Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Petplan USA
Embrace
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Banfield Wellness Plans



8000 NE Tillamook
Portland, OR 97213-0998
phone: 800-838-6738
website: http://www.banfield.com


Banfield is not an insurance company, but a membership plan that offers wellness benefits. Members must go to Banfield pet hospitals, which are located within PetSmart stores throughout the United States.

There are several different plans available for dogs and cats, including one that includes a spay or neuter service. There is a one-time signup fee and monthly payments that start at $12.95.
Customer Ratings
60 days 1 year Lifetime
Rating 1.2 2.3 3.3
Count 6 41 318
add your rating

Get a Free Quote

Reviews of Banfield

Filter By:    
1/10   Banfield - auto-pay scam, 3/30/2016

Reviewed By: EP, Recommend: N

Canceling:
I had Banfields insurance for 2 years and paid for the full year each time. When I did not renew, they started charging monthly on my AmEx. card - auto-pay. I personally visited Banfield’s Pet Hospital in Phoenix, twice in order to resolve the charges on my AmEx. card.
During the first visit in July, I was told to call an 800 number for any billing issues. I called the “billing issues” Service. It went to a voice mail (after hours) so I left a voice message and contact information. No returned call. At one of the visits, I was informed it could be an auto-pay, and I stated I don’t do autopay on my AmEx card and did not authorized this.
I received a letter from Banfield’s Billing department with a different contact 800 service number. In the letter, the Banfield was continuing to bill me monthly.
I received another letter on 11/20/15 from Banfield’s billing service department. Again, the amount had increased.
I called the billing service number on Nov. 3, 2015 and again, express that I did not want the insurance and that I did not authorized auto billing.
I received another Banfield billing letter dated 11/20/15 with the amount continuing to increase.
I followed up with a letter dated 12/1/15 (attached named: Banfield 1), expressing my frustration with Banfield’s representatives and did not want the pet insurance.
I received another from Banfield on 1/21/16 with a more threating tone and stated the amount now owed was $107.80; continuing to increase each month.
January 26, 2016, I called the number on that letter in order to resolve this issue and stated again, I did not want the insurance and stated “cancel, cancel, cancel.” (I have a witness to this call) and I also asked during this call to the representative, why didn’t the representative that I spoke to on the November 3 call cancel the insurance as requested. He stated something to the fact that he and other representative cannot while there is a balance due. That did not make sense to me.
January 26, 2016, I followed up with a letter (attached “Banfield 2”) again outlying all the attempts to stop Banfield from continuing to bill me monthly. I event sent a check for the $107.80, just to stop the harassment and to keep my good name and credit rating. They had not cashed the check and around March 17th, I received a letter from a collection agency and I am now starting to receive phone calls for the collection agency.
Injury/Illness: attempts to cancel and auto-pay   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Do not sign up for the wellness plan , 3/29/2016

Reviewed By: Alicia, Recommend: N

I signed up for the Wellness Plan for my four dogs. They tell me services are covered under the plan. I had to pay out of pocket every time I took my dogs to the vet. I called and canceled the plan today. They applied the remaining balance on the plan to my credit card. Here are some things I did not like about Banfield:
1. I was not allowed to go back with my pets when they had their shots.
2. When Titan, my boxer, hurt his leg, I took him in to the vet. My regular vet at Banfield wasn't in the office. I said that was fine he needs to be seen. They took him back without me to do X-rays on his leg. He tried to bite them. Of course he did. He felt threatened and did not know them. I okayed the sedation to get his X-rays done. Then the vet tells me it looks like he's okay and won't need surgery. Then he calls me back to tell me he's gonna need surgery for his partial ACL tear. The vet proceeded to try to bully me into scheduling him with an orthopedic surgeon. I said no thank you. Two weeks after that Titan was walking around with no problem. So if he has an ACL tear it must not be that severe.
3. The wellness plan does not save me money. I pay more per year than I would if I just took my dogs to a different vet twice a year. The woman on the phone with the wellness plans wanted to argue with me about how I'm saving money. No I am not.
4. I hate their policy of dropping your pets off all day for a checkup. I understand dropping them off off surgery. That's completely different. I want to be present when my pets are awake and being poked and prodded by people they don't even know. I have never had a vet that didn't allow you to be present for their regular checkups.

