Founded by veterinarian Dr. Jack Stephens, Pets Best insures cats and dogs in every state and has paid nearly $150 million in claims since 2005. is recommended by veterinarians across the U.S. Learn more about Pets Best plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

9.0 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 5.3 5.9 9.0
Count 4 177 6985
1
Out of 10

Everything is a pre existing condition.

Posted: 04/26/2022
By:
Samantha
Pratt

Everything is a pre existing condition. If your dog had an ear infection 5 years ago, preexisting condition. If a stray attacks your dog on a walk years prior, and then a neighbors dog gets into your yard and bites him, well that's aggression and a preexisting condition. Absolute lunacy. He's 8 years old and we live an active lifestyle, MOST things have already happened at least once, which is why I wanted insurance to begin with!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Awesome customer service!

Posted: 04/06/2022
By:
Brittany
Lenert

I worked with Kelsey who was extremely helpful in explaining the claim submittal process and answering all questions. She walked me through what my first visit will be like and how to submit a claim and even some other questions I had.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
2
Out of 10

Unsophisticated ecommerce and no technical support

Posted: 04/05/2022
By:
Bruce
Noll

I was unable to file a claim on the iPhone app. It is very difficult to find a support contact, and I found only phone support. No email, no chat, Further, the support is for coverage and filing issues. It is not technical support. It is no surprise that the agent was unable to offer any assistance. The only help offered was a physical address to submit claims by postal mail. Though not suggested or offered, It turned out that the website worked fine. Maybe there are better providers, but Pet's Best seems to lack polish and a grasp of modern commerce.

20 years ago I considered insurance for a new puppy. Because so many conditions were not covered, I chose not to buy. Twenty years later, the industry appeared top have matured a bit. I now question that. With a new puppy, I purchased from Pet's Best. On my first claim I was denied. I thought I'd bought wellness coverage, but I did not. My second claim, for a medical condition, was also denied. Apparently I sought reimbursement for what Pet's Best considers a pre-existing condition. If this develops into a chronic condition, I suspect I'll never see reimbursement.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
8
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Slow but True

Posted: 03/30/2022
By:
Brandy
Owner

I have had multiple trips to the vet with Brandy, including both accidents and many illnesses. Our biggest problem is that Brandy has severe environmental allergies that have required expensive allergy testing (well over a thousand dollars) and expensive allergy shots. I would not have been able to afford the skin scrapings, ear cytology’s, allergy tests, expert exams, and more without insurance. And while they do take ages (around a month or so) to process the claim, once they do process the claim I have never had a problem with them approving it. I also like how you can customize what you include in your plan and even the deductible and copay percentage. For my problem girl I have a $100 deductible because she’s always going to the vet, but for my other pets that only see the vet for checkups and vaccines and such I have the $250 deductible, which brings the premium down a tad. Really my only complaint is that they take so long to process the claim. I realize Covid has made this process longer, but it wasn’t exactly speedy before Covid either.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Mix

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Fraud!!! Refused to pay very first Wellness claim

Posted: 03/02/2022
By:
Robert
Mavros

I am a new customer. On my very first claim Pet's Best is refusing to pay for the wellness exam. The representative I spoke with claimed that because the results of the wellness exam found ear mites in my kitten that the wellness exam would not be covered. This is not detailed in any policy information. I believe this is fraudulent in nature as the company is refusing honor my legitimate claim. All over $50??? Simply ridiculous.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

This company is a scam!

Posted: 02/14/2022
By:
Jacquelyn
Olson

At first, I thought this company was great. I started a policy after paying out of pocket for a major surgery. I paid $50-65 a month for 5+ years before I had to actually submit a claim. My dog had ripped out his teeth and the claim for the initial vet visit went through just fine because they knew I hadn't met my deductible. When I filed a claim for the surgery to fix his jaw and teeth, they took 3 MONTHS to process it and then came up with an excuse that they can't cover it because his teeth hadn't been professionally cleaned. NOBODY from customer service was willing to help me. I ended up paying $2500 out of pocket for a surgery that should have been covered by my 90% policy and the trauma he endured. I tried to resubmit the claim explaining that they had categorized it incorrectly and they deleted the claim without ever contacting me. I could not despise this company more. They got thousands of dollars out of me over the years but refused to help me when I actually needed them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Horrible time first claim with pet best

