO and I thank All of you. You are all so wonderful. When one of our fur babies gets sick and could die, we are as upset as if it was one of our own children. You were there not only to guide me through my first claim but held my heart in your hands at the same time. Romeo is a very special kitty. all 20 pounds of him. He even helps the elderly in recovering. His ability to give love unconditionally is something the human race could learn a lot from. And you all have learned the gift that pets give. You explained the policy and paid extremely fast. God Bless all of you for what you do so well.
Dari Jongsma

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Abyssinian

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Trupanion is the Best

Posted: 01/18/2022
By:
Deborah
Mills

My Bernese Mountain Dog, Bear, tore his ACL. Trupanion has been there every step of the way for him, from surgery to follow-up X-rays. They paid 90% (minus our deductible) for everything with the last payment made even before I got out of the parking lot at the Vet’s office. I couldn’t be more satisfied.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bernese Mountain Dog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Trupanion is a life saver!!!

Posted: 01/18/2022
By:
Aimee
Corbin

Trupanion makes claims easy!! When caring for a sick pet, knowing that you have reliable insurance makes a world of difference. Highly recommend!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

English Bulldog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10
compare pet insurance Verified

Terrible Pet Insurance

Posted: 01/18/2022
By:
Deborah
Sikkema

This insurance company was highly recommended to me, and it had good reviews, so I enrolled my 3 dogs. Our dog Lucky was about 10 at enrollment (had been enrolled with another company but when its rates were too high, we changed), but was a very healthy dog. During check-ups, he was sometimes treated for eye irritation around the outside of his eyes with some drops. When he was 14 he started having some strange eye symptoms and the doctors didn't know what it was. His eyes clouded over and were bulging, but it was not cataracts. They treated him with drops and treated it as glaucoma and eye ulcers, and all those tests and treatments were denied due to being a pre-existing condition. As time went on, in 2019, one vet said she thought he had some sort of tumor behind or in his eye that was causing the bulging of his eye. In 2020, his eye popped, and the vet sent us to an emergency clinic (during Covid) to have emergency surgery. We were applying drops and giving meds, which were all disallowed as pre-existing, so nothing related to his eyes was ever paid. Everything in his eyes was due to his eye irritation from pre-2015. The emergency clinic said they couldn't operate for a couple of days to remove the eye, so I went back to our local vet and she removed his eye a few days later. The surgery confirmed there were eye tumors (dysplasia), and after his eye was removed, the tumors proceeded to come through where the eye socket was and got very large. We finally put him down in October 2021 due to his eye tumors/eye cancer. We spent around 3K - 4K for all of this, and every bit of it was denied as pre-existing conditions. Sure, this insurance company is good about paying for major surgeries due to accidents or other things, but just about everything else is denied. Any treatment is broken down by symptoms and a different deductible is applied to each condition, so the result is that almost nothing is every covered. It says it is per condition, but if vomiting occurs and two years later vomiting occurs again, it is treated as vomiting due to a different condition and not covered. They are big liars and cheats. I am very unhappy with this pet insurance and any future pets will not be with Trupanion.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih Tzu

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

So happy to have had insurance

Posted: 01/18/2022
By:
Ashley
Craigen

My dog just came home Sunday and is now recovering after foreign body surgery. I used trupanion express at the ER, I did not have to interact with anyone the ER and trupanion worked directly together. So happy I have this plan!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Staffordshire Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Trupanion is helping me with Biggie fight his liver problem at a 90% back from his very expensive medication. I highly recommen

Posted: 01/17/2022
By:
Cheryl
Weferling

As far as I'm concerned there isn't another insurance for pets that comes close to Trupanion. At a young age Biggie was diagnosed with a liver disease. He will be able to get the help he needs to try and get his liver figured out.
Thank you Trupanion
Cheryl

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Giant (90 Lbs +)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Best thing I ever did was get Trupanion Pet Insurance!!

Posted: 01/17/2022
By:
Julie
Mack

I was adviced by Paris' first doctor when she was 3 months old to get Trupanion Pet Insurance while she was young. I'm so glad I listened. I have had this insurance now for 12 years. I feel so secure knowing that I can give her the best care in her aging years. Trupanion is always caring and courteous. They pay the claim before the doctor cashes the check. I refer friends to Trupanion all the time because I can't believe that people have pets and can't provide them with the best care if they have an accident or become il. Thank you Trupanion for enabling me to have the best Forever Home for my darling Paris. You're the best!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best thing I ever did was get Trupanion Pet Insurance!!

Posted: 01/17/2022
By:
Julie
Mack

I was adviced by Paris' first doctor when she was 3 months old to get Trupanion Pet Insurance while she was young. I'm so glad I listened. I have had this insurance now for 12 years. I feel so secure knowing that I can give her the best care in her aging years. Trupanion is always caring and courteous. They pay the claim before the doctor cashes the check. I refer friends to Trupanion all the time because I can't believe that people have pets and can't provide them with the best care if they have an accident or become il. Thank you Trupanion for enabling me to have the best Forever Home for my darling Paris. You're the best!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Best decision I ever made, Trupanion

Posted: 01/15/2022
By:
Delinda
Stembler

Best decision ever made was to purchase Trupanion insurance for my sweet Bandito. I have peace of mind that I can get him the care that he needs without the worry of it’s cost

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Malti-Poo

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Thank you for caring.

Posted: 01/14/2022
By:
marie
mitchell

Very caring company

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Munchkin

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Thank you for giving us the ability to give our wonderful, loving Goldie the medical care she needs and deserves.

Posted: 01/13/2022
By:
Roberta
Graffam

Twelve years ago we had to make the difficult choice to euthanize our wonderful mini poodle because we could not afford to pay for the medical care she needed. This dog had been my sidekick and partner working with me in healthcare. I swore we would never have another pet again without insurance. When we rescued our next dog I immediately looked into pet insurance and found Trupanion to look like the best option. That was 11 years ago but until recently only needed to use our Trupanion insurance a few times for some minor illnesses. Recently our pet has encountered a much more serious condition and Trupanion has come through with all the coverage they promise with efficiency and ease. Because they practice what they preach we have been able to give our pet what she needs and give us the gift of extending the life of the wonderful pet we love so much.
We would highly recommend Trupanion to pet owners.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Trupanion insurance is fast an eazy and cover every thing they say without any questions 10+ rating.

Posted: 01/13/2022
By:
Rick
Golon

Trupanion insurance is fast an eazy and cover every thing they say without any questions 10+ rating.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Boston Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8