Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Fraud! Say NO to Wellness Plans
Absolutely horrible place! Please do not bring your pet here. They are incredibly rude and inexperienced. They don't care about your pet. They only care about padding your bill and making as much money off of you as possible. They will charge you for things that they didn't even do. Definitely don't purchase any of their Wellness Plans. They change the dates on when they renew to suit their needs. If you think they only renew on the anniversary date when you signed them, think again. They unethically change the contract date, without your knowledge, and when you try to cancel it you will be forced to pay for another year.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sil, 11/3/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Banfield Pet Hospital
Never thought I would find myself writing a review, but I feel as if I have to help others and open their eyes. On October 18th, 2016, I took my miniature schnauzer, China, to the Pembroke Pines Banfield Pet Hospital for a routine check-up. I mentioned to the front staff that her appetite had decreased, but figured it was due to her 12 years of age. They called me a few hours later to inform me that China had an infected uterus and it had to be removed or she would eventually die. I found it suspicious that her daughter, Salty, had just been there a month before her and suffered from the same condition and had to have emergency surgery to have her uterus removed as well. I payed 1,100 for Salty's surgery. I brought this up and they told me it was a plainly coincidental, but stressed that she was in dire need for the removal and it had to be performed immediately to save her life. China, being my baby girl, I figured I had to do what I could to save her life. Even if I was broke, even if I had my suspicions. I pulled together every last cent I could and paid another 1,100. I picked China up that evening and took her home. She seemed sedated and out of it that night but the next day was back to normal or so I thought. At around 10 pm on October 18th, China had a horrible seizure, I panicked and called Banfield, which was closed, so I called a 24 hour vet and they told me all I could do is wait and make sure she didn't get hurt till it passed. So my family and I decided to wait till the morning to take her back to Banfield. China had four more seizures that night. I took her back to Banfield in the morning in tears, October 19th, a day I will never forget. She had another seizure in the car, almost causing me to get into an accident. I walked in with her foaming from her mouth and tears in my eyes. They took her and told me they would contact me once they evaluated her. China had never, in her 12 years, had a seaizure. They called me an hour later, informing me her surgery might have caused the seizures and they needed to administer a shot, another $200 to help her. I mentioned the fact that she had never had seizures before and that I was flat broke. I had her on the "wellness" plan and if there was anything they can help me with.. if this plan covered anything at all?? They passed me around to different staff and I eventually agreed to pay the fee. They then transferred me to "the front". They thought they had put me on hold but apparently hadn't. I then he
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Miniature Schnauzer
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Mayvelin Riveron, 10/24/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Still Paying for a Deceased Pet
Our dog (a 12 year old Shih Tzu) recently died. I have paid every month for her plan since she was 8 weeks old. I only used the plan for yearly checkups so it was a ridiculous amount of money to pay. Since our sweet doggie died I waited on the phone for 45 minutes to be told that I must continue to pay for our dead dog. Even human plans are better. We are grieving the loss of our pet and is a financial burden. Please don't sign with this joke for a company.
Injury/Illness: death   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Carissa Simonet, 10/5/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Corperate doesn't care
Care - Seems like there is always additional charges, nothing's covered. Billing - We have 4 dogs, the oldest is 14. They have all been on the Wellness Plan their whole lives. So did our previous two dogs. We've been loyal customers and paid always on time. We had fraud on our checking account in May 2016. The bank sent out new debit cards (without notifying us first). We updated every bill about the change as soon as we learned about the new cards. Somehow 1 of the 4 dogs didn't get updated. Corporate assured me it was my fault it didn't get updated. I'll let you decide. In the meantime since the automatic transaction for that months payment didn't go through they immediately charged the whole amount for the plan and sent it to collections. It's now September and I've been getting phone calls from an 800 number with no sound, no one on the line, no message, nothing. I eventually found out it was I.C. System, Banfield's collection agency. They want their money. They want it now. I called corporate and the guy on the phone didn't care that we'd been customers for the better part of 20 years, or that we'd never made a late payment, he wanted his money. When I said I might cancel he said "Oh, ok, great, please hold" and transferred me to another person who wanted me to pay the over due balance so they could cancel the account. This is how they treat loyal customers. How do you think they'll treat you if you just signed up?
Injury/Illness: Wellness Plan   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Greg, 9/28/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Fraud
Ripoff. Didn't even look at my pet's mouth. I went in for a free exam for a dental cleaning and when I signed up for the wellness plan I was told I wasn't entitled to the free exam. What a load of crap! Thank goodness I came to my senses and took my dog to a real vet hospital and had the work done. All the cardiac workup Banfield insisted my dog needed was not necessary and my dog came through the procedure just fine. In fact there were complications during surgery that Banfield I am sure would not have been able to handle and God only knows what they would have done to my dog. I was not even informed of my right to cancel the contract which is a law in the state of Illinois.
Injury/Illness: Dental   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
M. Malnar, 9/17/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Fraud. Illegal business practices.
Brought pet in for free exam for dental cleaning. "Conned" into Wellness Plan which negated free exam. Brochure of plan indicated full anesthetic work up but was charged for x-ray of chest for possible heart murmur, additional charge for outside specialist to read x-Ray and then wanted another $324.00 for a cardiac. Up to this point no one even looked at my pet's mouth. Also, you can't read the contract until you sign something on a computer monitor and they don't inform you of your right to cancel which is an Illinois law on any installment contract. I took her to a "real" vet hospital, she didn't need the echo; had more extensive work than I believe they could have handled anyway. I would stay away from this place.
Injury/Illness: Dental   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Mary Malnar, 9/8/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Banfield is Ridiculous
I needed a US travel cert for my dog. I used the on Banfield cost calculator tyo see what it would cost to visit them for the cert, since they were only 5 minutes from my house, got an appointment right away-that should have been a clue! After a 2 minute exam, I was handed my cert (total time in office < 5 minutes), then was charged $75 dollars for all of this attention!I was charged double what the cost estimator stated. Banfield is nothing but a money making scheme that is absolutely overpriced and absolutely under delivers. Never again!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Alexis Graham, 9/7/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Don't do it !!!
Unless you have a pet that needs to see a vet several times each month, this will not be pleasant or a good deal for you. It also will, most likely, not be good for your pet. These places start out by doing a ridiculous amount of lab work before they "accept"your pet. Then the free lab work that is included becomes so expensive that you might as well stay a member for the rest of the year, when you try to quit and they tell you how much you will owe if you stop paying. So you are stuck with poor service and high added charges for things that aren't included. Oh, and just try to get an appointment after you have joined......good luck.
Injury/Illness: Needle biopsy   Breed: Australian Cattle Dog
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Gerry Fielding, 8/31/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close