Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


5/10   upset/frustrated with my visit
My dog had broken her toenail. I felt she needed to be seen. I noticed there is a Banfield that just opened nearbymymy house. Although,I am used to The Veterinarians at my original location, they have seen my dog for this in the past. I walked in the door with my dog The staff greeted me (friendly manner) My dog was seen for a broken toe nail. After seeing my dog, the vet says she could not stop the bleeding and I need to take her to Alameda East emergency room. She was scaring me the way she kept talking to me. Although, I have never encountered this in the past, I trusted her judgment. After waiting for a long time at Alameda East A veterinarian looked a my dog and told me there was nothing they needed to do. There was no bleeding she was ok. They put a new bandade around her paw. I was billed for a rebandage of 40.00 plus dollars and a emergency visit fee. The next day I got a call from banfield asking for payment-bandage and how my dog was doing? I was just frustrated to have to relive and tell them the details. They apologized. I asked if they could waive the bandage fee? The person on the phone said they would waive half of it. I just didn't even care at this point. Then she began to talk to me about the visit. and for some reason changed her mind and said she would waive the fee. I pay 2 wellness plans monthly. Now the last few months I have additional out of pocket veterinarian costs. I contacted Banfield customer support to tell them I could not make my monthly payment this month I have to reschedule The agent on the phone says he could only do this once in a calendar year. My payment was moved to a later date. This was a difficult situation. While they expressed they were sorry. They did not have to pay for the visit. I had to ask them to waive a bandage fee. This was not in my budget.
Injury/Illness: broken toe nail   Breed: Beagle
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Wendy, 1/25/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Will never use Banfield again
November 19, 2014, I called Banfield when my 14 yr old babt looked as if he was having seizures. The lady told me that they had 10 minutes to closing. All I wanted to know is what to do. She put me on hold for 3 minutes, came back to the phone and said, "ma'am, we are closing and all the doctors are leaving." She advised me to take my baby to Fort worth, which was an hour away from where I lived. It takes me 5 minutes or less to get to your office vs an hr to Ft Worth. Needless to say, we drove an hour to fort worth with my baby having seizures. When we got there the staff there were helpful and surprised that the closest office located in Dallas on Wheatland would send us so far. They tried to help my baby but he had been having seizures for too long. They gave him meds but he was no longer the same. We had to make a tough decision to have him put to sleep. One person makes the whole company look bad. I still had to pay at least 4 months worth of payments but I will never deal with them again. Each time I took my baby to get checked out it seemed as if he was never seen for the right thing. They diagnosed him with heartworms and then said he was negative for it and never had it. It could have been the crazy clerks, I don't know. They confused the hell out of me. Folks will never understand that when you have a pet, they become family. To you (Banfield) they are just animals but to the owner, they are our babies.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
DJ Bloomer, 1/2/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Waste of Money!
Paid for plan but, most care needed was not covered under plan. When we tried to cancel the plan, we were told we couldn't cancel until end of year. Told to call at the end of December. On Dec. 30 we called to cancel, but Banfield Customer Service told us the previous Banfield Representative was wrong. The "end of the year" for us is not Dec. 30, 2015, but April 2016! What a joke!
Injury/Illness: ear problem skin problem renal (kidney)   Breed: Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Stacey, 12/30/2015
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Cares about plan payment but not your pet
We've been on the wellness plan for at least 7 years now. This morning we woke up with a SERIOUS issue. Keep in mind,7 YEARS of paying for this service. We see Dr. Horndeski here and we were told that we could always take him to an emergency vet since they were full. We're on THEIR plan. We pay monthly for THEIR service, for THEIR unlimited free vet visits. The ONE time we try to get in with a pop up issue, THEY could care less. They're quick to call if they want you to renew the plan, but the wellness of your pet is definitely NOT top on the priority list. How many veterinarians will ask you to go to another veterinarian when you've already paid them? ZERO ethics and the pets "family members" are just a monthly billing number. I have never been so disgusted with a service or a hospital. This is Banfield at Petsmart on Coors bypass in Rio Rancho /Albuquerque. Be aware before you purchase this service. Also be aware that if you contact the home office that you will receive the same poor customer service. Expensive lesson learned!!!!! Be VERY CAREFUL of who you entrust your furkid to.
