Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Petplan USA
Healthy Paws
Pets Best
Trupanion
AKC
Embrace
 Petfirst Healthcare
VPI
Hartville
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
ASPCA
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium
PetPartners

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


PurinaCare


PO Box 599500
San Antonio, Texas 78259
phone: (877) 8PURINA or (877) 878-7462
website: http://www.purinacare.com
claim form

In April 2013, Purina announced that it was getting out of the pet insurance business. Current customers will be handled by 24PetWatch.
Customer Ratings
60 days 1 year Lifetime
Rating 0.0 10.0 8.3
Count 0 1 85
add your rating

Get a Free Quote

Reviews of PurinaCare

Filter By:    
10/10   Quick & Easy Claims, 10/25/2013

Reviewed By: Lisa, Recommend: Y

My rescue dog started getting sick, and after multiple vet visits they determined she had rocky mountain spotted fever. After all her treatments, I brought my claim form to my vet, they filled it out & sent it in. Within 2 weeks I had received reimbursement from Trupanion for my over deductible out of pocket costs. I was very pleased with the speed and service! Better than my health insurance.
Injury/Illness: Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever   Breed: Mixed Breed dog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Excellent company, 3/23/2013

Reviewed By: Cw, Recommend: Y

We originally had signed up for the purina care- preventative plan, when our dog was 9 months old. After 3 years we decided to reduce the policy to the basic plan. At 4 years old our dog needed emergency dental work. She had many retained baby teeth (that could not be removed when she was spayed- because most of her adult teeth had not erupted). The company could have claimed that they wouldn't pay for it- because deciduous teeth usually are not covered but under the circumstances they covered her. Her emergency bill was 120, the surgery was 2,500. They covered 1411.36 which is more than 1/2! They would have covered more had we kept the preventative plan (they didn't cover the dental cleaning portion). Overall we were very happy that her surgery was covered. Purina care paid for itself!
Injury/Illness: Dental   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Beware, 3/8/2013

Reviewed By: Victoria Jablonski, Recommend: N

As with most insurance companies, they will do ANYTHING to not pay a claim. We've spent thousands in premiums and deductibles over the years... and have seen little return in comparison (part of the insurance gamble, I know). Every claim requires extensive paperwork, calls back and forth between the insurance company and vet, it's exhausting. Ultimately, if they don't want to pay your claim, they'll find a reason not to (regardless of what the vet says). I am a strong proponent of pet insurance. If you can afford it, at least get a policy that covers illness and accidents. But I would not recommend this company specifically. Their customer service is less than polite. When they do pay claims however, it is a quick turnaround.
Injury/Illness: skin problem gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Mixed Breed dog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Recommend this Company, 1/24/2013

Reviewed By: Karen Valerio, Recommend: Y

I purchased this insurance for my 10 year old dog, and later that same month, he was diagnosed with terminal cancer. PurinaCare covered his surgery, chemo and ultimate euthanasia. I received the checks promptly and had no issues with it. I have coverage on my other dogs as well. No issues with them, thank goodness, but I'm glad I have insurance as a back up against big expenses like Roscoe had. It saved me thousands of dollars.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Mixed Breed dog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
View Comments (1)   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Conveniently did not start my application , 1/8/2013

Reviewed By: Kumar, Recommend: N

I got a confirmation email on Dec 2, 2012 and now I am ready to submit a claim for the preventive care and they conveniently tell me my application was never received!
Injury/Illness: preventive   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
View Comments (1)   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Read more reviews... | Add your own review

Most Helpful Reviews


10/10   Quick & Easy Claims,
My rescue dog started getting sick, and after multiple vet visits they determined she had rocky mountain spotted fever. After all her treatments, I brought my claim form to my vet, they filled it out & sent it in. Within 2 weeks I had received reimbursement from Trupanion for my over deductible out of pocket costs. I was very pleased with the speed and service! Better than my health insurance. read more

Lisa, parent of a Mixed Breed
 
9/10   Excellent company,
We originally had signed up for the purina care- preventative plan, when our dog was 9 months old. After 3 years we decided to reduce the policy to the basic plan. At 4 years old our dog needed emergency dental work. She had many retained baby teeth (that could not be removed when she was spayed- because most of her adult teeth had not erupted). The company could have claimed that they wouldn't pay for it-… read more

Cw, parent of a Chihuahua
 
5/10   Beware,
As with most insurance companies, they will do ANYTHING to not pay a claim. We've spent thousands in premiums and deductibles over the years... and have seen little return in comparison (part of the insurance gamble, I know). Every claim requires extensive paperwork, calls back and forth between the insurance company and vet, it's exhausting. Ultimately, if they don't want to pay your claim, they'll find… read more

Victoria Jablonski, parent of a Mixed BreedMixed Breed
 
10/10   Recommend this Company,
I purchased this insurance for my 10 year old dog, and later that same month, he was diagnosed with terminal cancer. PurinaCare covered his surgery, chemo and ultimate euthanasia. I received the checks promptly and had no issues with it. I have coverage on my other dogs as well. No issues with them, thank goodness, but I'm glad I have insurance as a back up against big expenses like Roscoe had. It… read more

Karen Valerio, parent of a Mixed Breed
 
1/10   Conveniently did not start my application ,
I got a confirmation email on Dec 2, 2012 and now I am ready to submit a claim for the preventive care and they conveniently tell me my application was never received! read more

Kumar, parent of a Great Dane
 


Review PurinaCare review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here