Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Rip-off artists!!
Paid them for years and the they only covered $270.of a $1000. claim. Would have done much better putting the premium in a savings account.
Injury/Illness: Pancreatitis   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dwight Grant, 5/14/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
4/10   Took money out of our account we didn't agree to
They are continually mixing up the dates we've supplied for direct deposit. We've tried to get them to take the money out for both dogs the same day but they seem incapable of doing that (they were insured at different times). We're on a fixed income and only get paid once a month so our insurance schedule needs to be on target.
Injury/Illness: Complaint not about claim   Breed: Australian Shepherd
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Jeff, 5/1/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Worst Insurance Provider Out There
I work in the veterinary industry and regularly steer my clients AWAY from this company. They have terrible customer service, continually penalize clients for submitting claims by reducing co-insurance or increasing deductibles. Its almost criminal because once you've signed up and had a claim you are stuck with them, and they know you wont be able to go elsewhere and get coverage because of "pre-existing conditions". Do your research! Stay away!!!!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Angela, 4/26/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY
They will take your money month after month and when your pet gets sick, they won't cover any of it. Paid 650$ for a vet visit (my dog had a cough) and got 0$ back because of some bogus loophole policy. Very upsetting. I'm switching to Trupanion as I've heard MUCH better things from their clients.
Injury/Illness: Cough   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Courtney, 4/7/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Read the Fine Print
I have had up to 6 pets insured and they have been good to me. However, the "up to 80%' payment should be more specifically "50% to 80%".They have a nice letter once your claims go too high which explains why they have to increase your co-payment to as much as 50%. This is false advertizement and even your review was duped into thinking the co-payment was 80% as most people probably think.
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney)   Breed: American Curl
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Richard Merlo, 12/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   They pay less but we don't!
I just received an email from the company saying that after they did a 24 month review they are reducing their coverage from 80% to 50%. I called customer service and asked if I was being reduced because I was submitting claims and using the plan. They answered yes. Then I asked if it was true that I would not be getting a reduction in my premium. Again correct. I was told that in six months they would review it again and it may be changed again. I have had to switch companies before and now it looks like I will have to again which is too bad. For the most part they have not been unreasonable.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Shiloh Shepherd
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Michelle, 12/8/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   I would NEVER Recommend this company
I am TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED in Petsecure and Western Financial Insurance and the way their "customer care" agent Rodney, has handled my call. After waiting a month, only to receive a notification *We regret we are unable to cover treatment for this condition as it is not covered by your policy...... I signed on after asking NUMEROUS times if the gastropexy would be considered preventative medicine and if it would be covered at the time of spaying. The agent at the time of sign up, assured me that if I signed on for the 4+ plan that it would indeed be covered. I have submitted five claims, and have not yet received any reimbursement. I am cancelling this insurance and will be pocketing the monies in an account for my pets future. This way I can police whether the funds are available or not and whether the treatment is "covered" or not, and I will not have to deal with the bureaucratic red tape only to find out, ooooops sorry your not covered. Think twice before signing up and surrendering your hard earned money. Ensure you have the voice recordings as well request everything in writing before you sign on the dotted line and allow them to determine what is or isn't considered preventative medicine and eligible for payment. I certainly wish I had, I would have at least half of the monies I am now out of pocket.
Injury/Illness: preventative medicine   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Lynn MacKenzie, 11/22/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Amazing
Petsecure has been amazing to deal with , its been almost 2 years and not once have we had an issue - claims are processed quickly and painless-I have a gentle giant that doesn't know his own strength that has needed a few stitches as well as a pretty serious CCL surgery and pet secure has not let me or my fur baby down! thank you! I have only had to call in once about a couple questions and it was the best customer service, so I am one very happy customer!
Injury/Illness: CCL Tear   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jackie Maxwell, 10/24/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22


Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close