Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Review for Petplan USA


10/10   Great service, great value
My dog Brinkley had bladder stones... He was barely able to urinate and when he did he would pee blood. We didn't hesitate with x-rays and saw a complete blockage by 4 bladder stones! We promptly had them removed and within a week of submitting the claim we had a check for more than we expected. We would never have a dog without insurance again. Good value... Great service. I cannot recommend it enough.
Company: Petplan USA   Injury/Illness: bladder Bladder stones   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Michael, 7/7/2011
Was this review helpful to you?      
 


Lisa says:

6/19/2014
Yes, you have to pay upfront, but from what I know you get reimbursed for covered items in a week or so. Better than not getting anything back. I paid over 10k for two TTA surgeries with one of my dogs. I would have loved to get that back... I think pet insurance is worth it.  
 
Anonymous says:

5/26/2014
Ah, yes. Within 1 week. Wait 'til you have claims totaling over $6000. Try a month or more. 
 
LadyOrangeDog says:

5/4/2014
I have read over the web-site several time. I am not a genius, but I don't think I'm stupid, either. I have personal insurance that pays 80% on most of my claims. They pay an astronomical amount sometimes. Yet, I still find that I am responsible for an astounding dollar amount NOT covered by my insurance. What I can not find on this site, concerning insurance for my pets, is this: Do I have to front the entire costs and hope I get all but my deductible back? If that is the case, I do not see how this would help the average person in an emergency situation. In fact, it would not help the average person anytime. IE: Tom is paying $450.00 a year with a $200.00 deductible. His Labrador needs an MRI and a Cat Scan. Does Tom have to pay the entire amount at the time of service, and wait for reimbursement? How does Tom find out the limit of reimbursement? Where is Tom going to get the money he needs up front, to BE reimbursed? This sounds like ObamaCare for pets, to me. The premiums are completely affordable. You pay the premiums every month. Your pet will be covered. Too bad if you can not pay the amount due at the time of service. At least your pet has insurance. 
 
Debbie says:

4/15/2014
The answers to all the question below are explained on their website. Petplan provided this very detailed website with all these categories of information. I just skimed the info and I could answer every one of your questions. Just read it.  
 
gwen says:

1/5/2014
im looking for an insurance where you don't have to lay out money upfront and wait to get reimbursed only 75 percent bcse if im paying thirty dollars a month and put money out upfront its a ripoff 
 
kat says:

12/17/2013
Victoria Taylor is right - there are no answers. 
 
Kathy says:

11/6/2013
I have two cats who are covered with Petplan. For everyone asking in this forum about what they cover, how they work, etc. please go to the website, it's very clear and informative. I have submitted several small claims and had nothing but the best of service. However, if I went 10 years with no claims I would still be happily paying as the peace of mind is well worth the cost. I know if something big were to happen, I wouldn't have to chose between food on the table and the pets I love so much. Thank you Petplan for providing a wonderful service. 
 
Barbara Clifford Ciliberto says:

10/19/2013
I agree, a Pet Plan rep. should monitor these posted questions & clarify confused questions/responses -- looks like people posting are chasing their tales !!  
 
mitzie says:

10/16/2013
my puppy is starting to ich a lot, no fleas either...do they pay for allergy testing? 
 
Jan Thompson says:

6/27/2013
My baby, Libby, had to have bladder stone surgery almost a year ago. Xray showed multiple stones with one totally blocking the opening. After her vet opened her up he found her bladder to be necrotic and he removed 22 stones of various sizes. He honestly did not expect her to make it. He had never seen a bladder in such bad shape. She is a miracle! She will be on prescription food & treats the rest of her life but, she's worth it! We did not have insurance. The bill was a little over $1,000. She stayed for 2 nights. I have her stones in a pill bottle, except the largest one which had to be sent to the lab. Oh, Libby is a Bichon-poodle mix, about 12 pounds. 
 
chezcheril says:

4/19/2013
Do bladder stones count as existing condition? or Curable existing condition? Our dog had stones removed a few years ago (we think due to high protein dog food) and has been fine ever since. 
 
Martha says:

3/15/2013
We do rescue (not part of a shelter or non-profit because we don't do enough) and end up adopting the cats no one else wants. Right now we have 10 cats. We wish so much we could afford pet insurance for all of them, but if we got it, the bill is close to $2500 a year with Pet Plan, even though it was the Bronze Plan with deductibles. Also, one of our cats is FIV+ and I had PetPlan do an underwriting to see what would be excluded from coverage, and just about anything that is not an injury is excluded. So, we cannot cover most of our cats with insurance. One of our cats, who died last year, and who was rescued from the street, had renal failure and we did subcutaneous fluids for 4 years and she had to be hospitalized twice. We had no insurance for that. So, now we are giving our two oldest cats (they are about 9 years old now) PetPlan coverage. That's all we can manage to afford. (We had a dog whom we took from a sanctuary and he had pre-existing illness so we never covered him, either. He is now deceased. We got him at age 3 and a half.) If we had only 2 cats, we would give them the top level of insurance, but we can only afford Bronze. 
 
