Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PurinaCare
Protect Your Bubble
PetPremium

Canada Pet Insurers
Petplan
PetCare
Trupanion
Petsecure
Pets Plus Us
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


8/10   It
Seriously, it's called a wellness plan for a reason. It's a standard term that's used, it's not some scam that Banfield created to rip you off. It never says that things like x-rays or surgeries are covered. It is never referred to as pet insurance because it is not pet insurance. The people who keep calling it a scam or bad insurance are simply uninformed about the plan or legitimately don't understand what insurance truly is (pet, home, auto, or otherwise). This type of plan on its own without additional pet insurance will be most useful for people with young healthy pets. My plan is just under $30 a month so for a year I pay about $350. Sounds like a lot but considering I get two comprehensive exams which include all vaccines, physical exam, stool sample, routine blood test, and the exam fee (and for the record, ALL vets charge an exam fee just for coming in, usually 50-75) it very easily pays for itself, sometimes in 1 visit. It's also nice not having to worry about paying the exam fee if I want to bring in my dog between comprehensives. Like I said, probably best for younger pets. Pets that are getting older won't get too much benefit because just about anything else is not fully covered. I think they give you like a 10% discount on other procedures and medicines. When I needed x-rays for my dog, I got a small discount on the x-rays but also didn't have to pay the exam fee. I knew that going in because that's exactly what is stated in the contract I signed. When I brought my dog in for a skin irritation problem, they examined her, shaved part of her to get a good look at her skin, and gave me a diagnosis for something like $30. My dog is not old yet, but getting closer to getting older (she will be 6). My Banfield contract is up in July so I will probably start looking into pet insurance soon so that I won't get hit with pre-existing conditions later in her life. Also, for people who are complaining that if you want to cancel you have to finish payout out your contract: DUH. It's a contract. You signed a legally binding document agreeing that you would pay through the end of your contract. Why people think they can break a legal contract without any repercussions is just beyond me. Overall, I rated this as an 8 out of 10. It'd be nice if more procedures were covered or the discount were higher, but it's still a good value for healthy pets. The people who keep complaining that it's not pet insurance, well, it's not pet insurance.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Weimaraner
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Adam, 2/24/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
7/10   Good for preventative care - NOT AN INSURANCE
The wellness plan is good for preventative care. My husband and I have purchased it four our cat (16) as well as our dog (2). For a puppy, the plan is definitely worth it. It covers all shots and vaccinations, as well as spaying or neutering. Those more than make the plan worth it. It also has free office visits and exams, something that can be great for a first time pet parent who has a lot of questions. When your dog is older, the continued vaccinations as well as dental cleaning make the plan worth it. We jumped our plan up to the max coverage for our dog to get x-rays covered, we will end up paying an extra $80 a year vs the $160 the x-rays would have cost, and can get two more sets of x-rays covered during the next year (hopefully we will not need to make use of this). The continued free office visits and discounted antibiotics has made the plan worth it. Our dog has chronic GI problems. One GI infection cost us only $30 to treat vs the $360 we would have had to pay without the plan. For our cat, he has a history of dental disease so the annual teeth cleaning are a huge plus. Their biannual comprehensive exams have also been a huge saver. Last time we took him in, they found that he had elevated white blood cell counts due to an infection. We were unaware that anything was wrong before the appointment. To treat him we payed $30 for the antibiotics and he had increased energy in just a couple of days. However, just to be clear, I would not classify this as an insurance. For example, our dog tore her ACL, we cannot get this covered by our wellness plan and have to go elsewhere.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting Torn ACL   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Lauren, 2/11/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   BANFIELD WELLNESS PLAN IS A SCAM
They make you pay a heavy money per year for covering pretty much nothing. Try to see when you need x-rays. They have doctors who do not know to read even the basic x-rays so we need to pay for expert opinion from outside. More outrageous than that is they cover '0' costs for x-rays and other necessary tratments. They hide under this being a wellness plan vs insurance plan.. The fact is, customers find it the hard way. I suggest stay away from Banfield.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: American Water Spaniel
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Innopeak, 2/1/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Not worth it if puppy gets sick.
