Figo offers customizable coverage built for millennial pet parents. Pick from one of their three comprehensive plans, then add powerups like Wellness, Veterinary Exam Fee Coverage, or the Extra Care Pack. They’re the only pet insurance company to offer up to 100% reimbursement, so big vet bills won’t break the bank. Figo customers have exclusive access to the Figo Pet Cloud app, including features like a 24/7 Virtual Vet and easy mobile claim filing. No pet insurance company covers pre-existing conditions, but Figo is the only one who will help you identify those conditions at the start of your policy. If you don’t think you’ll get value out of pet insurance after your initial review, just cancel within 30 days of signing up to get your money back.

Average customer rating

8.7 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 4.9 4.9 8.7
Count 0 7 582
10
Out of 10

Worst insurance company for pets

Posted: 02/21/2022
By:
Sallyanne
Bevere

My pet who is 11 months old developed pneumonia. Figo will not reimburse ans of the $2500 claims submitted because one of the possible causes could be roundworm, not that it was, just because it COULD BE!! I pay over 130 per month for two dogs and have had not one cent reimbursed for anything. My vet even called to defend the claim and provide collateral and agreed at thr absurdity of their denial. Thanks for nothing Figo

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Olde English Bulldogge

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Stay away from this insurer

Posted: 01/12/2022
By:
Arne
B

Terrible. They cover very little and while -filing- a claim is easy, it is after you file the claim that the nightmare begins. For EVERY claim they want the medical documentation from the beginning of time. Are they not capable of keeping records so I dont have to hunt down the vet for duplicate paperwork every time??? I NEVER had to do this with my previous insurance, file a claim and done. With Figo it is file a claim, keep providing a ton of paperwork every time only to be denied payment. Their actual coverage sucks

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Rhodesian Ridgeback

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

FIGO makes it easy when you need to make an emergency decision.

Posted: 12/07/2021
By:
Dina
Hall

I’ve used FIGO for all my GSDs for the past 7 years. Very easy to work with. Great coverage! Knowing they have my dogs backs have made it very easy during the emergency situations. Knowing that money isn’t an issue, that will limit their care is a big relief!! Most other companies have limits.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Cold/heartless company - will find every excuse to not help when needed

Posted: 12/06/2021
By:
Brooke
Marshall

In the beginning, FIGO seemed great. Reasonable rates, service dog discounts, easy to use app. Then they stopped with the service dog discounts & rates started going up. We had FIGO coverage from 4/2017 - 4/2021, had some financial hardships and had to cancel our service temporarily. Got back on our feet, got coverage again 10/2021, and then lymphoma hit. My service dog was diagnosed with Lymphoma 10/23/21 and passed 11/21/21. All of my claims were denied due to symptoms showing up during the illness waiting period. This was my only claim in 5 years. I got a big middle finger, so sorry, thanks for the money, you’re on your own. No compassion, no help. They made sure that the “policy” was written just so, symptoms appeared and they won’t help cover anything. What’s the point of insurance if they won’t help when it’s needed? But they are making millions from their customers. This has been the WORST experience, absolutely no help when we needed. All appeals have been denied. Would never recommend such a cold/heartless business. Future pups will be covered by other insurance providers.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Chocolate)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Deceitful.

Posted: 09/16/2021
By:
Brooke
Perna

Do not go with FIGO. I have been paying ~$50/month to insure my healthy 4 year old rescue dog. We adopted her in Feb 2020, submitted all known vet records to FIGO, and they happily allowed me to enter into a plan and collect my monthly premium. Of course, the first instance we take her to the vet and file a claim (which would just have put us at our deductible), they email saying the require more detailed notes and SOAP notes. I copied our vet on the email thread and have sent every lick of paperwork available on our dog over to FIGO and it is still not enough for them to cover anything. I find it intentionally deceitful that they would allow us to enter into a policy knowing full well that they did not have the back records that they would require to ever actually be of service to us.

Also, we had FIGO for our last dog who has since passed. She went to the same vet as our current dog, and we never had an issue with her vet notes lacking detail. The reporting hasn't changed, but perhaps the management of FIGO has. 0/10, waste of money and waste of time.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

These people are deceitful!

