AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states, and has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club since 2003.

Learn more about AKC's pet insurance plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

8.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 8.2 9.4 8.8
Count 5 133 870

AKC Pet Insurance Reviews

10
Out of 10
Recommended
Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Larry
Lawyer

This is my second policy I have had through the AKC, the first one was for my German Shepherd Gretchen who through the 9 years I had her they were always there for her and even after I lost her to cancer they were there. Their claim process was easy and...

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10
Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johanna
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month...

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johan a
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month...

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Yellow)

Age of Pet
Under a year
Monthly Cost

$5 - $90 depending on coverage options chosen.

Coverage

You have a co-pay of 20% after your annual deductible. 

The pay-out amount is based on your actual vet bill.

Payout Limits

Per incident limit of $1,500 - $8,000 and annual limits of $3,000 - $16,000 depending on your chosen plan.

Deductible

Choose from $100 - $1,000 annual deductible.

Age Limits

Pets must be at least 8 weeks old to enroll with no upper age limit. Coverage options available for senior pets.

Waiting Period

Coverage goes into effect one day after enrollment. There is a 5-day wait period for accident claims and 14-day wait period for illness claims.

AKC Pet Insurance provides 30 days of accident and illness insurance coverage included with AKC registration for newly registered puppies.

Exclusions

Pre-existing conditions are not covered. 

Customizable plans allow you to add-on coverage for inherited and congenital conditions, exam fees and wellness care.

Cancer coverage included in base accident and illness plan.

As one of the first pet insurance providers in the United States, AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states. 

Since 2003, AKC Pet Insurance has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club, and helps dog and puppy owners keep their pets safe and healthy.

AKC Pet Insurance's customizable plans allow pet owners to choose their coverage, deductible and coverage limits to create a plan that meets their individual needs and budget.