Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Horrible company - Do not go with these guys!
This company totally penalizes you for using your policy! Twice now in a matter of 18 months, they have changed our 'policy' because we have had to make claims. Sadly, my three year old dog is a bit of a lemon, but they do not like having to pay for that. Crazy, which is the reason we pet owners get insurance in the first place! We have one dog who has never yet had a claim and one who has had to have a lot of surgeries and medical care. So it goes. When we sign up for insurance, we hope to never use it, but also hope for peace of mind for when we need to use it. This is not the case with Petsecure. Honestly, worst company ever.
Injury/Illness: legs/limping   Breed: Mastiff
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Tanja, 6/1/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
4/10   Takes far too long
This company takes far too long in refunding a claim. And they have the nerve at certain times to year to excuse themselves by saying its "a high volume time" for processing. I pay these people 80 bucks a month for basic illness coverage and 20 days to get a re-imbursement is complete bullshit. Manulife, which is one of the worst human providers of all time, can have my claim back to me inside of week. These people have no excuse.
Injury/Illness: any problem I have ever submitted for   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Phyllis Adams, 5/9/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   No problems
Our puppy came with 6 week trial offer. Two weeks later I had to take puppy to emerg for bacterial infection. Pet secure paid $600 bill, no problems encountered
Injury/Illness: Bacterial infection   Breed: Pomeranian
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Melinda, 4/1/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   PET OWNERS BEWARE
I have been a customer of Petsecure for a quite some time and this is the first time I have submitted a claim. My dog had an abscess deep in his anal gland, and required surgery. He became ill with vomiting, loss of appetite etc later so he went back in for diagnostic tests. Total amount spent at the vet was over $800. With a $300 deductible, I was expecting at least around $400 back. The claim was submitted in Feb 2016, its now March 28 2016, on calling them today, I learn I am to expect $51 back!! It has not even been deposited in my account yet. I would have been better putting my $60 a month premium amount aside in a separate account to cover the vet bills, as it is, even after paying premiums all this time, I am out of pocket. I would not recommend this company.
Injury/Illness: anal gland abscess   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
carrie cosh, 3/28/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Total scam
I've got their insurance plan Secure 3 on May/2015 and took my dog for a physical examination as they ask. Last month, my dog hurt his leg and needed to see a vet. What was my surprise when my claim was held at Persecure due to absence of my dog's medical history...they will keep asking you for more and more exams and physical examinations that YOU should pay in order to accept your claims. I am extremely disappointed with the dishonesty and fraudulent behaviour shown by this company. Just save your money and do not get anything from they.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Welsh Corgis
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Pedro, 2/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Very Disappointing
Having worked in the veterinary industry for over 20yrs I have had experience with many different pet insurance companies and have insured my own personal pets also. This is by far one of the worst insurance companies I have ever dealt with. There is ZERO client loyalty, they are disorganized and severely lack in the customer service aspect. In addition to continually penalizing clients when they actual utilize their insurance for its intended purpose by increasing rates or deductibles,and decreasing co-insurance ( the amount they are willing to pay out on a claim) , they seem to have a surplus of funds allowing them to "pay it forward" ( aka use our monthly premiums ) to other people's pets who are not already insured as a marketing strategy! I would recommend ANY OTHER insurance provider over this company, and when asked why by my clients I am happy to explain.
Injury/Illness: various claims over 6 years   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Angela, 12/2/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Please save your money!
This company gets all its revenue from breeders and "free trials". If you actually have a sick pet, they will very quickly reduce your coverage. We started out paying $80 for 80% coverage, but after the first year they reduced our coverage to 50% (but kept the $80 fee). This company will not insure you after you make a claim. Our puppy had a very treatable condition, demodex, but even after he was treated and cured, Petsecure reduced his coverage from 80% to 50% while continuing to charge me $80 a month. It is fraud, not insurance.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Portuguese Water Dog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Tara Vanneste, 12/1/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Becareful with this insurance,
Be careful, I have Petsecure 4, the suppousely premium one with unlimited coverage and apparently tons of extras, 80% reimbursable amount over eligible claims. My Morkie has 2.5 y.o., total reimbursed expenses so far around 6.5K and I just got a letter from them telling me that they will now pay 60% instead of 80% of my eligible claims. I'll start doing my work and research for a better one. Any recommendations? 20% just like that? She did not have any cancer or brain surgery treatment? I thought that by getting the most complete plan (4) I will have piece of mind, but now they are coming with this. Actually in the last year I've noticed that they are taking longer for reimbursements and they always state is due to a high season. As time passes through this company Petsecure is becoming disappointing. I have serious doubts that is a good choice for being our long term partner with Micaela's healthcare.
Injury/Illness: change in contract. From 80% to 60%   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Annette, 11/25/2015
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20


Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close