Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for PCF

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Terrible
I have had the worse experience with PC pet insurance. When I got my 2 month old puppy insurance, I made the mistake saying she cried when we left the house (like any puppy does) and they made any behavioural concern an exclusion. I have been fighting with them for 4 months now, they made me jump threw hoops for absolutely nothing. My vet has called them several times explaining my dog never had anxiety or behavioural issues and they won't accept it. They are complete idiots. Anytime I call I am put on hold for 20 min, finally they say they have to call me back. Any claim I have made take 2 months to get my money back. Everything about them is awful, terrible service. When you want to speak to a manager or someone in charge I was told there was no one in that position.....everything about them is super sketchy. I do not recommend!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Standard Poodle
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
J-A, 1/28/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Stay away fromthis insurance
I've been a client with PC Pet insurance. I submitted a claim in Aug 2015, after a month of wait I emailed customer service to het information. I received a response 3 days later stating they were expericning longer delay in processing claims. I asked if this was temporary and responded (again 3 days later) that yes, there were trining new people and the delay should resume to normal time 5 biz days. I submitted a new claim Dec 2015 (including 3 vet service), after 2 weeks sent another email to inquire about claim. The response was quite short and direct, we are processing claims submitted Nov 30 and will process your claim when we get to that date Dec 2. Yesterday Dec 27, loggedon the website to see status, an explanation of benefits was there dated Dec 24 (never received a notfication), the claim was processed; but out of the 3 services, only 2 were processed. Of course the 2 lower amounts. The big amount of $797 was not processed. Anyways I called today Dec 28th and it looks like the office is closed for holidays. I will try tomorrow but it sounds like it might be closed until next week in the new year. In other words: STAY AWAY FROM THIS INSURANCE!!! I'm also a customer with their financial services and consider just switching completely.
Injury/Illness: skin problem cysts   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Patrick, 12/28/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Stay away!!!
I was very disappointed to learn that the pet insurance I purchased through PC Pet Insurance in 2014 had an exclusion that I wasn’t made aware of at the time of purchase. I learned that PC Pet Insurance is now refusing to pay my pets medical bills due an exclusion for vomiting! The behavior demonstrated by PC's management team was unacceptable, and in the way which this matter was handled no one should have to experience. Stay away!!!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Amy, 12/16/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Totally disorganized and with poor records
Here is the email I sent them today. I spoke to one of your reps earlier this morning. Unfortunately I lost all my files when we moved to our latest house, so I am dependent on you to provide background information on my policy. I have to tell you that I have absolutely no confidence in what I am being told. . You have my policy start date as being October 2, 2006. I find this very hard to believe, given that I got Misty in the spring of 2005 and certainly would not have waited that long to get coverage. Then I was told by your customer service rep that it could have been earlier but you have no records prior to 2006 because of a change in company ownership. So not only is the 2006 date incorrect, but it appears that you have no way of confirming that the October 2 date is correct. This affects my recent claim for $352.56 (only the second one made since coverage began - probably 10 years ago) because it was dated prior to Oct 2 this year so was impacted by what you tell me was the $500 deductible for the 2014/2015 year. The Summary of Insurance which you attached to your email shows an Effective Date of October 2, 2013. Your rep tells me that policies are renewed annually, and so the effective date changes at that time. So why is the effective date 2013 and not 2014 .... or 2015? Also that same Summary shows a monthly premium of $51.94. If this is the case why am I being charged $68.56 each month? This is definitely not an HST difference. In spite of t
Injury/Illness: 2 Claims. Weight loss, suspected renal disease, osteoartharitis, torn nail, possible CCL rupture   Breed: Collie
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Elizabeth Cox, 12/2/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   A big Fat Scam!
Took a month just to receive policy in the mail to find out they still needed me to have vet send records which I gave permission on the application. Got the records sent, had to call myself to make sure they received them and at that point was informed we already had exclusions due to us bringing our pup in for diarrhea which was cleared in a week since he just needed another dewormer. At a couple dollars shy of $60/mon, being a $700/yr policy plus deductable and already have exclusions over a common thing puppies get as they do eat things like grass etc. We cancelled right away and will just put that money aside ourselves for future possible vet costs for ailments etc. Unfortunately it still cost us a non-refundable month which is hardly fair when we were never covered in the first place. Biggest Scam Ever!!!!
Injury/Illness: None   Breed: Doberman
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Completely Unsatisfied, 8/8/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   Have to do their job for them.....
While the customer service folks on the phone are very sympathetic and nice, they don't have enough staff licensed for clients in Quebec, and follow-ups with the claims department are often forgotten or take too long. The claims themselves are processed within unreasonably long delays (a month or more) and they don't keep you up to date with the status (ie. missing document, signature, asking the vet for additional medical records, etc). I review every claim and keep notes on how they categorize every medication, treatment and illness and they very often make mistakes, miss items, or cover the wrong cat, so I need to call and have them review all the time otherwise I'd be missing money!
Injury/Illness: cancer renal (kidney) liver, pancreas, dental   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Stephanie, 12/23/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   In one word unhappy.
I have been a client with pc pet insurance for over 10 years. I a couple of claims two years ago and those claims were handled in a reasonable amount of time (I received my money from the claims within a couple of weeks). However I took my ill cat to the vet and had to file three claims within a couple days. It has taken three weeks for them to finally send me emails saying they are now reviewing two of my claims.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Liana Fior, 10/27/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Great coverage!
We have had PC insurance since our dog milo was a puppy. We have made several claims, for example when she ate something bad and needed overnight care, and had NO problems. The customer care center is very helpful. The premiums are very competitive rates. Highly recommended.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Beagle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Julia, 9/12/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6


Review PCF review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close