Petplan is a leading pet health insurance provider in the United States and Canada the preferred provider of pet insurance for the American Animal Hospital Association and AARP members. For nearly 15 years, Petplan has set the gold standard for pet health insurance coverage as the first pet health insurance provider to offer a “Covered for Life” option and cover pets of any age without broad exclusions for hereditary and chronic conditions.  Learn more about Petplan's policy options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

9.1 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 1.3 8.4 9.1
Count 4 213 5395
1
Out of 10

Why bother having it?

Posted: 11/22/2021
By:
Aaron
Martinez

AVOID AVOID AVOID. Shop around for better insurer. You're honestly better off just setting aside $40 in a high-yield interest account and then when the time comes just pay your claims out in full yourself. The hassle of submitting my pet's medical history was atrocious and nonsensical. I basically submitted my dog's entire life history including pictures from my dog's mother's womb and they still said i needed more paperwork. Then after literally spending a total of seven hours of hassling with customer service, getting a measly payout and already paying the high monthly rate I'd have been better off just starting a side hustle to cover the claim. I guess that's insurance companies in America. They have all the money in the world for marketing to swindle you in then once you're in need of coverage they send pennies your way and make it a waste of your time to beg for them. No thanks.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Don't do it

Posted: 11/18/2021
By:
A
L

Please be sure to read the reviews before falling for the high rating this company gets. Ive been with petplan for less than a year and its been a complete nightmare! Over 6 months for them to set up the stupid app that never worked. Every single claim they took about a month to process because they wanted me to send complete history of medical records each time I made a claim. And here's the worst part: they don't give a crap about privacy. One time I logged into my account and I could see the full name, full address, all the pet information including payouts made and even credit card information of another member!! They did not contact the member to tell him they screwed it up. I contacted him and he had to phone them. Neither of us received a call saying they were sorry or they screwed up. I called to follow up with a manager who had the absolute worst customer service training I've ever come across. How he became a manager I will never know. This has been the worst experience I've had and I'm actively looking to go elsewhere because I found out that my one year old puppies premium payments are going up another $10 a month on his renewal date.
I wish I could give a zero rating.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Akbash

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

Avoid this insurer at all costs. Petplan/Fetch

Posted: 11/17/2021
By:
Tim
N

I've had this insurance for over five years and shame on me for keeping it this long. I've had nothing but bad experiences with them. Every claim I've ever submitted has been disputed (even the vet has been confused about all their additional requests), their customer service is mediocre at best, and the last straw was when they raised my monthly premium by 40% this year with no claims being submitted in over three years. I understand increases are necessary as the pet ages, but 40% in one year? Stay away, read the reviews on other sites, and go with some of the other more highly recommended insurers.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

French Bulldog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

This company is a scam

Posted: 11/02/2021
By:
Caroline
Fernandez

Looking at the grievances from Petplan customers it seems like a lot of us have experienced the exact same thing. Although I had a very good experience with Healthy Paws in the past, in this Covid economy I had to go with the cheapest rate when I was shopping around for an insurance for my new rescue dog so I chose Petplan. Their rate came out way cheaper than all the other companies.
But it was a scam. They won't honor their rate after the first year. It is false advertising to lure prospective customers into signing up with them. After a year my premium jumped from $70 to $121 out of the blue. This company does not communicate the real cost of services at sign up, their initial rate doesn’t reflect Petplan price range at all. This lack of transparency continues when the real rate is about to kick in. I received a renewal letter via email, prior to the new policy period but it did not mention a price or an increase. There was no dollar amount whatsoever. It said that the details of the policy can be found on the portal, under "my policy documents." When I went on the portal there was no tab or link to "my policy documents" so I just moved on with my day. I have had pet insurance before and I knew that premiums only increase slightly every year so I was not worried. But later on I found out that they had withdrawn almost double the amount of the usual premium from my bank account.
They should have honored last year's premium with a minor increase, just like all the other pet insurance companies do. My dog is still young, I signed her up for insurance as an investment for the future, for when she will be much older, as it is very difficult to find a decent coverage for senior dogs. It was purely an investment for her old days. All the money I paid for premium last year is wasted as I can’t continue working with an insurance that doubles its rate overnight. How much would be the premium by the time my dog turns 10 years old? $600 a month?

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Pet Plan has excellent communication skills .

Posted: 09/20/2021
By:
David
Hairston

I am happy to have purchased insurance on diamond because of the way you care about her.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

For what I am paying for insurance ??

