Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Banfield Wellness Plans



8000 NE Tillamook
Portland, OR 97213-0998
phone: 800-838-6738
website: http://www.banfield.com


Banfield is not an insurance company, but a membership plan that offers wellness benefits. Members must go to Banfield pet hospitals, which are located within PetSmart stores throughout the United States.

There are several different plans available for dogs and cats, including one that includes a spay or neuter service. There is a one-time signup fee and monthly payments that start at $12.95.
Customer Ratings
60 days 1 year Lifetime
Rating 2.3 2.7 3.4
Count 3 41 310
add your rating

Get a Free Quote

Reviews of Banfield

Filter By:    
5/10   upset/frustrated with my visit, 1/25/2016

Reviewed By: Wendy, Recommend: N

My dog had broken her toenail. I felt she needed to be seen. I noticed there is a Banfield that just opened nearbymymy house. Although,I am used to The Veterinarians at my original location, they have seen my dog for this in the past. I walked in the door with my dog The staff greeted me (friendly manner) My dog was seen for a broken toe nail. After seeing my dog, the vet says she could not stop the bleeding and I need to take her to Alameda East emergency room. She was scaring me the way she kept talking to me. Although, I have never encountered this in the past, I trusted her judgment.
After waiting for a long time at Alameda East A veterinarian looked a my dog and told me there was nothing they needed to do. There was no bleeding she was ok. They put a new bandade around her paw. I was billed for a rebandage of 40.00 plus dollars and a emergency visit fee.
The next day I got a call from banfield asking for payment-bandage and how my dog was doing? I was just frustrated to have to relive and tell them the details. They apologized.
I asked if they could waive the bandage fee? The person on the phone said they would waive half of it. I just didn't even care at this point. Then she began to talk to me about the visit. and for some reason changed her mind and said she would waive the fee.
I pay 2 wellness plans monthly. Now the last few months I have additional out of pocket veterinarian costs. I contacted Banfield customer support to tell them I could not make my monthly payment this month I have to reschedule The agent on the phone says he could only do this once in a calendar year. My payment was moved to a later date. This was a difficult situation. While they expressed they were sorry. They did not have to pay for the visit. I had to ask them to waive a bandage fee. This was not in my budget.
Injury/Illness: broken toe nail   Breed: Beagle
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Will never use Banfield again, 1/2/2016

Reviewed By: DJ Bloomer, Recommend: N

November 19, 2014, I called Banfield when my 14 yr old babt looked as if he was having seizures. The lady told me that they had 10 minutes to closing. All I wanted to know is what to do. She put me on hold for 3 minutes, came back to the phone and said, "ma'am, we are closing and all the doctors are leaving." She advised me to take my baby to Fort worth, which was an hour away from where I lived. It takes me 5 minutes or less to get to your office vs an hr to Ft Worth. Needless to say, we drove an hour to fort worth with my baby having seizures. When we got there the staff there were helpful and surprised that the closest office located in Dallas on Wheatland would send us so far. They tried to help my baby but he had been having seizures for too long. They gave him meds but he was no longer the same. We had to make a tough decision to have him put to sleep. One person makes the whole company look bad. I still had to pay at least 4 months worth of payments but I will never deal with them again. Each time I took my baby to get checked out it seemed as if he was never seen for the right thing. They diagnosed him with heartworms and then said he was negative for it and never had it. It could have been the crazy clerks, I don't know. They confused the hell out of me. Folks will never understand that when you have a pet, they become family. To you (Banfield) they are just animals but to the owner, they are our babies.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed dog
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Waste of Money!, 12/30/2015

Reviewed By: Stacey, Recommend: N

Paid for plan but, most care needed was not covered under plan. When we tried to cancel the plan, we were told we couldn't cancel until end of year. Told to call at the end of December. On Dec. 30 we called to cancel, but Banfield Customer Service told us the previous Banfield Representative was wrong. The "end of the year" for us is not Dec. 30, 2015, but April 2016! What a joke!
Injury/Illness: ear problem skin problem renal (kidney)   Breed: Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
View Comments (1)   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Cares about plan payment but not your pet, 11/30/2015