Posted: 07/17/2021
By:
George
Thomas

Even though they claim that they are direct pay. All sites show that checked... BEWARE because their loophole is thy say it is done on a case by case basis.. Don't waste your time looking for that statement in their advertising because it is not there!!! Very misleading and very deceitful!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Airedale Terrier

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Everyone was nice and caring

Posted: 07/01/2021
By:
Barbara
Malaczewski

Everyone there has always treAted me with Care and kindness

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Under a year
2
Out of 10

Stay Away! Go with Healthy Paws

Posted: 01/21/2021
By:
Raechel
Anderson

We initially loved Figo, especially because we insured our cat later in life, and not a lot of pet insurance companies offer decent pet insurance when the pets are older. Figo (or at least our policy) was originally underwritten by Markel. When they were bought out by Independence America (last year or two), they literally tripled our premium at the renewal date, and substantially reduced the benefits and also created a huge spike in our deductible. Plus, the customer service during that transition was very uneducated and not very helpful. Of course, now we can’t switch due to several conditions which would be considered pre-existing to another company.

That alone was very disappointing. But then, they became incredibly focused on scrutinizing each claim to find a reason to not pay it. Any loophole they can find, they leverage it. I have had to appeal two separate claims and even with letters from our veterinarian, indicating why the treatment fell under my policy's terms, they don't budge - or budge very minutely, but not enough to really make a difference. I'm not sure they're even honoring their appeal process, as they're supposed to get an independent veterinarian involved, and I've received no assessments from another vet.

Also, some of the terms make no sense. For example, they don't cover oral surgery, at all - even if it's due to an illness or disease. Our cat has an oral mass that needed to be removed and in order to remove the mass, they had to remove the tooth. Figo decided not to cover the entire surgery because they claim that it was oral surgery to do a tooth extraction. They said they would only cover it, if it was an accident/injury - not an illness. But the main reason that we get pet insurance is to cover illness, diseases, etc. This simply doesn't make sense to me.

And now, they are not paying things that they had paid a few months ago (still same policy year). It's super sad and discouraging to pour so much into premiums and deductibles, only to find them constantly finding loopholes to not pay the claims.

We have Healthy Paws for our other 3 creatures - literally Thank God. HP is the absolute best pet insurance company, and are very generous in their claim reviews and payments, and take their customers at their word, placing a high value on customer care / service. If you're going to invest in pet insurance, skip Figo, for sure. Choose Healthy Paws

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Horrible - Do not waste your money!

Posted: 12/07/2020
By:
Thomas
M

Firstly, I want to say that I wish I had researched any bad reviews years ago before I ever signed up with FIGO. It seems that others are in the same boat as I am! I have been a loyal customer of FIGO for approximately 4-5 years now. I have NEVER needed to use the insurance however, I continually paid my monthly premium on auto-pay (by now, thousands of dollars total). I initially went with them because one always worries about getting coverage for pre-existing conditions whether it be minor or major and they seem to have stated they had a good policy with regards to considering a pre-existing condition something that has happened within the last 18 months. Well, for the first time in a while, I had to bring my cat to the vet as he had a small lump on his jawline... I wound up spending a little over $400 however, I was glad to know in the back of my mind that I had EXPENSIVE coverage for Koby's medical needs. Guess what? They only paid my visit fee and denied everything else(did not pay it really, it went toward my exorbitant yearly deductible)!!!! First of all, it even states on the explanation of benefits that, "Any illness or other condition that first occurred or displayed any signs and/or symptoms consistent with the stated illness or condition within 18 months prior to the pet policy effective date or prior to the expiration of any applicable waiting period"... Ok, I called customer service, maybe this was a mistake. I asked for an explanation and the rep confirmed that Koby had a lump on his lip back in 2013 so it is considered pre-existing.. wait a minute, what is the whole thing about the 18 months prior to starting an insurance policy with them? (2013 was over 2-3 years before I ever signed up with FIGO!).. I was told basically, read the fine print in our policy.. Ok, not only this but in 2013 he was brought to the vet for a swollen ball on the tip of his lip (allergic reaction to his food bowl - plastic).. as soon as we changed his bowl to metal, it went away and never came back. Now in 2020, he had a lump on the side of his jawbone and it will not be covered. This just sounds too funny to me. Every year, your premium goes up and goes up quite a bit at that. Like I said, I have paid A LOT in the past few years each month to ensure I have coverage for my cat. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!! I could have literally put that money away each month as if I were contributing to an emergency vet fund for any vet bills I would need to pay in the future and I would have been completely fine. It is so sad to see that they can easily take your money every month, increase your monthly premium each year, and then deny your claims and pay close to NOTHING. This is not the first time they have disappointed me however. Obviously, I was upset about the increases in monthly prices each year but whatever, you cannot do anything about that especially if you want to ensure your pet has coverage (or so you think they would anyway), but I was grandfathered into 100% reimbursement along with a $200 deductible. Well, this recent and current policy, I was raised to a $500 deductible and unable to keep my $200 one.. It is very clear that they do not care much about your pet or about your financial situations/the reason why you prefer to pay for coverage. Again, I am really saddened to know my money that I worked so hard for is wasted and gone, for nothing. I had to pay the entire bill and the little sixty something exam fee they did cover, it went toward my big $500 deductible anyway (LOL!). Please - take this from someone who has been with FIGO for years, paid tons of money in premiums and NEVER used them within that time period up until this year....SAVE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR ENERGY!!! Put away some money every month (or every paycheck) toward an emergency vet fund for yourself (as if you were paying a monthly premium, only to yourself). This way, when you have a vet bill to pay, you will have this money already saved. Another option, get CARE CREDIT.. You never want to invest in something that you will forever be uncertain about. I pay for FIGO insurance and I get close to nothing in return from them. Absolutely terrible.. still in shock that I am at a loss. I really did have high hopes for this company and their services but I must have been sadly mistaken. Just to reiterate : SAVE YOUR TIME and YOUR MONEY.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Peace of mind