Posted: 01/31/2022
By:
Elizabeth
Arias Bohart

I have several beloved pets in my life and usually go to UC Veterinary Hospital in Davis. I review several insurances and selected pet best because its affiliation with carecredit. This last has been tremendous help. Sadly this last Dec Veronica got a tumor removal, and jan 1 Bonny got her stomach distended due to gastritis. She was so scared for the fireworks, and she was hospitalized for 1.5 days.
I paid the hospital and then I was out of the country for 3 weeks when petbest needed proof of payment, documents I submitted but they questioned. Because it was only me that need to call UC Davis and get a second proof of payment all got delayed. As up today I still getNO news on the tumor removal from Veronica ($569). They emailed several times asking for proof of payment with Bonny and I keep emailing them back that I am out of the country. Today they called and again I complain to them and in fact the agent says that now the 45 days will be longer because I did not send again the proof of payment.

I got this insurance because its related to care credit that I am fun off, but if in the first claim since I got the insurance in June I have several problems with 2 claims maybe it is better to find another pet insurance as I want to be taking care of my beloved pets.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Pets Best customer service agent Hailey LaPeer was rude and needs to be fired.

Posted: 01/15/2022
By:
Thomas
Towler

Pets Best customer service agent Hailey LaPeer need to be fired. I was chatting with Pets Best customer service agent Hailey LaPeer and asked her to transfer me to the supervisor. Hailey LaPeer response we can't reinstate your policy and no I'm not going to transfer the chat to a supervisor because they will say the same thing I'm telling you.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Domestic Short Hair

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I Highly Recommend Pets Best Insurance!!

Posted: 01/14/2022
By:
Capri
Miller

I enrolled my Pit, Tyson with Pet's Best a few years back and have been completely satisfied with their service and policy price and reimbursement. He was diagnosed with Osteosarcoma in 2019 and I was able to give him the best care at the best facilities and not have to worry about the cost. Pets Best has reimbursed me thousands and thousands on his vet bills and has continued to offer him the same coverage year after year. He was just renewed again at 11 and still offered amazing benefits (much better than my own health insurance!) The reimbursement time does occasionally takes a little longer than 30 days, but to me that is not an issue whatsoever. Knowing my senior will always have the best care and not having to pick between draining my savings account and saving my baby is a no brainer. Pets Best Is AMAZING!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Avoid PETS BEST

Posted: 01/05/2022
By:
Brenton
Goodwin

Shifted from FIGO to Pets Best after FIGO changed underwriters and raised premiums for less service. This was a mistake, Pets Best have paid nothing on every claim, from regular checkups to non wellness appointments. Worse of the usual Insurance crap, finding every little technical wording to deny everything, what the hell am I paying for if you find some excuse to deny every claim. I'm not a pet owner whose at the Vet every 2 weeks nor is my dog sick often, basic kind of nail bed infection or issue with a tooth kind of visits.
Took 6 WEEKS to even process my latest claim and denied everything, half of which under "wellness" checks not covered even though the vet bill clearly states Non Wellness visit, now I have to ring them and argue with some poor phone worker about all this stuff AGAIN. Waste of time, avoid Pets Best at all costs.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Ridiculous

Posted: 01/05/2022
By:
Robin
Cooter

Took 45 days to be reimbursed for my simple wellness claim. The UI on the app only allowed for a single page document. However, it needed a summary of care and a receipt showing it was payed. These did not come on the same sheet which created a hassle trying to get the claim even accepted. But the worst part is that I signed up for the policy with 2 cats, and paid double so that both my cats had separate coverage. But since they both fell under the same policy, they both only fell under a single wellness plan. So the maximum reimbursement amount I would be allowed to receive for wellness treatments would be the same as if I had a single cat on the policy. I wish I knew this before having a number of wellness treatments done on my cats, racking up a few hundred dollars in bills that I had assumed I was going to be reimbursed for (hence the whole point behind getting pet insurance with a good wellness plan). But I guess that's on me for expecting that since I was paying double to get separate coverage, I'd have double the maximum amount I could be reimbursed for. Silly me.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Ridiculous wait times, EVERY time

Posted: 01/05/2022
By:
Daisy
Anderson

I regret choosing Pets Best, as issues that they have covered may now be seen as previous conditions when I change companies, but I am definitely changing companies. I have waited well over a month to receive a response to every claim I have submitted with the same apology email in between about unanticipated delays despite the same thing happening for over a year across several claims. Obviously the delay should be anticipated at this point. I’m changing companies as soon as the coverage period I’ve already paid for is up.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Never again

Posted: 12/26/2021
By:
Jessica
Kolesar

For the amount of money I pay every month for this insurance, Pets Best is very selective with what they reimburse. I wish I would have went with another company a long time ago. I am canceling my account now after my last claim was denied.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
4
Out of 10

Don't bother getting pet insurance if you have ever taken your dog to the vet for an injury or illness.

