Read the fine print!

1
Out of 10

I purchased my 2 year old "Heinz 57 breed" in December and an Vet insurance plan in January. Coco and I always walk the same route to an off-leash park about 10 minutes from our house. On one trip, a large doberman who seemed friendly to start, began growling at Coco and the owner said it wouldn't bite. Wrong. Coco's ear was almost completely torn off!!! I was hysterical and there was blood everywhere. I drove to the closest vet and told them I had insurance. Coco was home the next morning and still in a lot of pain. The bill was over $600 for surgery on her ear as well as pain prescription. When I called the insurance company, they said Coco wasn't spaded and therefore is NOT covered! In the fine print it says you need to have your dog spaded if it is in a fight! No one told me about this when i bought the plan. Buy the insurance if you wish, just make sure you get your dog "fixed" and read the fine print.

Did you find this review helpful?
Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed
Age of Pet

Leave a comment

Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Posted: 06/22/2008
By:  

spayed. not spaded.

Posted: 07/16/2008
By:  

yes thats true that the limitation is there for pets not spayed or neutered prior to a year... but if your pet was attacked and did not instigate the fight in any way it might be worth disputing that

Posted: 10/30/2008
By:  

I don't understand why people complain about limitations on an insurance policy when it is all there in writing. Be a responsible pet owner and human being and read through your insurance policy! This is not the fault of the insurance company, this is laziness and a lack of responsibility on your part.

Posted: 03/20/2009
By:  

Always read the fine print, ALL OF IT, for ANY contract you are in with ANY company! That's my advice. These days it's so important. Also remember that a spayed or neutered dog is a HEALTHIER dog and means you are a responsible pet guardian!

Posted: 04/11/2009
By:  

Well, Kim ... a spayed/neutered dog may be healthier ... but maybe not. I notice Trupanion's deadline for the altering surgery is one year. HOWEVER ... recent research indicates waiting a little while longer (at least 16 months) allows the hormones to fully affect bone growth and development, thus preventing orthopedic injuries down the line. Early neuter just may be a contributing cause of increased orthopedic injuries being reported by vets.

Posted: 04/24/2009
By:  

I agree that if your pet was attacked and was not an instigator that i would dispute the denial of my claim.

Posted: 08/21/2009
By:  

Thanks for bringing this issue to our attention. We have been making changes to our pet owner communications in an effort to make the spayed/neutered clause more prominent in our communication with clients. For intact pets, we do have limitations which are clearly defined in our policy wording. For anyone who is not planning on having their pets spayed/neutered prior to their first birthday or within 30 days of adoption (except for pets where the timing of being spayed or neutered was in conjunction with their veterinarian’s medical recommendations) they should review the limitations closely to make sure that Trupanion/Vetinsurance is their best option. Also, should any pet owner wish to appeal a claim decision, we do have a 3rd party review process where the claim details are sent to a Veterinarian outside of our company for a final decision.

Posted: 02/22/2010
By:  

My vet and breeder told me not to spay my dog until at least 15-16 months old. They said it's critical to have the hormones for the dog to properly develop. I can't believe they would cut benefits to owners who are not spayed before 1 year old.

Posted: 11/06/2009
By:  

Dogs that are not spayed/neutered are more likely to show dominance and aggression and can be more difficult to control or restrain.
*A responsible dog owner does not bring an un-neutered dog to a leash-free dog park.*

Posted: 01/30/2010
By:  

Wow very sad. Bad bad bad policy. They need to change that. When your dog is not the aggressor, there is no reason to deny the claim. Ridiculous. And for those who say "Read the fine print", that's stupid because we all know what "fine print" means and why it is in "fine" print... Using "fine print" is what companies do to get themselves off the hook for being dishonest and misleading people with their clever advertising. Those kind of things should be spell out, out loud, not in "fine" print. Ew.
Anyway, I agree with the person who said that they need to rethink their policy of pets being spayed or neutered before 1 year of age. This can be the cause of bone cancer and they are just setting themselves up for paying more fees anyway, when that policy holder's dog is getting treated for cancer later in life.

Posted: 07/10/2010
By:  

Maryann . . . this is just speculation at this point . . . there is no actual studies done, and the speculation is agaisnt the early early spaying and neutering (before 6 months). One must be careful of making claims such as these before you scare people into not spaying/neutering their animals in a timely manner. There is more evidence at this point in spaying your animals before their first heat cycle (for their future health) than waiting.Oh and SARA? Not sure where you are getting the bone cancer idea from? Perhaps you misunderstood Maryann? But she was talking about cruciate injuries not bone cancers.