PetFirst Pet Insurance is committed to providing cost-effective pet insurance plans for dogs and cats of any age and breed.  PetFirst’s pet insurance plan is one of the most comprehensive on the market, and is available in all 50 states. Learn more about PetFirst's plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

7.7 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 9.7 9.4 7.7
Count 14 76 1360
10
Out of 10
Recommended

so glad i went with them

Posted: 11/25/2021
By:
edward
lackey

GREAT INSURANCE COMPANY GREAT TO WORK WITH WHEN FILING A CLAIM

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Miniature Schnauzer

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Met Life Pet First is Great

Posted: 11/25/2021
By:
Jane
Pickert

Love Pet First from Met Life as Roxie got a great plan including dental cleaning which her previous insurer did not include.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Glad there is such a thing as pet ins.

Posted: 11/22/2021
By:
Louis
Pecoraio

The claim form is easy to fill out and submit, it took a couple of weeks to process which is normal, I'm happy with the outcome.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Chocolate)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

always helpful and willing to go the extra mile

Posted: 11/18/2021
By:
Frank
Giovanetti

The girl was very helpful because pets an be very expensive and they are worth it. If something happens to Gabby I feel the burden of being able to get this insurance will help a lot with the expense

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Helpful

Posted: 11/13/2021
By:
Ira
Diamond

The company has been pretty fair with reimbursements and they answer all your questions.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Medium (20-70 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Responsive

Posted: 11/13/2021
By:
Josefina
YON

I had no idea that I would need this coverage but figured, why not, Pewter can sick and will need vet care. Well, he was severely constipated and I thought it would be a quick visit to teh vet. Three days and almost $3,000 he came home. I was just happy our old cat was back to normal. I submitted my claim and forgetting about it. Lo and behold, I had almost $2,200 deposited in my account. Wow, I was thrilled to say the least. There was no hassle at all - it was just quick and good service all teh way through.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I urge everyone with a pet to get this insurance!

Posted: 11/08/2021
By:
Denise
Sandsbury

I’ve been very happy with this company. I’m a retired veterinarian technician and have worked with many pet insurance companies, MetLife has been very helpful and easy to work with. Their prices are very reasonable!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Giant (90 Lbs +)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

If you love your pet,get the insurance! Simple as that.

Posted: 11/07/2021
By:
Pam
Dale

I have only had 2 small claims in the last 7 years of my little dogs life and the response time in MetLifes review and acceptance of my emailed information was immediate. I also love that you can add coverage at different levels that you can afford. Vet expenses can be very costly and the insurance and piece of mind that my little guy is covered for unforeseen accident or illness. Everything today has insurance attached to it and so should your pet because you just never know what is ahead and they are family too.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Pawfectly easiest insurance claim to get processed

Posted: 11/04/2021
By:
Lori
Lampron

As always the ease of submitting a claim and the efficient way METlife handles it is great!!!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

No problems in 4 years

Posted: 10/30/2021
By:
Guy
Scotten

Have had this policy for four years. Two years ago our Lulu was diagnosed with a continuing illness (Cushing Disease). It is a great relief having her medications and office checkups covered.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Toy (up to 10 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

I highly recommend PetFirst to protect your pet. It takes away the anxiety of always doing what’s best for your pet.

Posted: 10/30/2021
By:
Patty
Murphy

I have been a customer since 2012, insuring two dogs. Unfortunately both dogs had lots of health issues, many surgeries and cancer diagnosis. PetFirst always came through, paying claims timely and easily. It really helps to take the financial stress away while you deal with caring for your pet.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Bullmastiff

Age of Pet
1 - 8
9
Out of 10
Recommended

Easy to work with

Posted: 10/22/2021
By:
Vicki
Gabert

Glad that rescue offered a 30 day free policy. I carried it on and was happy I did.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Very Helpful and Informational

Posted: 10/20/2021
By:
Alex
Garcia

I spoke with Chris, he was extremely helpful in explaining the process and best plan for Chenzo. He took his time and made sure I felt comfortable with my decision!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

American Bully

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Best insurance ever !

