PetFirst Pet Insurance is committed to providing cost-effective pet insurance plans for dogs and cats of any age and breed.  PetFirst’s pet insurance plan is one of the most comprehensive on the market, and is available in all 50 states. Learn more about PetFirst's plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

7.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 9.8 9.3 7.8
Count 10 86 1412
10
Out of 10
Recommended

PetFirst gives peace to the mind and stability to the wallet

Posted: 05/04/2022
By:
David
Hollingsworth

PetFirst has always come thru for us when our boy takes ill. Slipped a disc two years ago- emergency surgery and they were on top of it.. best investment for our pups health and our peace of mind. Much Love

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Peace of mind.

Posted: 04/27/2022
By:
GInny
Linder

When I adopted 10 year old Persians, Foxie and Blackie, they came with an initial insurance policy. I found customer service very pleasant to speak with, and the filing of claims quite easy. With the array of coverage choices and reasonable deductibles to pick from, you can choose what gives you peace of mind. When either an emergency or non-emergency illness occurs, whether your pet needs minor or major medical attention, expensive tests or on-going care, a person does not have to hesitate over cost. As pets grow older, it is not the "IF", but the "WHEN" medical issues will arise. One major illness or even brief hospitalization, can easily surpass the annual premium cost. It is really peace of mind to know they are well covered.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Persian

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Claim Process Easy & Approved Quickly

Posted: 04/20/2022
By:
Stacy
Wasson

The process was easy, and the claim was approved quickly. This is the second claim in a year, and both times, the company more than met my expectations - thank you!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Long Hair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Very satisfied with service and the agents that I dealt with!

Posted: 04/20/2022
By:
Lana
G

All good!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Worked with Lenzie she was very knowledgeable and answered all my questions.

Posted: 04/19/2022
By:
Sandra
Orender

Seemed like I will be getting my money’s worth the way everything was explained to me. Think it will be well worth it. And the quote was very reasonable for what you get. Lenzie was great working with me. Give her a 10.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
8
Out of 10
Recommended

Good

Posted: 04/13/2022
By:
Linda
Fardella

All is ok.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I am so glad to have had them for my pet family.

Posted: 04/12/2022
By:
Rene
Ekstrand

I am so thankful to have had them. My kitties, my Yorkie and my Min Pin are insured through them. Thank goodness. When something unexpected has happened with their health, I am so thankful to have them covered. I have found the paperwork very easy to complete. They let me know when my claim was received, and if any additional paperwork will be needed. When I have had to call them, someone picks up the call quickly, answers all my questions, and guides me through the process should I need some help. Its quick and easy.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Miniature Pinscher

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Best pet insurance out there and I checked them all!

Posted: 04/09/2022
By:
Lynne
Black

When we got our new puppy I checked all the pet insurance companies, it seems that there are four or five that are always top rated in reviews which got me to thinking...how can that happen? My guess is those review sites are getting paid for the rave reviews so I checked others and found Metlife. I read everything I could find about them, spoke two of their reps and took out a policy. They are wonderful! I got the puppy wellness plan and it pays the full vet bill for vaccinations and exams, not just a fixed amount like $40 which most insurers do. I have gotten paid within 8 days for each claim and never had a claim denied. I'm 100% happy with this company!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Boston Terrier

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

MetLife Pet Insurance is awesome!!!!!!!

Posted: 04/03/2022
By:
Melinda
Buratt

MetLife has a new family plan that is awesome. Covers everything and reimburses at 100%. Very easy application process over the phone. Highly recommend.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Australian Shepherd - miniature

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

All you should need at a fair price

Posted: 03/30/2022
By:
Jim
Locklair

This policy has a smaller deductible than most; one deductible per year, not for separate occurrences. Good policy,!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Miniature Schnauzer

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Awesome insurance

Posted: 03/04/2022
By:
Dixie
Escajeda

This insurance is wonderful. Joy was diagnosed with chronic heart failure on August 2, 2021. We had never used her insurance before but were certainly glad we had it then. It has been so good about paying. It takes a few weeks after approval but it comes. I recommend this to everyone. If you love your baby get it insurance. It's so worth it.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Pomeranian

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Robin (rep) is very knowledgeable and courteous. I didn’t have second thoughts getting the policy.

Posted: 03/01/2022
By:
Rose
de la Torre

Awesome coverage!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Pit Bull Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Smoothest claim ever!!!

Posted: 03/01/2022
By:
Robin
Shuler

As most bills/ claims go, I expected a lengthy process but to my surprise and amazement, I’ve never had a claim done so efficiently and the reps were amazing and courteous. I highly recommend petFirst/MetLife ( in Virginia) for Any surgery . The reps were clear and answered my questions and made the process easy and that’s important , especially when your fur baby is having or just had surgery and I cannot thank them enough! Found the inurqnce on a FB group review !!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Shih Tzu

Age of Pet
1 - 8
1
Out of 10

Horrible company!

Posted: 02/28/2022
By:
Lindsey
Gregory

I chose PetFirst (MetLife) pet insurance as it is offered through my employer. The plan went into effect in November 2020. My dog developed diabetes and was hospitalized for diabetic ketoacidosis in February 2021. She had no symptoms of diabetes prior to the policy taking effect. My claim for her medical care was denied as a pre-existing condition because she has had polyuria and polydipsia in the past, though her vet records state that these were RESOLVED in 2018. PetFirst FINALLY paid my claim in 2021 after much stress.

PetFirst is now refusing to pay for medications and supplies that my dog needs as a direct result of her hospitalization in 2021. They first claimed that they needed medical records that they already had, then they denied the claim, and said to look online for more information. The only information in their online portal stated that the claims were denied and that one of them was a pre-existing condition. I am now likely going to have to wait for a letter to come in the mail that details further why my claims were denied. What is the point of having pet insurance if you have to spend significant time fighting with them to cover medications, supplies, and treatments? I seriously regret choosing PetFirst, but I am now stuck with them due to my dog’s pre-existing conditions. They should be ashamed of themselves for the way they conduct business.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
9
Out of 10
Recommended

pays valid claims

Posted: 02/28/2022
By:
michael
wechsler

good company - pays claims - good customer service

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best insurance I have

Posted: 02/19/2022
By:
Ken
Sloan

Problems resolved quickly and associates are frendly

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great Customer Service!!!

Posted: 02/18/2022
By:
Pamela
DalPra

Frannie is a rescue from North Carolina. She has had many issues that have been covered without exception by Met Pet Insurance. Thank goodness for their coverage!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

excellent public relations

Posted: 02/17/2022
By:
Sheila
Stratos

Christine was knowledgable and extremely helpful

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Australian Shepherd - miniature

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

great sales man and great helping me with pet insurance

Posted: 02/16/2022
By:
shane
barnes

fantastic sales person

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Grest experience!

Posted: 02/10/2022
By:
Wlizabeth
Prest

Great experience. I received the reimbursement check in a timely fashion and it was automatically dejposited into my bank account!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever Mix

Age of Pet
Over 8 years