Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


2/10   Bad plan
if you cancel your plan before the year end you must make up all the discounts they gave you. My dog died of cancer, so I canceled my plan, I had to make up hundreds of dollars in discounts that I got with my plan because I ended my plan before the year end, if you don't pay your credit will suffer. Just take your pet someplace else or pay as you go with them. There plan is not worth it.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Siberian Husky
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Lee Hawk, 7/20/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   Not tranferrable!
I re-homed my two puppies and have since found out, the plans don't tranfer with them. This is ridiculous! So in other words, I am stuck with paying off the plans for two dogs I no longer own. Not happy! This is not right! The plans should tranfer to the new owner, staying with the pet. I will not ever do business with Banfield again! Besides, you end up paying inflated prices for meds and any extras, of which pretty much everything is extra passed taking your pet thru the doors and speaking with a vet.
Injury/Illness: Plan does not follow animal   Breed: Terrier Mix
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Stephanie, 7/12/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Bladder
Since the take over of 5520 S Parker Rd in Aurora CO. the service has never been the same. This is the most rude and incompetant staff I have ever delt with. Everytime I go in there, someone is complaining about something that has gone wrong and the staff has no idea what is going on. My dog was taken to surgury for stones that were never found. I paid for Ultrasound from someone that apparently doesn't know how to read it and surgury from some failure of a doctor. Banfield made a huge mistake by removing Doctor Starman and it shows as that business went from a beacon in the Banfield system to a joke. Never going back.
Injury/Illness: bladder   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
pet, 7/11/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   BUYER BEWARE
THIS WELLNESS PLAN IS FRAUD, THE SERVICE IS HORRIBLE, CAN'T GET APPOINTMENT, THEY WANT EXTRA MONEY WHEN THEY ARE UNDERSTAFFED AS EMERGENCY FEE, POKED MY POOR DOG 11 TIMES TRYING TO GET BLOOD, THEY DID NOT DRAW ANY NOW I HAVE A BILL FOR BLOODWORK??? HORRIBLE VETS AND ASSISTANTS, RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE FRONT DESK WORKER, LESS THAN 30 DAYS NOW THEY SAY I CANT CANCEL HAVE TO PAY AN ENTIRE YEAR. BUYER BEWARE OF THIS IT IS A SCAM...
Injury/Illness: routine wellness/vaccinations   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
valerie b, 7/8/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   DON'T DO IT !!!
I have been fighting for months to recoup money after cancelling my wellness plan. They owe me over $400 in charges to my credit card. Their vet turnover is astounding with it seeming like new ones in their offices every year.
Injury/Illness: cancellation   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Very Upset, 7/2/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   NOT WORTH IT!!
I SIGNED UP FOR THIS PLAN WHEN I ADOPTED MY DOG. I TOOK MY DOG IN WITH SEVERAL PAIN (HE WOULD YELP/CRY AT THE TOUCH). THE DOCTOR STATED IT COULD THE DOGS PANCREAS OR A SLIPPED DISK (BIG VARIATION), BUT SHE WOULD NEED XRAYS AND BLOOD WORK. THE ESTIMATE FOR IMAGES AND BLOOD WORK WAS $560 "AFTER" THE DISCOUNT. THAT AMOUNT WAS NOT SOMETHING WE COULD AFFORD UPFRONT. I ASKED FOR A PAYMENT PLAN AND WAS TOLD THAT WAS NOT AN OPTION. THEY GAVE ME PAIN MEDICATION @ $45 AND SAID TO COME BACK IN A WEEK FOR A FOLLOW-UP... FOR WHAT? THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH HIM. I CALLED TO CANCEL THE PREMIUM AND WAS TOLD IF I AGREED TO PAY $25 "MORE" PER MONTH THE XRAYS AND BLOOD WORK WOULD BE INCLUDED AND I COULD MAKE MONTHLY PAYMENTS. WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY MORE IN ORDER TO MAKE MONTHLY PAYMENTS?? IN THE MEANTIME, MY DOG REMAINS SUFFERING AND IN PAIN. PREMIUM CANCELLED!!!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
YVONNE GARCIA, 6/17/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Cancelling - you will still pay!
Cancelling Banfield Wellness plan outright will involve your renewal date and either monthly charges until then or pay that amount up front. My renewal date is Sep, called in May, they charged me about 75.00 (24.95 a month for 3 months). I thought they would just charge me the monthly amount until Aug. So I'll check next month to see if charged, I don't trust them. The so called discounts and other services you thought would save you money through by having Banfield Wellness plan you really don't. I paid about 70 through Banfield, paid for 40 dollars same exact thing through the internet, what Banfield savings???? That's just one example. Also, prices differ at different Banfields, Ultrasound at one Banfield was 400, at another about half that price. Inconsistent.
Injury/Illness: cancellation complaint   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Susan, 6/14/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   First class service
Seven year old mini dashound with bad teeth. Two extractions and a deep cleaning. The service was best in class. Very professional service by all.
Injury/Illness: Tooth abcess   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Steve smith, 6/13/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close