Posted: 10/20/2021
By:
Lorelei
Von Schilling

Variety of plans offered and good coverage. Great customer service !

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Dalmatian

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

PETFIRST (thru METLIFE): A typical Insuance Co. that promises To "Cover Thousands of Medical Conditions," but Denies 1st Claim!

Posted: 10/02/2021
By:
Dave
Morrison

TERRIBLE / AWFUL / NIGHTMARE: By far...my WORST insurance experience EVER in 26 years of Military Service (and 15 years Military retirement). They denied my claim stating my 7yo Chihuahua had a pre-existing condition...though he had the condition (congenital) since he was a puppy. He's doing fine now, but was diagnosed with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) with a BUN level that suddenly went over 90 which is considered Kidney Failure. After that surprise reading, I thought it be best to get Comprehensive Kidney Blood/Urine Panels (vs normal ones) to see if there were any other underlying factors and there was: He also had a severe UTI and was put on a strong antibiotic. I faxed all the medical records I could retrieve and PetFirst Reps were never satisfied with all that info and wanted more. They should've stated from the beginning they were going to deny the claim which would've saved me a lot of wasted time and money in fax fees. In my opinion, all they care about is their bottom line ONLY and NOT the health of your beloved pet...though they promise to cover thousands of medical conditions. What a joke!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Chihuahua

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended
compare pet insurance Verified

this is the best thing I could have done.

Posted: 09/29/2021
By:
Carol
Brown

Freddie had emergency surgery, and the policy covered 80% of the cost.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Chinese Crested Powder Puff

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

The best thing I ever did was purchase MetLife

Posted: 09/27/2021
By:
Roxanne
Barron

I am so glad that I purchased MetLife for Daphny . It has been the best experience and their representatives are very helpful and the claims are so easy to do.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Small (10-20 Lbs)

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Not One Complaint

Posted: 09/14/2021
By:
William & Nola
Crum

From completing the forms, scanning and emailing the clinic information to the payment, it was easy and very fair. We have no complaints and we renewed our policy for the 4th year. This was not our first claim for our little girl. If you read and know what is covered, there are no surprises therefore no complaints.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Mixed Breed Large (70–90 Lbs)

Age of Pet
Over 8 years
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Excellent Customer Service

Posted: 08/27/2021
By:
Brooke
Gay

Absolutely loved the informant of the policy and the kindness that was given

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

German Shepherd

Age of Pet
Under a year
1
Out of 10

Do NOT pay for this insurance!

Posted: 08/27/2021
By:
Bethany
Beckman

Do NOT pay for this insurance! Go with the cheaper, AKC insurance which covers substantially more, has far less exclusions, and has shorter waiting periods. One example (of many I could provide): I am in the process of switching to AKC insurance and submitted bills for my puppies to both insurance companies because both are currently active on my puppies - PetFirst denied 80% of what I submitted while AKC approved 100% of what I submitted! If I could give PetFirst zero stars, I would! Then there's the fact that in "PART IX - APPEALS AND COMPLAINTS" of the policy packet contact information including an e-mail address is provided (SubmitClaim@petfirst.com) and that all appeals "must be submitted...within 90 days" of the date on the explanation of benefits (or as soon as reasonably practicable) and "You may contact us using the information above." Well guess what happens when you e-mail that e-mail address in order to begin the appeals process? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! So I call a couple weeks later and I'm told (1) I had to file an appeal within 30 days and I'm now over the deadline; (2) there's a specific appeal form that must be used (not referenced anywhere in the policy packet); and, (3) that e-mail address is not a monitored e-mail address but simply goes to a queue for claims submissions...needless to say I was absolutely ticked. Ultimately, they did accept my appeal, though that was denied (no surprise there).

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Rottweiler

Age of Pet
1 - 8