Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   they dont tell the truth regarding the insurance
We have used Banfield for the closeness of our home.We had an issue a couple years ago where our dogs waundered off and only one came back. We searched for 2 days calling all around and also called Banfield in case someone found our dog to notify us.They have been with Banfield for years. We were heart broken the 2nd day we walked our neighborhood to finally have a young man tell us they found the dog Sunday night and brought him to Banfield.We immediately rushed up there and when we asked if they had our dog the front desk girl was very hesitant. we asked to speak to someone else to only find out that other girl had take our dog home, and which should be against the rules and had we not come in she was keeping him.He is a pure bred.When my husband spoke to the vet he felt so bad he chipped both of our dogs for free. But she never got fired. We took them back for their yearly checkup and teeth cleaning and everytime they try to tell us stuff is wrong with the dogs. I refuse to pay more money to Banfield since we pay 65.40 each month for the better plan. Now our older dog passes away this past weekend we decide to call and cancel since we moved and I dont trust our only dog to go there, since he is the one the girl tried to keep and I am told we have to pay 7 more payments on the bill.This is robbery and crazy and the better business bureau should investigate these pet hospitals. I am highly aggrevated and hope my writing deters others from visiting there.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
bonnie, 12/11/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Highly recommended for new parents (Puppy owners)
We currently have no complaints with Banfield and their service. We are very happy with all the help and support we've been given. My puppy has been cared for and treated like part of our family. We like the fact of having "insurance" for our little one because we understand it can get expensive.
Injury/Illness: No claim no illness   Breed: Beagle
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: under a year
Alexis, 12/11/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   SCAM - Sleazy Business Practice
Banfield Pet Insurance is a scam. Services are at inflated rates; Always prescribe expensive medications; coverage is very limited. Auto renewal for full year and then throw you into collections when you cancel.
Injury/Illness: General checkup - $300   Breed: Goldendoodle
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Bruce, 10/29/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   VERYPOOR CustomerService to LoyalCustomer of 12+yrs
I have been a customer for over 12 years. My wellness plan payment became past due for 3 pets, even after I gave them an updated credit card to charge. Therefore they cancelled my plan and were not willing to reinstate even after I paid the past due amounts. They also made me pay the remaining balance for the rest of the year (over 6 months worth) and I couldn't finish using services owed on the plan. Collections continued to harrass me for 2 months after payment was made. Because of the poor service I decided to cancel my 4th pet's plan. The plan had been renewed before I cancelled and I was charged for one month which they refused to reimburse me for even though I didn't use any of the services. I always liked the vets at my Banfiled, but I have finally hit the limit with their poor customer service and insurance rip-off scam. They expect you to pay for services, but won't give you services you are owed or reimburse you for a plan you didn't use.So much for being a loyal customer.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
MicheleH., 10/21/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Fake Diagnosis
I took my 2 cats to Banfield January 02, 2014 in Decatur, AL. We went over prices for deworming and flea treatment. They made mention of their wellness plan and the routine care it would cover with discounts. It sounded really beneficial so I signed them up and paid the fees for the visit,deworming and flea treatment. Then the vet comes out and says the BLOOD TEST they administered on my oldest cat shows he has FIV! I freaked out because it made no sense for him to have it and because I never approved doing a blood test. Then they go over this list of test they have done like ear mite test, stool test, leukemia test, disposition test, the works. And she recommended drugs I could also get to help with his FIV. I declined any further test and medication and went home. I was in so much shock about my cat having cat aids basically, I didn't even think to get really mad about all the other test they did without my permission. We took my oldest cat to another vet to see about the FIV and they said not only would you not be able to test for FIV accurately in-house, but if the cat was vaccinated for it, they definitely would have tested positive for the partial test they did. We had her do a full test and he tested negative for it. I called Banfield and complained about the misdiagnosis and all the vet there kept saying is the newest textbooks in veterinarian science says that its debatable and that she assumed my cat was a stray and had never been vaccinated. I called a vet we had in Tennessee and they confirmed the second vet. I tried to cancel the wellness plan after that never wanting to even see a PetSmart, but they told me all the test they ran if I cancelled it early would be over $1000 up front or I could pay off the 1 year agreement I was never told about which was $38X12. I finally paid it off and it took over 2 days of me calling their cancellation line and billing dept to send me official letters of the account being closed and papers stating they would not charge me again. If you see a PetSmart RUN! Not only is an average vet visit only $40 for a real vet, the "discount" on the periodic medication, like confortis, is the same price at any other vet. 0 benefit to having that plan or getting a professional opinion of the vets they employ.
Injury/Illness: FIV   Breed: Maine Coon
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Raqueal, 9/30/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   It's a scam
My dog was diagnosed with eye infection was not getting any better I had to pay another vet that diagnosed my pet with lux lens to my pry to cares who did a lens couching that cost me hundreds of dollars thank you Girard Vet Clinic for making the correct diagnosis and thank you Cares for doing a great job on the lens couching procedure
Injury/Illness: eye problem   Breed: Poodle (toy)
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Do not care to give, 9/24/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   You have to read the contract.
I don't understand why so many people are complaining. You sign a contract for a year for pet insurance. You receive a lot of services up front, vaccinations, teeth cleaning, check ups. Of course you have to live up to your contract. You are still paying for services you have already received. I think pet insurance offers great peace of mind. I appreciate the fact teeth cleaning is part of the services offered. Also, this is preventative care. If my pet gets hit by a car or develops cancer...I will pay more for his medical needs. I will get a discount but still...just like with humans....medical care can be costly. We just signed up for Banfield. The contract is very clear. My new pup received all of his vaccines, a full check up, and is scheduled to have his final vaccine and teeth cleaning. I will continue to pay for this month to month for one year. If my dog dies...I will still pay. I will be grateful for the services I received for my pet knowing I did the best I could to ensure a happy, healthy dog.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Japanese Chin
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Joyce, 9/10/2014
View Comments (5) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close