Pretty good for the most part

8
Out of 10

Our 1 year old Great Dane has been insured with Trupanion since she was about 6months old. In the last few months we've been trying to figure out what was wrong with her back (she was walking funny)... after xrays, an MRI, spinal fluid testing, and more we still had no definitive answers. We were able to get all these tests done though with the help of Trupanion and knowing they would cover 90% of our claims (excluding vet exam fees). It's been a lifesaver. And they always process our claims very quickly.
The one thing that prevents me from giving them a higher rating is they do not cover holistic medicine and that seems to be the only thing that's helping her (even the neurologist said he had no clue what was wrong and a holistic vet may be the answer). Chiropractic and acupuncture have helped her walk better. I just wish Trupanion covered her visits.

Did you find this review helpful?
Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Over $1000
Breed

Great Dane

Age of Pet
1 - 8

Leave a comment

Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Posted: 09/24/2011
By: Jenn

I had a Great Dane who died from H.O.D. I had VPI pet insurance and am so disappointed. I did everything I could medically to save my baby, and almost 3k later.... I've only received $367 dollars back. I also received the $120 I paid for his ashes. I'm soon to get another Dane, and I will not be going with VPI, and am searching for another insurance company.

Glad you're happy with this insurance company, I'll be giving them a call

Posted: 02/01/2016
By: Christie

We are looking into Trupanion for our pup. While reviewing the costs, I noticed they offer two additional supplements. We were quoted just under $5 month for each.
1. Recovery & Complimentary Care Rider- includes: Acpuncture
Chiropractic
Homeopathy
Hydrotherapy
Physical and rehabilitative therapy

2. Pet Owner Assistance Package - includes
Advertising and reward
Boarding fees
Liability coverage for third-party property damage
Cremation or burial
Holiday vacation cancellation costs

Posted: 05/04/2012
By: Stacy at Trupanion

Hello! I would just like to clarify about Trupanion's updated coverage options. While we do not cover holistic care, we do offer a new complementary care package for an additional cost. This package includes coverage for hip dysplasia for all ages, hydrotherapy, acupuncture, physical therapy, feline kidney transplants, and behavioral modification. Please give us a call if you'd like to learn more or add this coverage to your plan.

Posted: 02/21/2012
By: Valerie

Please have your Great Dane checked for Wobblers Disease. It's prevalent in Great Danes and Dobermans. One of our Dobermans has it. The earlier it's diagnosed and treated, the better. It's a disease related to the neck and spine which will eventually cause paralysis in the hind legs.

Posted: 02/03/2011
By: Shannon

We just recently adopted a Heinz 57 puppy and after our visit with the vet they told me about petinsurancereview.com. After reading many reviews, including yours, I decided to go to individual insurance websites. The third website I looked at was Petplans Pet insurance. Looking further in to their plans I read the following, "Alternative and complementary treatments - such as acupuncture, hydrotherapy or chiropractic treatment". The second I read this I thought about your review. I don't know if you are interested in switching insurance companies but if you are this sounds like what you are hoping for from a pet insurance company.

Posted: 02/15/2011
By: Janice

I do love Trupanion but I agree that certain alternative medicine can be the answer and even be less costly. I think a vet should have to make the referral but it would be nice to be able to add this type of coverage even if it was a "rider" with an additional premium.

Posted: 11/16/2011
By: Rese

I don't know if they when you first wrote this review but they now offer "Optional Benefits" for a few more dollars a month depending on your deductible. For those who want/need that option it sounds like a good thing to add.

Posted: 01/29/2012
By: Laurie

TRUPANION HAS OPTIONAL COVERAGE FOR MORE OPTIONS...might be something to check out if you need 'alternative' choices.

Posted: 02/02/2012
By: Jackie

They do cover holistic to some degree but it is at additional cost.

Posted: 02/28/2014
By: Janet

As Trupanion has explained, they have an Additional Care Package that covers Acupuncture, Hydrotherapy, Chiropractic, Physical and rehabilitative therapy, and Homeopathy. For me, it would be an extra $13/month, which I think is acceptable. However, it is kind of too late for us because now my Lab has a preexisting condition (allergies) that I would want treated and that is excluded, so I'm not sure whether to go for it. I might though for whatever else might be coming, given this dog's health hasn't been the greatest. My advice is to start off with maximum coverage at the puppy stage because you can always drop some coverage anytime you want, but less advantageous to add it later.

Posted: 06/06/2016
By: Sandra

I can't tell you how much we have spent, but I misunderstood how this pet insurance works and I didn't submit most of my claims over the past 5.5 year because of it. I have a $1000.00 deductible. To make a long story short, I emailed everything to them, and within two weeks we have $4,400.00+ reimbursed to us! I also went ahead and bought into that alternative rider for the rehab. I am extremely pleased with Trupanion! We really didn't expect to get much back. They are very easy to speak with and very nice.

Posted: 06/22/2017
By: Sara

They cover holistic and chiropractic with a rider. ;)