Victoria Taylor says:

3/5/2013
This is dumb..we have questions but no answers. it would be nice if actual workers of this plan came on to answer them. instead of me reading alot of questions from people and then seeing no one answer them..:(..not a very informative forum. 
 
Ed says:

2/22/2013
What on earth are all of you people talking about? None of you are making any sense! This is an insurance just like most of your health insurance's that you would buy for yourself. Some are good, some are bad. Depends on what "YOU" like. I myself think, what I think. 
 
Cattle Dog says:

1/31/2013
I see that urinary tract crystals and stones are excluded from coverage on the FAQ page as incurable conditions. Maybe someone could clarify? 
 
Michael says:

1/17/2013
I am the person who created this review and I can address some questions: We have had 2 bouts of bladder stones. Both of which, Petplan covered. They do not cover preexisiting conditions, but they do cover repeat issues. The surgeries were roughly $1250. We have a $200 deductible, and then we pay 20% and they pay 80%. So, in this scenario, we were reimbursed about $920. We pay our insurance quarterly - and it boils down to about $20 per month. So, it's almost 4 years worth of premiums, to equal the amount of money reimbursed. So far, we have had 2 bladder stone surgeries covered and we have a new submission this week as well. Our dog is 5. They have covered far more than our premiums. It's no scam. I hope you never have to use it, but it is great when you need it. 
 
Mary says:

12/31/2012
Here are some answers. You could just read the information if you wanted to from this website. All health insurance has a preexisting clause. It just makes sense. If not, everyone would wait until they needed the insurance, pick it up, get their bills paid and cancel it until they needed it again. It wouldn't be fair to us who pay health insurance for years. There are a couple of policies to choose from, with different deductibles, or no deductible, different coinsurance or no coinsurance. Prices vary depending on age and breed of dog. Only illness or injuries are covered. Routine care is excluded...no check-ups or immunizations. This keeps the cost low. I have the bronze plan with a $200 deductible, per year, 90%payment, up to $8000 a year. I have submitted claims and they all got paid with no problems. I pay less then $300ea a year and consider it a bargain. PetPlan has paid for office consultations, lab work, x-rays, an MRI and medications. My dog will require surgery soon and that is covered also. You get what you pay for from an honest company! 
 
joyce hathaway says:

12/23/2012
I would like to know if you have paper work that you can send me so that read?  
 
Figgy says:

10/5/2012
I recently had surgery on my Lab-Mix for kidney stones. With xrays, boarding for several nights, medications, and surgery it was $1004.00. (She had to board several nights before the surgery because she was not eating or drinking...that was before she was diagnosed.) My goldendoodle had ACL surgery on her leg and it was $1200. So I can't see any surgery anywhere near $6000 for those types of invasive surgeries.  
 
Niki says:

9/15/2012
I smell a rip off. They likely pay a fraction of what these bills are. In the mean time, what are the premiums and do they have exclusion for pre-existing conditions or repeat episodes such as bladder stones ?  
 
Rachel L. says:

9/5/2012
I am seeing a lot of questions but no answers... 
 
Rachel L. says:

9/5/2012
I am seeing a lot of questions but no answers... 
 
Lainey says:

8/12/2012
Was this treatment considered a "specialist" vet visit? Meaning, was it reimbursed at 80%, even if you're paying for 100% reimbursement. This is the only thing about the plan that worries me. I like the option for 100%, but then if it's considered a "specialist treatment" (among other things, like "after hours.."), then it's only reimbursed at 80%. I think they should define "specialist" more clearly in the plan details. 
 
Gaby says:

8/9/2012
does this insurance cover skin allergies and vet check ups? 
 
Alarice King says:

6/9/2012
Was wondering if there was a special type of insurance for and Engish bulldog. I have a new puppy in my home and was looking into getting some insurance for her. She about 11wks old in good health now, but might need some special care later on. What can you tell me about the insurance, and what you would think is good for my dog. Alarice King 
 
billie jo says:

5/10/2012
I got question does the petplan also help with a liver problem?  
 
Paul says:

3/2/2012
Alice, It would cost anywhere from 1700-4000, depending on the vet 
 
Alice Curran says:

1/29/2012
For a dog to have exrays and an operation to remove the stones, would it not cost over $6,000? How much did he actually pay the Vet and Insurance during this time. 
 




Comment on this Review

Your Name
Comment
Enter the characters below