Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Trupanion


907 NW. Ballard Way
Seattle, WA 98107
phone: 800-569-7913
website: http://www.trupanion.com
claim form

Trupanion offers pet insurance in US and Canada. Provides coverage in all 50 states, Canada and Puerto Rico.

Trupanion insures dogs and cats between 8 weeks and 14 years. Recently changed terms so that policies have no payout limits.
Customer Ratings
60 days 1 year Lifetime
Rating 9.1 9.5 9.2
Count 64 1443 4296
add your rating

Visit Website

Reviews of Trupanion

Filter By:    
10/10   What a relief!, 4/20/2016

Reviewed By: Donna, Recommend: Y

I've been with Trupanion for 9 years (was called Vet Insurance before.) I've attained coverage for my dog ever since I adopted her, when she was only 3 months old. Been paying premiums her entire lifetime so far.
Suddenly, her thorax (chest) and neck have been swelling up, not wanting to take long walks, panting more often during the short walks. Took her to the vet, and sure enough, she has a benign tumour in both these areas.
Panicking, crying, and worried, I had absolutely no clue how to even start the whole insurance thing. I called them and said all this too. They were extremely supportive, giving me easy instructions on what to do next. They emailed me to give me the same instructions on the phone, to put in writing, as my mind was frantically worried over my dog.
Out of the total cost of $1055.15, we received $755.91 back from Trupanion. As my dog needed surgery for tumor removal, this was %90 covered. It is very clear in the policy that anesthesia, preanesthetic bloodwork, or fluids are not covered. At the same time, dental care needed to be done, and this too, is a policy exclusion (i.e. there's no coverage for dental care and prevention/prophylaxis.) Just as we humans don't have coverage for preventive care (e.g. multi-vitamins, echinacea, Boost/Ensure, etc.), I totally get it with the policy exclusion on preventive/prophylactic care.
My claim took 2-3 weeks. So I'm very content. Way faster that any Canadian waiting for their Medical-EI benefits.
For those who mention that it takes an excruciating long time to have their claim approved, I advise to speak to your vet/clinic. Sometimes, the vet is extremely busy that they haven't sent all the reports that Trupanion is asking for, that you might need to verify with your vet/clinic that every single form has been submitted from their behalf. I've asked Trupanion what exact papers (word-for-word) is needed from my Vet, and even though Trupanion calls and emails my vet, I still go see my Vet in person, to ensure that me *and* the clinic are doing our part in submitting every piece of paper that Trupanion is asking for.
In short, verify and clarify with your vet/clinic that they've sent *everything* that Trupanion is requesting.
By the way, when I called Trupanion upon receiving the diagnosis for the first time, I was still at the clinic. Trupanion was requesting an estimate from my clinic. I sent it through my smart phone while I was still in the clinic. Unfortunately, the estimate was handw
Injury/Illness: benign conncective tissue tumour   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Good, But..., 4/3/2016

Reviewed By: R. Miglucci, Recommend: N

I have submitted several claims for my now four ear old dog and each time Trupanion has stated that the charges are not covered- they are considered routine maintenance. Although the monthly premiums are reasonable, I am considering switching to another company. I take great pride and concern that my dog receives the very best of care on a regular basis to avoid potential health issues and am very frustrated that this insurance carrier denies almost all my claims.
Injury/Illness: Various issues over time   Breed: Lhasa Apso
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
View Comments (1) & insurer reply   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Thank goodness Trupanion was there for us!, 3/30/2016

Reviewed By: Barbara L Mckillop, Recommend: Y

After 30 year having numerous dogs and cats, I 'finally' learned a valuable lesson! I could no longer handle the expense, especially now that I'm on old age pensions! My Chihuahua, Teeko Julio, recently needed his teeth cleaned! And because of his 'Alopecia', I decided it was time to investigate the cause further, so they did 3 biopsies. He had 12 extractions, including 9 , central incisors. UGH !The total cost would have been over $1500.00 I could never have afforded this amount! The costs re: Alopecia were not covered because it was a pre existing condition. I only paid about $900.00, this incl. my $250.00 deduction. I was so pleased. Toy dogs are really prone to bad teeth, gum disease etc. Now I'm learning to brush his teeth---what a difficulty, but I must do this for both of our sakes!
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Disapointed by the response times for Trupanion, 3/30/2016

Reviewed By: Barbara Mcmullan, Recommend: N

It has been our experience that Trupanion will stall as much as possible and do as much as possible not to pay out a claim.