Posted: 10/09/2020
By:
Connie
Garcia

Claims can be terribly expensive. This gives us peace of mind if anything should happen.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Awesome

Posted: 08/13/2020
By:
Aneta
Dabros

good insurance

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Do not waste your money

Posted: 07/15/2020
By:
Miguel

My pup, Jojo, had a knee injury that was diagnosed by multiple veterinarians. Even though i had multiple vets tell me this, FIGO still chose to claim that it was a previous existing condition. I even had the vets write letters in regards to the findings of the injury and FIGO still refused to cover it. Do not waste your money with this insurance.

In addition, after 3 years of having their policy, they decide to change the underwriter. Thus, cause an increase in premium and an increase in deductible. If I chose to go back to my previous deductible, it would be a $45+ in addition to what i was already paying. The only reason I do not cancel this policy is because of my pups already diagnose health conditions that would not be covered elsewhere. Do not buy this insurance. It will cause you multiple headaches.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Cocker Spaniel

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Good Figo

Posted: 07/15/2020
By:
Chen
Jeri

Test

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Affenpinscher

Age of Pet
1 - 8
3
Out of 10

This is not a trustworthy company

Posted: 07/14/2020
By:
Sreypani

Figo is not a good pet insurance company and I wouldn't be comfortable recommending it to my friends and family. When I was first shopping for pet insurance I ran across a ton of negative reviews accusing Figo of doing a bait and switch, where the first year's policy is reasonably priced but then it doubles the next year. I asked a Figo customer service rep if that actually happened and she denied it. It was one of those situations where either the rep had been lied to or she was lying to me, neither of which is good. She recommended that I request a quote for my pet but aged one year older to see how my premium would increase after one year. That seemed fair, so i did that. The increase was from $48 to $54 and that seemed fair so I bought the policy.

They messed up the first claim. They applied the office fee toward my deductible even though i hadn't paid for that option. I called them to let them know of the mistake. They were embarrassed, which is the correct response. It is embarrassing to be an insurance company and not know how to process your own claim.

At some point during my first year, the company announced that they were changing underwriters because they got so many complaints about doubling premiums (guess that was true after all). When I moved from Phoenix, AZ to a small town in Minnesota and went to renew my policy, they wanted to increase my premium from $48 to $68. I called to ask why there was such a big increase and they said it was because I had moved and vet care is more expensive in my new location. In what universe is pet care more expensive in a small midwestern town than it is in ANY large metropolitan area? I HATE being lied to by companies so I found a new pet insurance company. Plus, the deductible increased from 1000 to 1500 and I lost some other benefits I cant remember right now, but they wanted more money for it.

I cancelled my Figo account and received an email confirming cancellation. The next month they still charged me the premium. At that point I was in the middle of changing banks and had a minimal amount of money in my old bank acct, which was linked to Figo. The payment overdrew my bank account. They refused to cover the charges.

So ask yourself this... if you're in the middle of a medical emergency with your pet, who may be the love of your life, will you be able to trust a company that has repeatedly lied to you and been unable to follow their own claim procedures? Can you really trust them to be there for you and your pet in time of desperate need? I don't want to be in the position of having to choose to put down my pet because I cant afford the treatment because my pet insurance company can't get itself together. Me, I'll go with a company that's better established, doesn't outright lie to me, and knows what it's doing.

Two stars instead of one because the price was good for that first year and bc they do respond really quickly when you contact them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10

I would never recommend Figo to anyone!!