Posted: 12/24/2021
By:
Mark
Miller

If your're going to get pet insurance get it before you see a vet for any problems. Otherwise you will be denied payment for any claim that can be associated with anything that occured before your pet was insured. They like to claim it was a preexisting condition even if you paid to have the condition corrected. In most cases you're probably better off setting aside the monthly premium and the deductible in an account to pay cash for vet visits as needed.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Giant (90 Lbs +)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

It is great

Posted: 12/23/2021
By:
Lori
Yochem

This insurance is great it is good to get reimbursed for pet care and they cover so much and the claims process is so easy to do

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Cheaper to self insure. They do not pay out on claims.

Posted: 12/22/2021
By:
Jamison
Hemingway

I adopted a pittie mix in November of 2020. I am writing this review in December of 2021. In the past year we have had several vet needs from diarrhea that persisted for several days, a limp that developed and an inflamed teat. I submitted 6 claims during that time and only one was actually paid. I ended up canceling my coverage because it was simply cheaper to self insure seeing as how I was paying a monthly insurance fee along with the vet costs. Every claim was rejected due to 'pre-existing condition'. I would not recommend Pets Best Insurance as they don't seem to pay for services.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Pit Bull

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I am glad I had Pets Best Insurance.

Posted: 12/22/2021
By:
STAN
TYBURSKI

Our 6year old punky got very sick, she spent four nights and 5 days in an Emergency Hospital ICU. Surgery, medications, tests and more tests. All of this was quite expensive and Pets Best paid their share. Within days of turning in the claims most of the money was back in my bank account. I have no complaints.The coverage I have on two dogs is a small price to pay.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Staffordshire Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
4
Out of 10

They were so good at first,easy claim submissions & payments, but Customer Service and billing were HORRIBLE.

Posted: 12/21/2021
By:
ELEANOR
PRIORE

First year I insured 3 cats, one year old. The second year I added a male cat, age two. I called Customer Service to ascertain my monthly premium, was given one quote, then they billed for another amount. Then they dropped one cat from their billing to me and I called them THREE times to find out why? NO RESOLUTION! THEN I GET A CANCELLATION NOTICE IN THE MAIL OWING THEM $99.86 OR ELSE.
When I added the 4th cat in June of 2021, I paid $149.09 every month. I asked for a detailed itemization, they agreed BUT I WAS SENT A CANCELLATION NOTICE!! They were very nice BUT....no resolutions....BILLING IS A NIGHTMARE.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
3
Out of 10

Reviewer did not understand what operation was done or why

Posted: 12/18/2021
By:
Blade
Kotelly

The reviewer of the claim did not understand that the original reason for bringing my dog to the doctor was not the reason for the operation we had. They claimed it was a pre-existing condition, but we only discovered the issue which *would* have been a worse issue later in life, because we ran a CT scan and discovered something new. They didn’t ask for feedback until today, and suggested I write a review- so here it is.

They need better communication, should have checked in before today from an operation that happened months ago, and should have more carefully examined the martial. I’m hoping they contact me now.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd Mix

Age of Pet
Under a year
5
Out of 10

Well, they used to be good...

Posted: 12/18/2021
By:
Kent
Dorsey

We left another pet insurance company because their claims service slowed considerably. Have with PetsBest for many years and was impressed with policy and service. However, the last few claims we had they slowed considerably in response and handling the claim. I am quite disappointed, I am not sure what has happened there to have things change so much. After waiting some time for a response, I faxed in a request to hear the status of my claim. I did not get a response and then filed a complaint with the state department of insurance. I started shopping with other companies and will change companies at the conclusion of current policies. Too bad, another good company no longer able to serve as they did in the past.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Curl Shorthair

Age of Pet
Over 8 years