Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Breeds > Poodle > Reviews

Pet Insurance Reviews from Poodle Owners


10/10   The Silver lining
We panicked when our five month old mini poodle had a seizure. It quickly became wors when little Logan had a second seizure at our Vets office. We were referred to a specialized veterinary hospital, where the charges were soon over two thousand dollars and possibly much more, depending on test results. We paid but now had additional stress because of the financial payments we would be making. We remembered that our Vet had discussed Trupanion insurance with us when we brought Logan in for his initial check up. Thankfully we enrolled Logan. When we called Trupanion about coverage, we were put at ease by Brendan at Trupanion, who preauthorized our claim over the phone so we could concentrate on getting our Logan well. To have the unlimited 90% coverage was a blessing. Our Logan is on his way to recovery and we have peace of mind relative to the financial cost of his care. Getting Trupanion was the best insurance decision we ever made.
Company: Trupanion   Injury/Illness: Seizures   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Logan, 1/17/2017
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Best Pet Insurance Around
Healthy Paws have been absolutely amazing in their support of the health issues of our beloved furbaby. Not only is their turnaround super fast, they are also quick to respond to questions via email and on the phone. Our baby had major issues that suddenly came on requiring an MRI and other costly diagnostics, and they covered almost everything. The only thing not covered are the office/exam/consultation fees. The half a star off full score is not for excluding normal office visit fees but rather for excluding consultation fees during hospitalization since at this point in time we as puppy parents dont even get asked by the doctors if we are ok to have another specialist look at our furbaby. He is already in hospital, in emergency care, so of course they call in whichever specialist they think is necessary - but for every new specialist that sees him, we have to cover the full fee. Also, it was stressful not to be able to get a hold of anyone from 12/31-1/02. It would be great to have an emergency number for those cases.
Company: Healthy Paws   Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Annette, 1/11/2017
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Couldn't be more pleased
Every time I deal with Embrace (and it seems to be a lot lately) I am left with a good feeling. I feel like my two pups are in great hands. What a relief to know that I have a responsive, caring, top-notch insurance company for my pets. I only wish they would do human insurance.
Company: Embrace   Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Toy Poodle
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Justin Williams, 12/28/2016
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   No Regrets
We signed up for pet insurance when we got a standard poodle puppy, Katie. We have used it sporadically for the six year. She is now 7 years and had a bout with pancreatitis. The expenses of tests x-rays, and treatment are around $3000. ASPCA Pet Insurance has paid 80% of most of the expenses (except those that are above "customary" rates. We are retired folks living on limited income and this has been a life saver for us and Katie. Submitting a claim is easy and the reimbursement payments are made promptly.
Company: ASPCA   Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Judy, 12/8/2016
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   A small price to pay...
If you wonder whether paying each month for pet insurance is worth it, I say YES...it is a small price to pay, when and if you need to file a claim for a $2600 surgery! Embrace has been absolutely great in handling my dog's claims and making sure I had the money back in my bank account before I had to pay the credit card payment. They were always available to answer my questions and alleviate all my concerns.
Company: Embrace   Injury/Illness: patellar luxation   Breed: Toy Poodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sharon Johnson, 12/5/2016
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Frustrating and Costly
We started with AKC Insurance when our dog was a pup. Premiums were reasonable, just over $30 a month for sick coverage only. Around age 3-4 she had some health issues and claims that were covered reasonably, though never near what we were paying the vets in a metro area. Even though our dog had very few claims after that and was quite healthy, the rates more than doubled when she turned 7, then doubled again at age 10 (AKC told us this is normal), and finally increased to over $2,000 this past March (and this does NOT include wellness care!!). Everyone else we've talked to with pet insurance is shocked at what we are paying. Since our dog has been quite healthy for most of her life, we considered dropping the insurance this year just before she turned 12. In May she developed a neurological condition and we were glad we still had insurance, however, it recently took four months for $3,500 in costs to be processed and paid at just over $2,000. Because of the number of calls, faxes and communications required of my vet to process the claims, my vet has had to charge us separately for her administrative time. She believes the insurance company seem to be trying to avoid or delay paying on claims. And she finds AKC to be the most difficult insurance company to deal with. Furthermore, we've discovered that any condition a pet has is limited to a $3,000 lifetime incidence limit!! Be sure to read the fine print in the policy. There are many exclusions and limits that you wouldn't expect. Premiums are going up and coverage is going down. And the claims process has become quite time consuming and frustrating.
Company: AKC   Injury/Illness: neuralogical deficit   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Diana, 12/5/2016
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Empathetic Pet Insurance
We have used USPCA insurance for our dogs for many years. It gives us peace of mind to know that we do not have to worry about expenses when a dog gets sick. The claims are easy to make and the payment is prompt. When a dog has been sick, they call to see how the dog is doing. When a dog died, they send a condolence card.
Company: ASPCA   Injury/Illness: ingested a sheet   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sandra Burditt, 11/19/2016
Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66





  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close