Posted: 06/19/2020
By:
Nicole

Figo's customer support seems great up front. In the beginning they are really nice on the phone, telling your everything that you want to hear. Unfortunately, it all goes down hill from there.
My dog had surgery on her knee and I filed a claim with the company. The claim was denied and I have been trying to get in contact with them ever since. They no longer answer my emails nor do they call me back, even after they say they will. You can imagine how frustrating this is when all you are asking for, is for them to show you the verbiage in the policy that explains why they denied the claim.
I would absolutely steer clear of waisting your money on this company when insuring your pet.
When it comes down to it they just take your money and don't really care about you or your pet!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

New UnderWriter PRICE JUMP!

Posted: 06/17/2020
By:
THOM
KRYZER

Purchased this insurance for my chihuahua and cocker spaniel in 2018. For $10,000 max coverage yearly with $500 deductible covered at 80% it was $61.20 for the Spaniel and $62.90 for the chihuahua. So apparently they have a new underwriter. The new price for the same exact coverage is now $111.96 for the Spaniel and $88.34 for the chihuahua!!! $75.30 more a month!!! A 62% increase!!! Oh and good luck getting them to pay a claim. You have to call in everything and fight every claim. If you don't everything is a pre-existing condition! Buyer BEWARE! Figo is a terrible!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Cocker Spaniel

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Looks for any small loophole to avoid claim payment.

Posted: 05/26/2020
By:
Sharron

This company is the worst. It exploits every loophole to evade claim payments. Total waste of money. Please do yourself a favor and spend your hard earned money on a QUALITY pet insurance!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I highly recommend them in all aspects!

Posted: 05/19/2020
By:
Wendy
Meyer

Figo has been awesome! I think their rates are reasonable. I take a pic of the vet bill with my phone and two to four days later the money is in my account. All medicines , surgeries and vet appts have been paid for ASAP! If there is a question about a procedure, your vet cane easily send them an email or phone call to clear it up. Fantastic customer service! My dog has had 2 surgeries and not one hassle from them. I cannot recommend them high enough!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Doberman

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Figo Pet Insurance is the Best

Posted: 05/14/2020
By:
Kerry
Johnson-Morud

Our 11 year old, Golden Retriever, Libby, started throwing up black one day so I took her to the vet the next morning and found out she had tumors on her spleen and a tumor in her stomach near her esophagus. We brought her to an emergency vet on the recommendation of our vet so we drove the two hours to bring her there. She was hospitalized for three days, received a transfusion and multiple tests. The emergency vet suggested we bring her to the oncology department at our state university, another 5 hours away. We took her there and they felt that they could do surgery and get the cancer out. They did the surgery and removed the spleen, and tumors unfortunately they did not close up her stomach completely so it caused her to get septic. They went in and repaired it but her organs started to shut down and she had to be euthanized. After all was said and done we had paid over $18,000 between all of the vets. I turned in my claims and within 7 days the money was in my account. I was nervous that they wouldn't pay but they were great. When I called to cancel her policy, they were very kind and within a few days I received a hand signed card in the mail. I would recommend them 100%!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

New underwriter in 2020 changed the review from 10 to a 1

Posted: 05/02/2020
By:
V
Mnz

When I first signed up with this company, I gave them stellar reviews; however, things have gone downhill. This company lured me in with very low rates for pet insurance for all 3 of my dogs. After 2 years there was a significant increase in premium that raised my cost by almost $200 a year. They explained it was due to my premiums being too low compared to the national average and they needed to be raised. At this point, my dog was sick and I just kept the insurance. The following year there wasn't a large increase and they assured me that they wouldn't have a significant increase like that again. Fast forward 3 years later and they have changed underwriters. Now my premium has increased by $10-$15 per dog, raising my premium by $380 a year. At renewal, the company hid this significant increase by lowering my dogs coinsurance from 80% to 70% without my authorization. They said they did this automatically to not have my premiums raise significantly. When I asked them to change my policy back to what I authorized (what I signed up for) I then saw this large increase to my insurance rates. Had I not read my declaration page very closely, I would not have noticed this small change to my policy and wouldn't have seen this increase in premium. This is being done during the covid-19 pandemic and most insurance companies are offering discounts to their clients. Figo, is changing your policy design without your consent to hide the insanely large increase to your premiums. This company uses unethical business practices to lure you in with very low rates, knowing that after 4 years your dogs will have been to the vet several times and anything your dog has been to the vet for, another pet insurance company with not cover because it will be considered a pre-existing condition. Figo let me know that if I cancelled my policy, no other insurance company would cover my dogs cancer treatment. So either I pay the new high premium or just create a savings account to save an emergency fund for my dogs.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8