Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Beware is an understatement
I was encouraged to purchase the wellness plan for my 10 year old dog who has severe allergies. I was told their wellness plan is like others "pet insurance". It is not! I was also told it would help me save on medication costs of which would be pretty high with my dogs allergies. The discount is tremendously misleading. The cost of the same medication purchased in other places was still cheaper than the discounted cost. It's not insurance and it only covers the basics of care. Things that you would do and pay for anyway. And do and pay for at not much if any more than you pay for the plan. But they do have you bring in your dog and suggest a ton of extra things that need done - which all are an additional cost to the plan. There were two occaisions where I had to take my dog to the vet, one for getting into sugar free gum and another I can't remember why but neither were covered by the "Wellness Plan". Again I was told it's "Banfields version of Pet Insurance". My dog died four months before his "plan" ended. Now they are clearly telling me this isn't insurance it's a wellness plan. If it was insurance than yes with his death the "policy" would be closed. But since it's a monthly paying "plan" I must finish paying the monthly payments or pay it all off in one payment. I would continue to go to Banfield as I loved the vet but not now. I won't continue to support them after they took advantage of me in such a way. While I can honestly admit I purchased this when I was stressed over my dogs health and in the midst of a crisis. I should have known better. My bad. But let me also add Banfield did their own version of bad as well - they were incredibly misleading if not just plain liars. I have learned that they have only certain meds they have their vets prescribe as they can get them at a deep discount. This was obviously true when the flea medication I asked for the vet wouldn't prescribe because of my dogs seizures. Then medication they wanted to prescribe makes my dog react because of his allergies. So the vet recommended another medication that I'd have to get through Petmeds.com. Do yourself a favor - invest in real pet insurance or not but don't waste your money on Banfields Wellness Plan! I'd give it a 0 of 10 but that isn't an option. After my wellness plan is done I will be finding another vet.
Injury/Illness: cancellation of wellness plan   Breed: Schipperke
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Casandra Sorenson, 3/30/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
2/10   They don't treat loyal customers right
This is related to the Banfiled Wellness Plan. My dog was under this plan since 2009 and last year Banfiled cancelled the wellness plan in December without telling me. They did send me a note to renew my credit card information and I did and they collected two months of payments (the month I missed and the current month at that time). I was assuming the part I needed to be done is done because they took out money from my card without any problem. Because I set up an auto-payment and it was just $37.xx a month, I didn't really pay attention until recently I've noticed they stopped charging me. So this morning I called to see why my plan got cancelled, the customer service representative couldn't find out the cancellation reason and willing to waive the "member fee" and let me re-enroll again but because my husband was the primary account holder, he needed to call and confirm. Then lunch time came and my husband called me and told me that Banfield asked him to go to the hospital in person and enroll all over again. So I called the customer service, explained the situation and this time, the answers I got were either enroll as a new pet under my name or my husband needs to go to the hosptal in person to ask if the manager willing to waive the fee. Sounds to me they care about the enrollment fee more than a customer of 5 years. I don't see anything I had done wrong to make them cancell the plan and I did what they asked me to do for them to collect monthy payment. The staff and doctors there are very helpful and nice but this Wellness Plan doesn't treat their loyal customers right.
Injury/Illness: None   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
MW, 3/27/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Banfield Wellness Plan
My dog was examined, for what turned out to be a dermal infection, by a Banfield Vet that told me it was probably cancer and that my dog should be put down. Incompetent service, a year long service agreement that really cab't be canceled at any time, trumped up fees and overall bad value. Find a good local vet.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Steven Koules, 3/20/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
7/10   All Bainfields not created equal
Keep in mind that all Bainfields are not created equal. I have had several friends tell me about Vet's recommending unnecessary additional anesthesia, medications and test at a couple of Bainfields in my area, but had completely different experience when they went to the one I go to. I actually don't go to the Bainfiled closest to me because both times I went there they seemed more concerned with selling me services than with caring for my pet. The wellness plans are great for puppies. Once your dog is older, it just depends on your pet. I have two dogs, a Frenchie and a Boston. It was very reassuring to be able to take them in anytime we had a concern without having to pay an office visit the first couple of years. We kept the plan on the Boston the longest, because he has a tendency to swallow anything he could get a hold of. So we actually upgraded his plan one year to include an x-ray a year since we were concerned about blockages. No that they dogs are 4 years old. we no longer keep the plan, since it is cheaper just to pay for their shots and illnesses are rare. On the other hand, we just got a puppy and we will put her on the plan since the plan is cheaper than paying for all the shots, and spading needed the first year.
