Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for PetPlan

Add a Review

Visit Website

Filter By:    


10/10   Good customer service
I chose PetPlan after researching several options. PetPlan covers the vet consultation cost, which the next best plan did not. My dachshund mix managed to get the safety seal off a box of dark chocolate and ate about 6 oz, which is a lot. When I got home his heart was racing and he was trembling non-stop. He had to spend the night at the animal hospital. PetPlan covered the claim quickly, with no hassle, according to my policy. Also Melissa D was so helpful, answering all my questions. My dog recovered fully - he had eaten a potentially fatal amount, so I'm glad I rushed him to the vet. I do my best to make sure he stays healthy and safe, but knowing I have PetPlan is reassuring.
Injury/Illness: ate chocolate   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Elizabeth, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Our dog had surgery for cancer on her leg.
Our 7 yo dog had a mass growing on her front leg. She saw her vet, who referred us to an oncologist, who in turn referred us to a surgeon. The mass was taken off and a skin graft was placed at the site. When the pathology report came, we learned that it was cancerous, but thankfully they felt they had gotten all of it, and no further treatment is required. We have had Petplan since our dog was little. The surgery was expensive, and I was stunned that our reimbursement checks arrived before the pathology report. I downloaded the claims forms online, profiled with my dogs information, and the vets sent them in.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Laura Foc, 3/17/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Beware of waiting periods!!!!
We brought home a new puppy recently. She started to have diarrhea and we brought her to the vet to be safe. But it was in the first 15 days of her plan so now diarrhea is listed as pre-existing and they denied our claim. How can you be paying for a service but not actually be covered?????? We will still probably stick with them just in case she has a serious injury. The breeder set us up with another company for a trial period and they make it very clear in their correspondence that there is a waiting period of 5 days. Maybe we will just move to them.
Injury/Illness: enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Sarah, 3/16/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Too good to be true
My dog Sammy tore his left ACL a few years ago, and Petplan was the only insurer that would cover his other knee if he ever tore it - after a one year period of being healthy. Sammy ended up lame on his other leg, and the day after he was eligible to be covered (Dec 21, 2016) we took him in, had an exam done, and signed him up for surgery. Sammy had surgery in Feb, which costed $2,200. I sent in the claim (extremely simple form to fill-out on the website), and called to make sure it would be covered. I spoke with Heather, an extremely kind, compassionate, genuine person who sincerely loves animals, and she reassured me that it would be. The next day I received an email from her. After our conversation she kept an eye out for the claim, snatched it as soon as it came in, processed it, and a check covering 100 percent of his fees after a $200 deductible was in the mail the next day - two days after I submitted the claim. I also submitted the exam fee from the prior visit, so I only ended up paying $130 out of pocket. Then I ordered the medication he would need for the unforeseen future ($517), snapped a picture of the receipt with the Petplan app, followed up with Heather via email, she processed the claim that same day as a courtesy because she would be out of the office the next day, and a check for the entire thing was sent in the mail the next day. So yea, too good to be true, except it is:) What a refreshing group of people to work with and what a stand-up company.
Injury/Illness: ACL   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Keith Crisp, 3/15/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Impressed with PetPlan
I was very impressed with our PetPlan insurance that we used for the first time in the past weeks for an unknown problem that ended up most likely being Meningitis in our Labradoodle, Beau. I submitted our claim on their app on my phone and customer service took it from there. They were very helpful and kept me informed. Their review of our claims and payment was very prompt and it certainly was comforting as the vet bills were over $2000. A great investment and Beau is doing much better now!
Injury/Illness: Possible Meningitis   Breed: Labradoodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Casey Sobol, 3/14/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Petplan is the best decision I ever made..
I adopted my fur baby from rescue when she was 2 yrs old.. I immediately looked into pet insurance plans and found that Petplan met my needs.. I renewed my policy every year without any claims for 6 years. This past year my Fur kid turned 8 yrs old and developed a terrible case of ottis externa in both ears. She also went blind and by trying to navigate the yard suffered a cruciate ligament tear/rupture. After endless test/Xrays/MRI and surgery she was healed from limping and found some relief for her ears. After thousands of dollars spent I called Petplan and was greeted with the most knowledgeable and helpful staff I have ever encountered!!! I was walked through all of the claims process and educated on any further claims that could arise.. I was reimbursed all of my cost minus the deductible per claim and continue to be reimbursed without question.. This was an enormous relief for me financially and emotionally. I will always carry Petplan insurance on my rescue dogs based on Petplans dedication and honesty with their policies and their staff.
Injury/Illness: ear problem ligament tear   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kim Bucy, 3/12/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   malocclusion reimbursement
When I went in for routine cleaning, the vet called to tell me my cat needed 4 lower front teeth removed. They were being resorbed and were very painful due to malocclusion. I found out a year later that this was covered under my policy! What a relief to have this great insurance.
Injury/Illness: dental malocclusion   Breed: Domestic Mediumhair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Joy Coleman, 3/11/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Allowed me to help my pet without fear
My cat developed a lump on her tail which required surgery and followup. PetPlan covered everything as promised and quite quickly. The Happiness Managers are the best!
Injury/Illness: mass on tail   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Joy Coleman, 3/11/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98  99  100  101  102  103  104  105  106  107  108  109  110  111  112  113  114  115  116  117  118  119  120  121  122  123  124  125  126  127  128  129  130  131  132  133  134  135  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  151  152  153  154  155  156  157  158  159  160  161  162  163  164  165  166  167  168  169  170  171  172  173  174  175  176  177  178  179  180  181  182  183  184  185  186  187  188  189  190  191  192  193  194  195  196  197  198  199  200  201  202  203  204  205  206  207  208  209  210  211  212  213  214  215  216  217  218  219  220  221  222  223  224  225  226  227  228  229  230  231  232  233  234  235  236  237  238  239  240  241  242  243  244  245  246  247  248  249  250  251  252  253  254  255  256  257  258  259  260  261  262  263  264  265  266  267  268  269  270  271  272  273  274  275  276  277  278  279  280  281  282  283  284  285  286  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  299  300  301  302  303  304  305  306  307  308  309  310  311  312  313  314  315  316  317  318  319  320  321  322  323  324  325  326  327  328  329  330  331  332  333  334  335  336  337  338  339  340  341  342  343  344  345  346  347  348  349  350  351  352  353  354  355  356  357  358  359  360  361  362  363  364  365  366  367  368  369  370  371  372  373  374  375  376  377  378  379  380  381  382  383  384  385  386  387  388  389  390  391  392  393  394  395  396  397  398  399  400  401  402  403  404  405  406  407  408  409  410  411  412  413  414  415  416  417  418  419  420  421  422  423  424  425  426  427  428  429  430  431  432  433  434  435  436  437  438  439  440  441  442  443  444  445  446  447  448  449  450  451  452  453  454  455  456  457  458  459  460  461  462  463  464  465  466  467  468  469  470  471  472  473  474  475  476
Visit Website


Review PetPlan review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close