Petplan is a leading pet health insurance provider in the United States and Canada the preferred provider of pet insurance for the American Animal Hospital Association and AARP members. For nearly 15 years, Petplan has set the gold standard for pet health insurance coverage as the first pet health insurance provider to offer a “Covered for Life” option and cover pets of any age without broad exclusions for hereditary and chronic conditions.  Learn more about Petplan Canada's plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider.   

Average customer rating

9.1 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 6.3 6.3 9.1
Count 0 33 3898
1
Out of 10

DO NOT GET INSURANCE FROM THIS COMPANY

Posted: 08/24/2021
By:
Ana
D

This is the worst insurance company they send cheques that are never received, they keep reissuing cheques and canceling the previous so you end up getting 0 payouts.

They don't accept Canadian Debit cards either, so your only way of getting money is cheques.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Not sure.

Posted: 07/05/2021
By:
Lynn
Charron

Not sure.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

petplan continues to charge my credit card after i spoke with Katelyn April 29th to cancel the plan and this was the second time

Posted: 06/25/2021
By:
angie
madore

i cancelled my pet insurance after my dog turned one feb.10 20110 and now 4mths later Petplan(FETCH,INC)OAK BLUFFMB continue to charge my credit card. i called and spoke with Katelyn April 29th and she assured me that it was a mistake and they would stop charging my credit card but now we are in June and i'm still getting charged.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih-Poo

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

I made a big mistake using petplan

Posted: 05/20/2021
By:
Donna
Collins

I made my first claim March 29. It is now may 20 and I have not heard anything other than request for more records. All records submitted as requested and still at the “in review phase”. I have made 4 phone calls and each say they will ensure the records are forwarded. When I state that was the response I had the last two times it’s like they don’t know what else to say. I have switched to trupanion for my other dog as thy pay the vet directly and I won’t have to go through this constantly. Of course I can’t switch the one with the current claim as it would now be considered an existing condition.
Their advertisement states “get paid in days not weeks” I’m now into months.
I sent an email to the company and it is 12 days later and I have not received any response.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

French Bulldog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Beware of their claim process

Posted: 05/18/2021
By:
Z
M

After being customers for almost 10 years, we were surprised by the negative experience we recently had when trying to submit a rather large claim:

1. We were told to submit our claim via their new app. Their app kept crashing.
2. After waiting weeks with the app crashing, we gave up and submitted our claim manually.
3. Manual submission date was 94 days after the service date. They will not process claims greater than 90 days old. We were never aware of this (it's in the fine print of a 30 pg terms and conditions document).
4. After explaining the delay was because their app kept crashing, they said there's nothing we can do since we did not tell them the app didn't work sooner.

It appears to us that they rely on a faulty web app so that people can't submit claims, and then when they do manually, if it's past the arbitrary 90 day submission deadline (even four days!) hidden in the fine print they have a mechanism to deny the claim. We were very disappointed and after speaking to multiple people on the phone, including the claims manager, they essentially said nothing can be done since it was filed past 90 days. They don't consider that we tried to get their app working before then.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Horrible service

Posted: 05/04/2021
By:
Samira
Wali

Horrible service, hard to get a hold of and they always find an excuse not cover for your pet expenses. The customer service is terrible and was hung up in on multiple occasions.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
2
Out of 10

Customer service gives unreliable information - so frustrated!

Posted: 04/13/2021
By:
APRILLE
SERRANO

I've been with this company since 2017 and had some minor customer service problems in the past but we fixed the issue. I called a month ago to add one more dog to the account and also to fix the issue they had with their system (names got mixed up in the system/my account was on a different name) and the agent who helped was really nice and we went through the process smoothly.

Before they updated their system, my name was the primary holder of the account but my mom's credit information was on file, and because of the changes in their system, everything got messed up. So, I had to call and had this issue fixed with the agent telling me that, it's now going to be my mom's name as the primary holder and me as the secondary, which was understandable since it was my mom's credit card on file and she told me that the next time I call, there should be no problems if I call or my mom calls, they are still going to help us regardless since both our names were on file. So, to clarify, I asked her that if I had to cancel/change my dog's insurance policy, would it be okay if I were the one to call them or did it have to be my mom and she told me there should be no problem if I call.

However, when I called today to cancel one of my dog's insurance policy the agent told me I wasn't allowed to since I wasn't the primary holder and I told her that an agent from last time had told me it should be ok since my name was on file too. She said that they don't do that to secondary holders.... then what's the point of having my name as a secondary holder?????? I told her that it's my email and phone # on file and could verify it but still no help. Although the agent was professional about it, respectfully, I told her that they should be clear with the information they tell their clients because this has been the 3rd time and now I'm just really frustrated.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Still waiting for a response

Posted: 04/10/2021
By:
David/Louise
Gagnon

Not impressed, due to confusion in policy we decided to cancel until we are able to get our newly acquired pet and so we called within 1/2 to inform them, we received an email stating we would receive our refund in 5-7 days that was over 15 days ago and now the company hasn't had the decency or respect to respond to our numerous emails and phone calls

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Impossible to Use the New App

Posted: 03/31/2021
By:
Wendy
Graham

We purchased pet insurance for our Maltese at 2 months old (he is now 2). I have not filed many claims, however I find the arbitrary decision of payout is extremely low. Filed a $522 claim, thought I would receive $200+ after the deductible yet I received $117. The new app is a complete nightmare. You cannot get into it (mine consistently says "timed out - try again" ) to no avail. Cannot look at any claims history, etc. online at all any longer. You know things are bad when the CEO sends an email to everyone apologizing. Just not worth the headache, nor the cost. I definitely do not recommend getting this pet insurance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Maltese

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent Service from Joe Prater

Posted: 03/27/2021
By:
Cook
Candace

Joe provides excellent customer service. Is easy to speak with and very patient. Knowledgeable and efficient. Thanks Joe for your assistance.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Greyhound

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Well Done!