Injury/Illness: tooth abscess   Breed: Pug
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Tanya Griego, 11/30/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   2 yr customer with vetsmart: 2 months with banfield
3 year old aussie blew knee (Human equivanent of ACL). Banfields vet botched surgury. She limped for 3 months and blew the other knee. Went to real vet (UC Davis), and she had a bilateral tplo. Banfield was useless. Immediate difference between VetSmart and Banfield noticed. STAY AWAY FROM THEIR INSURANCE.
Injury/Illness: Acl- needed tplo   Breed: Australian Shepherd
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Abandfld Abandfield, 11/29/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Banfield is Terrible
My dog was given to us by a friend who thought she was to0 wild. She was covered under the Wellness plan, the previous owner signed up for. Banfield transferred the pet title to us, but said nothing about the Wellness plan contract. We continued paying thinking it would end in a year, but it renewed itself. We never signed any paper work, and our credit card was transferred to the plan at the beginning. When we tried to cancel the plan, they told us only the previous owner had the legal right to cancel, but they still took payments from a credit card with a different account name??? Plus, the only thing covered by the plan is BS medical practice, and "updates" seem to do nothing. Our dog had food allergies at the beginning, and the Banfield Techs didnt know anything besides what the Vet on staff tells them, even though they did some of the anal procedures. End note, dont use Banfield.
Injury/Illness: enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
David Drake, 11/23/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   MOST UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF POSSIBLE
I signed up for the puppy plan with Banfield at my local Petsmart because it included a neuter. The vet there, Dr CAUDRY told me she assumed my dogs testicles were twisted in his abdomen and I would have to pay $180 that my puppy plan did not cover just for surgery. The procedure was supposed to be 7 min long with one small incision. She could not find his testicles so proceeded to do a 2 hour exploratory surgery in his abdomen without any of my consent. After the fact my dog could not walk for 4 days and would barely eat or drink anything from the pain. He then got a massive infection that could have killed him which resulted in $150 worth of medication. TOTAL already paying $330 for a service we did not even receive- a neuter. When emailing Banfield and asking for a refund for a procedure we paid for and didnt receive anything but a very sick dog they just forwarded the email to DR CAUDRY who proceeded to make snide remarks and argue with us on the phone about how she's "sorry finances are so tight" but that does not give me the right to a refund. HAVING AN EXPLORATORY SURGERY WITHOUT CONSENT FROM THE OWNERS WHICH GAVE THE DOG A MAJOR INFECTION gives them the right to a well-deserved refund. THEN Dr CAUDRY tells us we need a testosterone test ($100) and another procedure done!!! He has too much scar tissue to even go under for surgery again for another 6 mo-1 year. DR CAUDRY then says she does not want to deal with this anymore and sends us to the Regional vet over her. The regional offers us a full refund on 11-11-15 then calls the next day 11-12-15 to revoke that offer. COMPLETELY AND ABSOLUTELY THE MOST UNPROFESSIONAL PEOPLE I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!! I will warn every person I know to stay FAR AWAY! This happened at Petsmart in Yukon, OK. STILL nothing resolved.
Injury/Illness: surgery   Breed: Australian Shepherd
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Kaitlyn Robinson, 11/12/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Please do not go there
Banfield stopped ordering medication that they had prescribed for my dog and he had been on for over a year. My dog has a collapsed trachea and the medication is crucial for him. Now they have decided to no longer order the medication. When I tried to cancel the wellness plan because of this, they told me I could not until time for the plan to renew. They will not let you out of your plan. Now I have to pay $52 per month and pay a new vet. This is horrible customer service.
Injury/Illness: collapsed trachea   Breed: Poodle (toy)
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Patricia Otto, 11/5/2015
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close