Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review


Filter By:    


7/10   Lengthy Reimbursement Delays
Overall I am satisfied with the coverage I have with Petsecure....they always however take a long time to reimburse you....That is my only complaint....they never respect the 7 to 10 days commitment.....my last claim was submitted almost 4 weeks ago...still have not received the reimbursement.....
Injury/Illness: Auto Immune Syndrome   Breed: Weimaraner
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Cindy Mallette, 8/3/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Not honoring my contract
Since day 1 Petsecure has done everything they could to avoid paying me a penny. Since I my dog, I've had to pay over $3000 worth of pet bills as she was a rescue and not in the greatest shape. Her only problem was that she has a really bad immune system which caused her to pretty much catch anything around her. When I signed up wit Petsecure I was very clear and honest by telling them that she has previously suffered from Coccidiam which I fully understood should be excluded until further review. This parasite caused her to have flaky skin and a reduced immune system. When 3 months later she caught a skin parasite, the insurance refused to cover it although I had a letter from my vet stating that this condition had been tested negative in the past and was only recent. Their excuse: there were previous symptoms of that disease..... Lie, there clearly was not. A month later, she got Giardia, now that was denied too because supposedly, she had an exclusion for "internal parasite". Now that's when I lost it and decide it was time to cancel my policy! I had received a letter from Petsecure in the passed stating that the "internal parasite was only concerning the Coccidian". So although the I actually had proof, it was written in my contract, in ink that she was only excluded for Coccidian they still wouldn't hear it. These people are crooks, they don't deliver the service that you pay for and they act as if they could simply decide wether to cover things or not without actually playing by the rules and by the contract. I am not debating whether to get my lawyer involved as there is more than $1000 worth of fee that should've been covered so far. Anyhow, bottom line is, I strongly, strongly suggest you go look somewhere else when chosing an insurance!
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Roxane, 7/25/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   RIP OFF!!!!
I have been a Pet Secure customer since 2006 for 2 dogs and today received a cheque for $1.08 on my second ever claim. DO THE MATH. It is not worth it.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Cindy, 7/24/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   Disappointed in Dental Coverage
I submitted a claim for my dog for dental treatment. She had 6 teeth removed, cleaning and a lump in her mouth biopsied. The bill was $3,200.00 I understood that on her plan she has $600.00 for dentistry but I didn't think that a lump on her gums would be considered part of this $600.00 claim. According to the person on the phone it is! I don't understand this. If my dog had a lump on her back it would be covered but because it's in her mouth it's only covered up to the $600.00. I'm disappointed. I also think they should supply a booklet outlining in detail what is covered and what is not covered. As pet owners we only get a very simplified version on line without a detailed booklet to refer to.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Lee Ann, 7/14/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   It takes forever to process claims
Every time I have submitted a claim I have to follow-up with them to see if they got it because it takes so long. It says on the website 7-10 days to process claims which is not at all true. I have also had to send claims in multiple times because they say they didn't receive them. Often they do not even begin processing it until I contact them. I haven't run into the problem of them not covering a claim yet but that is yet to be determined since I am still waiting for them to process them! I am considering switching companies.
Injury/Illness: paws cut by glass outside   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Melissa, 7/8/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   False Accusation of Pre-Existing Condition
I was given a free trial of Pet Secure after adopting my dog from my local SPCA. The first day we got our dog home we fed him some food and he chowed it down very fast. Shortly after he showed signs of bloating and also had a little diarrhea. We took him to the vet right away because of the bloating and the vet informed us that it wasn't anything too serious and gave us some medicine for his stomach and he was fine for the next two weeks. Fast forward to 2 weeks later and he was somewhat lethargic and not eating which is strange for him as he loves to eat. Took him to the vet again and was diagnosed with Parvo. We let the vet care for him for 1 day and decided to do home care for him ourselves. The next day that we got him back from the vet he was like himself again which is weird after reading horror stories of the Parvo virus. We treated him as if he was still fighting the virus and kept his fluids up and glad to say he's doing well. The one day care at the vet costed us $750. We put the claim through and was denied because Pet Secure stated that Parvo was a pre-existing condition and that he showed symptoms of the virus based on the first time we took him to the vet for bloating. While they may be right in that he most likely contracted the virus from the shelter but basing that decision on his first vet visit dealing with the bloating issue is just plain looking for an excuse not to cover the claim. Glad to say that I didn't waste any money with their useless policies. Like all insurance companies they will look for any reason to deny a claim even if they can make a connection to two unrelated issues. I currently have PetPlan for my two dogs now and have not had any issues with them. Keep your money and either a) Save the money you would have contributed to the insurance policy yourself for those unexpected vet bills b) Find an "actual" reputable pet insurance company such as PetPlan or Trupanion.
Injury/Illness: Parvo   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
John R, 4/23/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Well worth it!
I have no complaints about Petsecure. I have had my dog insured since she was 8 weeks old. Within the first year we had two major vet visits resulting in $1000 Vet bills, all of which were covered under the plan we chose. Well worth it!
Injury/Illness: ear problem skin problem gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Tracey, 4/2/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Claim Denied
Was denied coverage for an allergy test for my dog. They considered it a skin condition which was an exclusion on my policy. I was told otherwise when i signed up, but the exclusion was listed in fine print on my policy. If you are insured with Petsecure, make sure you check the fine print. They had no willingness to cover any of my claim, so in order to cover the $500 vet bill, cuts needed to be made. Sadly, Petsecure was at the top of my list.
Injury/Illness: Allergies   Breed: Havanese
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sammy, 12/9/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18


Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close