Find and read reviews with confidence

Reviews Reviews

With a growing range of cat and dog insurance policies on the market, it can be hard to find the best pet insurance to suit your individual needs and budget.

We enable pet owners to share their experiences of some of the leading pet insurance providers, so as well as being able to compare the best pet insurance plans available based on cost, levels of coverage, exclusions and deductibles, you can read thousands of pet insurance reviews from other owners across the U.S. and Canada.

Our helpful pet insurance reviews can help ensure you find a policy that’s right for you.

4

out of 5

Experience was positive

I had my doubts, but now I am considering getting the insurance for my pets.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 03/03/2024
  • BY: Roxana
  • BREED: Maine Coon
  • AGE OF PET: Over 11 years

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Easy, but took long to process

This was my first time submitting a claim. It was easy to get the SOAP notes required from my vet, and inturn email everything to the claims dept. The time frame for claims is just a little long. Maybe it was because I had to send 12 months worth of notes and bills. Now that they have all that info, hopefully next time the process will be quicker. I was reimbursed what was expected.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 03/01/2024
  • BY: Kimberly
  • BREED: Domestic Short Hair
  • AGE OF PET: Over 11 years

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Excellent and efficient two years in.

I had PetPlan/Fetch for 17 years or so and after they imploded switched to MetLife. I have had three young dogs covered by MetLife (including wellness), two of them since eight weeks and another I switched at around age five. MetLife has been very prompt at reimbursing and very good about reimbursing everything covered by the plan (read your policy!!!). The wellness plan has been a surprisingly great deal for us and seems to be the best of its kind in the industry. My five-year-old became very ill with lymphoma after a few months on the plan and they were still fantastic about covering the costs of her treatment and testing. They also covered an emergency visit ($1500) for extreme diarrhea and vomiting of one of my pups. Submitting claims is extremely easy. Reimbursement for straightforward, routine things like vaccines comes in about two business days, more elaborate issues can take up to two weeks in my experience. Submitting your vet's treatment notes yourself will speed the process along, but they will contact the vet and get the information if you do not. Policyholders have the ability to consult with a vet 24/7 through the app which can be super helpful if you need guidance on small things or to determine if you need to head to an emergency vet. We had only one issue with them and that was after my five-year-old died. I had had her and my pup on a "family plan" and when she died, I was not informed that the plan would be rewritten to a single plan, and thus I had to fulfill my deductible again. But overall, we have been extremely happy with MetLife, and highly recommend them if you have the ability to front payment for treatment until you are reimbursed..
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Roo Grubis
  • POSTED: 02/28/2024
  • BY: Roo
  • BREED: Belgian Shepherd Dog (Tervuren)
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Wonderful company

We have had MetLife Pet insurance for 2 years now they have been extremely helpful and informative whenever I have any questions. Every person that assists me are extremely helpful and makes sure that I get my concerns addressed and completed. I plan to stay with them as long as we have our dog.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 02/23/2024
  • BY: Sonja
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Small (Up to 22lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Verified

Excellent service

All around excellence from customer service to bill processing and timeline. Thank you!
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 02/20/2024
  • BY: Barbara
  • BREED: Australian Shepherd
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Excellent Response to Our Claim

Our puppy swallowed part of a bully stick which lodged into his esophagus then stomach. He needed an endoscopic procedure to remove it. This was our first claim and we were very happy with MetLife Pets' efficient and timely follow through in reimbursing our costs in accordance with our policy.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • POSTED: 02/19/2024
  • BY: Doug
  • BREED: Bernedoodle
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

PET INSURANCE REVIEW

Tried several companies and vets before discovering Met Life. It was the best decision I have made. Never a problem submitting a claim directly from the vet's office, and issuing me a copy. All adds up after Met Life reviews and issues payments. No declines, no-nonsense company, the very best to deal with, perhaps those complaining have a problem with their chosen vets as I did before discovering one that was not out to cheat the patient's owners.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: ABC VETERINARY HOSPITAL
  • POSTED: 02/17/2024
  • BY: VELIA
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Small (Up to 22lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Great company to work with

MetLife Pet Insurance has been so easy to work with. If you take a photo of your paperwork and send it to them, you can get your claim filed very quickly. They usually have a response in just a few days and will deposit the reimbursement directly into your bank. If you have any questions, I have consistently been able to reach a live person on the phone who has been able to answer all questions. Very happy we have pet insurance through this company!
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Peninsula VCA
  • POSTED: 02/16/2024
  • BY: Fran
  • BREED: Domestic Short Hair
  • AGE OF PET: 0 - 3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Very Happy with MetLife Insurance

I'm fortunate that I haven't needed to use my policy for anything serious, but they have come through with the few claims I've turned in. I would recommend them to anyone & have to some of my friends who were thinking about getting pet insurance.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: Sarver Animal Hospital
  • POSTED: 02/15/2024
  • BY: Gail
  • BREED: Domestic Long Hair
  • AGE OF PET: 4 - 6

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No
5

out of 5

Pet Insurance Review

I have been thrilled with MetLife Insurance. The vet that suggested you, made an excellent choice, so I immediately signed up. the way the clams are processed and executed is top-of-the-line. My pup Luna, has been the receiver of excellent care from our vet, and Met Life will be the only insurance I will ever have if I ever have another pet. Both institutions are doing a magnificent job.
  • INSURER: MetLife
  • VETERINARIAN: AVC Hospital
  • POSTED: 02/15/2024
  • BY: velia
  • BREED: Mixed Breed Small (Up to 22lb)
  • AGE OF PET: 7 - 10

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes No

Get a quote today

Leave a review