We first contacted Trupanion to request that a CT Scan for our dog be pre-approved - BIG MISTAKE!!!

Because (pre-scan) dysplasia could not be ruled out, we had to pay upfront for the CT Scan. It took two months to get this confirmation from Trupanion that the Scan could not be pre-approved upfront. In the interim - we had to watch our dog struggle and were eating the cost of regular anti-inflammatory pills.

In early February 2016, a CT Scan and orthopaedic vet confirmed that our dog had an acute injury (no evidence of dysplasia whatsoever) treatable by orthopaedic brace (which has corrected his limp completely and he will only need to be wear it for another 2 months).

We forwarded the full package with report and invoice the very next day to Trupanion and it is now April and every time we call Trupanion for a status update they give us another excuse as to why they cannot make payment - i.e. we need to translate the documents, we need another report from your vet to populate his file for a completely unrelated injury from three years ago (which has nothing to do with the present claim)etc.....it is amazing to me just how far they will go to try to avoid payment - i.e. connecting lethargy from a throat infection from August 2016 to our dog's acute injury from late October 2016.

To be honest - we would of been better served creating a savings account for this purpose. We are really disappointed in the way our file has been bumped around and neglected. I don't know whether this has been the experience for others - but in my experience the 100$ we pay a month is not worth this aggravation.
Injury/Illness: acute injury - CT scan reimbursement   Breed: Airedale Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
View Comments (1) & insurer reply   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   Read All Reviews of Pet Insurance Companies, 3/28/2016

Reviewed By: Nancy, Recommend: N

I've had Trupanion Insurance for two of my pets and never submitted a claim. My seven year old Golden needs surgery to remove his anal sacks...a problem he has had since he was a puppy. The claim was denied as a pre-existing condition. My dog has never released his glands and the condition now warrants attention. I've chosen to leave this company as their evaluation basically doesn't make sense...How can an issue from birth be "pre existing"? This seems like a loophole and a bit too convenient for the Company. And, the woman with whom I last spoke was pushy and rude. I'm going to Pet's Best Insurance Company.
Injury/Illness: Anal Gland Release   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
View Comments (1) & insurer reply   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 

Read More Reviews...


Go To: trupanion.com


Most Helpful Reviews


9/10   Good Claim Response So far!,
We've been with Trupanion for a little over a year with both our Yellow Lab (1 yr old) and Kitten (1 yr old). Our vet recommended them when we were getting their first checkups. We did some research and read the good reviews and decided to give it a go. We're glad we did. Our Lab had kennel cough (much to our efforts to prevent it) and the ER tests on a holiday was covered. Our Kitten recently swallowed an… read more

Reviewed By: Matt P., parent of a Yellow LabMixed Breed
 
8/10   Pretty good for the most part,
Our 1 year old Great Dane has been insured with Trupanion since she was about 6months old. In the last few months we've been trying to figure out what was wrong with her back (she was walking funny)... after xrays, an MRI, spinal fluid testing, and more we still had no definitive answers. We were able to get all these tests done though with the help of Trupanion and knowing they would cover 90% of our… read more

Reviewed By: Brooke, parent of a Great Dane
 
10/10   Satisfied Customer,
I had never purchased pet insurance for my previous pets and have experienced some very expensive vet bills throughout 30 years of dog ownership. I was asked to consider adopting a Yellow Lab whose owner had unexpectedly passed away and I felt that pet insurance would be a good investment. I had heard about Trupanion through PETCO. I went on line and read up on numerous plans and I felt, by far,… read more

Reviewed By: Cathy
 
10/10   What a relief!,
I've been with Trupanion for 9 years (was called Vet Insurance before.) I've attained coverage for my dog ever since I adopted her, when she was only 3 months old. Been paying premiums her entire lifetime so far. Suddenly, her thorax (chest) and neck have been swelling up, not wanting to take long walks, panting more often during the short walks. Took her to the vet, and sure enough, she has a benign… read more

Reviewed By: Donna, parent of a Shih Tzu
 
4/10   Good, But...,
I have submitted several claims for my now four ear old dog and each time Trupanion has stated that the charges are not covered- they are considered routine maintenance. Although the monthly premiums are reasonable, I am considering switching to another company. I take great pride and concern that my dog receives the very best of care on a regular basis to avoid potential health issues and am very… read more

Reviewed By: R. Miglucci, parent of a Lhasa Apso
 


Review Trupanion review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here