Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


4/10   Not worth it if puppy gets sick.
I got Banfield as soon as I got my puppy. He was doing fine and got all of shots. We took the advice of the vet and got him neutered. Afterwards, he started urinating while just standing or playing. You can tell he didn't even know it until he felt it puddling at his feet. I took back to the banfield vet who stated they wanted to do a urinalysis.This is not covered and neither is the medication if needed. What is the point of insurance if it doesn't cover anything if he gets sick. He was fine before the surgery.
Injury/Illness: bladder   Breed: Rottweiler
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Angela, 1/12/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   So called "Plan" is really a contract ... :-(
I have used Banfield for years. But I haven't had good vets since being in Maryland. I called to cancel and I was told by the rep "well you have a balance of $130 something which is the last three months payment on your Plan/Contract, so we are going to take out the next three months. I told him that "I will be taking Munchie to the vet for everything until then". TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Karen, 1/5/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Total ripoff
They say the "insurance" will save you money, but you end up paying at least what the service would cost at an independant vetenarian, plus they continue to charge you for "services used" for months afterwards. They won't tell you the amount you have "charged" or what you owe, other than paying off the rest of the term.
Injury/Illness: eye problem enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Willard Vance, 12/26/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   The Wellness Program is a con
I have taken my dogs to Banfield for the last 5 years, since moving to a new area. I have insurance through PetFirst (highly recommend it!) so while I have often questioned their prices and sometimes felt a need to fight off their high-pressure sales tactics, I have been happy with their individual veterinarians. A year ago my 8-year old dog was diagnosed with herniated disk disease. He was given pain, muscle relaxers and anti-inflammatory medications. We were told this was a chronic condition, but he seemed to make a full recovery. While on vacation this past summer, he had a flare-up of back pain and we went to a local vet who didn't see any evidence of disk disease. Again received pain and anti-inflammatory meds and fully recovered. 10 days ago he started showing signs of discomfort and on Sunday night he seemed to collapse in weakness, but rallied somewhat so I took him to Banfield the following day. They did more x-rays, saw no injury or disease but thought it was probably more back issues (and at the time it made sense to me too), and suggested at his age, I consider putting him on a long-term low dose of anti-inflammatory and pain meds. They then pitched their Special Care Wellness program, which seemed like a good idea since he was aging and it would cover a lot of what would become routine care. I signed up for it on December 9, paying $89 for the Wellness plan, and $192 for the x-rays and part of the meds. They told me without the plan, the cost would be over $500. I returned the next day for the x-rays. He had not improved and had begun vomiting up what little he ate, which I told them at the time. I returned on the 12th because he was much worse and was also vomiting any water he drank. He was given fluid via a needle in the back and I was charged another $38. The vet suggested that I try giving him a mild diet of chicken and rice, even though he couldn't hold water down at this point. By the next day he was obviously very sick, and the vet said we needed an ultrasound which they could not perform right away, and referred me to a pet ER/Specialist hospital. He was diagnosed with heart failure due to a large tumor on the heart, and had to be euthanized. I was told today that I am required to pay the remainder of the one year contract, even though the dog will obviously not be using any of the included service, or pay the "savings" I received on the initial x-rays, etc. So, after mis-diagnosing my dog's problem (probably twice), I c
Injury/Illness: heart failure/tumor   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Susan Jaeger, 12/15/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   they dont tell the truth regarding the insurance
We have used Banfield for the closeness of our home.We had an issue a couple years ago where our dogs waundered off and only one came back. We searched for 2 days calling all around and also called Banfield in case someone found our dog to notify us.They have been with Banfield for years. We were heart broken the 2nd day we walked our neighborhood to finally have a young man tell us they found the dog Sunday night and brought him to Banfield.We immediately rushed up there and when we asked if they had our dog the front desk girl was very hesitant. we asked to speak to someone else to only find out that other girl had take our dog home, and which should be against the rules and had we not come in she was keeping him.He is a pure bred.When my husband spoke to the vet he felt so bad he chipped both of our dogs for free. But she never got fired. We took them back for their yearly checkup and teeth cleaning and everytime they try to tell us stuff is wrong with the dogs. I refuse to pay more money to Banfield since we pay 65.40 each month for the better plan. Now our older dog passes away this past weekend we decide to call and cancel since we moved and I dont trust our only dog to go there, since he is the one the girl tried to keep and I am told we have to pay 7 more payments on the bill.This is robbery and crazy and the better business bureau should investigate these pet hospitals. I am highly aggrevated and hope my writing deters others from visiting there.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
bonnie, 12/11/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Highly recommended for new parents (Puppy owners)
We currently have no complaints with Banfield and their service. We are very happy with all the help and support we've been given. My puppy has been cared for and treated like part of our family. We like the fact of having "insurance" for our little one because we understand it can get expensive.
Injury/Illness: No claim no illness   Breed: Beagle
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: under a year
Alexis, 12/11/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   BANFIELD violated vaccine protocols
Beware Banfield Vets. They recommended and gave unneccessary vacinines to my indoor cat in violation of the Vaccine protocols which caused a VAS. They continuously gave my indoor cat the unneccessary FeLV vaccine year after year against protocols establed to prevent Vaccine associated Sarcomas. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vaccine-associated_sarcoma My cat died as a result. Another "real" vet told me that only a kitten or high risk (outdoor) cat should receive The FeLV vaccination per vaccine protocol due to the high risk of VAS. A healthy indoor cat should usually only get an annual distemper and rabies vaccine. If you want your pet to live a long healthy life, keep it away from the Banfield vets.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: American Shorthair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
C Nelson, 12/8/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Great for Puppies and perhaps first few years
As my dog approached middle age they overstated diagnosis, overcharged and tried to manipulate me. Told me he needed x-ray and EKG for heart murmur and instead performed a blood work-up diagnosing liver problem requiring additional expensive blood test that was necessary in order to do tooth cleaning. Two other vets that I consulted negated the liver issue and I had his teeth cleaned at half the price they charged. Since I don't do most of the shots(homeopathic) I believe that they are good for a few years while still a puppy or young. Once they have any issue-they exaggerate the problem and try to "make the season".I refused to talk to a local manager and insisted on hearing from corp.management. Finally did get a call from corp office and they did settle on no further monthly charges. Consensus was Oliver was healthy but did have a heat murmur that we should observe and the liver issue was not a problem Am giving him Milk Thistle and COQ10.
Injury/Illness: heart murmur   Breed: Maltese
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
carole gotthilf, 11/16/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close