Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


8/10   It's an ANNUAL wellness plan-be fair to Banfield
Our plan(s) over the years have definitely saved us money (unlimited visits, dental included, annual vaccinations). Yes is is true that we have to pay even if our pet dies and that's because it is an ANMUAL plan that they give us the courtesy of allowing us to pay out. I believe that you can cancel but you would have to then pay the difference of what the actual cost of the services you utilized were (anesthesia for dental, x-rays, dental, vaccines, visits etc) and I know that in our case if we had to pay for the actual services rendered rather than the balance of the year it would have cost substantially more. As far as those who claim the bills are padded, my vet and I always discuss the various options and their costs and in the end the decision IS MINE not the vets.
Injury/Illness: it's a wellness plan not accident or health insurance   Breed: Japanese Chin
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Judi Mkam, 12/27/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Fraudulent use of my credit card. Don't use!
Keep using my credit card with out authorization. I have called and emailed and they refuse to cancel plan and use a card that was not authorized. It was originally used to pay for one visit. Never authorized for a monthly plan. I cancelled credit card but Master Card allows auto pay to continue to a new card number which I know Banfield must know. They are rude and refuse to transfer me to a supervisor. Uncaring and fraudulent. Boycott them. I can't imagine how they treat the poor animals!
Injury/Illness: fraud use of credit card on monthly plan   Breed: German Pointer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dianna Phares, 12/21/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Westminster MD
DO NOT USE THIER WELLNESS PLAN. Don't get caught like me. In the second year of the plan, I had to put my Great Dane Down. They wanted to charge me for the unpaid balance of the pervious services. The first bill came to $500, I paid $150 into the plan so far for that year. They tried to charge me $350. I was not aware of that when I signed up. They also did a lot of up selling on services not covered. I will not use their service again. Fool me twice, shame on me.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Tom Zane, 12/13/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Rechecks are 30.00 not 3.00
I was told over the phone that the recheck for my dog was 3.00 and wve. Tho my dog was already recovered I didn't really needed to go and have her rechecked but they said it was just 3.00 dollars so once I got there they make you do digital signature for the check up. Please don't sighs any before being done.... because they have your signature.... and when they were done checking the dog visually I was ready to check out and change me 30.00 dollars and not 3.00 and threat me if I didn't pay today I was going to be in a collection.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jdjskks, 12/1/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Warning About Banfield
I have had the Wellness Plan at Banfield for a couple years and have taken our dog there for routine visits, Like most other reviewers, I experienced all the added charges that weren't covered under the plan. Although it was frustrating, that is just the tip of the iceberg as far as my disgust with Banfield. Less than two hours after a "routine" visit for teeth cleaning and physical my dog was crying and obviously uncomfortable. As I was petting him, I felt two large lumps in his neck. I wasn't overly concerned until the following day when my dog wouldn't stop panting. I called Banfield to schedule an appointment to bring him in and was told they had no appointments but I could come in and sit there and they were sure they would be able to see him before the end of the day. I was a bit angered that they assumed it was ok to have me and my dog come sit in the back of the store for anywhere from 1 - 8 hours in hopes of seeing a vet. I called the vet we had previously taken him to and explained the symptoms. They told me I should bring him in as soon as I could. After a brief exam and a couple tests I was informed my dog had late stage lymphoma. Every lymph gland on my dog was severely enlarged and the ones in his neck were so swollen they were putting pressure on his airway. So 3 days after Banfield performed a "complete" physical including blood work my dog went from healthy (according to Banfield) to having 4-6 weeks to live. I contacted Banfield to ask how this could have happened and was told they found no signs of the lymphoma, the blood work was all normal and that cancer can occur quickly in dogs. Three or fours days seems extremely quick to me, does it seem quick to you? I had no intentions of writing anything about this until today after I called to cancel the Banfield Wellness Plan for my dog that I had to have euthanized 2 days ago... less than 4 weeks after I was told by Banfield he was ok. The representative told me it was no problem to cancel the Wellness Plan for my deceased dog as long as I paid $389 for the "routine visit" I took him to 4 weeks ago. Because the routine visit occurred one month after my Wellness Plan had "renewed", I either have to pay the monthly fee for the next 11 months or pay the full balance of what the routine visit would have cost if I had no Wellness Plan. Really??? I can't put in words that are probably allowed in these reviews the anger and disappointment I have towards Banfield and Pet Smart at this moment. I can
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Scott, 11/17/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Fraud! Say NO to Wellness Plans
Absolutely horrible place! Please do not bring your pet here. They are incredibly rude and inexperienced. They don't care about your pet. They only care about padding your bill and making as much money off of you as possible. They will charge you for things that they didn't even do. Definitely don't purchase any of their Wellness Plans. They change the dates on when they renew to suit their needs. If you think they only renew on the anniversary date when you signed them, think again. They unethically change the contract date, without your knowledge, and when you try to cancel it you will be forced to pay for another year.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sil, 11/3/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Banfield Pet Hospital
Never thought I would find myself writing a review, but I feel as if I have to help others and open their eyes. On October 18th, 2016, I took my miniature schnauzer, China, to the Pembroke Pines Banfield Pet Hospital for a routine check-up. I mentioned to the front staff that her appetite had decreased, but figured it was due to her 12 years of age. They called me a few hours later to inform me that China had an infected uterus and it had to be removed or she would eventually die. I found it suspicious that her daughter, Salty, had just been there a month before her and suffered from the same condition and had to have emergency surgery to have her uterus removed as well. I payed 1,100 for Salty's surgery. I brought this up and they told me it was a plainly coincidental, but stressed that she was in dire need for the removal and it had to be performed immediately to save her life. China, being my baby girl, I figured I had to do what I could to save her life. Even if I was broke, even if I had my suspicions. I pulled together every last cent I could and paid another 1,100. I picked China up that evening and took her home. She seemed sedated and out of it that night but the next day was back to normal or so I thought. At around 10 pm on October 18th, China had a horrible seizure, I panicked and called Banfield, which was closed, so I called a 24 hour vet and they told me all I could do is wait and make sure she didn't get hurt till it passed. So my family and I decided to wait till the morning to take her back to Banfield. China had four more seizures that night. I took her back to Banfield in the morning in tears, October 19th, a day I will never forget. She had another seizure in the car, almost causing me to get into an accident. I walked in with her foaming from her mouth and tears in my eyes. They took her and told me they would contact me once they evaluated her. China had never, in her 12 years, had a seaizure. They called me an hour later, informing me her surgery might have caused the seizures and they needed to administer a shot, another $200 to help her. I mentioned the fact that she had never had seizures before and that I was flat broke. I had her on the "wellness" plan and if there was anything they can help me with.. if this plan covered anything at all?? They passed me around to different staff and I eventually agreed to pay the fee. They then transferred me to "the front". They thought they had put me on hold but apparently hadn't. I then he
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Miniature Schnauzer
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Mayvelin Riveron, 10/24/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Buyer beware
The wellness plan is a rip off. It doesn't cover nearly as much as they lead you to believe and good luck canceling. You must call an 800 number where the hold time is never less than an hour. They make it impossible to cancel. The care is horrible. Don't buy. Take your beloved pet some where else. You get what you pay for.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Pit Bull
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Dawn Mueller, 10/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close