Hartville Pet Health Insurance is committed to making veterinary care more affordable for pet parents. Its Complete Coverage plan covers accidents, injuries and illnesses, and features a simplified reimbursement based on percentage of invoice.  Learn more about Hartville's plan options, read customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

9.3 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 5.5 5.5 9.3
Count 0 4 149
1
Out of 10

do not stand behind their policy

Posted: 03/23/2021
By:
Dennis
Peterson

was told they would pay for prescription food and prebiotic. the did for a short period then denied. our vet says he will always be sick without it.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih Tzu

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Customer Service is AMAZING

Posted: 03/03/2021
By:
Kimberly
Cannoles

I am new to SPOT pet insurance, but not new to pet insurance. Torey was amazing and she is one of the reason's I gave my business to SPOT. I did have one other insurance company that was less expensive than SPOT, but the service and attention Torey gave me is what sold me. I am confident the coverage I have on my 2 pups will ensure they have the best quality of life I can give them. I will be adding another dog later this month as well. Thank you Torey for all of your time this morning!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Use any other company

Posted: 02/02/2021
By:
amy
F

After few months cancelled my plan cause I found a different one that covered more for $5 more. I cancelled this but they still deducted the payment twice! Calling is a nightmare due to told times, emails never answered and claim took over 3 weeks.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

English Mastiff

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great coverage at low cost

Posted: 01/19/2021
By:
ALYSSA
BLUMENTHAL

Our springer had to have ligament surgery on her leg and at 14/mo we saved close to $1000 out of pocket. Customer service was very helpful over the phone when i had questions about filing her claim, and they even sent a hand written get well card after our phone call and followed up with us to check in a few weeks later.. Our recently adopted beagle mix had been covered prior to this, so we were very familiar with the coverage ins and outs. The attention to detail ive received for both dogs has been great. I would suggesg you make sure you understand how much standard vaccinations and vet care costs annually before choosing a plan, and whether there are low cost vaccination clinics near you.. Claims take slightly over a month to process, but if you've met your deductible, and explain/show your vet your plan, many will give you an invoice instead if you direct your reimbursement to go the the vet office directly.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Hartville Pet Insurance places a high premium on value and creating an environment where there is an ease to doing business.

Posted: 10/15/2020
By:
Moira
A.

I had the pleasure of speaking with Loretta today. She works for Hartville Pet Insurance and is very good at what she does. She appears to really enjoy working for Hartville and speaks honestly and enthusiastically about the company's pet insurance program through her own experience with her dog and cat. She was a tremendous help and really gave the situation the attention it merited. I would highly recommend calling Hartville and asking to speak with Loretta; you will not be disappointed.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Where do u s a vet that except direct pay.habe insurance can't use or save ur pet ridiculous

Posted: 08/14/2020
By:
Renee

I have plenty of insurance and I also have found plenty of insurance that does direct pay but I can't find it at that accept direct pay so what he supposed to do have your animal die when they can get payment and probably 2 to 4 days if that long. But they'd rather have the animal die cuz you don't have the money up front to pay why are you paying for insurance then the does direct pay it's ridiculous somebody get me some information on vets anywhere I don't care I will drive to them that accept direct pay that's good that takes care of cats holistic medical the whole shebang the surgery has critical Care no matter what happens they take can take care of it that's kind of insurance I got that's kind of bad I need and I have that kind of it but they won't accept direct insurance pay so it's ridiculous they're supposed to be there to help the animals and they're not. And it's not cheap the insurance but it's damn sure worth it but not if you can't use it and you had to put your animal down because you don't have 500 to 3000 whatever cost to do whatever their animal needs that's not right. Someone please help. And tell me some veterinarians I'll drive wherever I need to that accept direct pay the insurance I would recommend but not if you can't find anybody to take direct pay what are you going to do?

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Ragdoll

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10

Test

Posted: 07/15/2020
By:
Chen
Jeri

test

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Airedale Terrier

Age of Pet
Under a year
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Filing claims is as easy as they said it would be!

Posted: 06/27/2020
By:
Robert
Wiley

Shopped around quite awhile for pet insurance. I actually have two large dogs. The other pet insurance companies were either to expensive or only covered at 70 or 80 percent. Have not had any problems with Hartville Pet Ins. If you need pet ins. shop around an I think you will go with Hartville .

