Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for PCF

Add a Review


Filter By:    


4/10   wont use them for new dog
Went with PC for two dogs after frustrating experience with Petsecure. However, now that the dogs are elderly and I have need to make claims, I am disappointed with the payouts. Claim is 100% covered but deductible and co insurance eats up most of my claims resulting in about 25-30% payout. I will be shopping around should I decide to insure the pup.
Injury/Illness: arthritis   Breed: Bulldog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
S Darren, 10/18/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
2/10   Do Not Choose this Pet Insurance Provider
We had our 2 dogs insured through this service provider and their low cost pet insurance we now understand means low level customer service as well as little to no coverage for our dogs. Their customer service rep. continuously got our 2 dogs mixed when speaking to her on the phone and gave us incorrect information. Also, they way they interpret the vet's note/report to the extreme was very disappointing to say the least. Our larger dog has a corn on his foot which they interpret as being a dog with a lame leg, unable to walk and put an exclusion for 6 months on his file. To make matters worse the vet put on the dog's report that he has separation anxiety which is quite normal for dogs from a shelter. PC Insurance then put a 2nd exclusion on our dog's file saying he has severe behavioural problems. This insurance company will interpret what your vet sends them to the extreme and put exclusions so that they do not have to pay for your dog's medical costs. Which brings me to the question then why would I get pet medical insurance if it's not going to cover anything? This is a useless insurance and you will be paying monthly fees for little to no coverage. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
Injury/Illness: corn on pad of paw and separation anxiety   Breed: Greyhound
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Andrew, 8/29/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Horrid communication and organization.
I had changed banks and called to have the billing accounts changed. Showed on my profile that the new account was attached to my system but they still billed the old account drawing it into the negative and costing me NSF fees. I called to have this refunded and I've been waiting 3 weeks for an answer. Absolutely HORRID communication between them and the customer as well as absolutely TERRIBLE organization in this business. It's run by a bunch of zoo reject monkeys.
Injury/Illness: Billing issue.   Breed: Norwegian Forest
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Max Knight, 6/27/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   WORST INSURANCE - PAYING FOR NOTHING - SCAMMERS!
I don't usually take the time to write reviews but this has just been the most horrible experience that I need to share with everyone. Such a waste of money. I tried to submit two different claims and they always said it was "excluded" from their policy...which mind you, that is their favorite word....they make EVERYTHYING excluded. Not to mention, when I initially called in to inquire about a pet policy for my dog, the rep on the phone came me completely FALSE information. The whole purpose in getting insurance for my dog was to cover vet visits and annually shots (which a year can cost around $250. Everything they had told me was a lie, or always found a way around something they previously said. I am so pissed and disgusted by this insurance company and their STUPID policy. You are basically paying for an incident where your pet gets hit by a car or breaks a bone (they would probably find a way to "exclude" this from your policy too. (scammers!!!) When I went to go cancel my policy two different reps gave me different information on the cancelation process. These people have no idea what they are talking about, ever! I was put on hold for no word of a lie, 8 times!!!! Every question I asked he (Riley) needed to go and confirm with a different rep. IF YOU DONT KNOW YOUR INFORMATION DO NOT GIVE INSURANCE ADVICE OVER THE PHONE. don't get insurance from PC!!!!! This is a waste of money and they are liars and have no idea what they are talking about.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Nicole, 5/26/2016
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   BEWARE FRAUD COMPANY!!!!
