Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  

Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Pets Best
VetCare Health

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
United Pet Care


UK Pet Insurance


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review

Filter By:    

1/10   They are bad news.
I had brought my Min Pin in for a exam and they told me he had a ear infection, ok. The Doc said to put 3 drops of Remicin ointment in his ear twice daily. Know he is complexly DEAF. My dog is my hole life, I let him down by not watching his back. The Doc. had no mention of side affects. Poor Dobie. I have a broken heart and have been crying every night for him. I have no recourse with this company and I wish 60mins would do special on Benfield. Screw you Benfield you live in sin.
Injury/Illness: ear problem   Breed: Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Carlo Messineo, 9/27/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   Our precious 17 month old dog died, Beware
It took 2 doctors and 3 days to diagnose bowel obstruction. Unbelievable!!!!! sent elsewhere for surgery, too late.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Maltese
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
kim carleton, 9/14/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
This was by far the biggest rip off and nightmare. Encountered several problems throughout my one year with the wellness plan. When I finally reached my year and called to cancel, the lady tells me that I've been paying for a neutering plan for my 13 year old dog that I never signed up for! She apologized and said I could contact the hospital and have it removed from my plan so that my last payment will be a little less, needless to say that was total BULL. The hospital said no changes could be made so I called customer service back and a new lady gave me a completely different answer. I was so fed up I just said goodbye and hung up, THANK GOD my year with these greedy idiots are over! They will tell you whatever they want to get you to sign up and to keep you. I paid over $90 a month! And SHOCKING, when I called to cancel they told me they can decrease my payments to $47 a month instead so I would stay, what a complete joke! That clearly shows you how much they've been ripping me off! It's just not worth it, I paid over $1,000 over the year for basically a teeth cleaning and flea medicine. Will take my business elsewhere!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Pomeranian
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Nai Saechao, 9/4/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   1 year contract
Our dog was stolen after calling to cancel monthly bill pay I was told that we could A . pay the remainder of the contract off B. continue with the monthly credit card deduction for 6 months at which time the plan would be cancelled.., after asking several dog owners how they felt about this ??? don't expect me to give them any business.., my wife is in tears about the puppy being stolen and Banfield insists that we have to oblige our contract.
Injury/Illness: cancellation   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
James, 8/27/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   don't bring your pet here. only care about money.
Horrible customer service. One of their employees messed up my dogs plan, and they had to start his all over. When they did this they told me his contract would still be up in the original month I started him. When I called that month to confirm that his plan ended they told me that I had signed something in february continuing his plan which I did not. I asked for the document they were speaking about, and they werent able to provide it to me. I went up there yesterday to pick up his heartworm which they said was no longer included on his plan, because whoever restarted his plan only put 6 months. I then asked if my monthly payments would go down since the heartworm was no longer included, and the employee rudely responded no. I have never been so angry and disgusted with a company who was to take care of my animal, and they failed. I was going to continue paying unti November when they claimed his plan was supposedly ending just so he could get his heartworm medicatio. But will not continue allowing them to take 50 dollars from my bank account for nothing. I have called my bank and disputed their charges since my dogs payment was originally supposrd to end, and have blocked all of there access to my account. I STRONGLY erge you to not bring your pet here if you care as deeply for them as I do care for mine. Banfield are thiefs, and do not care about your pet.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
anonymous, 8/24/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
2/10   Scam
Had to take my dog to emergency center becasuse they didn't have an appointment time available. It cost us $600 to have our dog put to sleep that night with congestive heart failure. The emergency hospital notified our Banfield Vet for us. Not a phone call or anything stating they were sorry he died. However, I can't seem to cancel the plan because I need to pay $37.95 monthly through December and he died in May.
Injury/Illness: Congestive Heart Failure   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Michelle Small, 8/24/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   Take advantage of sitiations
I took my dog when she was sick and they position the plan as a way to get services at a lower rate for a one year contract. They did not disclose that the contract would auto renew.... bad business
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mastiff
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Carlos, 8/21/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
1/10   Waste of money
I cannot be done with this stupid service soon enough. I fell for the STUPID USELESS puppy wellness plan that pretty much only covers the sterilization of my dog. Don't miss an appointment or they well charge you an additional fee for a shot that was supposed to be included in my plan that I'm paying for monthly! He's been enrolled in the stupid plan that i pay for monthly only to be seen 5 times out of the year! I'm so confused as to why I'm paying $40 a month. Not to mention every time I call to make an appointment the staff is extremely rude and short, they never have any appointments, always put me on hold. Once I get to his appointment they have us wait 10-15 minutes before we can even be seen! I'm counting down the days until my contract is over. And definitely looking for some place more convienant and less expensive and more useful than this stupid waste of space.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Talara Baber, 8/17/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47

Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here

  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close