Used to think they were great

Out of 10

I initially purchased this insurance as it was one of the few that offered wellness coverage. Once my dog turned 7, I purchased a Senior package from my vet which was a bulk package for services. For two years Pets Best reimbursed me for the individual services they covered under this plan. I was still paying more out of pocket, however, I felt it was worth it.
This year, however, Pets Best refused my claim for wellness services stating that I was receiving a discounted service so they wouldn't cover it. I mentioned they had covered it in the past. They stated that it was a mistake (for two straight years?) and that they would not cover it. I said that I wanted to drop the wellness off my policy since I wasn't going to be able to use it. They stated that it was over 3 months from my renewal and I would have to wait until next year.

Now, my renewal was early June, I filed my claim late August, by the time they did their due diligence and contacted me, it was now over the 3 months and I would have to wait until next year. I had no reasonable expectation that they would not cover these services as they had covered them the past TWO years! They would not work with me to drop the coverage they would no longer honor and allow me to retain only the illness/accident insurance. They pushed the claim past the 3 months, I filed before that timeframe was up. So I had to cancel my whole policy as I was not going to pay a couple hundred dollars for a service I wasn't going to be able to use.

I have never had a company so rigid and less devoted to customer service. I had been a solid customer making on-time monthly payments for 6+ years. I had no indication that they wouldn't honor my claims as they had in the past and they still wouldn't make an adjustment.

I would never recommend this insurance company to anyone based on the way I was treated and how uncompromising they were when they were in the wrong.

Did you find this review helpful?
Claim Amount
$100 - $500

Australian Shepherd

Age of Pet
Over 8 years

Leave a comment

Enter the characters shown in the image.
Posted: 10/26/2015

Hello Dianne, We’re sorry to hear that we have lost you as a customer. We’ve seen a lot of changes in the industry with pre-paid wellness packages, and are asking for more information than we have in the past. We’re sorry as well that this created any issues for you and that we didn’t explain this more fully. In particular, we have found that we need more details about the amounts paid so far on the package, the services that have been provided, and the cost of those services (which are typically discounted). We called you and left a message asking you to get back to us with specific additional details regarding the pre-paid package. Upon receipt of that information we would be glad to take another look at your claim. Please contact us if you have any questions.