AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states, and has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club since 2003.

Learn more about AKC's pet insurance plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

8.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 10.0 9.4 8.8
Count 1 108 871
10
Out of 10
Recommended

GIRLS ARE VERY HELPFUL

Posted: 08/17/2021
By:
LuJen
Tokarcik

THE GIRLS THAT HELPED ME 2DAY WERE AWESOME

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
Verified

Great Insurance and Great Customer Service

Posted: 07/07/2021
By:
Michael
Warren

Best Customer Service and Insurance!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Always there

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Larry
Lawyer

This is my second policy I have had through the AKC, the first one was for my German Shepherd Gretchen who through the 9 years I had her they were always there for her and even after I lost her to cancer they were there. Their claim process was easy and anytime I needed to speak with someone it was easy. It took me many months before I decided to get another German Shepherd but it was a no brainer to have her on AKC's pet insurance. I had to reach out the other day and their customer service could not do enough.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Thieves who don’t pay claims they legally owe

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johanna
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month free companion care which I did not want or ask for. My payment on 2/10/21 was $96.49 because of the free one month of companion care. Each month thereafter I paid $104.54. There is a 30 day waiting period for the hereditary and defender coverage. My puppy went for his 16 week shots on 3/13/21 and the vet noticed he was developing an underbite. Long story short, it’s a hereditary issue and he needed dental surgery to the tune of $4354.50. They have denied my claim saying that the policy really didn’t go into effect until 3/11/21-02/11/22- that would be an 11 mos policy not a 12 mos policy. They have denied my claim in violation of my State’s law. I have a second puppy that I pay $90/mos for insurance - I pay close to $200/mos for my puppies but they don’t cover claims that are clearly covered. If anyone else has been screwed over my this company, please reach out

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
Monthly Cost

$5 - $90 depending on coverage options chosen.

Coverage

You have a co-pay of 20% after your annual deductible. 

The pay-out amount is based on your actual vet bill.

Payout Limits

Per incident limit of $1,500 - $8,000 and annual limits of $3,000 - $16,000 depending on your chosen plan.

Deductible

Choose from $100 - $1,000 annual deductible.

Age Limits

Pets must be at least 8 weeks old to enroll with no upper age limit. Coverage options available for senior pets.

Waiting Period

Coverage goes into effect one day after enrollment. There is a 5-day wait period for accident claims and 14-day wait period for illness claims.

AKC Pet Insurance provides 30 days of accident and illness insurance coverage included with AKC registration for newly registered puppies.

Exclusions

Pre-existing conditions are not covered. 

Customizable plans allow you to add-on coverage for inherited and congenital conditions, exam fees and wellness care.

Cancer coverage included in base accident and illness plan.

As one of the first pet insurance providers in the United States, AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states. 

Since 2003, AKC Pet Insurance has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club, and helps dog and puppy owners keep their pets safe and healthy.

AKC Pet Insurance's customizable plans allow pet owners to choose their coverage, deductible and coverage limits to create a plan that meets their individual needs and budget.