Reviewed By: Tanya Griego, Recommend: N

We've been on the wellness plan for at least 7 years now. This morning we woke up with a SERIOUS issue. Keep in mind,7 YEARS of paying for this service. We see Dr. Horndeski here and we were told that we could always take him to an emergency vet since they were full. We're on THEIR plan. We pay monthly for THEIR service, for THEIR unlimited free vet visits. The ONE time we try to get in with a pop up issue, THEY could care less. They're quick to call if they want you to renew the plan, but the wellness of your pet is definitely NOT top on the priority list. How many veterinarians will ask you to go to another veterinarian when you've already paid them? ZERO ethics and the pets "family members" are just a monthly billing number. I have never been so disgusted with a service or a hospital. This is Banfield at Petsmart on Coors bypass in Rio Rancho /Albuquerque. Be aware before you purchase this service. Also be aware that if you contact the home office that you will receive the same poor customer service. Expensive lesson learned!!!!! Be VERY CAREFUL of who you entrust your furkid to.
Injury/Illness: tooth abscess   Breed: Pug
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   2 yr customer with vetsmart: 2 months with banfield, 11/29/2015

Reviewed By: Abandfld Abandfield, Recommend: N

3 year old aussie blew knee (Human equivanent of ACL). Banfields vet botched surgury. She limped for 3 months and blew the other knee. Went to real vet (UC Davis), and she had a bilateral tplo. Banfield was useless. Immediate difference between VetSmart and Banfield noticed. STAY AWAY FROM THEIR INSURANCE.
Injury/Illness: Acl- needed tplo   Breed: Australian Shepherd
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 

Read More Reviews...


Compare Insurers


Most Helpful Reviews


5/10   upset/frustrated with my visit,
My dog had broken her toenail. I felt she needed to be seen. I noticed there is a Banfield that just opened nearbymymy house. Although,I am used to The Veterinarians at my original location, they have seen my dog for this in the past. I walked in the door with my dog The staff greeted me (friendly manner) My dog was seen for a broken toe nail. After seeing my dog, the vet says she could not stop the… read more

Reviewed By: Wendy, parent of a Beagle
 
1/10   Will never use Banfield again,
November 19, 2014, I called Banfield when my 14 yr old babt looked as if he was having seizures. The lady told me that they had 10 minutes to closing. All I wanted to know is what to do. She put me on hold for 3 minutes, came back to the phone and said, "ma'am, we are closing and all the doctors are leaving." She advised me to take my baby to Fort worth, which was an hour away from where I lived. It takes… read more

Reviewed By: DJ Bloomer, parent of a Mixed Breed
 
1/10   Waste of Money!,
Paid for plan but, most care needed was not covered under plan. When we tried to cancel the plan, we were told we couldn't cancel until end of year. Told to call at the end of December. On Dec. 30 we called to cancel, but Banfield Customer Service told us the previous Banfield Representative was wrong. The "end of the year" for us is not Dec. 30, 2015, but April 2016! What a joke! read more

Reviewed By: Stacey, parent of a Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier
 
1/10   Cares about plan payment but not your pet,
We've been on the wellness plan for at least 7 years now. This morning we woke up with a SERIOUS issue. Keep in mind,7 YEARS of paying for this service. We see Dr. Horndeski here and we were told that we could always take him to an emergency vet since they were full. We're on THEIR plan. We pay monthly for THEIR service, for THEIR unlimited free vet visits. The ONE time we try to get in with a pop up issue,… read more

Reviewed By: Tanya Griego, parent of a Pug
 
2/10   2 yr customer with vetsmart: 2 months with banfield,
3 year old aussie blew knee (Human equivanent of ACL). Banfields vet botched surgury. She limped for 3 months and blew the other knee. Went to real vet (UC Davis), and she had a bilateral tplo. Banfield was useless. Immediate difference between VetSmart and Banfield noticed. STAY AWAY FROM THEIR INSURANCE. read more

Reviewed By: Abandfld Abandfield, parent of a Australian Shepherd
 


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here