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Great Dane

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

BEWARE OF PREMIUM INCREASE!!!!!

Posted: 06/25/2020
By:
Angela
Basse

First off, the good... easy claim processing...
NOW THE BAD... premium went up 52% after only one year of coverage!!!!!! Golden Retriever coverage from age 2-3 and all of a sudden premium went from $53.80 to $81.60 per month. Absolutely ridiculous!!! Is this even legal?

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Honest, reliable, compassionate and integrous Insurance Company.

Posted: 05/31/2020
By:
Dr
Linda

During the most difficult experience a pet owner can have - that of receiving a diagnosis of brain cancer in their beloved animal companion, very little can soothe the heartbreaking shock and sadness.
My 9 yr. old German Shepherd began having seizures and required the care of a specialist. In order to pinpoint the source of her seizures an MRI and Spinal Tap would need to be conducted by a neurological specialist. The cost for these procedures would be over $4,000 not to mention that her seizures coincided with the onset of the pandemic and shelter in place orders here in South Florida.
Hartville Pet Insurance walked me through the process of getting a pre-authorization for these expensive but necessary procedures. My beloved pet had the MRI and was diagnosed with a meningioma. The only comfort I felt throughout this process was knowing that Hartville had the costs covered and were with me every step of the way. I only wish that my own health insurance was as responsive and reliable as my Pet’s insurance. Thank you Hartville for being the best pet insurance company. Thank you for making a difficult time less stressful. Your reliability and compassion has made all the difference in the world. The quality of your insurance plan has provided me with the ability to make sure that my animal companion and best friend receives the best care - I can never thank you enough.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Getting Hartville pet insurance is the smartest thing I could do for my pets

Posted: 05/26/2020
By:
Jessica
Guerra

The website is very user friendly and the customer service team is exceptional

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great

Posted: 05/12/2020
By:
Sherri
Kepler

Fast, easy,caring

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent coverage. Excellent service.

Posted: 05/12/2020
By:
Sarah
Noblett

Hartville has been excellent to work with. All questions I’ve had along the way have always been answered quickly and thoroughly. The claims process is simple and efficient. The policies offer excellent coverage choices and are very clearly defined. I highly recommend!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
3
Out of 10

They are pretty useless... can’t even get a dogs teeth cleaned

Posted: 05/09/2020
By:
Diana

They just withdraw my money out without statements or notice, and take days for estimates. Their “member center” has hardly any pertinent information without looking everywhere. The customer service is fake and condescending. Dogs need their teeth cleaned. They don’t cover anything. Don’t use this company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Hart vile Pet Insurance is caring, courteous, and just plain good!

Posted: 05/08/2020
By:
Tom
Van

They are a Great insurer to have on your side. They care about their clients. They call to see how your pet is doing and if there’s anything they (Hartville) can do! Amazing!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Absolutely worst

Posted: 04/13/2020
By:
Amy

Had multiple claims take over a month to get back. But I paid every month on Automatic pay so they get their right away.
The fact they want medical records almost every time for a Lyme or season allergies issues is pathetic!!! And I still don’t have a refund for outstanding claim. Both me and my vet had fax over multiple times and I had my vet on my cell and Hartville on my work phone just to make sure they had. It’s pathetic

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thanks for all the help!

Posted: 04/02/2020
By:
TRACY
NELSON

We discovered our pup has hip displasia - we are trying to avoid surgery and try PT - the pet insurance kicked right in and they were super helpful.
Thanks
Tracy

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Doberman

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best than my own health care provider!

Posted: 03/20/2020
By:
Jennifer

If all health insurances were this way I would be one happy girl! Hartville is EASY, PAINLESS, CARING and MODERN! Everything from inception has been easy! I have ZERO regret choosing this company, and I reviewed all of them when I first got my Sharpei! Yes, a sharpei!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

good service

Posted: 03/07/2020
By:
marco
Wijnands

good service, easy to register a new invoice, people took the time the I could take care of the right invoice

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Professional and convenient

Posted: 02/18/2020
By:
Darren

Hartville has made the claims process simple and convenient through their online claims submission. I was able to easily file for a claim and attach/upload the invoice and medical records to it. When I did call customer service with a question they were quick, polite and professional.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8