Injury/Illness: Well Care   Breed: Border Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Stephanie, 3/13/2015
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Wellness Plan Drawbacks
I enrolled in the wellness plan for Banfield 2 years ago…As long as your pet does not have any problems the plan is fine hence "wellness plan." However if your pet needs a problem visit the plan does not cover anything….and…..the costs at the Banfied clinic are almost double the other two clinics I have used in the past year.. The reason for the review is BEWARE you are committing for a full year of payments …I tried to dance and the annoying representative just kept saying you signed up for this …..I would need to pay more money to cancel that to just cover the additional few months left…I'm sure it was in the tiny print that I did not read…I'm writing it here so others will know ahead of time
Injury/Illness: wellness plan limitation/   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Stacia, 3/3/2015
View Comments (2) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
8/10   It
Seriously, it's called a wellness plan for a reason. It's a standard term that's used, it's not some scam that Banfield created to rip you off. It never says that things like x-rays or surgeries are covered. It is never referred to as pet insurance because it is not pet insurance. The people who keep calling it a scam or bad insurance are simply uninformed about the plan or legitimately don't understand what insurance truly is (pet, home, auto, or otherwise). This type of plan on its own without additional pet insurance will be most useful for people with young healthy pets. My plan is just under $30 a month so for a year I pay about $350. Sounds like a lot but considering I get two comprehensive exams which include all vaccines, physical exam, stool sample, routine blood test, and the exam fee (and for the record, ALL vets charge an exam fee just for coming in, usually 50-75) it very easily pays for itself, sometimes in 1 visit. It's also nice not having to worry about paying the exam fee if I want to bring in my dog between comprehensives. Like I said, probably best for younger pets. Pets that are getting older won't get too much benefit because just about anything else is not fully covered. I think they give you like a 10% discount on other procedures and medicines. When I needed x-rays for my dog, I got a small discount on the x-rays but also didn't have to pay the exam fee. I knew that going in because that's exactly what is stated in the contract I signed. When I brought my dog in for a skin irritation problem, they examined her, shaved part of her to get a good look at her skin, and gave me a diagnosis for something like $30. My dog is not old yet, but getting closer to getting older (she will be 6). My Banfield contract is up in July so I will probably start looking into pet insurance soon so that I won't get hit with pre-existing conditions later in her life. Also, for people who are complaining that if you want to cancel you have to finish payout out your contract: DUH. It's a contract. You signed a legally binding document agreeing that you would pay through the end of your contract. Why people think they can break a legal contract without any repercussions is just beyond me. Overall, I rated this as an 8 out of 10. It'd be nice if more procedures were covered or the discount were higher, but it's still a good value for healthy pets. The people who keep complaining that it's not pet insurance, well, it's not pet insurance.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Weimaraner
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Adam, 2/24/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
7/10   Good for preventative care - NOT AN INSURANCE
The wellness plan is good for preventative care. My husband and I have purchased it four our cat (16) as well as our dog (2). For a puppy, the plan is definitely worth it. It covers all shots and vaccinations, as well as spaying or neutering. Those more than make the plan worth it. It also has free office visits and exams, something that can be great for a first time pet parent who has a lot of questions. When your dog is older, the continued vaccinations as well as dental cleaning make the plan worth it. We jumped our plan up to the max coverage for our dog to get x-rays covered, we will end up paying an extra $80 a year vs the $160 the x-rays would have cost, and can get two more sets of x-rays covered during the next year (hopefully we will not need to make use of this). The continued free office visits and discounted antibiotics has made the plan worth it. Our dog has chronic GI problems. One GI infection cost us only $30 to treat vs the $360 we would have had to pay without the plan. For our cat, he has a history of dental disease so the annual teeth cleaning are a huge plus. Their biannual comprehensive exams have also been a huge saver. Last time we took him in, they found that he had elevated white blood cell counts due to an infection. We were unaware that anything was wrong before the appointment. To treat him we payed $30 for the antibiotics and he had increased energy in just a couple of days. However, just to be clear, I would not classify this as an insurance. For example, our dog tore her ACL, we cannot get this covered by our wellness plan and have to go elsewhere.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting Torn ACL   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Lauren, 2/11/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close