Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for PCF

Add a Review


Filter By:    


9/10   Very pleased
We've had a few major claims including one for over $3,000 and one that happened out of country. We've never had a problem with them paying anything we were entitled too. When one of our dogs died due to an accident they paid to have him euthanized, part of his cremation costs and even paid us the $800 we paid for our dog (which in truth felt a little weird and we made a donation in his name with the money). Yes, when one of our dogs had a very expensive year, they did reduce our co-pay to 60% but the next year they put it back up to 80% without us every asking. When I was looking for insurance, two things were very important to me. 1. They would not cancel my pet's insurance regardless of the number of claims. 2. My monthly premiums would not increase because of claims. They were the only insurance company that had these two features. I completely understood increasing our co-pay and at least this was something that was in my control since I knew what to expect. But canceling my pets or raising the premiums was too risky for me. We just got another dog and did shop around to see what else is out there but still found PC to be the best for us.
Injury/Illness: neck   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Mark, 7/3/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   If you want a small refund, PC is for you
I cannot recommend this company. Each time I had a claim, I received what I feel is a small portion back. After I would have a claim, the following year they would increase my insurance unilaterally saying it is like for a cost of living increase in your area. In addition, they would unilaterally reduce the percentage I would be given back based on any previous claim. If you animal was ill previously, my rates would go up and my percentage would decrease, not fair.
Injury/Illness: skin problem gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Vizsla
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Frustrated in Vancouver, 6/20/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Reduce coverage due to a claim 2 years ago
We bought this coverage for our dog when he was a puppy in 2009. We had 2 claims in 2012. They reduced our co-pay to 60% then after 6 months put it back up to 80%. We just received a letter stating they reviewed our file and we are now at 60% co-pay with no reduction in premium. Why would you penalize a client for making a claim 2 years. Insurance is suppose to be protection for the unexpected. We are extremely disappointed with PC Insurance.
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney)   Breed: Schnauzer
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Antoinette, 12/3/2013
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Not worth it
Slow slow slow...painfully slow. They take forever to repsond. They deny your claim very quickly however for whatever pathetic excuse they can find. Their website is slow, their people are slow...never expect to get a response even when you call. Worst insurance ever.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Anouk 199, 10/28/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Burn your money instead
I've been paying in to this plan for the past 8 years and they have reimbursed me a total of $37. Their plan seems to be deny deny deny no matter what the ailment. I want to stop paying but I'm scared that the moment I do is when my dog will have a major issue that just might be covered. What a waste
Injury/Illness: skin problem thyroid assorted, as well as getting her tail stuck in car door   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kim Harding, 10/16/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   They lie, overcharge you and deny you
I had a policy, my dog had a condition, i got it diagnosed, and confirmed my steps and actions with PC pet ins before making them, crossed my t's and dotted my I's. They denied me and didnt even tell me, I had to call after 3 months and after that I had staff members and excuses. I cancelled the policy, then a month later they sent me a new bill, then I got a voicemail, they claim to have not gotten my cancellation from a few months ago so I still owed!! I had to cancel it again and they tried to overcharge me on how many months I owed. Then they have the audacity to threaten me exactly a week after I cancelled wt sending me to collections. Their policies are vague which gives me the ability to deny, their staff are rude and managers are never available. NEVER USE THEM
Injury/Illness: t   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Patricia, 9/28/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   well worth it!!
I have been with pc insurance for over 2 years now.I have always has wonderful customer sevice from them, my claims are handled quickly and Iam very happy with the payout on all claims. I recommend pc to my friends and family and thay all seem to be happy also.
Injury/Illness: ear problem eye problem skin problem   Breed: Bullmastiff
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
ellen phillipson, 8/24/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5


Review PCF review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close