Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  

Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Pets Best
VetCare Health

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
United Pet Care


UK Pet Insurance


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review

Filter By:    

1/10   Pre-existing conditions
This company provides a 6 week trial coverage with adoption of pets from rescue organizations with a promise to make "a donation" to the organization if you sign on after the trial period. This is a good thing for them. Adopted pets do NOT come with a medical history, so they can claim (and do) that any condition you claim for is pre-existing. We had over $1000.00 in veterinary bills for an older cat we adopted and they would cover absolutely nothing. It is dishonest of them to advertise in a rescue settings! Furthermore, their policies discourage people from adopting rescued animals.
Injury/Illness: large cell blood cancer   Breed: American Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Freda Thompson, 11/6/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
3/10   Aggravating to deal with
They will not cover our siamese kitten for any skin condition even though he never had one to start when we got him at 8 weeks old. He only had a few bumps on his head from a litter mates claws.They take over a month every time to complete a claim and always blame it on a busy season. They increase the deductible as the pet ages and constantly decrease the percentage of coverage. My one dog is only covered fifty percent and the other is only sixty percent. I switched my dog from secure four to three and lost all the claims towards my yearly deductible that we had worked off without the, telling me this would happen. The supervisor was rude when I talked to her about this and did nothing to try and make the situation better. I have tried to get answers to a claim for one of my cats that's been incomplete for over a month and no reply after contacting them several times. I have four pets insured with them and will take my business elsewhere next time.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Siamese
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Sherrie, 10/28/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
8/10   Peace of mind.
I've had pet insurance for about a year with petsecure. I have the secure 4 plan. My dog just had a bilateral tplo surgery on Sept 1st...which was close to $7500.i I submitted the claim about a week after surgery. Petsecure has already processed the claim and we are getting reimbursed $5972. Our deductible was already paid so we got back the full 80%. Pet insurance has allowed me to focus on my dogs recovery instead of worrying about how to pay for it. I have not had any issues to date with the service or refusal to pay. However, they are quick to exclude pre-existing conditions. My dog did have skin issues when he was a pup, he was found malnourished & in -20 C weather. Because a skin scrap was done to test for mites and he was given a vitamin supplement to help his fur/skin, all skin conditions and related issues are excluded from his plan. Which is extremely broad and could cover a wide range of future problems. I would definitely recommend pet insurance though.
Injury/Illness: Bilateral TPLO Surgery   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Amanda, 9/19/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
I went with persecure to give myself piece of mind. The SPCA recommended there program so I thought they would be a reputable company. I was paying $86 per month and received absolutely nothing from this company! My dog went in for an emergency visit, claim denied. I then had him in for his annual check up, claim denied. I then tried to get his teeth cleaned again, claim denied!! I later had my visa stolen, called them to let them know the account my payment was coming out of is no longer existent, and I would call in when I received a new card. I then find out they sent me to collections for 2 missed payments !! When I called to get an explanation I was told it's not there problem my visa got stolen. Anyways I paid and I would like to say a big FUCK you guys. Your customer service was awful and your policies suck. I feel like an idiot for literally giving you money every month for nothing.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Barb, 9/2/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
10/10   Fast and hassle free
My claim was reviewed and approved within a couple days of submission. I received my cheque in the mail within 15 business days. Very efficient and stress free process
Injury/Illness: Soft Tissue Damage   Breed: Shiba Inu
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Patricia, 8/25/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
7/10   Lengthy Reimbursement Delays
Overall I am satisfied with the coverage I have with Petsecure....they always however take a long time to reimburse you....That is my only complaint....they never respect the 7 to 10 days last claim was submitted almost 4 weeks ago...still have not received the reimbursement.....
Injury/Illness: Auto Immune Syndrome   Breed: Weimaraner
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Cindy Mallette, 8/3/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   Not honoring my contract
Since day 1 Petsecure has done everything they could to avoid paying me a penny. Since I my dog, I've had to pay over $3000 worth of pet bills as she was a rescue and not in the greatest shape. Her only problem was that she has a really bad immune system which caused her to pretty much catch anything around her. When I signed up wit Petsecure I was very clear and honest by telling them that she has previously suffered from Coccidiam which I fully understood should be excluded until further review. This parasite caused her to have flaky skin and a reduced immune system. When 3 months later she caught a skin parasite, the insurance refused to cover it although I had a letter from my vet stating that this condition had been tested negative in the past and was only recent. Their excuse: there were previous symptoms of that disease..... Lie, there clearly was not. A month later, she got Giardia, now that was denied too because supposedly, she had an exclusion for "internal parasite". Now that's when I lost it and decide it was time to cancel my policy! I had received a letter from Petsecure in the passed stating that the "internal parasite was only concerning the Coccidian". So although the I actually had proof, it was written in my contract, in ink that she was only excluded for Coccidian they still wouldn't hear it. These people are crooks, they don't deliver the service that you pay for and they act as if they could simply decide wether to cover things or not without actually playing by the rules and by the contract. I am not debating whether to get my lawyer involved as there is more than $1000 worth of fee that should've been covered so far. Anyhow, bottom line is, I strongly, strongly suggest you go look somewhere else when chosing an insurance!
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Roxane, 7/25/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   RIP OFF!!!!
I have been a Pet Secure customer since 2006 for 2 dogs and today received a cheque for $1.08 on my second ever claim. DO THE MATH. It is not worth it.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Cindy, 7/24/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18

Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here

  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close