Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Veterinary Pet Insurance (VPI)


P.O. Box 2488
Brea, CA 92822-2344
phone: (888) 899-4VPI
website: www.petinsurance.com
claim form


Founded in 1980, VPI is the oldest and largest health insurance plan for pets in the US. VPI plans cover dogs, cats, birds and exotic pets for medical problems and conditions relating to accidents, illnesses and injuries. Optional vaccination and routine care coverage is also available.
Customer Ratings
60 days 1 year Lifetime
Rating 5.5 6.9 7.8
Count 6 98 3061
add your rating

Get a Free Quote

Reviews of VPI

Filter By:    
10/10   Excellent overall experience, 4/5/2016

Reviewed By: GML, Recommend: Y

I have had nothing but an excellent experience with VPI from the ease of enrollment, very competitive rates, user friendly online website, simple claim submittal, rapid reimbursement and excellent customer service. VPI is truly the best insurance company I have ever worked with.
Injury/Illness: Neuter   Breed: Shepherd Mix
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   so happy to have this, 4/4/2016

Reviewed By: Diana Bumbera, Recommend: Y

MyDog Camo will be 4 years old on May 31. He was diagnoised with Addisons Diease in February of 2013 Camo was born in May 2012 so he was very young to have this medical problem as of today Camo is doing great with the daily meds he has been taken since Feb 2013 and his health is very good, He has to have yearly blood test done but other that that camo is a healthy english springer spaniel and he is one of 9 puppies. all the other 8 were checked and no other puppy has this medical problem. VPI isurance has been wonderful and with this insurance my expenses would be out of this world. Thank you again Nationwide for a wonderful pet insurance program, I urge all new pet owners to insurer there pets thru Nationwide,
Injury/Illness: Addisons Diease   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   This insurance is terrible, 3/28/2016

Reviewed By: A. Noble, Recommend: N

I have had insurance for 7 years and when my dog was very ill the insurance would not pay for exam, recheck or medication. Very Very Disappointed. This cost me 237.90.
I bought insurance for my dog because I had a dog die of cancer because I could not afford the treatment and he died. So when I bought max I thought I would be covered by paying a few hundred dollars a year but I was wrong.
I always thought that when my dog got very ill that I did have to worry but apparently this insurance does not protect my dog for lots of different illnesses.
Injury/Illness: Anal Sacculitis   Breed: Rat Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   terrible payout since company became Nationwide, 3/15/2016

Reviewed By: Jane Parker, Recommend: N

Nationwide took over VPI about a year ago. The company was pretty good before then. My 3 year old dog has needed extensive testing for a GI condition & still does not have a diagnosis. I've paid my premium every month for years, yet they paid $71.48 on a $915.56 claim. I am outraged & will definitely be changing insurers.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   VPI Service reminds me of The Rainmaker, 3/13/2016

Reviewed By: RVC, Recommend: N

Basically company seems to do anything feasible to not provide coverage and when coverage is provided likely to be at significantly below anything close to actual costs.

Strongly suggest to find alternative to avoid the added financial & emotional impact when your family member "pet" needs care.
Injury/Illness: TBD   Breed: Mixed Breed cat
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 

Read More Reviews...


Compare Insurers


Most Helpful Reviews


6/10   VPI is OK --- consumers need to educate themselves,
I've had a VPI policy for about 7 years and recently had to submit a claim for the 1st time. Submitting the claim was easy and they paid within about 2 weeks. I ended up getting about $3,000 of my $6,000 vet bills back. Here are my thoughts - 1. I would have liked to get more than just 50% back from VPI. But I chose VPI and I chose a system that deals with standard and customary fees. I chose a… read more

Reviewed By: denver
 
9/10   Totally Satisfied,
Yes, I would recommend VPI to others and have. First, I must agree with a few of the comments regarding coverage costs. I do feel that their (VPI) customer scale by which they gauge our reimbursement for Veterinary Services could be improved and more up-to-date with current cost structures. The actual costs incurred far exceed what is allowed by VPI and with the deductable it can be frustrating on what… read more

Reviewed By: Gloria Gunderson
 
9/10   No major gripes with VPI,
We have our two 5 year old golden retrievers enrolled in the VPI superior plan. Jack, who we have had since a puppy, has been enrolled since about 6 months of age. Chloe has only been enrolled for the year that we have had her. Jack has had sooooo many health issues, it has been wellllll worth the money for his plan. He has chronic skin infections due to allergies (he's allergic to human dander,… read more

Reviewed By: Kelly
 
2/10   the problem is their UCR,
VPI uses a usual and customary fee schedule more than 8 years old. Therefore, you go to the vet, pay let's say 500 and VPI (because they use outdated information) thinks the visit SHOULD have cost 150 - they then reimburse 80% of 150 or 120.00 on your 500.00 claim. (this is a terribly generous example - the reality is much worse). Find another company that either does not use a UCR at all (pets best is… read more

Reviewed By: Ellen
 
7/10   definitely a yes,
I have had pets all my life. with our newest additions, a german shepherd and a kitten, I decided to give this a try. all claims have been processed promptly. Unfortunately, the biggest payoff would be with a large claim. I wish I had this for my older dogs. then we wouldn't be hesitating about some surgery our lab needs. read more

Reviewed By: Ssmith
 
 
Compare VPI to similar insurers

  • VPI vs Trupanion
  • VPI vs Healthy Paws
  • VPI vs Embrace
  • VPI vs PetPlan
  • VPI vs Pets Best
  • VPI vs ASPCA



  • Review VPI review policy

    Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
    Your Review (tips)
    DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
    DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

    DON'T use profanity or personal insults
    DON'T write in ALL CAPS
    Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
    Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
    Yes   No
    Your Name
    State/Province

    Tell us about your pet
    Type: Dog     Cat
    Breed:  
    Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
     
    Tell us about your claim
    Type of illness or accident:
    not sure
    ear problem eye problem skin problem
    cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
    bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
    other:
    Claim amount
    Time taken to handle claim
     
    Verify that you are a customer
    I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
     

    We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

    A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

    While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here