Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   THE WORSE NIGHTMARE !!!!!!!!
THIS ITS THE WORSE !!!!!!! Nightmare DON'T GET THIS they lie to you they are there to take your money I paid for 10 years the more expensive plan and every time my dog need they took cash even thought I have the well plan they are thieft !!!!! My dog had an emergency in December he was bited by another dog and they say I have to paid 1200.00 to start so I said but I been paying insurance all this years and they say it's not cover so I took my dog somewhere else I try to cancel the plan and they do t let you I would never Recomend this veterinary or plan the Banfield pet hospital Kendall Lakes 14025 SW 88th Street Miami, FL 33186 (305) 388-1480 Hospital Number: 0356 - See more at: http://www.banfield.com/our-hospitals/hospital-locations/location-pages/ken#sthash.5ssUfLGB.dpuf
Injury/Illness: They lie all the time that he need X-ray and other things them after they did they said. Oh dont need to worry he's ok   Breed: Fox Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Marie Vasquez, 5/2/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Big Time Rip Off
This company is the biggest scam around. Their main concern is selling their wellness plan - not the care and health of your pet. They target market to pet owners on the low end of the socio econic education scale and use scare tactics. Everything about the plan is a rip off. If you compare their charges with a private vet's charge, in every case it's double and I have never taken my pet that they didn't come up with extra charges. Unfortunately I signed up both my dog and cat but when they could not cure a viral infection for my cat, I paid off the contract and took him to a cat vet who cured him immediately. I asked her about Banfield and she said when she first had her vet degree, she got a job with Banfield. She went for the first day of training and realized by the day's end that the main concern was pressuring her to sell the wellness plan and when she looked at the prices for services, realized they were double a vet in private practice. She gathered her things, walked out the door and never returned. This company should be prosecuted for scamming.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Sara Georgiadis, 4/29/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Banfield - auto-pay scam
Canceling: I had Banfields insurance for 2 years and paid for the full year each time. When I did not renew, they started charging monthly on my AmEx. card - auto-pay. I personally visited Banfield’s Pet Hospital in Phoenix, twice in order to resolve the charges on my AmEx. card. During the first visit in July, I was told to call an 800 number for any billing issues. I called the “billing issues” Service. It went to a voice mail (after hours) so I left a voice message and contact information. No returned call. At one of the visits, I was informed it could be an auto-pay, and I stated I don’t do autopay on my AmEx card and did not authorized this. I received a letter from Banfield’s Billing department with a different contact 800 service number. In the letter, the Banfield was continuing to bill me monthly. I received another letter on 11/20/15 from Banfield’s billing service department. Again, the amount had increased. I called the billing service number on Nov. 3, 2015 and again, express that I did not want the insurance and that I did not authorized auto billing. I received another Banfield billing letter dated 11/20/15 with the amount continuing to increase. I followed up with a letter dated 12/1/15 (attached named: Banfield 1), expressing my frustration with Banfield’s representatives and did not want the pet insurance. I received another from Banfield on 1/21/16 with a more threating tone and stated the amount now owed was $107.80; continuing to increase each month. January 26, 2016, I called the number on that letter in order to resolve this issue and stated again, I did not want the insurance and stated “cancel, cancel, cancel.” (I have a witness to this call) and I also asked during this call to the representative, why didn’t the representative that I spoke to on the November 3 call cancel the insurance as requested. He stated something to the fact that he and other representative cannot while there is a balance due. That did not make sense to me. January 26, 2016, I followed up with a letter (attached “Banfield 2”) again outlying all the attempts to stop Banfield from continuing to bill me monthly. I event sent a check for the $107.80, just to stop the harassment and to keep my good name and credit rating. They had not cashed the check and around March 17th, I received a letter from a collection agency and I am now starting to receive phone calls for the collection agency.
