Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


10/10   Great Preventative and health care!
The Banfield wellness plan is not an insurance plan! Banfield presents there plan as a wellness and prevention plan and that's what it is. My dog gets all of her shots, doctors visits, a teeth cleaning, and early testing. If you want insurance get insurance, if you want a plan to keep your dog healthy this is the plan.I save so much money on prevention and wellness! If she breaks her leg or has a problem I would go to a local vet, but for keeping her basic health and preventative medicine I go Banfield all the way! Also, they spay/neuter your dog with the wellness plan within a certain plan.
Injury/Illness: Preventative plan   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Angel, 7/15/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   the vet that I have she is very good with my Dog
Thanks to her I rescue my dog she was in her bones when I took her in and Immediately I obtain the Insurance since then the Vet have been help me a lot with her meds and right now we found out a lump on her right shoulder is little and she immediately told me is benign but it has to be remove when you have the money that it is 300.00 dollars that right now I dont have right now I am paying for her insurance and my family Insurance and the copayment for my and my family meds but by the end of the month we will have the money for the surgery. she already have teeth check and they are perfect and her weight and coat are awesome she is my therapy dog and the banfield clinic that I go to is located at pembroke pines and I lived in Pompano Beach why so far because my dog know her vet the people there and they treat her with respect and will recommend this location with my eyes closed the personal are very awesome and humble and they treat the pets like they are there own and us with respect. and next week my husband will get me a kitty cat and we will have her in the insurance to. So I recommend this Company 100%.
Injury/Illness: a lump but is benign   Breed: Pit Bull
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Kathy C, 6/23/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
8/10   This is a Wellness Plan, not Insurance.
The bad reviews for the Banfield Wellness plan are a little skewed. You have to keep in mind if you purchase this plan, that it covers basic routine medical care (vaccinations, free office visits, some comprehensive testing, etc.). You do get "discounts" on outside treatments but Banfield is a for-profit pet hospital, so their prices are higher than your average vets office- and they try to "up-sell" you on treatments. Keeping all that in mind, I really like my wellness plans. I have two dogs- one is older and is on the Active Prevention plan that includes a dental cleaning, and one is on the Essential Wellness plan. We don't save a TON of money a year on these plans, but having the monthly payment option is great- that way I'm not having to shell out 200/300+ dollars for vaccinations. These plans also include more than just the required vaccinations which I believe is helpful in keeping my pets healthy. I do have a secondary veterinarian now, that I use if my pets need surgery or something more extensive- because their costs are lower. BUT my vet at Banfield saved me 2000$ by getting my dog into a surgical trial for a torn ACL. Overall a great plan, if you keep the limitations in mind.
Injury/Illness: routine care   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Stephanie, 6/10/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Rip off
I was charged for services my dog did not receive and when she died, I called and said I would be charged until contrCt was up. But I also would need to call back then to recancel plan. Total rip off.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Shelley Griffith, 5/19/2015
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   Beware this is a scam
I have 2 cats with this wellness program, prices for services are bloated, my veterinarian for other pets I have do not charge the high prices that Banfield collects. I will be terminating my policies with this company. Based on other reviews I am hoping they will cease to charge the credit card on file.
Injury/Illness: routine care   Breed: American Shorthair
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: under a year
Beverly Butler, 5/10/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Absolute scam!!!
Our dog was on the wellness puppy plan. He broke his leg and they told us we would need to renew our plan early so he could have the "free" X-ray. They told us he needed surgery and would need to bring in a special surgeon and we'd get a discount. That was our ONLY option. An estimated cost of $3500-$5000!!!! With the savings!!! We took him elsewhere and the vet set his leg and did follow up care for a total of $300!!! It healed beautifully. We called and told them we were lured into renewing under false pretenses and were told too bad. We ended up regaining our dog in July of the following year (plan set to expire in August) notified them and thought we were done. 8 month later they are STILL drafting our account!!! Corporate said they weren't notified until February and refunded 3 months worth but told us we had to dispute the other 5 months with the specific location that we signed with. This is absolutely ridiculous! Now I'm told the office manager is out for the next several weeks!!!! Where's my $???? They would be after me with penalty fees included if I didn't make a payment to them but doeskin seem to matter when the shoe's on the other foot!!!
Injury/Illness: Broken leg   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sarah- Wake Forest NC, 4/23/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Don't let your friend die on Wellness Plan
I purchased the wellness plan for my cat years ago. While he was well - no problem. Recently he became ill and I had to say good-bye to my best friend/fur husband of 19 years and now I am being told that I have to pay for the additional time left on plan over $300. Why punish people for taking care of their pets. If my friend/fur husband had become ill and died later in the year then I would not have had to pay anything extra. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transferred to voicemail. I called back explained the situation and was told that the representative has the authority to cut the amount owed by 50%. NO. NO. NO. I do not want to be punished for taking care of my friend. We don't treat humans this way. Was transferred to another vmail. Waiting to hear back.
Injury/Illness: Death of a friend   Breed: Tabby
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
DP, 4/21/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Beware is an understatement
I was encouraged to purchase the wellness plan for my 10 year old dog who has severe allergies. I was told their wellness plan is like others "pet insurance". It is not! I was also told it would help me save on medication costs of which would be pretty high with my dogs allergies. The discount is tremendously misleading. The cost of the same medication purchased in other places was still cheaper than the discounted cost. It's not insurance and it only covers the basics of care. Things that you would do and pay for anyway. And do and pay for at not much if any more than you pay for the plan. But they do have you bring in your dog and suggest a ton of extra things that need done - which all are an additional cost to the plan. There were two occaisions where I had to take my dog to the vet, one for getting into sugar free gum and another I can't remember why but neither were covered by the "Wellness Plan". Again I was told it's "Banfields version of Pet Insurance". My dog died four months before his "plan" ended. Now they are clearly telling me this isn't insurance it's a wellness plan. If it was insurance than yes with his death the "policy" would be closed. But since it's a monthly paying "plan" I must finish paying the monthly payments or pay it all off in one payment. I would continue to go to Banfield as I loved the vet but not now. I won't continue to support them after they took advantage of me in such a way. While I can honestly admit I purchased this when I was stressed over my dogs health and in the midst of a crisis. I should have known better. My bad. But let me also add Banfield did their own version of bad as well - they were incredibly misleading if not just plain liars. I have learned that they have only certain meds they have their vets prescribe as they can get them at a deep discount. This was obviously true when the flea medication I asked for the vet wouldn't prescribe because of my dogs seizures. Then medication they wanted to prescribe makes my dog react because of his allergies. So the vet recommended another medication that I'd have to get through Petmeds.com. Do yourself a favor - invest in real pet insurance or not but don't waste your money on Banfields Wellness Plan! I'd give it a 0 of 10 but that isn't an option. After my wellness plan is done I will be finding another vet.
Injury/Illness: cancellation of wellness plan   Breed: Schipperke
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Casandra Sorenson, 3/30/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close