Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Breeds > Dachshund > Reviews

Pet Insurance Reviews from Dachshund Owners


10/10   i couldn"t be happier!
with petsbest my baby gets the best care and stays healthy!
Company: Pets Best   Injury/Illness: renal (kidney) u.t.infections,hypertension   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
james butterworth, 7/23/2015
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   yearly premium increases- canceled policy
When I got my puppy 4 years ago, I thought it would be a great idea to get insurance so that money would never factor into his health care decisions. I got a quote and it seemed very reasonable. My assumption is the younger you start your animals insurance policy, the more cost effective it will be as the company will have more years of premiums to offset the more likely costs in the dogs later years. Unless you read through the contract after you've already signed up, it's not clear that it's an annual contract subject to renewal at a higher rate without notice. The third year of my contract was a 10% increase and year four was a 15% increase. I'd like to know how many of their customers get 10-15% pay increases a year or how they manage their expenses when they increase at that rate. I'd suggest that before signing up one of their plans, you get a quick quote for each year of your pets life by changing the birth date and a quick estimate of the total cost of insurance over the life of the pet. Will you be able to afford the monthly premium in years 10-15 when they've tripled at the 10 year mark and increase six fold at the 15 year mark. Assuming that your pet doesn't have repeated major injuries or illnesses, it's my opinion that You'd be far better putting this money in a savings account and hoping that You never need it, but knowing it's there if you would. In the event that your dog lives a long happy life and dies of natural causes, you'll have several thousand dollars in the bank.
Company: PetPlan   Injury/Illness: Never made a claim   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Rob, 7/18/2015
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Easy claim submission
One of the advantages of having Trupanion is the ease in which you can submit claims as the need arises. I have been emailing my claims (at any time of the day) and Trupanion claims sends a confirmation and then lets me know when it was processed and what to expect in the mail. Faxing claims from work is also an easy way to submit claims. Either way, Trupanion claims is fast, easy and friendly by phone.
Company: Trupanion   Injury/Illness: congestive heart failure   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Odette Mace, 7/13/2015
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Best pet insurance company!
Healthy Paws is the best!! The claim process is so easy, takes 2 minutes to lodge your claim online. Check received within a week. My dog recently had a serious accident and Healthy Paws have been so understanding and caring through the whole process. They made the claim process so smooth and easy that it left me the time to concentrate on my dog and not my finances. Also, unlike many other insurance companies, they cover hereditary conditions. Choose Healthy Paws - I promise you wont be disappointed!!
Company: Healthy Paws   Injury/Illness: accident   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
james, 7/9/2015
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Desperate Foxtail Removal Fully Covered!
Our little dachshund-mix girl snarfed up a foxtail while out on a walk and was sneezing until her nose started to bleed. It was a Friday evening so we took her to emergency care. The docs were terrific ~ but although they could see the foxtail, they couldn't remove itů it was too far into her nasal passage. That was the first procedure which, to be honest, was undeniably less stressful given that I knew we'd be covered by insurance. [Don't get me wrong, we would've spent whatever it'd have taken to save our pupů luckily, we didn't have to and I knew that I'd made the right decision when I purchased the PetPlan coverage upon adopting our little gal.] The next morning found us about 40 minutes from home at a vet specialist who had the correct instruments to access the area where the foxtail was lodged. A full day later, after general anesthesia and a lot of searching on the vet's part, the foxtail was removed and we brought our 'baby' home ~ a bit loopy but totally ok! She was on antibiotics and anti-inflammatory meds for a full week after the procedure. Both emergency vet offices told me that they'd faxed the claims directly to PetPlan ~ but it turned out that only one was noted in the claims section when I looked online. I called PetPlan directly, and within 24 hours they had tracked down the second claim and called me, and emailed me as well, to let me know it was going through. Customer service representatives are personable, warm and terrific; response rate is lightning quick; and the whole process ~ from signing up for the insurance plan, to filing a claim and being reimbursed ~ was amazingly simple. I would recommend PetPlan without reservation to anyone who's considering insurance for their pet. You never know if or when something might happen to your pet, and the reasonable rates make it fully worth one's while to sign upů especially because when it comes to vet bills, which are always costly, you don't want to have to think twice about doing everything you can to save / heal your beloved furry family member!
Company: PetPlan   Injury/Illness: Foxtail lodged deep in nostril   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kelly Keller, 7/9/2015
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Fast Service
My dog recently had to have some dental work done and wasn't sure what would be covered. I was pleasantly surprised. My vet submitted the claim for me late afternoon and I had an email 2 hours later confirming would would be covered. I got the cheque in 4 business days.
Company: Trupanion   Injury/Illness: dental   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Deidre, 7/9/2015
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Fast, efficient, easy, reliable.
Easy to submit claims. Fast response back from the company. Acceptance of claim within a week and check received in less than 2 weeks. Pretty awesome if you asked me.
Company: Trupanion   Injury/Illness: enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Cindy, 7/8/2015
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68





  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close