Find and read reviews with confidence

Reviews Reviews

With a growing range of cat and dog insurance policies on the market, it can be hard to find the best pet insurance to suit your individual needs and budget.

We enable pet owners to share their experiences of some of the leading pet insurance providers, so as well as being able to compare the best pet insurance plans available based on cost, levels of coverage, exclusions and deductibles, you can read thousands of pet insurance reviews from other owners across the U.S. and Canada.

Our helpful pet insurance reviews can help ensure you find a policy that’s right for you.

5

out of 5

They've gotten better

When I first signed up in 2022, their claims processing was slow and the customer service sucked. Based on the speed at which my last few claims have been processed, I can see they are getting better.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 06/18/2024
  • BY: Richard
  • BREED: American Shorthair
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
2

out of 5

POOR customer service

My dogs have food allergies. Rather than medicating them, I chose to simply change food to a prescription derm food( which is supposed to be covered). They refuse to reimburse the expense saying it is OTC. It cannot be purchased without a prescription so it is not OTC! Metlife is not what they advertise. They are rude to customers. They refuse to allow speaking directly to a claims agent to understand their decision. It is definitely an insurance game. I cannot even pay for both dogs together- required separate receipts or won’t reimburse the expense- I guess no common sense or calculator to add the two together to get the lump sum. They are not customer or pet oriented. EXTREMELY disappointed in multiple difficulties with this company.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 06/12/2024
  • BY: Theresa
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Medium (20lb - 70lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Love MetLife

Excellent company to do business with. Easy to submit claims and they are quick to process. Recommend them highly.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Bound Brook Vet. Clinic
  • POSTED: 06/08/2024
  • BY: Catherine
  • BREED: Golden Retriever
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Simply the best in pet health insurance!

I have tried other health insurance fr our cats (we have 3). When my employer added MetLife Pets to our supplementary plans, I signed up mostly because payroll deductions would be more convenient than paying the plan I had at that time. I was very much pleasantly surprised - First, when I called to get a quote, they asked me how I wanted my policy to be. So they tailored on for me and my 3 cats - covers anything I take them to the vet for, including emergencies and dental and $0.00 deductible. Premiums wereat least 20% less than the current plans I have had which covered only wellness. No more nickel and diming wiht the vet! Even better, MetLife Pets website and app is so easy to use that filing claims is as easy as logging in an uploading copies of the invoice and vet notes (called SOAP). 10 days after documents were uploaded, my reimbursements just show up in my bank account! One more thing - When my son's wife took one of our cats to the vet and did not get the SOAP notes, MetLife Claims Processor contacts the vet and got the documents for us. Now that is Customer Service! Even better - we got reimbursement a day after the vet sent them the documents. That's efficiency!
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 06/07/2024
  • BY: Mais
  • BREED: Mixed Breed
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Simply the Best

I have insured 2 dogs with Metlife , and couldn’t be happier. When I lost my first Basset, Metlife was there for me. Now i’m insuring my second, and already had multiple claims for shots, heartworm meds, checkups and soon to be neutering. Metlife covers it all. Can’t put a price on piece of mind. My pup is worth it, yours should be too. Metlife is definitely worth the price.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 06/06/2024
  • BY: Joe
  • BREED: Basset Hound
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Satisfied customer 😁

In a world that is changing, and not as dependable as in the past, not as trustworthy., it helps me to know there are those institutions, agencies, companies, etc that do not change. You are one of those providers that still care about your customers and our pets. I can count on when I have a claim you process it and get feed back back to me. Reimbursements are timely. Customer service is ready and willing to help and answer questions. I appreciate that. Kindnesses is a must in these days and you have been kind, and caring. Thank you for your efficiency and your patience and for your being there for. Us and our. Babies (pets). God bless you all. Romans 10:9
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Shiloh Animal Hospital
  • POSTED: 06/05/2024
  • BY: Shirley
  • BREED: Lhasa Apso
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Quite atisfiewd with Metlife Pet

Have filed several claims with Metlife for substantially more than I have paid in. the paid claims in 2 weeks or less with no fight, disagreement or challenges. It has been well worth what they charge.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 06/03/2024
  • BY: edward
  • BREED: Husky
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10
1 comments

POSTED: | BY: Gryffindor

My Puppy broke his leg at 6mo and needed surgery, Metlife paid the full amount of coverage with no problem and I received the full amount in less than 10 days after filing the claim. They are always helpful and no long hold times when I call. 100% paid after a $250 deductible is an awesome plan! Thankyou!

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Great Insurance

I was reluctant to get insurance for my newly adopted furry baby, as I had pet insurance on my previous dog, with another carrier, and they would never reimburse any expenses. A friend told me about MetLife and that she was pleased, so when I adopted my new furry baby, I thought I would give it a shot. I have had an excellent experience with MetLife's coverage so far and would highly recommend them. In fact, I told a good friend about MetLife's pet insurance, and she purchased it as well and is also very pleased. It is good honest coverage. They cover what the plain advertises it will cover, and customer service is friendly and knowledgeable.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 05/24/2024
  • BY: Kat
  • BREED: Pug
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
4

out of 5

From PetFirst to MetLife

We (3 dogs at the time) initially had Pet First insurance for over 13 years and they were fantastic- great service efficient and caring. Would give them a 10 rating! Then MetLife bought them and the first year was difficult as some claim steps were different and the prices really increased! After 3-4 years it’s getting better and always room for improvement- hard to upload all tests lab reports and SOAPS so I fax and had trouble after Covid getting the proper fax number so claims were not processed- finally got handled and now it’s much improved and direct deposit of reimbursement is a great feature.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 05/21/2024
  • BY: Pam
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Small (Up to 22lb)
  • AGE OF PET: Over 11 years

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
1

out of 5

Be Careful With Metlife

MetLife is no different from any other insurance scam. I was referred to a specialist’s to finally figure out why my cat keeps vomiting and and $3300 later we received our diagnosis along with a denied claim because it’s a “pre existing condition”. They covered the POC visit for this issue but as soon as a specialist is needed it’s pre-existing? I am cancelling my policy and not getting pet insurance again, total scam.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 05/21/2024
  • BY: David
  • BREED: Savannah
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No

Get a quote today

Leave a review