Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review


Filter By:    


3/10   Disappointed in Dental Coverage
I submitted a claim for my dog for dental treatment. She had 6 teeth removed, cleaning and a lump in her mouth biopsied. The bill was $3,200.00 I understood that on her plan she has $600.00 for dentistry but I didn't think that a lump on her gums would be considered part of this $600.00 claim. According to the person on the phone it is! I don't understand this. If my dog had a lump on her back it would be covered but because it's in her mouth it's only covered up to the $600.00. I'm disappointed. I also think they should supply a booklet outlining in detail what is covered and what is not covered. As pet owners we only get a very simplified version on line without a detailed booklet to refer to.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Lee Ann, 7/14/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   False Accusation of Pre-Existing Condition
I was given a free trial of Pet Secure after adopting my dog from my local SPCA. The first day we got our dog home we fed him some food and he chowed it down very fast. Shortly after he showed signs of bloating and also had a little diarrhea. We took him to the vet right away because of the bloating and the vet informed us that it wasn't anything too serious and gave us some medicine for his stomach and he was fine for the next two weeks. Fast forward to 2 weeks later and he was somewhat lethargic and not eating which is strange for him as he loves to eat. Took him to the vet again and was diagnosed with Parvo. We let the vet care for him for 1 day and decided to do home care for him ourselves. The next day that we got him back from the vet he was like himself again which is weird after reading horror stories of the Parvo virus. We treated him as if he was still fighting the virus and kept his fluids up and glad to say he's doing well. The one day care at the vet costed us $750. We put the claim through and was denied because Pet Secure stated that Parvo was a pre-existing condition and that he showed symptoms of the virus based on the first time we took him to the vet for bloating. While they may be right in that he most likely contracted the virus from the shelter but basing that decision on his first vet visit dealing with the bloating issue is just plain looking for an excuse not to cover the claim. Glad to say that I didn't waste any money with their useless policies. Like all insurance companies they will look for any reason to deny a claim even if they can make a connection to two unrelated issues. I currently have PetPlan for my two dogs now and have not had any issues with them. Keep your money and either a) Save the money you would have contributed to the insurance policy yourself for those unexpected vet bills b) Find an "actual" reputable pet insurance company such as PetPlan or Trupanion.
Injury/Illness: Parvo   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
John R, 4/23/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Well worth it!
I have no complaints about Petsecure. I have had my dog insured since she was 8 weeks old. Within the first year we had two major vet visits resulting in $1000 Vet bills, all of which were covered under the plan we chose. Well worth it!
Injury/Illness: ear problem skin problem gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Tracey, 4/2/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Claim Denied
Was denied coverage for an allergy test for my dog. They considered it a skin condition which was an exclusion on my policy. I was told otherwise when i signed up, but the exclusion was listed in fine print on my policy. If you are insured with Petsecure, make sure you check the fine print. They had no willingness to cover any of my claim, so in order to cover the $500 vet bill, cuts needed to be made. Sadly, Petsecure was at the top of my list.
Injury/Illness: Allergies   Breed: Havanese
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sammy, 12/9/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Jerks
Back in 2010 i canceled my plan because they did not want to pay out Short version the rep on the phone had the nerve to yell at me call me a horrible pet owner and said if I treat my dog like it's not worthy having insurance than my kids must get wowy treatment Yes she out right said your a bad pet mom and an even worse mother what your kids must think of a parent who won't do anything to protect thier let The are total jerks
Injury/Illness: Neutered   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Pearl, 11/28/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Thank god it was just a trial!!!
Received a trial package for a kitten I adopted from a rescue. Made claims in June 2014 for vet bills. Got back assessment excluding a portion of the claim saying they don't cover this type of illness ( originally I was told there were no exclusions). Then when I called they changed the reasoning saying it was a pre existing issue. What wouldn't be pre existing on a rescue kitten with 6 weeks coverage!?!?!?!?! Isn't the purpose of the trial to protect rescue adopters from unknown costs????? Anyways it took 3 months. Not the 4 weeks originally indicated to get a response from the first claim. Then my vet called to further discuss the rest of the bill first week of September and when I called today (October 27) they are telling me no call had been made to dispute claim?!?!?! I am so glad I did not buy into the policy. If this is how they service plan holders who are testing a service out to later buy, I can only imagine how I would be treated when they have nothing else to gain!!! Instead I have started a savings plan with the fees I would have paid which btw adds up to over $600 a year which is far more than I'm sure they would ever pay out anyways
Injury/Illness: Ring worm and round worm   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Natalie Bavington, 10/27/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Absolutely Horrible!!!!!!
This company is a total scam. After submitting $ 2000.00 in claims, I received back $ 30.00. Yes, that's 30 bucks. Anything they can do to weasel their way out payments, is there main priority. I will keep this short and say that anybody who signs up for this is a fool (like myself)
Injury/Illness: ear problem eye problem skin problem gastritis/vomiting bladder   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Justin L, 8/7/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17


Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close