Posted: 09/02/2021
By:
Aleksandr
Riabinin

Worse experience with them. They won’t approve and pay for my claim ( my cat had emergency situation with gastrointestinal tract) because my cat does not have medical record for 2020! Most of vet clinics were closed in Washington state during the pandemic!

I think Petplan is lousy! I won’t use their insurance again and will call my Credit card department for refund my payment!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Ragdoll

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

impossible Claim Approval Process

Posted: 08/21/2021
By:
Kimberlee
Klosowski

I have had PetPlan since 2014 and cannot get claims approved. I pay every month and pay more every month as the pets age. I have had trouble with simple claims like annual exams to a recent kidney disease diagnosis in my 10 year old cat. PetPlan needs proof that it is not pre-existing and needs records that are over 8 years old even though I have submitted more recent veterinary history documents that show the kidney disease was not pre-existing. The claims are closed without resolution and they note, 'you did not respond,' even though I did (many times). I have filed a complaint with the BBB due to the pro-longed and ongoing problems that never resolve. What happens when we encounter an emergency situation? Why even get pet insurance if all I am doing is paying for no reason?

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Onwer

Posted: 08/14/2021
By:
Andrea
Walker

DO NOT go throught his company. They are a scam!!! When I enrolled, I had trouble uploading documents so I ended up on the phone with a rep who walked me through and told me everything looked good and they had what they needed. Fast forward a year and my cat needed majoyr surgery. I submitted my claim with the documentation from the vet's office. Suddenly, they can't find any of my documents. I've been on the phone 3 separate times with reps, each time telling me everything looks good,. I even got an email saying everything looked good, that there wasn't anything else I needed to do as they were reaching out to the vet. Then I get another email telling me they can't process the claim. When I spoke to the rep after that, he said their company would never send an email llike that. When I did a screeenshot of it and sent it to him, he had nothing to say except that they couldn't process the claim.

THIS COMPANY IS unreliable, its reps contradict themselves, they lie and they do everything possible to not honor what they promise. There are enought Pet Insurance companies out there that I would highly recommend GOING SOMEWHERE ELSE. I am.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Don't bother they don't pay claims.

Posted: 07/20/2021
By:
William
Errico

They don't pay I have a claim and it's been about 2 months and all they keep saying it's still in review. Just made a call
and got the same run around, asked for a Supervisor, waited on hold for 10 more minutes. Guess what no Supervisors available.
No kidding, oh wait someone will call me back. Not holding my breath.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih Tzu

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Would never recommend this insurance

Posted: 07/18/2021
By:
Shirley
Twigg

Worst decision getting this pet insurance. Has been nothing but aggravating and a waste of money

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih Tzu

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

THE BEST Pet Insurance in EVERY way!!!!

Posted: 07/17/2021
By:
Karen
Wolper

There are SO many wonderful aspects of this insurance that I honestly do not know where to begin! 1) Customer Service: THE BEST!! You can always speak to a live, "Happiness Manager" (representative). 2) Claims: are processed in a timely manner providing all supporting documentation by the pet parent is sent such as procedures, medicines, necessary treatments, and vet notes. I always submitted my claims by fax with claim form, billing invoices, and vet's notes. Recently, I know that they now have an app which is continuously being worked on for more ease and efficiency, which will be up and running more efficiently soon, please be patient pet parents. Pet Plan insurance company is worth their weight in gold! 3) Pet Plan holds on to their existing customers, they do NOT drop you from the plan if you submit a lot of claims for a pet who is unfortunate enough to have constant multiple and chronic illnesses, as my pet did. 4) They are kind and compassionate in every way!!!! 5) Because of Pet Plan, they literally added YEARS to my cat's life to enable me to afford the medical procedures, medicines, and necessary treatments. This review is based on my pet having been insured by Pet Plan since September 2014 through July 1, 2021, when unfortunately my pet's life had to end. Pet Plan had been with me every step of the way through all my pet's illnesses with Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD), Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM), feline asthma, and dental disease. Therefore, I had 7 years of experience to be able to advise anyone looking for pet insurance that I HIGHLY recommend Pet Plan!!!! GO FOR IT! You WON'T regret it! They get the gold star award in my opinion!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Sphynx

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
2
Out of 10

Truly awful website and portal

Posted: 07/16/2021
By:
Joy
Kennedy

I've had nothing but trouble with this insurance company, and both their app and website are awful. Good luck submitting a claim and the reams of documentation they require (but keep the file size under 3MB!!)...and then just get denied because, you know, insurance companies are just in it for the profit. And no apparent appeal process.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Miniature Schnauzer

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10

Greedy & totally unethical- stay away!!

