AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states, and has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club since 2003. Learn more about AKC's pet insurance plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

8.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 5.5 9.3 8.8
Count 4 88 875
1
Out of 10
Recommended

Waste of money

Posted: 11/08/2021
By:
william
jernigan

After collecting years of premiums , they denied the only claim i ever submitted ,

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Worthless

Posted: 11/01/2021
By:
John
Brekken

Had this insurance since we registered our dog and denied because they say it’s pre-existing. I have since learned that this is one of the worst insurances available even if they did honor their contract. What a scam.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Pug

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best customer service in the world!

Posted: 10/29/2021
By:
Nancy
Smith

This is the best customer service I have ever experienced. Very fast payment on claims, and intelligent, friendly representatives!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Coton de Tulear

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I💕 my girl to death

Posted: 10/14/2021
By:
Chris
Fingers

It was my mom card in paying her back

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Havanese

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

GIRLS ARE VERY HELPFUL

Posted: 08/17/2021
By:
LuJen
Tokarcik

THE GIRLS THAT HELPED ME 2DAY WERE AWESOME

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Great Insurance and Great Customer Service

Posted: 07/07/2021
By:
Michael
Warren

Best Customer Service and Insurance!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Always there

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Larry
Lawyer

This is my second policy I have had through the AKC, the first one was for my German Shepherd Gretchen who through the 9 years I had her they were always there for her and even after I lost her to cancer they were there. Their claim process was easy and anytime I needed to speak with someone it was easy. It took me many months before I decided to get another German Shepherd but it was a no brainer to have her on AKC's pet insurance. I had to reach out the other day and their customer service could not do enough.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Thieves who don’t pay claims they legally owe

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johanna
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month free companion care which I did not want or ask for. My payment on 2/10/21 was $96.49 because of the free one month of companion care. Each month thereafter I paid $104.54. There is a 30 day waiting period for the hereditary and defender coverage. My puppy went for his 16 week shots on 3/13/21 and the vet noticed he was developing an underbite. Long story short, it’s a hereditary issue and he needed dental surgery to the tune of $4354.50. They have denied my claim saying that the policy really didn’t go into effect until 3/11/21-02/11/22- that would be an 11 mos policy not a 12 mos policy. They have denied my claim in violation of my State’s law. I have a second puppy that I pay $90/mos for insurance - I pay close to $200/mos for my puppies but they don’t cover claims that are clearly covered. If anyone else has been screwed over my this company, please reach out

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Thieves who do pay claims owed

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johan a
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month free companion care which I did not want or ask for. My payment on 2/10/21 was $96.49 because of the free one month of companion care. Each month thereafter I paid $104.54. There is a 30 day waiting period for the hereditary and defender coverage. My puppy went for his 16 week shots on 3/13/21 and the vet noticed he was developing an underbite. Long story short, it’s a hereditary issue and he needed dental surgery to the tune of $4354.50. They have denied my claim saying that the policy really didn’t go into effect until 3/11/21-02/11/22- that would be an 11 mos policy not a 12 mos policy. They have denied my claim in violation of my State’s law. I have a second puppy that I pay $90/mos for insurance - I pay close to $200/mos for my puppies but they don’t cover claims that are clearly covered. If anyone else has been screwed over my this company, please reach out

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Yellow)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great customer service

Posted: 06/08/2021
By:
Glenda
Grey

So far, I’m happy with policy and customer service. Easy to submit a claim, helpful customer service and my claims are quickly processed!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Worth it

Posted: 05/12/2021
By:
Tash
M

When I got my dog from a rescue I did a lot of research into the Pros and cons of pet insurance. After a 1.5 years, I have finally put it to good use. I have filed my 1st claim and less than a week later, I was reimbursed. It takes a few days to process but worth if financially.

The customer service is alsways extremely helpful. They helped me with processing my claim and were never bothered when I called them to know the status of the claim. The business is very professional and knowledgeable.

I recommend this specifically because of the add ons that they provide. Not all pet insurance have the add ons that AKC has.. Unless you cancel the policy and restart everything, the prices do not change as your dog gets older. Even if I hadn't needed to use it as soon as I had, this would be beneficial for every dog owner who has a young dog in order to help the elderly dog expenses later in life. This is worth it and something that I wish I had with my previous dog. I did my research and it's very beneficial for every pet parent to do their research into pet insurance and what will work best for them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Akita

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Very pleased

Posted: 04/28/2021
By:

I am very pleased with AKC pet insurance. This is my first time having pet insurance. The whole staff is wonderful. They are so nice everytime I need help. Keep up with the excellent customer service!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Quality service all the time.

Posted: 04/27/2021
By:
Milton
Stewart

Never had any problems , when I need to reach out about my pet insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bull Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Very knowledgeable

Posted: 04/20/2021
By:

Customer service was very professional and the representative is very knowledgeable. I thank very much

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Very thorough

Posted: 04/19/2021
By:

Chelsea was very thorough and answered all of my questions. She provided me with all the options but wasn't pushy and didn't try to sell me options that didn't make sense for me or my pet.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Genuinely concerned about my puppy!

Posted: 04/13/2021
By:

The lady I spoke with was very friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely concerned about my puppy! Excellent customer service! Thank you

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Thank you!

Posted: 04/12/2021
By:

I needed an claim form and your young lady emailed it to me so quickly it was unbelievable! Thank you

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Tremendous!

Posted: 04/09/2021
By:

The person I spoke with was tremendous! She was extremely knowledgeable, helped me makes informed decisions, and was very friendly. She went above and beyond.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Eager to go the extra mile

Posted: 04/07/2021
By:

Ariel was fantastic, highly attentive and very engaged in the whole process to ensure the best coverage and plan for my Brussels Griffon. She was so pleasant and friendly and eager to go the extra mile.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10

Especially helpful

Posted: 04/06/2021
By:

She was especially helpful with deciding the best insurance package for my giant breed pup without breaking the monthly budget by suggesting a higher deductible, and adding on some options for preventative care.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year