I got Banfield as soon as I got my puppy. He was doing fine and got all of shots. We took the advice of the vet and got him neutered. Afterwards, he started urinating while just standing or playing. You can tell he didn't even know it until he felt it puddling at his feet. I took back to the banfield vet who stated they wanted to do a urinalysis.This is not covered and neither is the medication if needed. What is the point of insurance if it doesn't cover anything if he gets sick. He was fine before the surgery.
Injury/Illness: bladder   Breed: Rottweiler
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Angela, 1/12/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   So called "Plan" is really a contract ... :-(
I have used Banfield for years. But I haven't had good vets since being in Maryland. I called to cancel and I was told by the rep "well you have a balance of $130 something which is the last three months payment on your Plan/Contract, so we are going to take out the next three months. I told him that "I will be taking Munchie to the vet for everything until then". TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Karen, 1/5/2015
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Total ripoff
They say the "insurance" will save you money, but you end up paying at least what the service would cost at an independant vetenarian, plus they continue to charge you for "services used" for months afterwards. They won't tell you the amount you have "charged" or what you owe, other than paying off the rest of the term.
Injury/Illness: eye problem enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Willard Vance, 12/26/2014
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   The Wellness Program is a con
I have taken my dogs to Banfield for the last 5 years, since moving to a new area. I have insurance through PetFirst (highly recommend it!) so while I have often questioned their prices and sometimes felt a need to fight off their high-pressure sales tactics, I have been happy with their individual veterinarians. A year ago my 8-year old dog was diagnosed with herniated disk disease. He was given pain, muscle relaxers and anti-inflammatory medications. We were told this was a chronic condition, but he seemed to make a full recovery. While on vacation this past summer, he had a flare-up of back pain and we went to a local vet who didn't see any evidence of disk disease. Again received pain and anti-inflammatory meds and fully recovered. 10 days ago he started showing signs of discomfort and on Sunday night he seemed to collapse in weakness, but rallied somewhat so I took him to Banfield the following day. They did more x-rays, saw no injury or disease but thought it was probably more back issues (and at the time it made sense to me too), and suggested at his age, I consider putting him on a long-term low dose of anti-inflammatory and pain meds. They then pitched their Special Care Wellness program, which seemed like a good idea since he was aging and it would cover a lot of what would become routine care. I signed up for it on December 9, paying $89 for the Wellness plan, and $192 for the x-rays and part of the meds. They told me without the plan, the cost would be over $500. I returned the next day for the x-rays. He had not improved and had begun vomiting up what little he ate, which I told them at the time. I returned on the 12th because he was much worse and was also vomiting any water he drank. He was given fluid via a needle in the back and I was charged another $38. The vet suggested that I try giving him a mild diet of chicken and rice, even though he couldn't hold water down at this point. By the next day he was obviously very sick, and the vet said we needed an ultrasound which they could not perform right away, and referred me to a pet ER/Specialist hospital. He was diagnosed with heart failure due to a large tumor on the heart, and had to be euthanized. I was told today that I am required to pay the remainder of the one year contract, even though the dog will obviously not be using any of the included service, or pay the "savings" I received on the initial x-rays, etc. So, after mis-diagnosing my dog's problem (probably twice), I c
Injury/Illness: heart failure/tumor   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Susan Jaeger, 12/15/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   they dont tell the truth regarding the insurance
We have used Banfield for the closeness of our home.We had an issue a couple years ago where our dogs waundered off and only one came back. We searched for 2 days calling all around and also called Banfield in case someone found our dog to notify us.They have been with Banfield for years. We were heart broken the 2nd day we walked our neighborhood to finally have a young man tell us they found the dog Sunday night and brought him to Banfield.We immediately rushed up there and when we asked if they had our dog the front desk girl was very hesitant. we asked to speak to someone else to only find out that other girl had take our dog home, and which should be against the rules and had we not come in she was keeping him.He is a pure bred.When my husband spoke to the vet he felt so bad he chipped both of our dogs for free. But she never got fired. We took them back for their yearly checkup and teeth cleaning and everytime they try to tell us stuff is wrong with the dogs. I refuse to pay more money to Banfield since we pay 65.40 each month for the better plan. Now our older dog passes away this past weekend we decide to call and cancel since we moved and I dont trust our only dog to go there, since he is the one the girl tried to keep and I am told we have to pay 7 more payments on the bill.This is robbery and crazy and the better business bureau should investigate these pet hospitals. I am highly aggrevated and hope my writing deters others from visiting there.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
bonnie, 12/11/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close