AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states, and has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club since 2003.

Learn more about AKC's pet insurance plan options, read thousands of customer reviews and get a quote so you can make an informed choice about your pet insurance provider. 

Average customer rating

8.8 Out of 10
60 Days 1 Year Lifetime
Rating 10.0 9.4 8.8
Count 1 108 871
10
Out of 10

Thieves who do pay claims owed

Posted: 06/19/2021
By:
Johan a
Hammel

Thieves who do not pay claims owed. I purchased an annual policy for my 9 week old puppy on 2/10/21 to go into effect on 2/11/21 to 2/11/22 to include: companion care, exam plus, hereditary plus, defender, alternative plus. They were giving away one month free companion care which I did not want or ask for. My payment on 2/10/21 was $96.49 because of the free one month of companion care. Each month thereafter I paid $104.54. There is a 30 day waiting period for the hereditary and defender coverage. My puppy went for his 16 week shots on 3/13/21 and the vet noticed he was developing an underbite. Long story short, it’s a hereditary issue and he needed dental surgery to the tune of $4354.50. They have denied my claim saying that the policy really didn’t go into effect until 3/11/21-02/11/22- that would be an 11 mos policy not a 12 mos policy. They have denied my claim in violation of my State’s law. I have a second puppy that I pay $90/mos for insurance - I pay close to $200/mos for my puppies but they don’t cover claims that are clearly covered. If anyone else has been screwed over my this company, please reach out

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Labrador Retriever (Yellow)

Age of Pet
Under a year
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Great customer service

Posted: 06/08/2021
By:
Glenda
Grey

So far, I’m happy with policy and customer service. Easy to submit a claim, helpful customer service and my claims are quickly processed!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Golden Retriever

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10
Recommended

Worth it

Posted: 05/12/2021
By:
Tash
M

When I got my dog from a rescue I did a lot of research into the Pros and cons of pet insurance. After a 1.5 years, I have finally put it to good use. I have filed my 1st claim and less than a week later, I was reimbursed. It takes a few days to process but worth if financially.

The customer service is alsways extremely helpful. They helped me with processing my claim and were never bothered when I called them to know the status of the claim. The business is very professional and knowledgeable.

I recommend this specifically because of the add ons that they provide. Not all pet insurance have the add ons that AKC has.. Unless you cancel the policy and restart everything, the prices do not change as your dog gets older. Even if I hadn't needed to use it as soon as I had, this would be beneficial for every dog owner who has a young dog in order to help the elderly dog expenses later in life. This is worth it and something that I wish I had with my previous dog. I did my research and it's very beneficial for every pet parent to do their research into pet insurance and what will work best for them.

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

Akita

Age of Pet
1 - 8
10
Out of 10

Very pleased

Posted: 04/28/2021
By:

I am very pleased with AKC pet insurance. This is my first time having pet insurance. The whole staff is wonderful. They are so nice everytime I need help. Keep up with the excellent customer service!

Injury/illness
Claim Amount
Breed

n/a

n/a

Age of Pet
Under a year
Monthly Cost

$5 - $90 depending on coverage options chosen.

Coverage

You have a co-pay of 20% after your annual deductible. 

The pay-out amount is based on your actual vet bill.

Payout Limits

Per incident limit of $1,500 - $8,000 and annual limits of $3,000 - $16,000 depending on your chosen plan.

Deductible

Choose from $100 - $1,000 annual deductible.

Age Limits

Pets must be at least 8 weeks old to enroll with no upper age limit. Coverage options available for senior pets.

Waiting Period

Coverage goes into effect one day after enrollment. There is a 5-day wait period for accident claims and 14-day wait period for illness claims.

AKC Pet Insurance provides 30 days of accident and illness insurance coverage included with AKC registration for newly registered puppies.

Exclusions

Pre-existing conditions are not covered. 

Customizable plans allow you to add-on coverage for inherited and congenital conditions, exam fees and wellness care.

Cancer coverage included in base accident and illness plan.

As one of the first pet insurance providers in the United States, AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., provides comprehensive, affordable pet insurance across all 50 states. 

Since 2003, AKC Pet Insurance has served as the exclusive pet insurance provider for the American Kennel Club, and helps dog and puppy owners keep their pets safe and healthy.

AKC Pet Insurance's customizable plans allow pet owners to choose their coverage, deductible and coverage limits to create a plan that meets their individual needs and budget.