Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Thank god it was just a trial!!!
Received a trial package for a kitten I adopted from a rescue. Made claims in June 2014 for vet bills. Got back assessment excluding a portion of the claim saying they don't cover this type of illness ( originally I was told there were no exclusions). Then when I called they changed the reasoning saying it was a pre existing issue. What wouldn't be pre existing on a rescue kitten with 6 weeks coverage!?!?!?!?! Isn't the purpose of the trial to protect rescue adopters from unknown costs????? Anyways it took 3 months. Not the 4 weeks originally indicated to get a response from the first claim. Then my vet called to further discuss the rest of the bill first week of September and when I called today (October 27) they are telling me no call had been made to dispute claim?!?!?! I am so glad I did not buy into the policy. If this is how they service plan holders who are testing a service out to later buy, I can only imagine how I would be treated when they have nothing else to gain!!! Instead I have started a savings plan with the fees I would have paid which btw adds up to over $600 a year which is far more than I'm sure they would ever pay out anyways
Injury/Illness: Ring worm and round worm   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Natalie Bavington, 10/27/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Absolutely Horrible!!!!!!
This company is a total scam. After submitting $ 2000.00 in claims, I received back $ 30.00. Yes, that's 30 bucks. Anything they can do to weasel their way out payments, is there main priority. I will keep this short and say that anybody who signs up for this is a fool (like myself)
Injury/Illness: ear problem eye problem skin problem gastritis/vomiting bladder   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Justin L, 8/7/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Exclusions are not listed properly
I was just told that my claim will be denied for a spay procedure. Because I had chosen Plan 4 and had been told I could select how to use the wellness portion, I thought it would be covered. I also discussed that question over the phone before selecting this policy. It is not listed as an exclusion so there is no way to know. The rep went through the list of what is covered under wellness, however it is not clear that this list is exhaustive when receiving the document initially. All the rep could say is" it used to be covered, but our policy changed..." It takes 15 days to cancel the policy and this will be my last premium. The staff is very scripted and no empathy even if they misled me. I read the contract, yet, the language is deceiving.
Injury/Illness: spay   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Aaron E., 7/31/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Rip-Off simply Horrible waste of Money
I had (as I just cancelled the Policy) insured my three year old Boston Terrier from the time she was eight weeks. Through time the premiums were increased substantially however reimbursement was minimal IF any in fact as there was always some exclusion. Plans are confusing and even agents are not clear on them. When I initially registered my dog I was told that I would also have liability which I recently found out that they do not provide. Each time I submitted a claim, there was always a problem and you would have to chase them. I sincerely hope that anyone thinking of insuring their pet with them reads all the reviews --for myself it is better to put away in "Doggy Fund" the fluctuating amount(s) they charged each month.
Injury/Illness: ear problem skin problem   Breed: Boston Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
caroline, 7/26/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   highly disappoonted
Paid premiums for almost a decade. Never made a claim then one day we did. and they told us that we were not covered, we got screwed over even after paying in over $7000 in premiums . I am just going to put the money in an account and if its needed its there. hopefully we will not need it.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
lincoln, 7/18/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   If you submit a big claim they cut there payout.
After i submitted a claim for my dogs ACL repair i got a letter in the mail saying that from now on they will only pay 40%not the normal 80%. I called and was told a manual review of the file would be done and someone would get back to me but nothing, as i expected. They said this was done by computer and all files were checked every six months i said if thats the case i have not had a claim in the last six months.
Injury/Illness: Acl   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kevin adam ancaster ontario, 4/5/2014
View Comments (2) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Don't trust petsecure promises!
I have a Havanese and I insured her with plan 4! I had to do surgery on her both knees. Do you know what the Petsecure did? They paid the cost but immediately they sent me a letter that they are not going to pay 80% of expenses anymore and they will pay just 50% from now on. however they are charging me for plan 4 monthly but only paying 50% of medical expenses. I am going to cancel my plan and I am not going to use this insurance company for my second dog!
Injury/Illness: Gagging and Coughing   Breed: Havanese
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Roya Aryaee, 2/14/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17


Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close