Cesar Millan and Spot Pet Insurance have teamed up to educate pet owners on the real benefits of pet insurance. This is especially important at a time when vet care is becoming more expensive each year. Spot and Cesar’s focus is to provide pet owners with the tools to help create a world of healthier pets and happier owners. Our pets are part of our pack, and it's important to treat them with the same respect as our human family. A big part of that is to provide proper healthcare for our furry friends. With the costs of today’s pet care, having Spot in your corner is helpful for your pet’s health and wellness needs. Spot policies help cover a wide range of covered conditions such as accidents medications, diagnostics, exams for covered conditions, and treatment—even alternative therapies. Spot also provides preventative plans, which include dental cleanings, vaccinations, flea prevention and more for a little extra cost! Spot wants pet parents to worry less and play more with their furry family. Discover the peace of mind of having Spot Pet Insurance.

Average customer rating

9.6 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 6.3 6.3 9.6
Count 0 10 105
1
Out of 10

CLAIMS NOT PROCESSED

Posted: 09/03/2021
By:
JEFFREY
SKY

Company never responds to claims. I placed 2 claims for my cat's treatment. Neither one has been processed. Nobody ever answers their phone. Put on permanent hold and left my phone number for call back which never happened. Never even received the promised gift card for signing up. Will report to the State Insurance Commissioner.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Long Hair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Happy that I chose Spoit

Posted: 08/25/2021
By:
Arti
Ravichandran

We bought Max home when he was 3 months. I did some research on pet insurance and went with SPOT in the same month. Had a good experience with them while shopping and they walked me over the policy and answered all my questions and did not push me at all. He started having allergies within 4 months and we had to take him to vet often for his medications. He also had some GI issues. I have filled all of my claims including prescription food and got good service with SPOT and got reimbursed for their part. I am able to afford and keep Max happy only because SPOT is supportive. Also when I contact their customer service, I get a good response and members are respectful and caring. I am happy that I chose SPOT.
The only reason I gave 9 rating instead of 10 is the time for the claims to be processed. They do process within the said time and no delays so far but once we submit the claim, it just says processing and it is a waiting game. I wish we could have some updates so we know what is going on.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Counter Surfing Covered

Posted: 07/14/2021
By:
Jacky
Ferro

I had no idea that counter surfing qualified as a behavioral issue, SPOT reimbursed me $500 for my dog's training! They also reimbursed me $2000 when my poor Lou ate tin foil out of the trash and had to get it removed by a vet. This is by far the best pet insurance on the market, I highly recommend everyone get SPOT!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Story of Spice

Posted: 06/28/2021
By:
Jennifer
Young

Story of my Spicy Cat, I have had Spot Pet Insurance for my 4 cats for over 6 months. Recently, my 12 year old male cat had a Urinary Tract Blockage which turned into an emergency and ended us up at the Hospital. It was suggested that he have an operation so that he would not become blocked with stones again. At a cost of over $5,000 you can imagine I was hesitant, but considering this surgery would prevent this happening in the future and prevent a possible premature death sentence by not making it to the hospital in time the next time, I agreed to the surgery. I was hoping this would be covered by Spot pet insurance and so Medvet in Worthington OH helped me get an extension on my Care Credit card so that all the cost would be covered. Sigh of relief. For now, everything was going to be ok and my best friend and companion, Spicy cat was getting the surgery he needed. A couple days after the surgery I filed the claim which was fast and easy. Within around 2 weeks I received nearly $5,000 deposited in my bank account. That was exactly the cost of the entire treatment, minus the deductible and I was reimbursed the rate of 90% . Wow, Spot pet insurance saved my cat's life and saved me from literally going through what little bit of money I have worked so hard to save for the past two years. When I signed up for Spot pet insurance I took all of my cats to their initial appointment to make sure there were no health problems and this is something I could not have planned for. This is the perfect scenario of why all pet caregivers should find a place in their budget for the minimal amount that it cost to cover your animals. It can save your wallet and your heart from breaking later. If you are doing the right thing and using the insurance as a back up and not purchasing it because your trying to "get over" on the company when an animal already has something wrong, then you will be pleased with SPOT pet insurance. The peace of mind is well worth the cost. Spot Pet Insurance is now officially Spice approved. Just look at that smile!-Jen

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
8
Out of 10
Recommended

6/11/21 This will be an ongoing review as I am in the process of filing a claim.