I HAVE HAD PET INSURANCE WITH WESTERN FINANCIAL INSURANCE+PC PET INSURANCE SINCE DAY 1 SINCE THEY FIRST OFFERED PET INSURANCE IN CANADA AND I NEVER HAD NO CLAIMS WHAT'S SO EVER UNTIL 2015-2016 AND THEY ARE BY FAR THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY I HAVE EVER USED!! THE HIGHER UP MANAGEMENT ARE THE WORST WITH NO ANIMAL COMPASSION WHAT'S SO EVER AND ARE NOTHING BUT RUDE DISRESPECTFUL FRAUDSTERS WHO ARE LOOKING FOR WAYS AND LOOP HOLES TO DENY YOUR PETS CLAIM AND ONCE YOU START TO COMPLAIN TO THE INDEPENDENT OMBUDSMAN THEY WILL CANCEL AMD TERMINATE YOUR POLICY AND THEN TURN IT AROUND ON YOU ANN THEN THEY WILL THROW YOU TO THE WOLF'S!! WESTERN FINANCIAL INSURANCE COMPANY IS NOTHING BUT A COMPLETE SCAM AND THEIR HIGHER UP MANAGERS AND THEIR HIGHER UP SUPERVISORS THERE ARE ALL A BUNCH OF CRIMINALS THAT BELIEVE THEIR OWN LIES AND THEY ALSO HAVE MORE STORYS THAN WALT DISNEY AND ARE ALL WOLFS DRESSED UP IN SHEEP CLOTHING AND ARE LOOKING FOR EVERY LITTLE LOOP HOLE AND EXCUSE NOT TO PAY OUT YOUR CLAIMS AND THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU OR YOUR ANIMALS!! AND THESE CRIMINALS AMD FRAUDSTERS ONLY CARE ABOUT IS ONLY YOUR MONTHLY FEES AND ALL THEY ARE IS NOTHING BUT A BUNCH OF CRIMINALS WITH A LICENCE TO STEAL!! AND WESTERN FINANCIAL INSURANCE IS BY FAR THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY IN CANADA WHO LIKES TO HIDE UNDER A DIFFERENT NAME CALLED PC INSURANCE AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHY PC FINANCIAL BANK WOULD EVEN LET WESTERN FINANCIAL INSURANCE COMPANY USE THEIR NAME??? ALL THEIR DOING IS DESTROYING PC FINANCIAL BANKS NAME AND REPUTATION!! WESTERN FINANCIAL INSURANCE HAS CAUSED ME TOO LOSSE MY FAMILY DOG TO THE VETRENARIAN HOSPITAL BECAUSE I HONESTLY THOUGHT I WAS FULLY INSURED BY PC PET INSURANCE BUT THEN TO FIND OUT THAT MY CLAIM WAS DENIED BECAUSE I NEVER HAD PROPER RECENT DOCUMENTATIONS TO PROVE REGARDING MY YOUNG DOGS HEALTH HISTORY IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS AND THEIR STORY ALWAYS KEEPS CHANGING AND ALL THEY LOOK FOR IS CERTAIN LOOP HOLES TO TRY TO DENY YOUR PETS CLAIM ESPECIALLY IF IT'S CRITICAL ILLNESS CLAIM! I CAN'T PICK UP MY FAMILY DOG FROM HOSPITAL BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE $6,000 TO PAY THE VET BILL $$$ AND MY WIFE AND YOUNG KIDS HAVE BEEN CRYING NON STOP WONDERING WHERE THERE DOG IS??? I JUST CAN'T AFFORD TO PAY THE ANIMAL HOSPITAL AND THE ANIMAL HOSPITAL WILL NOT RELEASE MY DOG UNLESS MY DOGS PAID IN FULL? AND THIS IS THE PIECE OF MIND AND THANK YOU THAT I GET FROM WESTERN FINACIAL INSURANCE WHO LIKES TO HIDE UNDER THE NAME PC PET INSURANCE!! PEOPLE PLEASE BEWARE THIS INSURANCE COMPANY IS N
Injury/Illness: bladder   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Steven, 4/5/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Terrible
I have had the worse experience with PC pet insurance. When I got my 2 month old puppy insurance, I made the mistake saying she cried when we left the house (like any puppy does) and they made any behavioural concern an exclusion. I have been fighting with them for 4 months now, they made me jump threw hoops for absolutely nothing. My vet has called them several times explaining my dog never had anxiety or behavioural issues and they won't accept it. They are complete idiots. Anytime I call I am put on hold for 20 min, finally they say they have to call me back. Any claim I have made take 2 months to get my money back. Everything about them is awful, terrible service. When you want to speak to a manager or someone in charge I was told there was no one in that position.....everything about them is super sketchy. I do not recommend!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Standard Poodle
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
J-A, 1/28/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Stay away fromthis insurance
I've been a client with PC Pet insurance. I submitted a claim in Aug 2015, after a month of wait I emailed customer service to het information. I received a response 3 days later stating they were expericning longer delay in processing claims. I asked if this was temporary and responded (again 3 days later) that yes, there were trining new people and the delay should resume to normal time 5 biz days. I submitted a new claim Dec 2015 (including 3 vet service), after 2 weeks sent another email to inquire about claim. The response was quite short and direct, we are processing claims submitted Nov 30 and will process your claim when we get to that date Dec 2. Yesterday Dec 27, loggedon the website to see status, an explanation of benefits was there dated Dec 24 (never received a notfication), the claim was processed; but out of the 3 services, only 2 were processed. Of course the 2 lower amounts. The big amount of $797 was not processed. Anyways I called today Dec 28th and it looks like the office is closed for holidays. I will try tomorrow but it sounds like it might be closed until next week in the new year. In other words: STAY AWAY FROM THIS INSURANCE!!! I'm also a customer with their financial services and consider just switching completely.
Injury/Illness: skin problem cysts   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Patrick, 12/28/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7


Review PCF review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close