Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Petplan USA
Healthy Paws
Pets Best
Trupanion
AKC
Embrace
 Petfirst Healthcare
VPI
Hartville
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
ASPCA
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium
PetPartners

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review


Filter By:    


4/10   If you submit a big claim they cut there payout.
After i submitted a claim for my dogs ACL repair i got a letter in the mail saying that from now on they will only pay 40%not the normal 80%. I called and was told a manual review of the file would be done and someone would get back to me but nothing, as i expected. They said this was done by computer and all files were checked every six months i said if thats the case i have not had a claim in the last six months.
Injury/Illness: Acl   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kevin adam ancaster ontario, 4/5/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Don't trust petsecure promises!
I have a Havanese and I insured her with plan 4! I had to do surgery on her both knees. Do you know what the Petsecure did? They paid the cost but immediately they sent me a letter that they are not going to pay 80% of expenses anymore and they will pay just 50% from now on. however they are charging me for plan 4 monthly but only paying 50% of medical expenses. I am going to cancel my plan and I am not going to use this insurance company for my second dog!
Injury/Illness: Gagging and Coughing   Breed: Havanese
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Roya Aryaee, 2/14/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   The more claims, the less they will pay
I recently canceled insurarnce with Petsecure for one of my two dogs as it became uneconomical to keep paying, as they lowered the co-pay amount. The more claims the lower it gets, and if your dog has exclusions, they reword it so that they don't have to pay under your policy. They are always professional and claims are handled quickly, but if you need to use it, they eventually will make it worthless. You do need to keep on top of them and the things that they say they won't cover. They are an insurance company so of course it's about money and not paying out whenever they can
Injury/Illness: alternative care   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Weary, 2/14/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   They need to make there polices clearer!
The policy should a lot you x amount a year. Instead you never know how much they are going to cover on the claim each time a firm is submitted. Make the it known to your clients what they are covered for.
Injury/Illness: bladder   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Liz Evans, 2/3/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Secure 4 is a joke!!
We have the secure 4 plan - don't worry about anything plan! Ha, our dog was diagnosed with terminal cancer and given 6 months to live. Four months into it they reduced our co-pay to 50 per cent. No, they did not cancel our plan and no they did not increase our premium but to go from 80 percent coverage to 50 percent is a huge deal. I complained and they raised it to 60 percent. Never again! Before this I would have recommended it but to do this to a dying dog is just plain cruel. Then I got a tag in the mail in case the dog got lost - I promptly mailed it back to them. I called yesterday and the stupid person asked me "how is your dog doing" - this after pulling up my file - Can't you see my dog has terminal cancer!!! The customer service ombudswomen I spoke to made it clear to me that my dog and I were not "special". Do your research there has to be a better company out there somewhere. With the stress of a cancer dog they should have some compassion but it is all about risk management and how much your dog is costing them.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Portuguese Water Dog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
kathy Williams, 1/25/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   unsatisfied customer
We were given the name of this company from our breeder so we thought we would get insurance on both our dogs. They forgot to take out an automatic payment and when we had submitted a claim were told it was on hold because a payment had not been made back in November and this was now January. You send emails to find out what happened and put the plan on the client. Along with that, they informed me that they had not received any emails to cancel which atleast 4 emails were sent with a confirmation that it had been from their automated computer. Would not recommend this company to my worst enemy
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
ian kennedy, 1/10/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   The MORE Claims, the LESS they pay.
Petsecure started out as a good company. Then our dog developed pancreatitis and required two hospitalizations and expensive vet treatment over the course of two years. While Petsecure did pay their portion of the our claims, each time we submitted a claim, their percentage of coverage dropped. First it was 80%, then a letter stating it was going down to 70%, then 60%. This continued until our dog was finally put to sleep. We had the Petsecure2 plan which covered the euthanasia. Even through that last claim indicated the dog had died, Petsecure managed to send us a letter stating that our coverage was now decreased to 50% (for our now dead dog!). When I sent them a scathing email about sending the letter about reducing coverage for an obviously deceased dog, they claimed that their department did not yet know of the euthanasia. Interesting, because some other department knew of the claim and managed to send out a letter further reducing our coverage for our dead dog. So, I guess this shows where their priorities lie - protecting themselves. I am not sure I would use petsecure again. Most companies and reviews I read are entirely mediocre. I feel at the mercy of these insurance companies. It may be to our best interests to simply set aside some money every month for vet costs rather than use an insurance company.
Injury/Illness: pancreatitis   Breed: American Eskimo Dog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Deceased Dog Deductible, 12/30/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   So far, so good!
We got the 6-week PetSecure voucher from our breeder. Two days after bringing our Golden Retriever puppy home, she was diagnosed with a Grade 4 heart murmur, and after a visit with a cardiologist and a specialized ultrasound, with subaortic stenosis. At first, the dates of the voucher had been incorrectly entered, which would mean that we wouldn't have coverage. However, a quick call to the company fixed that right away. Not only did Pet Secure process our claim, but we're able to extend coverage and pick a level of coverage (Secure 1-4) without her heart disease being considered a pre-existing condition. Since our dog will need monitoring and care throughout her life, this is a relief. I do wish that there wasn't a risk of our coverage dropping below 80% coverage if we eventually make continued use of our policy, but that hasn't actually happened yet.
Injury/Illness: cardiac   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Anna, 12/28/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16


Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close