Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  

Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Pets Best
VetCare Health

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
United Pet Care


UK Pet Insurance


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review

Filter By:    

1/10   Please do not go there
Banfield stopped ordering medication that they had prescribed for my dog and he had been on for over a year. My dog has a collapsed trachea and the medication is crucial for him. Now they have decided to no longer order the medication. When I tried to cancel the wellness plan because of this, they told me I could not until time for the plan to renew. They will not let you out of your plan. Now I have to pay $52 per month and pay a new vet. This is horrible customer service.
Injury/Illness: collapsed trachea   Breed: Poodle (toy)
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Patricia Otto, 11/5/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   The insurance sucks
I just called and tried to cancel my plan, they are arguing with me about who started the plan which was me for both dogs and My name is first for both dogs yet they think my husband is on one of the plans and he may be as someone who can pick up or make emergency calls, but its my bank account woman was rude and obviously dumb as shit !
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Angelia, 10/12/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   Cage dogs all day for yearly checkup
I took my 14 year old dog to Banfield on Saturday for her yearly exam and was told I had to drop her off and pick her up 7 hours later, during this time she would be caged between tests and her exam. I asked why they needed to keep her so long and voiced my concerns because of my dogs age (14) and her anxiety level. The woman behind the counter did not seem to care at all about my dog and her health and simply said, it takes 2 hours for the exam and they don't have time to do it all at once so she would need to be caged all day! I told her I was not comfortable with that and left! I have the monthly plan and pay $35/mo...but will be cancelling and taking my sweet old girl to a vet clinic that actually cares about the well being of the animals they see and not just about making more money by being inhumane to the dogs while waiting to be put in a production line of shots and exams! I am very disappointed and will NOT return. I have been taking my dog there since I rescued her at 7 months...but all they seem to care about now is maximizing profits and not the pets!
Injury/Illness: Annual checkup   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Jennifer, 10/12/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   You are asking for trouble with Banfield
Took our 12 week old sick cocker to Banfield and agreed to their Wellness plan, 3 months later our puppy was still having problems, and the wellness plan was an absolute joke, I would advise prospective clients to avoid banfield and especially the wellness plan. I couldn't in good conscience continue bringing my puppy to Banfield so I just paid the remaining cost for the plan and moved on as a complete waste of time and money. Now my puppy is doing great after receiving treatment from another Vet. Chalking it up to "Live and Learn"
Injury/Illness: infection   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Prim, 10/12/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
10/10   Love them
I've been taking both my shih tzu and min pin to banfield for over 8 years. I've never experienced bad side effects but I also didn't neglect my dogs medical care until I needed it, I was proactive about my pets care because they are very important to me. I was in medical school with a guy who was already a vet and he said his graduate veterinary program was much harder than MD school because of how many different species and breeds within the different species they had to learn about. I have much respect for someone who becomes a vet you must really care about animals to spend that much time in school to make less than most PhD and professional degree holders just to have people say your in it for the money...
Injury/Illness: ear problem skin problem   Breed: Miniature Pinscher
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Anonymous, 10/2/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   Wellness Plan
The wellness plans at Banfield are a total rip off. They state in the brochure that anesthesia and radio-graphs will be covered in your plan. This is totally misleading and false advertising. Anesthesia is only covered for "preventative" surgeries which according to them ONLY includes dental cleaning. You will be responsible to cover to cost of any other anesthesia which runs around $400. You also only receive 1 radio-graph test per year. Having a senior dog I decided to go with the most expensive plan ($40 per month) they had available thinking most things would be covered. This was a bad idea. I'm now out $480 plus the cost of my dogs surgery. Also, they do not provide overnight hospitalization after surgery so you are responsible for picking your pet up and taking it to an all night ER to be taken care of which costs from $300-500 for one night. Then the next morning you have to bring your pet back to Banfield to be reexamined and possibly stay for observation for the remainder of the day. And of course this costs more money. I have canceled my plan and will not be going back to Banfield again.
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney)   Breed: American Bulldog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Sara Sullivan, 9/30/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   They are bad news.
I had brought my Min Pin in for a exam and they told me he had a ear infection, ok. The Doc said to put 3 drops of Remicin ointment in his ear twice daily. Know he is complexly DEAF. My dog is my hole life, I let him down by not watching his back. The Doc. had no mention of side affects. Poor Dobie. I have a broken heart and have been crying every night for him. I have no recourse with this company and I wish 60mins would do special on Benfield. Screw you Benfield you live in sin.
Injury/Illness: ear problem   Breed: Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Carlo Messineo, 9/27/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   Our precious 17 month old dog died, Beware
It took 2 doctors and 3 days to diagnose bowel obstruction. Unbelievable!!!!! sent elsewhere for surgery, too late.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Maltese
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
kim carleton, 9/14/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47

Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here

  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close