Find and read reviews with confidence

Reviews Reviews

With a growing range of cat and dog insurance policies on the market, it can be hard to find the best pet insurance to suit your individual needs and budget.

We enable pet owners to share their experiences of some of the leading pet insurance providers, so as well as being able to compare the best pet insurance plans available based on cost, levels of coverage, exclusions and deductibles, you can read thousands of pet insurance reviews from other owners across the U.S. and Canada.

Our helpful pet insurance reviews can help ensure you find a policy that’s right for you.

1

out of 5

I would Not recommend this insurance

Pets best insurance should be called Pets Worst. Takes month to review your claims and reject with no valid reason. Appeal takes another 2 months. Please save your time and money and don’t sign for this insurance!
  • INSURER: Pets Best
  • POSTED: 04/11/2024
  • BY: Heleh
  • BREED: Labradoodle
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

DO NOT PURCHASE PET INSURANCE WITH THIS PETTY COMPANY

hey take long to approve claims, nickel and dime you, there's now a deductible PLUS a co-pay for every claim. Guess what, their appeals process sucks as well, I provided enough back up, context, and a heartfelt letter explaining why I put a vet visit on a payment plan with zero % interest offered by @vca and how it's not any difference if I had put the cost of the visit on a credit card while I submitted the claim. STAY AWAY, Run away.
  • INSURER: Pets Best
  • POSTED: 04/10/2024
  • BY: Lupita
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Small (Up to 22lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Great Experience

I’ve submitted 3 claims in the past year and it easy to submit them online and I received my payment pretty quick. Customer service has been great as well.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Camino Pet Clinic
  • POSTED: 04/09/2024
  • BY: Jennifer
  • BREED: Labrador Retriever (Black)
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Great Insurance...

My pup had to have eye surgery to remove his eye. I called to see if they cover this procedure and hey told me that it would be covered and that put my mind at ease. The people at Met Life were quick to respond and very courteous. The claim was reimbursed quickly. Would recommend this company for all your fur-babies. Thank you, Met Life for taking care of Andy.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 04/09/2024
  • BY: Sherry
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Small (Up to 22lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Great Claims Process

So happy with our coverage and the easy claims process is great! The Puppy coverage is invaluable.
  • INSURER: Lemonade
  • POSTED: 04/09/2024
  • BY: Leta
  • BREED: West Highland White Terrier
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

The Best!

I have been with Healthy Paws since 2017. I actually have 2 dogs. The other is a micro doodle. This insurance is amazing! My Ridgeback developed a disorder, which has led her to be on 2 medications. Without fail, every time I submit the claim, I am reimbursed within 2 days. She also had a dental cleaning, where they found a cracked tooth, which needed to be extracted, and they paid 100% of the $1400 bill. I am so pleased with this insurance.
  • INSURER: Healthy Paws
  • VETERINARIAN: Carmel Mountain Ranch Veterinary Hospital
  • POSTED: 04/04/2024
  • BY: Nancy
  • BREED: Rhodesian Ridgeback
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Fast, Easy, and Transparent Service

My claim was processed super quickly, and the agent who was on the claim was very clear with her emails and expectations of when to recieve the claim. I have no complaints!
  • INSURER: Lemonade
  • POSTED: 04/01/2024
  • BY: Natasha
  • BREED: Mixed Breed
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Best decision I’ve made

The wait time to start the plan was a little long and I had to follow up to make sure it was active and the first claim took a bit longer because I had to set up the process to receive the funds but after that all other claims were processed quickly and the payments were very quick. All communication has been great. I would have given a 5 if the customer onboarding was a bit better.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Lincoln pet clinic
  • POSTED: 03/31/2024
  • BY: Kelly
  • BREED: Rat Terrier
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

METLIFE HORROR STORY

There was a near-death experience for my 4-year-old cat in January. I was fortunate to have planned ahead buying insurance for him. I regret buying it through MetLife. In order to verify coverage and the timing of claim settlement, I contacted MetLife and was told that that filing claims was simple, and that payments would be processed promptly. After nearly three months, I have finally got his $5,000 claim payment. The app gave the impression of being both user-friendly and informative at first; after all, it informed me that my claim had been granted and that my funds would be paid within days. On the first contact, there was some misunderstanding and the person gave the vague instructions to "check my mailbox" because they were unsure of where the payment had gone. Following a second contact, I was informed that additional documentation from his visit was required, which I promptly provided. On the third attempt, I was informed that the vet had made a mistake in his record regarding the timing of his last vaccine, even though he was experiencing an acute pancreatic episode. I was told to submit more paperwork that day to clear things up. The next call confirmed that the last instructions were in error and that the funds were en route. The next call was to clarify that it would take 45 days for the appeal to be reviewed. On top of the $10,000 vet cost, I have already paid about $400 in interest. The app provides inaccurate information and requires persistent follow-up, which significantly prolongs the claim process. It is their carelessness that has caused all of this, so I wish they would pay my interest charges. This has the potential to completely devastate someone's life.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 03/29/2024
  • BY: Roxanne
  • BREED: Domestic Medium Hair
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

Extended Waiting Period with MetLife Pet Insurance

It's been 15 business days since I submitted my claim to MetLife Pet Insurance, and yet it remains unresolved. My initial optimism upon enrolling in MetLife's pet insurance has been overshadowed by a frustrating experience with their claims process. At the outset, I was led to believe that claims would be processed within 5-10 days—a timeframe that seemed reasonable. However, I later discovered that this duration specifically refers to business days, a crucial detail omitted during enrollment. This lack of clarity left me feeling confused and increasingly frustrated. Furthermore, when attempting to file a claim for my pet, who had not required veterinary care in the past year, I encountered another obstacle. MetLife's requirement for a complete medical history spanning the previous 12 months was not communicated upfront, resulting in additional delays and complications. Contacting customer service for assistance yielded little empathy or support. Instead, I was informed that an extra 3-5 business days would be necessary to process the claim under these circumstances. Consequently, what should have been a straightforward process has stretched into a waiting game nearing 30 days. Such inefficiency is unacceptable, particularly concerning the health and well-being of our beloved pets. Enduring an extended wait without clarity on the claim's status is undeniably frustrating and stressful for any pet owner. In light of this disappointing experience, I have made the decision to sever ties with MetLife Pet Insurance. I cannot justify investing in a service that fails to fulfill its promises and lacks transparency in its operations. For prospective pet insurance customers, I strongly caution against choosing MetLife. Instead, I recommend exploring alternatives such as Nationwide Pet Insurance, which is reputed for its prompt and straightforward claim process. Learn from my mistake and select a provider that prioritizes efficiency and customer satisfaction. In conclusion, MetLife Pet Insurance's protracted claims process and inadequate customer service have left me deeply dissatisfied. Proceed with caution, as the frustration and disappointment may outweigh any potential benefits.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 03/29/2024
  • BY: Bo
  • BREED: Domestic Short Hair
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No

Get a quote today

Leave a review