AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states, and has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club since 2003. Learn more about AKC's pet insurance plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

8.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 7.4 7.4 8.8
Count 0 14 879
1
Out of 10

A total scam

Posted: 03/03/2022
By:
Elizabeth
Napolitano

This was the absolute worst pet insurance company with terrible customer support. This team will make it impossible to submit a claim and will scam you out of any reimbursement possible. I had an issue with a claim that I was supposed to be reimbursed on and they came up with every reason it wasn’t valid, even though it was. I asked to speak with a supervisor to help rectify the situation and they told me a supervisor would call me back but they never did. I will never use this company again. I’m so disappointed in the AKC name after this experience.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Black)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great choice

Posted: 02/16/2022
By:
Larry
sandefer

We have had AKC insurance for over 10 years. It has been excellent as far as coverage and response. We had one dog with many health issues. Without this insurance she would not have lived the many years she was able to.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Exceptional service-great experience!

Posted: 12/15/2021
By:
Karen
McRitchie

I have been using this pet insurance on two dogs for several years. There are other companies providing pet insurance that may be cheaper or have different benefits, but I have had such great service that I would not change. Submitting claims on the website is easy, every time I have had to contact customer service, the people are helpful and kind. Even when my 1-year-old dog died unexpectedly and I had to call to cancel, the representative was amazing. I also received a sympathy card in the mail--no one takes the time to do those things anymore. I think that customer service is just as important as the price and services offered. I am sure there are other options with less services/costs, but I think I made the best choice.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Newfoundland

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Awesome Pet Insurance

Posted: 12/09/2021
By:
JENNIFER
WALTHAL

This pet insurance company is the best! I highly recommend purchasing this insurance a few days after bringing your puppy home and after your first vet visit. I am on my second year with them, and they have never denied a claim on Lucy. I also purchased a policy that covers problems common to boston terriers. Lucy has had skin allergies and gastro problems, and AKC has covered her vet visits and medications after meeting the $250 deductible. I can always get a person on the phone whenever I have questions, and they are very helpful and professional. It is a piece of cake to file a claim on their website and only takes a couple of minutes. They respond right away and reimburse me 2-3 days later after reviewing my claim. It is such a peace of mind to know if anything major happens to my Lucy, I can afford to give her the best care since I have AKC pet insurance. Can not recommend them enough!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Boston Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10
Recommended

Waste of money

Posted: 11/08/2021
By:
william
jernigan

After collecting years of premiums , they denied the only claim i ever submitted ,

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Worthless

Posted: 11/01/2021
By:
John
Brekken

Had this insurance since we registered our dog and denied because they say it’s pre-existing. I have since learned that this is one of the worst insurances available even if they did honor their contract. What a scam.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Pug

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best customer service in the world!

Posted: 10/29/2021
By:
Nancy
Smith

This is the best customer service I have ever experienced. Very fast payment on claims, and intelligent, friendly representatives!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Coton de Tulear

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I💕 my girl to death

Posted: 10/14/2021
By:
Chris
Fingers

It was my mom card in paying her back

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Havanese

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

GIRLS ARE VERY HELPFUL

Posted: 08/17/2021
By:
LuJen
Tokarcik

THE GIRLS THAT HELPED ME 2DAY WERE AWESOME

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Great Insurance and Great Customer Service

Posted: 07/07/2021
By:
Michael
Warren

Best Customer Service and Insurance!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Always there

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Larry
Lawyer

This is my second policy I have had through the AKC, the first one was for my German Shepherd Gretchen who through the 9 years I had her they were always there for her and even after I lost her to cancer they were there. Their claim process was easy and anytime I needed to speak with someone it was easy. It took me many months before I decided to get another German Shepherd but it was a no brainer to have her on AKC's pet insurance. I had to reach out the other day and their customer service could not do enough.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Thieves who don’t pay claims they legally owe

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johanna
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month free companion care which I did not want or ask for. My payment on 2/10/21 was $96.49 because of the free one month of companion care. Each month thereafter I paid $104.54. There is a 30 day waiting period for the hereditary and defender coverage. My puppy went for his 16 week shots on 3/13/21 and the vet noticed he was developing an underbite. Long story short, it’s a hereditary issue and he needed dental surgery to the tune of $4354.50. They have denied my claim saying that the policy really didn’t go into effect until 3/11/21-02/11/22- that would be an 11 mos policy not a 12 mos policy. They have denied my claim in violation of my State’s law. I have a second puppy that I pay $90/mos for insurance - I pay close to $200/mos for my puppies but they don’t cover claims that are clearly covered. If anyone else has been screwed over my this company, please reach out

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Thieves who do pay claims owed

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johan a
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month free companion care which I did not want or ask for. My payment on 2/10/21 was $96.49 because of the free one month of companion care. Each month thereafter I paid $104.54. There is a 30 day waiting period for the hereditary and defender coverage. My puppy went for his 16 week shots on 3/13/21 and the vet noticed he was developing an underbite. Long story short, it’s a hereditary issue and he needed dental surgery to the tune of $4354.50. They have denied my claim saying that the policy really didn’t go into effect until 3/11/21-02/11/22- that would be an 11 mos policy not a 12 mos policy. They have denied my claim in violation of my State’s law. I have a second puppy that I pay $90/mos for insurance - I pay close to $200/mos for my puppies but they don’t cover claims that are clearly covered. If anyone else has been screwed over my this company, please reach out

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Yellow)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great customer service

Posted: 06/08/2021
By:
Glenda
Grey

So far, I’m happy with policy and customer service. Easy to submit a claim, helpful customer service and my claims are quickly processed!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Worth it

Posted: 05/12/2021
By:
Tash
M

When I got my dog from a rescue I did a lot of research into the Pros and cons of pet insurance. After a 1.5 years, I have finally put it to good use. I have filed my 1st claim and less than a week later, I was reimbursed. It takes a few days to process but worth if financially.

The customer service is alsways extremely helpful. They helped me with processing my claim and were never bothered when I called them to know the status of the claim. The business is very professional and knowledgeable.

I recommend this specifically because of the add ons that they provide. Not all pet insurance have the add ons that AKC has.. Unless you cancel the policy and restart everything, the prices do not change as your dog gets older. Even if I hadn't needed to use it as soon as I had, this would be beneficial for every dog owner who has a young dog in order to help the elderly dog expenses later in life. This is worth it and something that I wish I had with my previous dog. I did my research and it's very beneficial for every pet parent to do their research into pet insurance and what will work best for them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Akita

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Very pleased

Posted: 04/28/2021
By:

I am very pleased with AKC pet insurance. This is my first time having pet insurance. The whole staff is wonderful. They are so nice everytime I need help. Keep up with the excellent customer service!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Quality service all the time.

Posted: 04/27/2021
By:
Milton
Stewart

Never had any problems , when I need to reach out about my pet insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bull Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Very knowledgeable

Posted: 04/20/2021
By:

Customer service was very professional and the representative is very knowledgeable. I thank very much

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Very thorough

Posted: 04/19/2021
By:

Chelsea was very thorough and answered all of my questions. She provided me with all the options but wasn't pushy and didn't try to sell me options that didn't make sense for me or my pet.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Genuinely concerned about my puppy!

Posted: 04/13/2021
By:

The lady I spoke with was very friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely concerned about my puppy! Excellent customer service! Thank you

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year