I wish I would not have gone to Banfield. I could have saved money and stress by using a different local vet.
Injury/Illness: Injury   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   HORRIBLE!!!!!!!, 3/28/2016

Reviewed By: Nicole G, Recommend: N

My dog was a ten year old yorkie the first time he got sick. I got the Banfield Wellness Plan Insurance after an employee at one of the hospitals convinced me it would save me hundreds of dollars. For ten years, I always paid for everything out of pocket because my dog was a healthy pup...but I was struggling financially and when he got sick, I figured the insurance would help me. WRONG!!!! I got the insurance October 2015 and my dogs illness progressively got worse. I was told Banfield couldn't help...so I went to a different hospital & paid A LOT out of pocket. So the insurance obviously did nothing. My dog recently passed away last month and I called to cancel the insurance. I was told I could not cancel it without " paying off what I still owed in the year long contract". In other words....I had to pay $250 for the remaining 6 months of the insurance that I was obviously not going to use FOR A DEAD DOG. I am infuriated and I would never recommend this insurance to ANYONE!!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Do not get this plan, 3/21/2016

Reviewed By: Claudia, Recommend: N

For personal reasons had to move out of the country and didn't use the plan they kept charging my cc when I returned and tried to use the plan they did not honor the payments I had made and tried to charge another $450 to continue on plan or get any services. So I lost $450 to a greedy company...
Worst service ever, plus the one time my dog got a dental cleaning and shots he was returned to me covered in feces. Very disgusting. They just want your money. They don't care about your pet. They won't allow you to be present when the dog is being vaccinated or treated.
Injury/Illness: "Wellness plan" dental cleaning   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   STAY AWAY HUGE SCAM!, 3/18/2016

Reviewed By: ivette, Recommend: N

Do not sign up it is not worth it, do the math doesn't add up. In addition, you cannot discontinue if you don't do it the same day or next. They'll keep charging you even when you call within those days to cancel.
Injury/Illness: injury   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Comment on this Review   | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 

Read More Reviews...


Compare Insurers


Most Helpful Reviews


1/10   Banfield - auto-pay scam,
Canceling: I had Banfields insurance for 2 years and paid for the full year each time. When I did not renew, they started charging monthly on my AmEx. card - auto-pay. I personally visited Banfield’s Pet Hospital in Phoenix, twice in order to resolve the charges on my AmEx. card. During the first visit in July, I was told to call an 800 number for any billing issues. I called the “billing issues”… read more

Reviewed By: EP, parent of a Boxer
 
2/10   Do not sign up for the wellness plan ,
I signed up for the Wellness Plan for my four dogs. They tell me services are covered under the plan. I had to pay out of pocket every time I took my dogs to the vet. I called and canceled the plan today. They applied the remaining balance on the plan to my credit card. Here are some things I did not like about Banfield: 1. I was not allowed to go back with my pets when they had their shots. 2. When… read more

Reviewed By: Alicia, parent of a Boxer
 
1/10   HORRIBLE!!!!!!!,
My dog was a ten year old yorkie the first time he got sick. I got the Banfield Wellness Plan Insurance after an employee at one of the hospitals convinced me it would save me hundreds of dollars. For ten years, I always paid for everything out of pocket because my dog was a healthy pup...but I was struggling financially and when he got sick, I figured the insurance would help me. WRONG!!!! I got the… read more

Reviewed By: Nicole G, parent of a Yorkshire Terrier
 
1/10   Do not get this plan,
For personal reasons had to move out of the country and didn't use the plan they kept charging my cc when I returned and tried to use the plan they did not honor the payments I had made and tried to charge another $450 to continue on plan or get any services. So I lost $450 to a greedy company... Worst service ever, plus the one time my dog got a dental cleaning and shots he was returned to me covered in… read more

Reviewed By: Claudia, parent of a Yorkshire Terrier
 
1/10   STAY AWAY HUGE SCAM!,
Do not sign up it is not worth it, do the math doesn't add up. In addition, you cannot discontinue if you don't do it the same day or next. They'll keep charging you even when you call within those days to cancel. read more

Reviewed By: ivette, parent of a Bichon Frise
 


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here