Injury/Illness: attempts to cancel and auto-pay   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
EP, 3/30/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Do not sign up for the wellness plan
I signed up for the Wellness Plan for my four dogs. They tell me services are covered under the plan. I had to pay out of pocket every time I took my dogs to the vet. I called and canceled the plan today. They applied the remaining balance on the plan to my credit card. Here are some things I did not like about Banfield: 1. I was not allowed to go back with my pets when they had their shots. 2. When Titan, my boxer, hurt his leg, I took him in to the vet. My regular vet at Banfield wasn't in the office. I said that was fine he needs to be seen. They took him back without me to do X-rays on his leg. He tried to bite them. Of course he did. He felt threatened and did not know them. I okayed the sedation to get his X-rays done. Then the vet tells me it looks like he's okay and won't need surgery. Then he calls me back to tell me he's gonna need surgery for his partial ACL tear. The vet proceeded to try to bully me into scheduling him with an orthopedic surgeon. I said no thank you. Two weeks after that Titan was walking around with no problem. So if he has an ACL tear it must not be that severe. 3. The wellness plan does not save me money. I pay more per year than I would if I just took my dogs to a different vet twice a year. The woman on the phone with the wellness plans wanted to argue with me about how I'm saving money. No I am not. 4. I hate their policy of dropping your pets off all day for a checkup. I understand dropping them off off surgery. That's completely different. I want to be present when my pets are awake and being poked and prodded by people they don't even know. I have never had a vet that didn't allow you to be present for their regular checkups. I wish I would not have gone to Banfield. I could have saved money and stress by using a different local vet.
Injury/Illness: Injury   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Alicia, 3/29/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   HORRIBLE!!!!!!!
My dog was a ten year old yorkie the first time he got sick. I got the Banfield Wellness Plan Insurance after an employee at one of the hospitals convinced me it would save me hundreds of dollars. For ten years, I always paid for everything out of pocket because my dog was a healthy pup...but I was struggling financially and when he got sick, I figured the insurance would help me. WRONG!!!! I got the insurance October 2015 and my dogs illness progressively got worse. I was told Banfield couldn't help...so I went to a different hospital & paid A LOT out of pocket. So the insurance obviously did nothing. My dog recently passed away last month and I called to cancel the insurance. I was told I could not cancel it without " paying off what I still owed in the year long contract". In other words....I had to pay $250 for the remaining 6 months of the insurance that I was obviously not going to use FOR A DEAD DOG. I am infuriated and I would never recommend this insurance to ANYONE!!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Nicole G, 3/28/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Do not get this plan
For personal reasons had to move out of the country and didn't use the plan they kept charging my cc when I returned and tried to use the plan they did not honor the payments I had made and tried to charge another $450 to continue on plan or get any services. So I lost $450 to a greedy company... Worst service ever, plus the one time my dog got a dental cleaning and shots he was returned to me covered in feces. Very disgusting. They just want your money. They don't care about your pet. They won't allow you to be present when the dog is being vaccinated or treated.
Injury/Illness: "Wellness plan" dental cleaning   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Claudia, 3/21/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   STAY AWAY HUGE SCAM!
Do not sign up it is not worth it, do the math doesn't add up. In addition, you cannot discontinue if you don't do it the same day or next. They'll keep charging you even when you call within those days to cancel.
Injury/Illness: injury   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
ivette, 3/18/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   DO NOT USE BANFIELD
I just had the worst experience I have ever had at a vet. Banfield Pasadena has been seeing my dog for over a year and 6 months ago she started having heart problems. We started the "Wellness Program" in order to better care for our dog. This is a joke! Every time we called in a refill for a prescription (not covered in the plan by the way) we would show up to pick up the refill and the girls at the desk would have no idea what we were talking about. We then had to wait 45 minutes for them to fill the prescription and on one occasion was told they didn't have enough to fill it, also after waiting 45 minutes. Last night was the final straw. We dropped our dog off at 903am for the 9am to 930am drop off time. I called at 11am to ask around what time we could pick her up and was told pick up is between 3pm and 4pm, sometimes earlier, but they would call us. I called again after 3pm and was told our dog was still being seen but they would call us when she was ready. By 430pm we just decided to go there. We were then told by a tech that they were waiting for our call to authorize blood work and xrays. We NEVER got a call asking this. We were also told that they see the dogs in the order they came in, not likely at 3 minutes after they opened that our dog was the last in line of 27 patients. We waited another hour before we even saw a doctor who reprimanded us for being "demanding" and "inappropriate" all for wanting to know what was going on with our dog 8 hours after dropping her off. We were not irate or disrupting to other customers at all. We explained to the doctor all the front desk had said to us and she was confused by the misinformation we were given. Obviously the right hand does not talk to the left and the client in left to wonder what is going on. Neither the xrays or the blood work were covered, leaving me wondering what we pay for in the "Plan". I will not return to this location and will not renew the "Wellness Plan". I warn everyone do not use Banfield, they are only interested in your money. They care nothing for your animal.
Injury/Illness: enlarged heart   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Amanda, 3/14/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close