Posted: 03/18/2021
By:
Tina
Towell

This was my first claim for Archie since purchasing the insurance. I had to call Customer Service to ensure they had all the paperwork required to process Archie's claims as I was advised via email they hadn't received the information. The call was answered quickly, efficiently and the CSR I spoke with (Daniel G.) was knowledgeable and managed the inquiry seamlessly, and did not keep me waiting online very long. I was impressed! Daniel wished Archie well and I left the call feeling that everything was under control to process the claim.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Amazing customer service and fast claim processing!

Posted: 03/04/2021
By:
Tamara
Pelemis

If you’re looking for a pet insurance plan I’d definitely recommend Pet Plan! I’ve been using them for over two years now and any time I’ve had to place a claim their customer service team has been super helpful over the phone and have made my processing fast and easy! I know I can rely on them and that I can see my cheque in the mail within a week of a claim. This is amazing especially when you have big claims you’re waiting to receive money for. Daniel (Happiness Manager) is always super helpful and a pleasure to deal with!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

French Bulldog

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Horrible company

Posted: 03/04/2021
By:
Samantha
Donato

This company is awful. Spent 900 for a broken leg and fully paid my 500 deductible. Next claim was for 200 and they approved it. Then tell my husband first approved claims aren't paid (why is it approved then) they then tell me my app is wrong( k, well it's YOUR app) and my deductible isn't paid so my 200 claim went towards my deductible.. FALSE! cuz 3 prior customer service reps told me it's been fully paid. This last lady sounded miserable and huffed and puffed while looking into my claims gave me attitude and constantly cut me off when speaking. And had nothing to say but "the app is wrong" and couldn't answer why the man 10 mins before my convo with her had told my husband wrong info that's nowhere in their policy about approved claims aren't paid. Paid $1000 in full for coverage for the year to constantly get attitude and a runaround about all my claims. They also constantly ask for info that only my vet has and even my vet said its not for me to retrieve. AVOID THIS COMPANY for the sake of your stress level and ur pets health.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Bulldog

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Customer service/ deductible

Posted: 03/04/2021
By:
Martin
Donato

Without a question , this has to be the the worst pet Insurance out there! There customer service is beyond terrible!!! Scale of 1 to 10 there should be a zero! Look elsewhere I highly recommend!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Bulldog

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent Service from Joe Prater

Posted: 02/27/2021
By:
Candace
Cook

I had 3 outstanding claims that were being held up for additional information from the veterinarian. Although the information had been sent 5 days previous, the claims had not be completed. Joe was a fabulous. I re-sent the information being requested and he uploaded it and forwarded it on to the next step so that there would be no further delays. I really appreciate Joe's assistance and the ease that it was to speak to him. Thanks again Joe!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Greyhound

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Worst Pet Insurance Company EVER

Posted: 02/24/2021
By:
Katrina
Farnum

By far the worst company to deal with, They do not understand the meaning of customer service. I have worked in the veterinary field for over 10 years and have had to work with many pet insurance companies and this one i would not recommend if it was the last one standing. They double charged my Credit card with NO NOTIFICATION, placed EXCLUSIONS on my cats policy, LOST MY MEDICAL REVIEW. INCREASED my annual premiums by aprox 800$ because my cat got a year older and has done it 3 years in a row. they have also removed discounts with no notification. When i called and asked for an explanation was advised that they couldn't help and would have a supervisor call. Needless to say the supervisor never called, when i finally was able to talk directly to a supervisor he was as unhelpful and as rude as their "happiness" agents, no apologies for not advising me that my payment didn't go through or that they, with out my permission, decided to charge my credit card twice without my knowledge. No customer service gesture for a mistake on their end, which the supervisor (Don) confirmed that their system was having issues in January.
I am an advocate for having pet insurance but this company does not show the value or puts pets first above all other. They only care about getting and making money regardless on if they put you in financial trouble in the process that is not what pet insurance is for. I have been with this company for 5 years, never had to file a claim and my premiums have gone from aprox 30$ to 100$ a month and if i have to file a claim then my premiums will go up the following year by 400$. NOT WORTH IT

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent, in every way

Posted: 02/22/2021
By:
Susan
Neilson

Daniel was so patient and led me through a very successful claim submission, right from my cellphone

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Calico

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent customer service

Posted: 02/20/2021
By:
Carol
Turgeon

I had the pleasure talking with Daniel Griffith today concerning a couple of issues I had with my monthly insurance paiements as well as the reimbursement for a previous claim.
I was impressed with efficiency demonstrated by Daniel in finding solutions to those issues. He has shown is knowledge and experience in a very friendly ans efficient manner. It was a pleasure to deal with such a competent individual.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
6
Out of 10
Recommended

The tech was wonky but Customer Service saved the Day!

Posted: 02/18/2021
By:
Scott
Crone

I was having trouble initiating a claim. The website was not taking the pdf for my dog's surgery. I called customer service and after a couple of failed attempts Joseph P. saved the day and got me looked after. He was attentive, listened actively, and owned the problem. He wasn't hanging up until the issue was solved. Thanks Joseph for making my day.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Brittany

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Daniel was informative and patient, looking forward to the app updates coming.

Posted: 02/17/2021
By:
Erick
Solis

So far so good.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year