Posted: 06/11/2021
By:
Jennifer
Young

6/11/21 This rating is currently based on my limited experience with SPOT. I have not yet filed a claim. I am basing this review off off the registration and payment process as well as excellent customer service (which includes real people answering the phones). I am getting ready to go through the claims process and will change this review accordingly if necessary. I pledge to be fair with my expectations and expect that I will be treated fairly according to the terms of the contract (which I read forward and backward before enrolling) but can be very open ended when it comes to diagnosing pets with pre-existing conditions or preventative testing v/s necessary testing as you can see by previous reviews. I truly hope all goes well and I'm able to leave this 5 start rating where it is. I'll update soon.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10

Terrible

Posted: 03/05/2021
By:
Pam
Robvel

Please stay away of this insurance if you love your pets and your pocket
They will never give you the deductible is very hard to deal with them

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
7
Out of 10
Recommended

Finally

Posted: 03/03/2021
By:
Michele U
Long

I'm not sure jow I am abke to give my rating when I haven't had any progress of help yet with my pet only a questioner. Iam grateful to have come across such a eye opener and have been praying for some sort of help with my pup. I can't afford a vet and she had a massive lump growing.on her side. I don't know what to do she is my everything. I would give my life for hers in a snap of a finger. That's my review,what's yours?

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Worthless

Posted: 12/18/2020
By:
Max
Putnam-Petrone

Terrible policy. To much red tape. Healthy Paws much better.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed breed Giant (90 Lbs +)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
3
Out of 10

Poor Customer Service

Posted: 12/14/2020
By:
Deanna
Chambers

Trying to get reimbursed for a claim. They sent 6 emails saying only they need additional information. They contacted my vet multiple times, even though I told them they do not communicate with insurance companies. It took me a month to discover they needed a glucose read. Why they couldn't say that in one of the many emails, we could have resolved this long ago. They put the policyholder through the ringer. I would not recommend.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
4
Out of 10

Claim processing time is not as advertized

Posted: 12/14/2020
By:
Jason
Richards

We decided to go with Spot based on the reviews we read and the advertised quick claim processing that stated 48-72 hrs. We adopted a new aussie puppy and we went with both the pet insurance and the wellness plan. I submitted all the paperwork we received from the breeders vet and then took the puppy to the vet after signing up. It was a first vet visit for us so the usual (exam, shots etc). The total cost was $213. I submitted all the paperwork to SPOT and got an instant message saying that due to high volume of claims at this time yadda yadda it could take longer than expected etc. Ok that's fine but keep in mind this is not what they advertised and is not what I would think anyone would consider quick claims. It has now been 8 working days and there has been no status change on my account. Just says processing... Banfield may not have been perfect but at least the discounts for wellness was immediate, taken off the cost at the time you paid not reimbursed like this. I will update my review if and when it pays but so far the experience hasn't met the standards I was expecting based on the reviews.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Australian Shepherd - Miniature

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

I wish I could say SPOT will have your back, but I can’t…

Posted: 11/24/2020
By:
Guillermo

I wish I could say SPOT will have your back, but I can’t…

We purchased the policy when my puppy was 3 months old. He got into trouble and swallowed rocks twice: once before and once during the insurance waiting period. The first time, he went to the ER for an endoscopy to remove them from his stomach. The second time the Dr made him puke it out. He had diarrhea for a couple weeks after due to all these procedures, but it went away after some time. It was all paid out of pocket ($4K) because the policy wasn’t active at this time. Too bad timing didn’t work out but that was the rules we agreed to, no hard feelings there.