Posted: 07/12/2021
By:
Sara
N

I never post reviews but have to sincerely warn you: stay away from these greedy people! I was lied to my face about coverage, paid hundreds of dollars in total, just to be denied any compensation over a year later. Ex: if you file a claim for an ear infection, stomach ache or skin condition, you will get NOTHING if they as much as see the words ”ear”, ”scratching”, ”stomach ache” or whatever on medical history years before. They will interprete the dog to have a preexisting condition if he/she as much as sneezed or had an ear infection years ago. Regardless of that the symptoms are related to something completely else years later. So save your money! Please!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
5
Out of 10

I just renewed my policy and now i read all the reviews. They are ALL bad! I paid a year ahead, so I'll be waiting to see.

Posted: 07/08/2021
By:
Trudy
Elliott

Read subject line.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
8
Out of 10
Recommended

Great coverage

Posted: 06/27/2021
By:
Sarah
Orr

I have had Petplan for over 10 years with 5 different dogs. The online claims is very easy and the expediency of receiving payment of claims is excellent. However, it has gotten more expensive as my pets age. My current dog does have health issues so it is still worth it. Also, with past dogs I was able to afford to find out what was really wrong in order to make a decision on the future quality of life.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
1
Out of 10

Astronomical Rate Increase

Posted: 06/09/2021
By:
Rochelle
Mizrachi

I insured my dog Ozzie in 2011 after doing much research on a Pet Insurance that met my needs. At first Pet Plan was great. Claims were processed in a timely fashion. However the plan that I enrolled in changed. The deductible which was annually, now became per incident. That’s not the plan that I purchased.
I would NEVER purchase a per incident Pet Plan Insurance. From this point on I was disappointed, disillusioned and felt betrayed.
Recently to add insult to injury my policy increased from $98 to a whopping $252 per month! Basically after paying thousands of dollars over the course of 9 years, this company has pushed my pet out the door. My dog has not had any major health issues, thankfully. This companies business practices are HORRIFIC to say the least. I had no warning, not a letter, not an email. With such a rate increase one would think that a company could properly reach out to their insured to alert them. I would NEVER recommend this insurance to anyone. Truly disappointing. Horrible company.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labradoodle

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10

Awful awful experience

Posted: 06/04/2021
By:
Michelle
Sakha

They were supposed to cancel my policy but kept billing me for 3 months and when I called to complain and ask for a refund, they claimed I never asked to have my policy canceled and wouldn’t let me speak to a supervisor. I DO NOT recommend petplan, they are more money hungry than actually caring for your pet.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Chihuahua (Long Coat)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Dont Buy

Posted: 06/03/2021
By:
Katrina
Rodriguez

I've had this service for 3 months. The technical issues are a nightmare.Right off the bat, wd couldnt log in. Then we could switch over the email. Then they fixed the email issue, but the claims updates dont go to that email kwhich they cant change). I could submit a claim because the app was down, then it wouldnt take the documents, then we couldnt upload the supporting documents asked for. Then the app disappeared, then if came back, but majority of it doesnt work. Its one thing after another.

On top of all this, I submitted 3 claims, which (3 months later), ultimately were denied. 2 of them said that it was because we hadnt had an exam within 6 months prior to the coverage, but we had and the documents we sent, that they supposedly reviewed, supported this. So, Ive now had to make an appeal to re-open the claim. But I have ZERO confidence that it will be approved because, why would they make anything simple?

I seem to be paying for increased stress levels, not actual coverage.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Horrible service

Posted: 05/27/2021
By:
Antonia
Gomez

My first time trying pet insurance and our experience is horrible they never return your calls, very hard to get a hold of them, submitted our first claim 3 months ago and still nothing, they ask for files and I sent them already they want more and my vet told me they have to request them I already let them know they said they would send the request and it been a month and my vet says they have not received anything from PET PLAN , HOW CAN YOU TRUST THIS COMPANY TO INSURE YOUR PET OR IF ANYTHING ELSE ARISES, IF EVERY SINGLE CLAIM WILL BE THIS WAY 😡😡😡😩 DEFINITELY WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THEM BAD EXPERIENCE

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Petplan does not do what they say they will

Posted: 05/11/2021
By:
Maureen
Gallagher

Petplan is not fair I submitted claims 2ce the website stated they had received the paperwork and it had been reviewed and the check was cut I never received anything from them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year