PetFirst Pet Insurance is committed to providing cost-effective pet insurance plans for dogs and cats of any age and breed.  PetFirst’s pet insurance plan is one of the most comprehensive on the market, and is available in all 50 states. Learn more about PetFirst's plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

7.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 9.7 9.4 7.8
Count 25 85 1385
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I was amazed at the ease with which the claim was paid!

Posted: 01/23/2022
By:
Pat
Fitzpatrick

forms easy to fill out, no hassles, very straightforward!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Pit Bull

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Fast

Posted: 01/22/2022
By:
Amie
Wece

Sent claim online
Was approved fast

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Bully

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

PetFirst is outstanding!

Posted: 01/21/2022
By:
Martha Jane
Lovedahl

Outstanding prompt service, reasonable costs, straightforward policy information, quality website and online communication, helpful representatives. Highly recommend!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
8
Out of 10
Recommended

Service Excellent

Posted: 01/20/2022
By:
Maureen
Hook

Claims service &is excellent. Response time is very quick when I have questions. Claim payment is about 3 weeks from submission to receipt of check. I have never had issues with claims being paid.
The 2 things I don't like: You cannot see submitted claims until processed, so can't confirm that they have the claim or see where it is in the process. You need to contact them to get that info. The 2nd issue: Payment process is inefficient. You have to go into each individual claim to request electronic payment. You can't set up electronic payment for all claims.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Coton De Tulear

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent Customer Service

Posted: 01/19/2022
By:
Judith
Mosley

First time obtaining pet insurance. Our agent Aiden, was extremely helpful & patient in explaining coverage. When he learned we had a second dog, he explained the family plan, which was a little extra, but covered both dogs.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Spaniel Mix

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Natural Balance Ltd Ingr. Diet - Duck & Potato For

Posted: 01/19/2022
By:
Debra
Fortunato

Yes, you always come through with my payment.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Super helpful customer service

Posted: 01/18/2022
By:
Tina
Woods

I had just purchased my puppy a fee weeks before she got sick and I really dreaded having to complete the paperwork. However the customer service was excellent and very friendly. She made the process not seem so difficult. Thank you for your kindness!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Pug

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best Thing I Did For My Pets

Posted: 01/08/2022
By:
Judy G
Davena

I have had PetFirst Ins. for several years. Customer service is very helpful and knowledgeable. Has several plans to pick from so you can decide what's best for your pets and budget.. Would recommend to family and friends.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Tabby

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Easiest claim ever sibmitted

Posted: 01/07/2022
By:
Todd
Hannigan

I bought the policy 2 years ago after my pit needed ACL surgery. 2 years later he needed the other knee repaired. MetLife Pet insurance was super easy and helpful and turned out to be easier than my health insurance claims.

Blue Cross should figure out how to get on the same page!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Pit Bull Terrier

Age of Pet
1 - 8
8
Out of 10

Uniformity

Posted: 01/07/2022
By:
Tisa
Murrell

We loved being able to insure our Luna for a low fee. Unfortunately after MetLife insurance took over, the app is difficult to use, it crashes all the time and it loses claims. On a positive note, once they finally process our claims, it's fairly soon when we receive reimbursement.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

Fast review and payment

Posted: 01/04/2022
By:
William
Ripka

In early December my 18 month old kitten ingested a length of ribbon and only regurgitated about half, the rest made its way to his small intestine where it accordianed into a blockage. Emergency surgery was needed, at quite a large expense. Online submission of claim was not showing in pending claims after 5 working days. I contacted customer service and was requested to send info direct to her and it would be forwarded to claims processing. The next day it was in claims. 10 days later I was notified the claim was approved to the limit of the policy. The following AM a request was received for direct deposit info. The payment was in my bank 5 hours later. My kitten is back to his loving self and the financial hit was greatly minimized due to Pet First. Have a pet, insure it.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

BECAUSE OF PET FIRST, WE WERE ABLE TO RESTORE MY DOG'S SIGHT.

Posted: 01/04/2022
By:
Lynne
Larsen

I owe so much to Pet First. We were able to restore my dog's sight after she became diabetic. They have covered her medications and make claims easy to file. They are first rate when it comes to customer service.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Rottweiler

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Great insurance and explained easily.

Posted: 01/01/2022
By:
Eve
Carr

Love how simple it was to sign up for this insurance and explained easily to understand.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great insurance

Posted: 12/31/2021
By:
Lorelei
von Schilling

I first insured my two cats. Then when I adopted my Dalmatian, I insured her. Lots of different plans available ! And easy to contact for questions

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Dalmatian

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Easy to work with

Posted: 12/30/2021
By:
Sharon
A McCormack

I compared all the different insurers and like this one when I was on the call the service rep they answered all my questions and I felt at ease, I've used the insurance once this year and the claim was easy, I just added my other pets and received a family discount, nice to know my pets are covered

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Thank you for your prompt response!!!

Posted: 12/29/2021
By:
Jann
Carpenter

The process was fast and smooth.
I am grateful to have received this service!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

They really do cover holistic treatments

Posted: 12/26/2021
By:
Stacy
Plank

Great experience with MetLife Pet Insurance. My Doberman was limping and I took her to my Integrative vet to see if we could figure out why. Took several XRays and decided on a holistic treatment and therapy schedule. This was the first time I had used the insurance and was not sure what all they would cover but I was pleasantly surprised that they covered all of her treatments!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Doberman Pinscher

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Termite

Posted: 12/23/2021
By:
Jerry
Leonard

Termite passed away and they even payed for the Cremation of him to me they are very good pet insurance company and you would not go wrong if you’re looking for a pet insurance if you went with them them

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great company

Posted: 12/23/2021
By:
Judith
James

Very impressed with their service. I was denied the first time because I sent it in too late so now I just send it in as it happens. Too easy to forget otherwise. I am very happy that I got their insurance. I adopted a 13 year old kitty and the age didn't matter. I've had this insurance for almost 3 years.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Shorthair

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
9
Out of 10
Recommended

MetLife Pet Insurance

Posted: 12/16/2021
By:
Gabriel and Carolyn
Amparan

We purchased this insurance just as a precaution and the service that we received was excellent. The insurance company provided us with a reimbursement for Cheddar's CCL surgery and associated follow-ups in a timely manner. Overall, our inquiries with their customer service were effective and the actual claim process was very easy. We are very pleased with their process and result!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8