After the waiting period was over, our dog started causing destruction around the house when left alone. He bit entire corners off the walls and literally ate two holes through the wall when left alone inside a gated kitchen for less than 1 hr. We consulted with the vet and they wrote a letter diagnosing separation anxiety and recommending behavioral treatment, which SPOT claims is covered.

We submitted the letter from the Dr and letter from an animal behaviorist outlining a treatment plan to SPOT for approval. They denied coverage claiming that eating rocks when he’s with us is a sign of separation anxiety and is therefore a pre-existing condition. I argued it is unreasonable to claim that a behavior observed when accompanied is a symptom of separation anxiety, but they disagreed. They also disagreed with the Dr’s letter that, literally and word by word, states the diagnosis for separation anxiety is unrelated to eating rocks. SPOT formulated their own diagnosis for my dog that justifies rejection of coverage and denied the claim.

At some point the diarrhea came back and lasted for weeks. The vet put him on medication for a month but wasn’t getting better so they recommended doing a full blood panel to diagnose any physical issues. SPOT rejected coverage for the vet’s medication, the blood panel and diagnostic tests claiming that because he had diarrhea before, it is a pre-existing condition and no treatment would be covered.

I’m not one to leave bitter reviews around the internet but I at least felt I had to share my experience and warn others.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Tory is the best

Posted: 11/03/2020
By:
Rafael
Mendez

I was looking for pet insurance today and I came across Spot and from the moment I got on the phone with Tory I was so pleased. She was extremely attentive, personal , and made my decision super easy. I’m so happy my boy Kobe has insurance now and he is prepared for anything that come his way. Thank you guys

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bernese Mountain Dog

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Con artists take your premium and denies all claims

Posted: 09/22/2020
By:
BRIAN
CRAIG

worst company ever, Cesar Milan should be ashamed being associated with this company. Our pup suffered a stroke, and every bill was denied stating pre existing condition. How is a stroke a pre existing condition. A stroke happens suddenly, glad this insurance company has the expertise to show a sudden stroke is pre existing. They need to share this with the rest of the medical field, so we can treat it before someone else suffers one.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great experience! Timely and quick

Posted: 08/25/2020
By:
Mila
Gergova

Great experience- timely and quick reimbursement and easy to use the app!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Service, quality and price. What more can you ask for?

Posted: 08/24/2020
By:
Georgia
Green

After researching several pet insurance companies I chose spot because of the flexibility in choosing the deductible and coverages, as well as the great reviews. The policy document is easy to read and very clear as to what is and isn’t covered. I’ve already made claims under the policy and am impressed as to the communication and turn around time for approval and payment. Everything is done right in the app. They explain what is approved and what isn’t (and why). Apply the deductible, and issue a reimbursement within a couple of days. Customer service is responsive and treat you like a real person. And I even appreciate their informational emails about dog training and other helpful tips. Really happy I chose them. Highly recommend.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Sam Denunzio

Posted: 08/22/2020
By:
Sam
Denunzio

What your receive for the coverage and...

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

4 days was all it took

Posted: 08/19/2020
By:
Bree
Mercer

4 days was all it took. I am a new pet owner and my baby had to go to the Vet. I was worried about the entire submitting a claim process, but it was seamless. I submitted it on a Friday by Wednesday my direct deposit came and SPOT covered more than I expected. It was seamless

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thank you for being such a great asset...

Posted: 08/18/2020
By:
Jeffrey
Dean

Thank you for being such a great asset to pet owners. The service is timely and the follow through is wonderful. If you have questions the staff is easily accessible. The payments are direct deposited and go right into my bank account. I highly recommend this company. Again, thank you for serving us.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Very fast and reimbursed 100%...

Posted: 08/18/2020
By:
Bonnie
Mcdaniel

Very fast and reimbursed 100% what they said they would

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

My first claims experience

Posted: 08/18/2020
By:
Jacqueline
Sanabria

I had my first experience making a claim for my cat Treasure. The claims were as expected and processed quickly. I have the claim form in my file with my vet so they can send it in for me. Thank you.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed

Age of Pet
Under a year