Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for PurinaCare

Add a Review


Filter By:    


10/10   Quick & Easy Claims
My rescue dog started getting sick, and after multiple vet visits they determined she had rocky mountain spotted fever. After all her treatments, I brought my claim form to my vet, they filled it out & sent it in. Within 2 weeks I had received reimbursement from Trupanion for my over deductible out of pocket costs. I was very pleased with the speed and service! Better than my health insurance.
Injury/Illness: Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Lisa, 10/25/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Excellent company
We originally had signed up for the purina care- preventative plan, when our dog was 9 months old. After 3 years we decided to reduce the policy to the basic plan. At 4 years old our dog needed emergency dental work. She had many retained baby teeth (that could not be removed when she was spayed- because most of her adult teeth had not erupted). The company could have claimed that they wouldn't pay for it- because deciduous teeth usually are not covered but under the circumstances they covered her. Her emergency bill was 120, the surgery was 2,500. They covered 1411.36 which is more than 1/2! They would have covered more had we kept the preventative plan (they didn't cover the dental cleaning portion). Overall we were very happy that her surgery was covered. Purina care paid for itself!
Injury/Illness: Dental   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Cw, 3/23/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Beware
As with most insurance companies, they will do ANYTHING to not pay a claim. We've spent thousands in premiums and deductibles over the years... and have seen little return in comparison (part of the insurance gamble, I know). Every claim requires extensive paperwork, calls back and forth between the insurance company and vet, it's exhausting. Ultimately, if they don't want to pay your claim, they'll find a reason not to (regardless of what the vet says). I am a strong proponent of pet insurance. If you can afford it, at least get a policy that covers illness and accidents. But I would not recommend this company specifically. Their customer service is less than polite. When they do pay claims however, it is a quick turnaround.
Injury/Illness: skin problem gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Victoria Jablonski, 3/8/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Recommend this Company
I purchased this insurance for my 10 year old dog, and later that same month, he was diagnosed with terminal cancer. PurinaCare covered his surgery, chemo and ultimate euthanasia. I received the checks promptly and had no issues with it. I have coverage on my other dogs as well. No issues with them, thank goodness, but I'm glad I have insurance as a back up against big expenses like Roscoe had. It saved me thousands of dollars.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Karen Valerio, 1/24/2013
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Conveniently did not start my application
I got a confirmation email on Dec 2, 2012 and now I am ready to submit a claim for the preventive care and they conveniently tell me my application was never received!
Injury/Illness: preventive   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Kumar, 1/8/2013
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Total Waste of Money - Look Elsewhere
I took out this policy on my 3 year old healthy Poochon. Purina finds every out possible to not pay claims. They are not fair and when they decide not to pay a claim it applies to any claim associated with the problem for the life of the dog. I will never deal with this company again. I am sure there are better pet insurance companies out there.
Injury/Illness: teeth cleaning   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Barbara, 12/4/2012
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Better than my health insurance
We bought a policy for our 2 year old lab after two ingestions (one chocolate, one Tylenol). If anything is left out, this dog will find it. We went with the most expensive plan for ~$50/month (80/20 after $250 deductible, includes preventative care). Any renal issue within the first 6 months was considered pre-existing because of the tylenol ingestion, but we got that restriction removed after the 6 months. To do that, I simply sent an e-mail asking for it to be reviewed. No tests, they just went over his medical records for the period from the ingestion to the present. We've had three big claims since getting this insurance. Once, when he ate something someone threw over the fence and it got stuck in his intestines. One for a malignant tumor. And lastly, an arthroscopy for elbow displagia. PurinaCare has been extremely timely with processing all claims and sending us a check. I've called them a few times on the phone and their staff has been very helpful and professional. We can't recommend them enough for pet insurance, especially if you have a mischievous dog.
Injury/Illness: Foreign object removal, Tumor removal, Elbow arthroscopy   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Doug, 10/22/2012
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Very Pleased
I had several mostly small claims. 1)My puppy got sick and was vomiting. 2)My puppy was attacked by a pit bull mix. 3)Puppy had an elevated liver enzyme that didn't no away. After 3 weeks on a medication, I took him to a specialist. He's fine. Claims were reimbursed quickly and without any aggravation. I have been very happpy with this insurance.
Injury/Illness: Several   Breed: Miniature Poodle
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Stephanie, 10/6/2012
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15


Review PurinaCare review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close